View Full Version : Derry City v Cork City..

Pages : 1 [2] 3

ccfcgirl
20/08/2005, 11:30 AM
Was it a full house last night?

20/08/2005, 4:25 PM

Dunno - but they were all certainly full when they got back to the houses in the wee small hours of this morning...... :p

20/08/2005, 4:28 PM

Nope,

Stand was full but there was space in the standing sections

20/08/2005, 10:50 PM
What can you expect when you send a match analyst(if thats what you would call him) to a place where he is hated by most fans, do that anywhere and you'll get chants like thatAnd they had Dolan too, a handy double.Two right Johnny Populars.

Does anyone else believe Pat Dolan wants to have George O'Calaghan's babies.He is his agent, what more can you expect.

21/08/2005, 2:20 PM
And they had Dolan too, a handy double.Two right Johnny Populars.

Dolan was very popular in the pub afterwards from what I hear. Was in a different pub myself but apparently he was in having a good laugh with all the City fans and people were even buying him champagne and everything.
I was delighted, it's only right.

21/08/2005, 2:30 PM
Dolan was very popular in the pub afterwards from what I hear. Was in a different pub myself but apparently he was in having a good laugh with all the City fans and people were even buying him champagne and everything.
I was delighted, it's only right.

Did he break the news ??

21/08/2005, 2:34 PM
Did he break the news ??

:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
Am I missing something here??

21/08/2005, 2:37 PM
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
Am I missing something here??

Just the outcome of the meetings hes having with Kearney etc. ..... Himself and some suit in Mahon Point ..... might have been a good time to break it to City fans.

21/08/2005, 2:51 PM
Just the outcome of the meetings hes having with Kearney etc. ..... Himself and some suit in Mahon Point ..... might have been a good time to break it to City fans.

I don't know if he was talking about Kearney or not, as I said I was actually in a different pub myself.

It'd hardly be breaking news anyway, we all know the way Kearney's being messed around about his contract at the moment. There was a lot of talk about it amongst the City fans up there alright, it seems Kearney isn't as shy and quiet as I thought. :D

21/08/2005, 2:53 PM
it seems Kearney isn't as shy and quiet as I thought. :D

Whos he getting that from ??

Why is Dolan STILL hanging about ??

21/08/2005, 3:00 PM
Why is Dolan STILL hanging about ??

Well he was commentating on the match and wanted to spend some time with the City fans after, by whom he was made feel very welcome.

As for him meeting Kearney, I can't see a problem with it. If Kearney had been made a decent offer he'd be all signed up by now. If there was any sisnister aspect to their meeting they wouldn't be doing it in such blatent public view.

21/08/2005, 3:55 PM
The question "Why is Dolan STILL hanging about ??" was directed at the Kearney meeting, not the fact he was in Derry or where ever .... i couldn't give a toss where the guy goes at this stage

Dolans some totall involvment with our club since being sacked has been the sale/movement of players ..... Why is that ??

Can i ask another question ?

Do you think Dolans sniffing around is in the clubs best interests ??

I wonder will you answer tell more about your attitude towards the club or your infatuation with all things Dolan ??

Sonic
21/08/2005, 4:20 PM
Shoddy Collins seems to have a very high opinion of him in todays star niot much praise for Rico :D

21/08/2005, 4:33 PM
Shoddy Collins seems to have a very high opinion of him in todays star niot much praise for Rico :D

Shoddy Collins was also on eL weekly a while back tearing shreads of any manager that lost a game, (Dolan and Reynolds got the worst) in the hope they might be warming the seat for him in the managers job. The guy changes his tune (and club) whenever it suits him ..... so break out the salt and time he speaks.

Still have to wonder though ..... Why is Dolan like a bad smell ???

21/08/2005, 4:35 PM
Dolans some totall involvment with our club since being sacked has been the sale/movement of players ..... Why is that ??

You always bring this one up A face and without a shred of proof. In fact most of the available evidence points at a fault on behalf of another member of the clubs staff who was in charge of contacts at the time Doyle agreed his last deal.

Do you think Dolans sniffing around is in the clubs best interests ??

I don't think it has any real impact, positive or negative.

