View Full Version : Sligo Accomodation

Danny
22/08/2005, 9:42 AM
Lads,

Any recommendations for B&Bs or the likes to stay in Sligo Town this saturday night ?
All the hotels seem to be booked out.

Cheers,
Danny

22/08/2005, 9:48 AM
we TOLD you last week!

SRFC Head
22/08/2005, 9:49 AM
There are a few b&b's up pearse road (the dublin road out of sligo) that should be both fine of the price and quality.

22/08/2005, 10:56 AM
Lads,

Any recommendations for B&Bs or the likes to stay in Sligo Town this saturday night ?
All the hotels seem to be booked out.

Cheers,
Danny

theres plenty...just walk around through town and you'll find one

garykelly
22/08/2005, 12:36 PM
u can search through ireland.ie who have a large selection of listings

Petmuller
22/08/2005, 3:31 PM
Sligo is Ireland's answer to New York.
Save you're money mate, you'll not have time for bed anyway.
Have a couple of pints in fiddlers and then over to Toffs. Pick up a bird and take her back to her place like any gentleman would ;)

SRFC Head
22/08/2005, 3:37 PM
Fiddlers after a football game no way... I'd go for a pub with a bit of craic in it, not a crap dj playing ****e...there is plenty of time for that if you decide to go to toffs.

Petmuller
22/08/2005, 5:08 PM
Fiddlers after a football game no way... I'd go for a pub with a bit of craic in it, not a crap dj playing ****e...there is plenty of time for that if you decide to go to toffs.

You seemed to have forgot to name that pub :rolleyes:

roversforever
22/08/2005, 11:15 PM
i'll name it for him....mchughs!

23/08/2005, 12:24 AM
don't go to fiddlers anyway. u cud go to envy and score a 15yo

Petmuller
23/08/2005, 11:11 AM

Isn't there a crap dj playing ***** music there as well

SRFC Head
23/08/2005, 1:00 PM

Each to their own I suppose, I would go accross the road for one at half time, then another one at full time, Then maybe have one in McGarrigles, Shoots, Hardigans, and the Garavogue.

SRFC Head
23/08/2005, 1:00 PM

ehhh no....

23/08/2005, 1:41 PM
Had a few pints in Hargadon Bros. when we were down there last year but that was mostly because it sounded funny in French! :D

marktis
23/08/2005, 10:58 PM
If you are after a quality pint of Guinness - Shoot the Crows is "yer only man" as they say in Dublin.
As for later there is Toffs or Envy ...... :D

23/08/2005, 11:06 PM
wish sligo had a pub that stayed open until 4 or 5 am,hate nightclubs,full of *****s

Partizan
18/02/2006, 11:55 AM
Lads,

The IBSC (Independent Blues Supporters Club) are organizing a trip to Sligo for the Easter Bank Holiday weekend for the game against Sligo Rovers in the Showgrounds. We plan on staying one night in Sligo. We would greatly appreciate it if ye would be able to give us info on hotels and other accomodation in Sligo.

Cheers. ;)

18/02/2006, 12:03 PM
There are a few listed here (http://www.goireland.com/Scripts/low/xq/asp/cat.0/areatype.C/areaid.192/SubjectID.65/qx/listing.htm) if its any help

18/02/2006, 12:25 PM
Southern Hotel would be the nearest to the Showgrounds,about 5 min walk.
Sligo City Hotel(formerly the Tower Hotel)would be about 15 away.
The further from town you go the better the Hotel.
Radisson and The Clarion are about 10min drive but are better in terms of luxury,but would cost more aswell.

nismo
18/02/2006, 12:30 PM
simple answer.... no

18/02/2006, 12:35 PM
simple answer.... no
funny fcuker arent you????

18/02/2006, 12:37 PM
funny fcuker arent you????
simple answer.....no :p

raginrover
18/02/2006, 12:38 PM
I think the riverside hotel might be your best bet about a 15 min walk to the game and more importantly 2 mins form the main nightclub and pubs. Im nearly sure they do group discounts as well,give them a bell and see

18/02/2006, 2:51 PM
but if your driving down then dont go to the reiverside...about 10 parking spaces.

Gareth
18/02/2006, 3:18 PM
I really like the Radisson and have been there Twice in the last 6 months. I will be staying there on my Sligo trips!!!

red arrow
18/02/2006, 3:44 PM
if you want to stay ina hotel in sligo for easter weekend you would want to book now as the hotels are always booked out especially easter weekend with the west of ireland golf champioship on and the local feisanna. the best hotels in decending order are 1) the clarion beautiful hotel out of town centre 2 miles from showgrounds 2) raddison very good quality on rosses point rd where golg is being held 3 miles from showgrounds 3) sligo park very good quality 2 miles from showgrounds 4) southern hotel old style near rly station (sometimes can hear engines running) nice and friendly just of main centre area.5) riverside hotel beside main pub area and toffs nightclub not so sure about quality
6) city hotel just off main shopping area not bad close to some brothels 10 mins from football ground. there are also loads of low cost accomodation see yellow pages. by the way sligo girls are very attractive nad drink plenty

Soper
18/02/2006, 8:38 PM
hahahah, brothels in sligo?!where!

