View Full Version : Games Weekend 1st Sept to 6th Sept

Pages : 1 [2] 3

D24Saint
01/09/2023, 9:31 PM
Are Pats fans happy with Jon Daly? I've watched them a couple of times and havent been impressed,blessed to win in the cup and poor in europe,were'nt good against UCD last week either apparently....

After Clancy he has improved a few things. We are normally solid defensively. Not overly pleasing on the eye lately and have little up front. If we get Europe he deserves a chance at starting next season. I’d give him a B - , on his report card.

kksaints
01/09/2023, 9:34 PM
Are Pats fans happy with Jon Daly? I've watched them a couple of times and havent been impressed,blessed to win in the cup and poor in europe,were'nt good against UCD last week either apparently....

I'd be happy enough although we have had some poor performances with tonight's a bad one.

sbgawa
01/09/2023, 9:41 PM
The team didn't let me down. Showing up and putting a performance in when the form wouldn't have suggested we would. Clarke and farrugia (with a fabulous goal) make such a huge difference to us.
Great to see finner score in the Derby too.
If we can go and win in derry we will be sitting pretty. Great crowd 7800 plenty of people standing around edges I'd say more season ticket holders showed up then was expected

joey B
01/09/2023, 10:05 PM
Wexford were very poor this evening,we had midfielders and full backs playing at CB and they could only manage 1 goal from a mistake from us,we played the last 20 odd minutes with 10 men aswell and could have grabbed the win,point means more for other teams more than us really,roll on the end of this season......

sbgawa
01/09/2023, 10:10 PM
What on earth is happening with Waterford. ?

total hoofball
01/09/2023, 10:14 PM
That was a very big and definitely deserved win for Shels tonight momentum was well with us before the sending off. Cult hero status instantly achieved for Euclides Cabral coming straight off the bench scoring instantly with his first two touches as Shels player for the equaliser. Duff's celebration towards the Shels fan at the final whistle was certainly memorable!

From the four games against Pats two with Clancy and two with Daly I couldn't have identified they have any different manager definitely don't look a improved side but no worse

SeanDrog
01/09/2023, 10:33 PM
Huge night for Ruairi Keating in his first start at the Cross since his dad died onnthe way to see him play at the Showgrounds against Sligo.
We need to make up 4 points and I dont know if we can do that. We looked good tonight and we looked good with 11 men against Drogs last night but I think it's too little too late.

I wouldn’t drop the head just yet - Sligo have the smell of relegation about them tbh - wouldn’t be surprised if UCD beat them next week - even though we beat UCD 3-0 tonight , they actually played some good football - score wasn’t a fair reflection.

Jolly Red Giant
01/09/2023, 10:42 PM
Superb by Rovers and the win was even more emphatic than score line would have you believe ….. game was well sewn up before Clarke and Farrugia came on but having both fit again is a real bonus….. Hopefully we’ll have Jack back for Derry game and rest of season.
Yes it was - but the ref was shocking - Bohs should have had at least one penalty in the first half - and a couple of Rovers players should have been booked early in the game for bad tackles - decent refereeing would have completely changed the nature of the game.

El-Pietro
01/09/2023, 10:59 PM
I wouldn’t drop the head just yet - Sligo have the smell of relegation about them tbh - wouldn’t be surprised if UCD beat them next week - even though we beat UCD 3-0 tonight , they actually played some good football - score wasn’t a fair reflection.

Even if they lose to UCD and lose the rest if their games we need to make up 3 points plus goal difference, so effectively 4 points.
Our opportunity to do that was in our games against UCD at home (draw) and Drogs last week (loss).

We have one more against UCD but even if we win that I struggle to see were we would pick up more points.

It's not over but it's gonna be very difficult

sbgawa
01/09/2023, 11:03 PM
Yes it was - but the ref was shocking - Bohs should have had at least one penalty in the first half - and a couple of Rovers players should have been booked early in the game for bad tackles - decent refereeing would have completely changed the nature of the game.

Jaysus rovers win 3 nil but its all down to the referee ??
It could have been 5 or 6.

sbgawa
01/09/2023, 11:06 PM
In fairness to bohs considering they had the league won in march its got to be disappointing. I'm sure lambert will have a league table tomorrow with bohs on top. Best pies maybe.

01/09/2023, 11:16 PM
I meant Shels four points off third place (ie Pat's)

Fourth Euro spot mayn't go to fourth in the league with the way the cup is going.

Ah, right. Misread that. It’s that kind of a league this year. Pretty tight, so a couple of results can swing things big time. I reckon we’re playing for third now. Hard not to see Rovers winning it. Derry should get second. We haven’t really played well for a few games, so in a way tonight was coming. Generally we look solid defensively though, since the return of Joe Redmond. We may well have seen out a victory tonight without the sending off. We need a spark creatively though, no doubt about it.

