View Full Version : Games Weekend 1st Sept to 6th Sept
Olander
03/09/2023, 9:36 AM
Unless galway buy 10/11 player's next season they'll be automatically favourites for the drop. They are going into a fully professional league with only drogs as part time,and drogs are an an ocean ahead of galway in terms of quality.
Just pray you get the play off position next year would be my advice.
Eamon Dunphy, is that you?! I'm sure you've watched a lot of us this season :D
To say Drogs are oceans ahead of us is a mad statement. We trounced UCD 5-1 in the FAI Cup a week ago. Is there a big step up to the Premier Division, yes of course there is. Are clubs near the bottom of the Premier miles ahead of us now? Stop will ya. We're miles ahead of every other club in the First Division and have plenty of Premier Division experience in the team. We're fully professional and well equipped for the Premier. If we drew Drogheda in the Cup, I would've been happy with that draw and fancied us to go through.
Why on earth would we pray to finish in the play-offs? We are well backed by the Comers and we will invest when we go up.
Jd2793
03/09/2023, 9:56 AM
drogs miss a clinical finisher. just my opinion but i think they are much better than any other team thats been 8th over the last few seasons. doherty is a very versatile manager well able to change up things depending on opponents. there is a big jump to the PD as proven by us walking over waterford, drogs have pumped us (city) in 3 games this year but only come away with 1 win.
03/09/2023, 10:06 AM
Eamon Dunphy, is that you?! I'm sure you've watched a lot of us this season :D
To say Drogs are oceans ahead of us is a mad statement. We trounced UCD 5-1 in the FAI Cup a week ago. Is there a big step up to the Premier Division, yes of course there is. Are clubs near the bottom of the Premier miles ahead of us now? Stop will ya. We're miles ahead of every other club in the First Division and have plenty of Premier Division experience in the team. We're fully professional and well equipped for the Premier. If we drew Drogheda in the Cup, I would've been happy with that draw and fancied us to go through.
Why on earth would we pray to finish in the play-offs? We are well backed by the Comers and we will invest when we go up.
I know it's been a few years since Galway were in the Premier Division, but you're in for an awful shock, if that's the opinion you take with you.
Galway are at least five or six players short of a premier division team. And I would say they're already backed better than a few of the teams in in Premier Division.
Olander
03/09/2023, 10:11 AM
I know it's been a few years since Galway were in the Premier Division, but you're in for an awful shock, if that's the opinion you take with you.
Galway are at least five or six players short of a premier division team. And I would say they're already backed better than a few of the teams in in Premier Division.
Read the last line of my post again.
Of course we will sign at least that, if not more when we go up.
It's nearly so obviously that it doesn't require saying, but it appears it does - we're obviously going to add quite a bit to the squad when we go up.
I'm not sure we'll be in for a shock going into the Premier Division if we don't have an attitude of just "hopefully we'll get a playoff spot lads!!"
Jolly Red Giant
03/09/2023, 12:47 PM
Rovers fan here, but I see and accept your point. Goals change games. Had Bohs scored first it could have been different. And just look how the last game changed when Bohs pulled a goal back from 0-2. But overall Rovers did show they were quite a bit the better team imho.
No doubt that Rovers are the better team - Rovers have 3-4 quality players that no other LOI team has. Put one of the Rovers centre backs and a quality midfielder into the Bohs team and they would not be too far away.
legendz
03/09/2023, 12:59 PM
drogs miss a clinical finisher. just my opinion but i think they are much better than any other team thats been 8th over the last few seasons. doherty is a very versatile manager well able to change up things depending on opponents. there is a big jump to the PD as proven by us walking over waterford, drogs have pumped us (city) in 3 games this year but only come away with 1 win.
Drogheda are currently 7th. It appears to be a two way battle between Sligo and Cork now for 8th.
03/09/2023, 2:49 PM
A win against Treaty in a few weeks will see Longford record a quadruple of Cup final victories - two over Galway United and two over Treaty United.
We've been much better since July. There were a few players that were moved on and there's a much happier dressing room since by all accounts. Getting Magerusan back from injury and adding a few more experienced heads has also helped.
03/09/2023, 4:28 PM
We've been much better since July. There were a few players that were moved on and there's a much happier dressing room since by all accounts. Getting Magerusan back from injury and adding a few more experienced heads has also helped.
