View Full Version : Derry City v Cork City..

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Krstic
24/08/2005, 7:58 AM
A completely accurate summary of how Longford "play" every game.....

Not entirely true. The first half, yes. Everything was played up and under by Longford but in the second half the wind became very blustery and the high ball tactic was ditched. Longford then began to play some football and lo-and-behold they created chances, even scoring.

In saying that, we were too good :D

24/08/2005, 1:24 PM
With fans like you, its no wonder Kenny is giving out. I remember we played Derry in the FAI cup in the eighties & there were thousands of fans from Derry in Abbeycartron. Derry had a following of about 10,000 those days - a far cry from armchair fans like yourself.
Coming from a club who have the most modern facilities in the League yet struggle to get 1,000 fans through the turnstiles when they are more successful than they have ever been! Raises a question doesn't it?

Don't spout the crap about small county, big Gah following blah blah blah. You play puke football and people don`t want to watch it.

So what if we have lost the novelty element? That was always going to happen as the country's 4th largest city didn't have a senior soccer side for 12 odd years. They drifted away as the novelty value disappeared and they aren't missed.

Now we face the same struggles as everybody else to attract Andy Gray's Armchiar Army, but we still have the 2nd highest average attendence this year, and its rising.

Longford could be on top of the League and nobody would want to watch your brand of "football" (in the loosest sense). Look at your goals for and against column for an example. Dykes tried to do the same to us and thank God he went.

As you've repeatedly been told, why don't you "Cop on".

jorge
24/08/2005, 1:37 PM
Spot on.

24/08/2005, 1:49 PM
Cop-on

Kdevine is in America, hence he didn't make the match.

Furthermore Barry Ferguson committed several fouls which the referee played advantage on.

His first yellow was for his aggressive charge at the referee combined with the mouthing. His second "foul"(in the loose sense of the word) was for a leading elbow on Gary Beckett, where he made no attempt to play the ball and made sure he got the man.

As such a scholar of the game, I'm sure your aware of the history between the pair.

sullanefc
24/08/2005, 1:55 PM
Ageed. Boring boring Longford!!! ;)

24/08/2005, 2:10 PM
Pathetic. You didn't even go to the game. You were probably sitting at home watching the Loverpool match. You are a Loverpool fan at heart & you only come on here to voice your negative opinions.

If you were a proper EL fan, you would know that Derry have won the League cup 5 times & are on course for the treble this year.
Derry were the better team last night & won fair & square. Its only the second time Derry have ever beaten us in the Brandywell & I am astonished at the treatment of Barry Ferguson. He was fouled THREE times & the ref gave three frees (but not one card). Yet, first time Barry fouled his man, he gets a yellow & the line (first card was for mouthing). [I'm only telling you this Devine, as you were sitting in your armchair like Stevie Gerrard watching a bunch of overpaid mercenaries lose to some nothing team whose name I can't even remember.]

With fans like you, its no wonder Kenny is giving out. I remember we played Derry in the FAI cup in the eighties & there were thousands of fans from Derry in Abbeycartron. Derry had a following of about 10,000 those days - a far cry from armchair fans like yourself.

Ahah Hah Hah Hah - KDevine lives in the US !! :D :D :rolleyes:

Classic - lecturing someone on how to support their team when they live on the other side of the world. You really have exposed yourself as a turkey now Cop On....

I wasn't at the game either ! Go on - slag me off as well...... ! :D

Comedy gold.......

P.S. I was at Abbeycarton in the 80's, and I remember one game in particular where you had 50 fans at an absolute push. At least we've had decent support right throughout our history - not latter day glory-hunting band-wagon jumpers like de Town.... :)

Krstic
24/08/2005, 2:24 PM
P.S. I was at Abbeycarton in the 80's, and I remember one game in particular where you had 50 fans at an absolute push. :)

Was it the 5-1 or the 1-5 game by any chance Steve???