WoodquayBoy
01/09/2023, 11:23 PM
Waterford are a one-man wonder and the loss of Coughlan has had the expected result. I’d fancy Athlone in the play-offs ahead of the Blahs.
Sligo are stinking the place out in the last few weeks, how they haven’t hooshed out Russell is a surprise, Cork have a great chance to catch them.
If Waterford advance as First Division play-off finalists there won’t be a worry in the world for Cork or Sligo; but if Athlone make it, all bets are off, as they say.

ger121
01/09/2023, 11:35 PM
In fairness to bohs considering they had the league won in march its got to be disappointing. I'm sure lambert will have a league table tomorrow with bohs on top. Best pies maybe.

Rovers fans had the league won before last season was even done. 4 in a row this, 4 in a row that. Come back to us in November.

DCWA
01/09/2023, 11:46 PM
Rovers fans had the league won before last season was even done. 4 in a row this, 4 in a row that. Come back to us in November.

This is a bit of a mad statement, even as a fan of their now nearest challenger I’d expect them to come back to youse in November alright…

joey B
02/09/2023, 12:16 AM
The first thing Sligo need to do is put Richard Brush in goals,can’t play Conor Walsh anymore for his and their own sake…..

02/09/2023, 12:26 AM
This is a bit of a mad statement, even as a fan of their now nearest challenger I’d expect them to come back to youse in November alright…

Aye, talk about setting yerself up!! There may be a couple of twists to this league yet but looking less likely for title challengers and more like relegation playoff great escapes. sbgwa was lining thing up well well before login in fiarness and got a bite so cant be too harsh on ger.

joey B
02/09/2023, 12:54 AM
Have we finally found a performance to match Sligos famous night in Tallaght ?!?!

trevy
02/09/2023, 7:14 AM
I'm not confident of Waterford's play off chances after the last few weeks. We're missing our two best players Coughlan and Baggley so that's the only excuse. Hopefully they are back from injury soon as the rest of the team are average.
Athlone were good last night and will fancy their chances in first division play offs.

ger121
02/09/2023, 7:22 AM

They probably will but my point was Rovers fans get ahead of themselves just as much as fans of other clubs. Anyone remember after the CL 1st round draw? They had themselves already in the PO round at least.

legendz
02/09/2023, 7:41 AM
9th points total to games played since a return to 10 teams in 2018:
2018 Limerick 27/36
2019 Finn Harps 28/36
2020 Shelbourne 19/18
2021 Waterford 42/36
2022 UCD 26/36

7. Drogheda 35/29
8. Sligo 30/29
9. Cork 27/29

36 points should be enough for Sligo or Cork to finish 8th.

Shearer
02/09/2023, 7:49 AM
Treaty the better side in Cobh last night, a draw probably would have been the fairest result though.

Must win game vs Wexford now.

legendz
02/09/2023, 8:00 AM
Must win game vs Wexford now.A playoff 6 pointer. Wexford and Treaty are away to Galway and Waterford in the final game.

02/09/2023, 8:02 AM
Have we finally found a performance to match Sligos famous night in Tallaght ?!?!

tbf, I was at the game, Dun created more chances in this than they have all season, Maher was inspired. Dun wouldnt stop a bus at the back though.

ger121
02/09/2023, 9:23 AM
tbf, I was at the game, Dun created more chances in this than they have all season, Maher was inspired. Dun wouldnt stop a bus at the back though.

It’s becoming a bit of a narrative that Dundalk create a lot of chances in games. The players even talking about xG in interviews. That’s all well and good but the aim of the game it to put the ball in the back of the onion sack and they haven’t been good enough in games. KA, Rovers and now Derry are very recent examples.

CorribsideSteve
02/09/2023, 9:31 AM

Dundalk were easily beaten last night. Not sure what O'Donnell is seeing. They've been dreadful for quite some weeks now already.

Jolly Red Giant
02/09/2023, 9:38 AM
Jaysus rovers win 3 nil but its all down to the referee ??
It could have been 5 or 6.
Yes they did - and yes it could.

All games revolve around momentum - and incidents can change the entire nature of the game.

Towell should have at least been booked for kicking the legs from under a Bohs player in the first minute (I think it warranted a red card for violent conduct) - that would have stopped him continuously kicking people, like it did after he was booked at the start of the second half.

Bohs were denied a stonewall penalty and potentially a second one early in the first half - either of those given and the complexion of the game changes completely. I also think Bohs should have had a penalty in the second half when Afolabi was belted in the back of the head.

Now - Rovers also had two penalty shouts for handball

But it is a different game if Bohs are one up early in the first half - doesn't mean that Bohs would have won or that Rovers would not have gone on to dominate the second half - but it would have been a different game if there was a competent referee on the pitch.