I only mentioned that he was drinking with City fans after the game and that I was quite pleasantly surprised that it showed he still seems very popular amongst a lot of fans.
You're the one who brought up this Kearney thing. How much have the club offered Kearney?? The answer to that will tell you far more than who he meets in Mahon point!!

21/08/2005, 4:42 PM
I don't think it has any real impact, positive or negative.

Yea ... i do think it'll have an impact .... and for the record ....... its Negative !!

bigmac
21/08/2005, 4:50 PM
The answer to that will tell you far more than who he meets in Mahon point!!

Mahon Point? He usually meets people in the Rochestown Park Hotel. :D

21/08/2005, 5:30 PM
Mahon Point? He usually meets people in the Rochestown Park Hotel. :D

Dont we know it !! :(

22/08/2005, 12:09 PM
Naw, don't think so. You can make all the excuses you want, but Cork don't have it upstairs. They had the league won 6 weeks ago (there's no opposition worth talking about) and now they are choking. Last year the league was there for the taking, but they simply didn't step up to the plate. An embarrassing one-nil defeat to an exhausted Shels team at the Cross said it all.
This year it was done and dusted - and then they choked. Pity really, 'coz I'd like to see them win the league. Hope they don't choke against Djurgardens.

choking? we lost one game you idiot.

now if we had lost 5-1 to a munster senior league quality team.....that would be choking alright.

Derry deserved their victory, but we are still top.

22/08/2005, 12:19 PM
choking? we lost one game you idiot.

If we'd drawn both of our last two games, people would think, 'City are still on course.' But we'd only have 2 points.
We beat Shels and took 3 points from 2 testing games.
No crisis, no panic.
We're not Longford.

22/08/2005, 12:32 PM
now if we had lost 5-1 to a munster senior league quality team.....that would be choking alright.

Now thats timely .... opportunistic ... even below the belt .... but bang on the money !! :p :D

22/08/2005, 12:32 PM
Choke ??

You're clearly trying to make everyone forget your "performance" in the UEFA Cup but try as you might, you'll never find a greater example of chokers in the eL.

Redzer
22/08/2005, 12:53 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but were RTE using the Cork GAA creast instead of the Cork City creast?

22/08/2005, 1:38 PM
Ahh that old "plucky little Longford" sh*te rears it's ugly head again...

Small club...fraction of a budget....freak result...just like the last freak result...blah...blah...blah...we beat stronger & better financed clubs like Waterford and SPA...what a result....

Run along, small club, fraction of a budget boy, maybe we'll all take a up a collection for you.....

22/08/2005, 1:53 PM
Cork had this league won six weeks ago.

You'd only expect this from a Longford fan.
Everyone else knows that the League isn't won in June/July. :rolleyes:
We have 1/3 of the league campaign remaining and would like to be ahead on the last day when Derry come to town.
We're still on target for that.

22/08/2005, 1:59 PM
Cork should have won the league last year, but couldn't hold your nerve!!

We were always playing catch up with shels and puched them pretty close in the end, the fact that it went down to the last game at all was impressive, though last day it wasn't in our own hands.

We went unbeaten in 11-12 games in the run in, winning 7 on the trot at one stage, sounds like we held our nerve just fine.

But then don't let the facts get in the way of a petty rant :rolleyes:

22/08/2005, 2:13 PM
Then why didn't you win the league ?? How could you have lost one nil against an exhausted $hel$ team down at the cross ??

We didn't win the league because we were too far behind and went through a very bad run around the European matches, it wasn't lack of nerve. The game you're talking about wasn't even our last game -v- Shels, we went up there and drew, and were unlucky not to win. I fanything, Shels were fading and (to use a hoary old chestnut) if the league had lasted three more games, I think we would have won, of course that's all irrelevant now.

It's funny though, how you don't want to talk about 'freak results' or one-off games involving your own side, but you're willing to throw our entire season out as a 'lack of nerve' based on one game against Shels.

Doesn't make for an intelligent argument

22/08/2005, 2:18 PM
There won't be enough left in the shed to collect from. The chokers have the most fickle fans in the league. Shed is full now, but if mid-table mediocrity beckons it'll soon be half empty.

says 600 a game longford.

even when we are doing poorly we get 1500-2000 thats a rubbish statement from a jealous bogger!

Xlex
22/08/2005, 2:35 PM
You'd only expect this from a Longford fan.

I take objection to that.