Yeah have to agree with that statement. Magerusan has now scored five games on the bounce for us. Jack Brady was superb for us last night. Getting Jordan Adeyemo back and Bastien Hery has being a great help to us!
wonder88
03/09/2023, 7:12 PM
I don't think Galway would have scored even if the game went on another hour, Brady was very good, getting something on Manley's effort, save onto the post from Walsh etc. Some of the Galway players were very poor, plus a few key players this season injured. Fair play to Longford, I really like the ground and as mentioned above there was a great cup final win feel to their delight at the end. Just wish the road to Athlone part of the return journey was easier to drive at night.
ciaraa
03/09/2023, 9:00 PM
standard of prem is terrible. sure just look at what ferencvaros did to shams. they are complete muck but will win the league easy. whole thing needs a new format. 10 team league is crap too. the irish league looks good compared to here which is actually mental ..
placid casual
03/09/2023, 9:17 PM
standard of prem is terrible. sure just look at what ferencvaros did to shams. they are complete muck but will win the league easy. whole thing needs a new format. 10 team league is crap too. the irish league looks good compared to here which is actually mental ..
That would be the Ferancvaros that had a budget last season of €23 million euro.
Put down the glue.
03/09/2023, 9:26 PM
Its not a bad year to be promoted with a lot of mediocrity and teams in or due to be in transition in the premier division. That said, there may not be a UCD/Harps type duo (sorry lads) to fill the relegation slots next season so could be a long, close and cut-throat 2024 season for anyone who is not looking at a solid top 5 finish and clubs in those positions this season will most likely be consolidating, Drogs knocking on that door if they can keep manager and players together.
There is of course a step up for promoted sides, but premier sides collapse ala Cork previous and under JC, Sligo this year maybe. Its LoI!! Nobody should expect or assume anything - Galway shouldnt be afraid of being a promoted side considering their resources but neither should they be thnking they have it covered....trying to get out of the graveyard with a pro squad et al should be warning enough.
03/09/2023, 9:28 PM
That would be the Ferancvaros that had a budget last season of €23 million euro.
Put down the glue.
What was Breidablik's budget?
sbgawa
03/09/2023, 10:56 PM
200 million ish
ger121
03/09/2023, 11:34 PM
Not sure but we can all tell what they made in Europe.
ontheotherhand
03/09/2023, 11:40 PM
For baking or playing football?
Budget's aren't everything though Nesta, as I'm sure everyone in Dundalk is well aware of.
04/09/2023, 10:27 AM
200 million ish
Krona or Euro :p
ger121
04/09/2023, 11:57 AM
Budget's aren't everything though Nesta, as I'm sure everyone in Dundalk is well aware of.
Either way, you need plenty of dough!
04/09/2023, 2:12 PM
Well that was the point of the Breidablik question! What's Rover's operational budget either, for context! PC tends to be selective at times as per above. Im not Rovers bashing just using a bit of logic on the dismissing of one point but the overall comment can still apply.
sbgawa
04/09/2023, 2:14 PM
200 million ish
Krona or Euro :p
i did say "ish" i'm more a big picture man then details like this
bohsmug
06/09/2023, 7:27 PM
Nonchalant beauty of a goal there from Will Patching
The Bowler
06/09/2023, 7:39 PM
Jesus wept, the students defending, especially the undropable skipper, no words
Nonchalant beauty of a goal there from Will Patching
A high class goal from a high class player.
Bergkamp vibes about that finish.
06/09/2023, 8:32 PM
Not good enough for Dundalk! Training on his own and sent out on loan to our B team feeder club...
If youse have any more down there similarly not good enough let them know wel scoot down and pick them up in January.
bohsmug
06/09/2023, 8:44 PM
Yeah thought the same, or Le Tissier ( possibly helped by the red and white stripes).
Only half the outfielders that started the game finished it, last 40 minutes or so was fairly boring. Thought Derry would keep at it for goal difference reasons.
07/09/2023, 3:37 PM
If youse have any more down there similarly not good enough let them know wel scoot down and pick them up in January.
Maybe O'Malley, definitely top midfielder in the league material but we'd have to take that Patching dross back in exchange, along with Dummigan.
Seriously though, Patching is arguably the best midfielder in the league (yes I know Rovers fans will gurn on about Byrne but in terms of this season impact), always had that x factor potential and was showing it at Dundalk, then suddenly was marginalised, made train on his own and sent on loan. 1st thing Perth did was recall him but understandibly the damage was done on his feelings on Dundalk. I have no idea what happened behind the scenes but the comments at the time was he wasnt attitude and not good enough. Now considering the Zahibo/Abibi bs, its hard to get the head around as purely on finances Patching was at mininum as effective as Zahibo on a fraction of the cost. Our loss has probably been Derry's biggest gain including Duffy and McEleney et al.