02/09/2023, 10:43 AM
This sob story narrative from SO'D is becoming a bit tiresome to be honest.

wonder88
02/09/2023, 11:05 AM
Towell should really have got a card at the start of the game and then there was a penalty against (Finn?). I find it very strange that the ref didn't make those two decisions. This may be another reason, along with the lack of competition highlighted by Stuart Byrne, why Shamrocks have been so poor in Europe. Those two decisions would have been given, but in the league of Ireland they most of the time do not have to worry about how they tackle early in matches.
A bit surprised at the Waterford results recently. I don't expect Galway to get it easy in Longford tonight, but a great incentive there now.

Kingswood Rover
02/09/2023, 11:24 AM
They probably will but my point was Rovers fans get ahead of themselves just as much as fans of other clubs. Anyone remember after the CL 1st round draw? They had themselves already in the PO round at least.
Not sure about hoops fans on here getting ahead of themselves as we have been very average for the majority of the Season and have said so here all Season. But last night was by far our best performance of the year and as the game went on it you could see the confidence flowing back into players. Richie Towell was brilliant snapping at the heels of any Bohs player in Possession. The 3 center backs done really well, Poom is class and then to be able to bring on Clarkey and Ferrugia. I think we can now go on and win the league. Bohs just never got going, brilliant support from their fans but it did look like at the end of the game when the team went over to them that some supporters gave negative feedback. Very refreshing to see the ref not ruin the game with cards galore. I think we got some decisions at times that were a little iffy but am probably in the minority of Rovers fans on that observation. Great atmosphere which will only improve again when the new stand opens. I wonder how many away tickets will the club gives when it is opened.

ontheotherhand
02/09/2023, 1:26 PM
Definitely would have been a different result if it was a different game in Tallaght with a different ref and maybe two different teams.

9-2 is the aggregate score now so that should tell its own story.

Bohs don't seem to have any idea what to do if Afolabi can't elbow his way into a game. Not getting much out of Danny Grant. Connolly looked lively and Clarke did show flashes but overall they were second best in every department. Did think the Finn one on Clarke was a peno but we had a claim as well and ultimately could have won by more. Talbot is dodgy but he did make a few good stops while Mannus wasn't challenged all night.

Good to see Clarke and Farrugia back on the pitch. We are a different animal with pace in the team and Rory Gaffney is starting to become unplayable again.

02/09/2023, 1:54 PM
Yes they did - and yes it could.

All games revolve around momentum - and incidents can change the entire nature of the game.

Towell should have at least been booked for kicking the legs from under a Bohs player in the first minute (I think it warranted a red card for violent conduct) - that would have stopped him continuously kicking people, like it did after he was booked at the start of the second half.

Bohs were denied a stonewall penalty and potentially a second one early in the first half - either of those given and the complexion of the game changes completely. I also think Bohs should have had a penalty in the second half when Afolabi was belted in the back of the head.

Now - Rovers also had two penalty shouts for handball

But it is a different game if Bohs are one up early in the first half - doesn't mean that Bohs would have won or that Rovers would not have gone on to dominate the second half - but it would have been a different game if there was a competent referee on the pitch.
Rovers fan here, but I see and accept your point. Goals change games. Had Bohs scored first it could have been different. And just look how the last game changed when Bohs pulled a goal back from 0-2. But overall Rovers did show they were quite a bit the better team imho.

Clarke and Farrugia’s pace make such a huge difference and we’ve missed it for much of the season. Clarke is a force of nature.

But I think the real reason for our domestic return to winning ways and form is the return of our white shorts!

Dermobohs
02/09/2023, 2:57 PM
Very fair summary’s there lads, yes we had a couple of whinges about Hennessy’s mad reffing but penalty , towell getting away with a few nasty ones , instead of geeing us up and going after it we went into our shell invited rovers on and paid the price.
In the end after totally rubbish defending 3-0 was fair enough.
For me only Connolly , Clarke and an isolated Afolabi showed the fight we expect.
Agree about the ref not flashing too many cards but he allowed towell away with all sorts and booked a couple more for nothing .
Forgettable night for us but as I said earlier in the season they’re the best team we’ve played this season.

ger121
02/09/2023, 3:12 PM
For all the injuries to key players Rovers have had. The loss of Grace during parts of the season has tended to go under the radar. Now I could be wrong here but since he has come back into the team they have kept two clean sheets.

ontheotherhand
02/09/2023, 4:15 PM
For all the injuries to key players Rovers have had. The loss of Grace during parts of the season has tended to go under the radar. Now I could be wrong here but since he has come back into the team they have kept two clean sheets.

You're spot on. He covers for everyone back there. Puts in blocks, rarely loses the ball or a battle and can pass it as well. We are far better with him on the left side. He was our best defender until he got injured.