18/02/2006, 10:38 PM
hahahah, brothels in sligo?!where!Their was one uncovered not far from your old place actually:eek: :D.

Soper
18/02/2006, 10:45 PM
Haha, I take it you mean Cranmore:D
Unless there was one at the other place:eek:

18/02/2006, 10:47 PM
Haha, I take it you mean Cranmore:DNear enough to there, yeah. I wasn't a customer now, just read about it;). Anyway, better stop going off topic now:o.

Partizan
19/02/2006, 12:10 PM
Cheers lads,

thanks for the info ;)

We're heading up on the train from Waterford so we should be in Sligo a couple of hours before KO.

See ye there.

21/02/2006, 9:27 PM
great southern is the closest to the showgies, but its not half as nice as the Clarion or the Radisson!

22/02/2006, 6:23 PM
or half as expensive

marktis
23/02/2006, 8:29 AM
Dont forget the Ark Bar and Hotel on High Street. Cheap and cheerful hotel in the town centre with a good late drink and a niteclub on the premises !

23/02/2006, 9:06 AM
that is the worst night club in town....

marktis
23/02/2006, 9:23 AM
that is the worst night club in town....
I'll take your word for it - have never been there !!!

23/02/2006, 9:30 AM
went to it on tuesday for about 3 minutes and then left....dont make the same mistake.

marktis
23/02/2006, 9:36 AM
I actually came close to the entrance last night on my way home from McLoughlins ..... but alas I was not tempted to venture inside :D

23/02/2006, 10:02 AM
I actually came close to the entrance last night on my way home from McLoughlins ..... but alas I was not tempted to venture inside :D
i was in McLoughlins tuesday night,lovely little pub isnt it....

23/02/2006, 1:11 PM
I stayed in the Southern just under a year ago and found it to be
terrible. Staff we're rude enough and the rooms we're manky!
Dont think I'd ever stay there again!

Shiba
23/02/2006, 9:46 PM
simple answer.... no
Do you Call the Commadore a "HOTEL" .

Bravo
24/02/2006, 6:03 AM
Lads,

The IBSC (Independent Blues Supporters Club) are organizing a trip to Sligo for the Easter Bank Holiday weekend for the game against Sligo Rovers in the Showgrounds. We plan on staying one night in Sligo. We would greatly appreciate it if ye would be able to give us info on hotels and other accomodation in Sligo.

Cheers. ;)

If your looking for something Cheap & Cheerful, somewhere to hang your clothes when your on the Razz… then you cant go wrong with either the City Hotel or the Southern, 5-10 min walk apart the Southern is closer to the ground & the City is, well in the City (centre). The Radisson/Clarion/Sligo Park are nice hotels but not within walking distance of the City Centre.

24/02/2006, 10:08 AM
6) city hotel just off main shopping area not bad close to some brothels 10 mins from football ground. by the way sligo girls are very attractive nad drink plenty

Isn't it terrible that brothel employees are allowed to drink on the job:D

Iorfa2MaccaJim
05/03/2009, 7:22 PM
Hi lads.

I was just wondering could ye help me ?

I am a Waterford United fan and I am thinking of going to our game against Finn Harps in Ballybofey in April.

I would be travelling up to Sligo the night before. And I would be staying over in Sligo that night. I am looking at two hotels, The Sligo Park Hotel and The Clarion Hotel.

What would ye think of the two hotels. Has anyone ever stayed in
either ?

Cheers

Bravo
05/03/2009, 7:34 PM
Hi
Both are good the Clarion is more modern cause it’s newer but you cant go wrong with either, both are well out of town, so if your on the razz you’ll have to get Taxi’s, in the town center you have The Glasshouse, The City & The Southern, the first two are very central and the Glasshouse is probably the best of those. Again I’d have no complaints about any.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
05/03/2009, 7:46 PM
How far are The Clarion and The Sligo Park Hotel, from the bus station ?

05/03/2009, 8:12 PM
I stayed in the White Horse hostel about 15 years ago while paying for Tralee RTC, its was a dump, hope this helps.

bomber82290
05/03/2009, 9:04 PM
The Southern hotel is right beside the bus station and not bad.Helped Rovers out allot and i would recomend it.

06/03/2009, 12:06 AM
How far are The Clarion and The Sligo Park Hotel, from the bus station ?

The Clarion and Park are both taxi rides away from the Station. Southern practically on the platform and the bus station is there as well.

dong
06/03/2009, 8:08 AM
The Clarion and Park are both taxi rides away from the Station. Southern practically on the platform and the bus station is there as well.
Is Avvenalaf an American?:D
The Sligo Park is roughly three quarters of a mile from the station and the Clarion would be something similar.