But fair play to Cop On on winding ye up...!

hoops1
22/08/2005, 2:43 PM
When Longford actually win a championship maybe then
should you come on here spouting rubbish about choking!
There used to be more players than fans at the games!
Now you have won 2 FAI Cups you are experts on everything!
And fans have sprouted upeverywhere!They must build a shopping centre
down there soon because they will need something to do
when Longford go back to the first Division!
Then the 10 or so fans that are there years can
watch the matches in peace again!
Your even abusing your own players now because the so called
fans/fairweather supporters havent a clue about Longford or there history!

22/08/2005, 3:16 PM
There won't be enough left in the shed to collect from. The chokers have the most fickle fans in the league. Shed is full now, but if mid-table mediocrity beckons it'll soon be half empty.
Nothing like a pile of drivel spewed by a mid-table mediocrity like yourself.:D

I suppose that thats the reason you lot get a few hundred to every game, when your ambition is mid-table mediocrity year in, year out.

but hey, you get to beat "stronger & better financed clubs like Waterford and SPA"

Hoorah for the plucky little mediocrities from Longford......
Hip, Hip Hoorah!

22/08/2005, 3:36 PM
Its a well documented fact that fans of the Chokers are the most fickle fans in the league. For years & years the shed would be full for the first few matches of the season, but as the season progressed & mid-table mediocrity beckoned, the crowds dwindled to about 1,000-1,500.

The problem in Cork is that we've too many great sporting teams to choose from.
Still top of the eircom League.
Still in the FAI Cup.
Still in the UEFA Cup.

A Senior team in the All Ireland Hurling Final, again. (3 Years running)
A Senior football team still in the championship.

Not to mention all the rugby which will be kicking off soon.

All you've got in Longford is mediocre football and mud slinging.
You do neither of them well and fail to get a crowd at both.

22/08/2005, 4:04 PM
an absolutely amazing achievement when you consider the players pool to choose form was 100 !!!!

Aah, poor Longford.
'tis a wonder you didn't sell the cups to buy some second-hand boots for the poor deprived players. :rolleyes:

22/08/2005, 5:10 PM
This is hilarious stuff. Choke :rolleyes:

Going back to our unbeaten 12 game run last season I make it 2 defeats in 34 games!!!!

This season against top 6 teams our record is:
Derry: 1 win 1 lose
Shels: 2 wins
Bohs: 2 wins
Drogs: 1 win 1 lose
Longford: 1 win 1 draw.

The defeat in Derry was our first away defeat in ALL competitions this season. Derry deserved their win but in some respects we were unlucky.

I'll admit the defeat not come at the best time with tough Uefa Cup game on thursday.

Derry are serious title contenders but we are 3 points ahead with +5 goal difference & have Derry at home in last series of games!

22/08/2005, 5:23 PM
I wouldn't call not making the Uefa Cup 1st round choking. Djungardens are 1st in the Swedish League. I've been saying getting past 1st qualifying round is a requirement for all eL sides but anything more a bonus.

22/08/2005, 8:06 PM
Well he was commentating on the match and wanted to spend some time with the City fans after, by whom he was made feel very welcome.
Yes fortunately I had just left the oakgrove before the ***** arrived, so I didn't have to endure the vile spectacle of him trying to curry favour with people who should have more sense.

22/08/2005, 8:14 PM
Yes fortunately I had just left the oakgrove before the ***** arrived, so I didn't have to endure the vile spectacle of him trying to curry favour with people who should have more sense.

Some of ye Cork boys really do have short memories...The fact that practically the entire squad was developed by Dolan and O'Connor and left in such great shape made it so that anybody could go in there and be successful just goes right over ye're heads doesn't it??

Dare I say it, but even Roddy Collins would have difficulty not winning the league with that squad.

22/08/2005, 8:15 PM

Well as I said i was up in Weatherspoons at the time so didn't see him either, unfortunately.

In fairness though, it's probably just aswell you had left as you do have a little bit of a personal problem with him lately and you may have said something stupid to him.
I'm just glad that he got treated so well by all the City fans who were in the Oakgrove.

22/08/2005, 8:17 PM
Some of ye Cork boys really do have short memories.

It's only a small few in fairness. I think that was proved by the reception Pat got by a large group of City fans in the Oakgrove after.