Dr.Nightdub
24/08/2005, 7:41 PM
Somebody get that guy a banjo. :rolleyes:

kevin_devine
25/08/2005, 12:29 AM
Sorry for my delay but I tried to reply a couple of times but the website said not responding so I couldn’t post, so here it is now!!

Dcfc steve, unfortuantly, I do not live in the States wish I did but I don’t im on holiday here!!

Now Cop On, My comments about Longford are not based on this match but based on about 10 years of supporting DCFC I have traveled the length of this country as far away as Cork and as close as Harps. I am in no way an armchair supporter and several people that post on this forum can tell you this.

I have missed the matches in the month of August because I have been away as I have already said although these are the first and only matches that I have missed this season, I go out of my way when I can to attend a DCFC match.

Longford, as I said are a boring, negative team and I do not enjoy watching them, you do have a decent record against Derry, in fact I think that when we beat you in the Brandywell earlier this season it was the first time we did so in the league since your promotion.

As for Barry Ferguson I think he is nothing short of a thug, not as much so as Ollie Byrne but he is a thug. I seem to remember awhile back when he got sent off against us for a similar horrible offence, I feel that elbow a fellow player is atrocious it is an unacceptable offence and it would have been a joke if he hadn’t walked.

As for the 4th biggest city in Ireland what number is Longford at???

Oh Yeah I forgot your called Longford TOWN
In our darkest days we have had more support than your dream season when you won the FAI Cup.

Catch yourself on!!

Rant Over

25/08/2005, 12:34 AM
So he hasn't a clue about what happened. He certainly can't make the assertion that Longford 'didn't challenge'. In fact, Longford were very unlucky not to equalise at the death. His assertions of negativity are absolutely without any basis.

Kev can speak for himself. Apart from that, your comments are very tedious. Yeah - Longford could have equalised at the death. And yeah - Ireland could've won the World Cup in 1990. But, hey - you didn't, and they didn't. Deal with it.....

I wasn't at the game either ! Go on - slag me off as well...... !/QUOTE]
Do you go to Derry games at all, or do you just read the match reports as well ?? You probably thought you'd not win, seeing as you've only beaten us once at the Brandywell in three years before this.

I go to games when I can, but living in london makes it a tad tricky. Believe it or not, not all Eircom League fans are stuck back where they're from bumming cows. Some go see the world....

As for the win - I would've bet my house on it if I'd found a bookie who'd have taken the offer. Luckily for them, I didn't.... . I sincerely hope you put a couple of head of cattle and some bailing twine on a Longford win, you being so confident and all.....

At least we've had decent support right throughout our history - not latter day glory-hunting band-wagon jumpers like de Town.... :)

Oh yeah, apart from a massive slump in the nineties ........... and when all the bandwagons left ye in the late eighties ...........................
4th biggest city in the country - its no great boast to have the crowds ye have.

Yes - our numbers did dwindle in the 90's. From 10,000 average gate to c2,000 average gate. But I don't think anyone in Longford even knows what a 2,000 average gate even smells like. If that's our low-water mark, then I'm glad to accept it. You only got 5,000 along to the last FAI Cup Final, fer feck sae. Shame !! . And no fans left us in the late 80's by the way - we did the country's only treble in 1989 ya numpty ! Our fans were increasing in thiose days - not decreasing. We could've sold the Brandywell out 2 or 3 times over in the late 80's and early 90's, so how does that equate to people leaving us ? As a Cardiff City fan told me at the Carmarthen v Longford away game - our ECWC game against them in 1988 was the biggest away support EVER seen in Ninian Park. His words - not mine.

By the way - I don't remember meeting you at Richmond Park in Newton for Longford's away European game. Reading the match report instead, were you....?

And you're claiming it's no great boast to have one of the best supported teams in the country ???? I know - I wish we had feck all at games like the mighty Longford...... :D

Cop on? I only wish to Chr!st you finally would....