Don't take this the wrong way but I don't think last night will define your season. Bohs have done far better than I and most expected. Looks like you need a bit of bite in the middle and some proper full backs but otherwise there's a team there. Get Deegan in for a year and you'd be dangerous!

Dermobohs
02/09/2023, 4:38 PM
Most bohs fans in the real world, pre season, would’ve snapped your hand off for a top4,and a decent cup run.
Good side in there yes but we need midfield steel, and a new back four.
JT is a top class shot stopper but prone to mistakes also.

02/09/2023, 4:52 PM
I was up in Tallaght last night. Shamrock Rovers simply were superb! Great game great atmosphere loved the flares!
Btw Stewie Byrne blowup was in 06 season!

02/09/2023, 7:29 PM
Even if they lose to UCD and lose the rest if their games we need to make up 3 points plus goal difference, so effectively 4 points.
Our opportunity to do that was in our games against UCD at home (draw) and Drogs last week (loss).

We have one more against UCD but even if we win that I struggle to see were we would pick up more points.

It's not over but it's gonna be very difficult

I’d be amazed if cork came above Sligo. Cork are the worst team I’ve seen this season - and that includes ucd- talk about anti football

02/09/2023, 7:30 PM
There's a blast from the past! Welcome back Cosmo :p

02/09/2023, 7:52 PM
There's a blast from the past! Welcome back Cosmo :p

Always lurking ;-)

02/09/2023, 8:29 PM
Go on Town. Cristian Magerusan you legend. 10 in 12 for him now.

joey B
02/09/2023, 8:36 PM
Big win for Longford that,second win over Galway there this season..
More an annoyance for Galway than anything but you’d think they’ll need serious investment in the winter to get up to Premier Division level….

legendz
02/09/2023, 8:41 PM
More an annoyance for Galway than anything but you’d think they’ll need serious investment in the winter to get up to Premier Division level….Big win alright. A 4 way battle for the final playoff spot.

Dermobohs
02/09/2023, 9:02 PM
Go on Town. Cristian Magerusan you legend. 10 in 12 for him now.
Mmmm, wonder if he fancies a return to dalymount?

02/09/2023, 10:02 PM
Mmmm, wonder if he fancies a return to dalymount?

I'm delighted for the lad that he's managed to get fit and firing. He had a burst of form last season too but got injured again. Has a great knack of being in the right place at the right time.

02/09/2023, 11:17 PM
More an annoyance for Galway than anything but you’d think they’ll need serious investment in the winter to get up to Premier Division level….

First investment should be in a new manager. That is behind a prehistoric style of play, wont last a wet weekend in the premier at that muck.

sbgawa
03/09/2023, 6:59 AM
Ian Morris was sacked after bringing Shels up so it wouldn't be unprecedented for Galway to sack caulfield after promotion. Can't see it though I think Morris was always on borrowed time at shels after getting them.relegated .

Olander
03/09/2023, 7:19 AM
Not a chance Caulfield will be sacked. We've píssed the First Division this year.

Of course there will be investment required next season, that's obvious, but I don't see us going up to the Premier Division with the ambition of simply staying up. Caulfield is a cute character and he has a good relationship with the Comers, if we go up, we should be well-backed.

Funny game last night, Longford I would say were the better team in the first half, but not by much, but you couldn't begrudge them the half time lead. Second half as you would expect, they sat in and wasted time at every opportunity. We dominated the half and with the chances we created, we should've won the game really, but if you don't take your chances....etc.

We were missing Manning, Horgan and Donelon last night and it was glaring how weak we were in the wide positions and that's where Longford's goal came from.

Shearer
03/09/2023, 8:22 AM
A win against Treaty in a few weeks will see Longford record a quadruple of Cup final victories - two over Galway United and two over Treaty United.

placid casual
03/09/2023, 8:36 AM
Not a chance Caulfield will be sacked. We've píssed the First Division this year.

Of course there will be investment required next season, that's obvious, but I don't see us going up to the Premier Division with the ambition of simply staying up. Caulfield is a cute character and he has a good relationship with the Comers, if we go up, we should be well-backed.

Funny game last night, Longford I would say were the better team in the first half, but not by much, but you couldn't begrudge them the half time lead. Second half as you would expect, they sat in and wasted time at every opportunity. We dominated the half and with the chances we created, we should've won the game really, but if you don't take your chances....etc.

We were missing Manning, Horgan and Donelon last night and it was glaring how weak we were in the wide positions and that's where Longford's goal came from.

Unless galway buy 10/11 player's next season they'll be automatically favourites for the drop. They are going into a fully professional league with only drogs as part time,and drogs are an an ocean ahead of galway in terms of quality.
Just pray you get the play off position next year would be my advice.