It's a pity that some people can't respect both Dolan AND Rico without seeing the need to only like one or the other.

22/08/2005, 8:22 PM
and people were even buying him champagne and everything.I heard someone p*ssed in his ballygowan but then Dolan told em it was champers and they of course swallowed it.

22/08/2005, 11:51 PM
and people were even buying him champagne and everything.

I heard someone p*ssed in his ballygowan but then Dolan told em it was champers and they of course swallowed it.
They sell champagne in the Oakgrove? :eek: :D

23/08/2005, 1:18 AM
The fact that practically the entire squad was developed by Dolan and O'Connor

You see, thats where you are wrong ..... all this has been thrashed out before hand and it proved to not read like that at all !! :eek:

I couldn't be bothered searching for the thread in particular .... but just might if anyone contests it ...... the fact ACTUALLY is, its not the team that Dolan built ..... it is in fact quite different and you comment is more suited to Dolan taking over first day !!

kevin_devine
23/08/2005, 3:48 AM
how did a thread that was about Derry City and Cork City turn into an argument with Rovers and Longford fans :confused: :confused:

23/08/2005, 9:46 AM
Some of ye Cork boys really do have short memories...The fact that practically the entire squad was developed by Dolan and O'Connor and left in such great shape made it so that anybody could go in there and be successful just goes right over ye're heads doesn't it??

Dare I say it, but even Roddy Collins would have difficulty not winning the league with that squad.Some of ye don't know what yer talking about. The majority of that squad was at the club before either Dolan or O'Connor (or Rico) got to the club.

In fairness though, it's probably just aswell you had left as you do have a little bit of a personal problem with him lately and you may have said something stupid to him.I have no personal problem with him, other than the fact that I don't like the man and I don't trust him. I did see him alright, he was stood a few yards away from me on the street while I was waiting for somebody. Plenty of opportunity to say something "stupid" to him, but I wouldn't waste my time on him anymore, he's just not worth it.

It's a pity that some people can't respect both Dolan AND Rico without seeing the need to only like one or the other.
Its not out of need at all Colm, its a choice- to dislike someone who is a liar and spoofer.

The Good Son
23/08/2005, 10:48 AM
It's only a small few in fairness. I think that was proved by the reception Pat got by a large group of City fans in the Oakgrove after.

From what I saw Dolan was in the most part ignored by most CCFC fans in The Oakgrove, probably the best thing to do, ignore him and hopefully he'll go away. There seemed to be a lot of DCFC fans sitting around him. In fairness I wasn't there when he came in so maybe he got a good reception then.

hoops1
23/08/2005, 10:53 AM
The reason it turned into a row between Rovers and Longford fans is
I cant stand Longford fans!
I was down in Longford to watch about 10 of there games
pre Stephen Kenny, When there was a need for fans, when there floodlights didnt work properly and there was more players than supporters.
There was no sign of cop on and his bandwagon jumping buddie
Now there is Longford fans everywhere giving there opinions based on
there years of EL experience(probably about 3 years)
and now that they have bored there way to 2 FAI Cup wins they preceive
themselves as a top club
They remind me of Blackburn supporters after they won the league.
You never seen them before but when the league was wonBlackburn
jerseys everywhere!
The sooner they are back in the first division the better!
..............I feel better now!

hoops1
23/08/2005, 11:30 AM
Your welcome to Mooney.Hes another player you
will be turning on soon enough!
As a famous man said " any team can win a cup but the best teams win the league"
Something Longford never have or will do!

hoops1
23/08/2005, 11:50 AM
When you have won it 20 odd times
Its hard to see whats so exciting about winning it twice!
At least we won the league 15 to be exact
The best Longford side ever and the best you will do is 4th!
Oh the dizzy heights you have reached!
That would have got many a Rovers manager the sack!

kevin_devine
23/08/2005, 11:41 PM
After the reports i read after ronights game against the Mighty City, i would say you's are extremely boring you's played negative tactics and never challenge in the game.

I have always thought of Longford as a negative minded team

24/08/2005, 7:07 AM
After the reports i read after ronights game against the Mighty City, i would say you's are extremely boring you's played negative tactics and never challenge in the game.

I have always thought of Longford as a negative minded team
A completely accurate summary of how Longford "play" every game.....