Monday 1st

Bray v Treaty 15:00
Waterford v Wexford 15:00
Cobh v Kerry 17:00
Longford v Galway 19:30
Finn Harps v Athlone 20:00

sbgawa
25/04/2023, 8:30 AM
Big double weekend in such a tight league, Derry with Duffy and Whelan back will fancy their chances of putting a bit of distance between themselves and Rovers but equally a chance for Rovers to complete the comeback from an awful start.
Two very winnable games for the title favourites who could easily be 7 or 8 clear after the weekend, slip ups against UCD or Cork seem unlikely.
Big game between Drogs and Shels with both looking to try to be looking up the table rather than down.
The first division is startiong to look like a procession for Waterford and Galway with the only question being who finishs first especially if Waterford go to third place Bray on Friday and win.
The seven point gap between Galway and Waterford looks a lot but they have to play each other a couple of times yet.
Rovers need to win both matches badly imo and show we are back to soemthing like we should be

thebronze14
25/04/2023, 10:36 AM
Harps need to be aiming for 6 points here, especially with our recent turnaround and only losing one of the last 8. I do think squad depth might catch up with us by Monday though as we've been down to bare bones last couple of weeks. 4 points would be adequate imo

25/04/2023, 12:14 PM
Harps need to be aiming for 6 points here, especially with our recent turnaround and only losing one of the last 8. I do think squad depth might catch up with us by Monday though as we've been down to bare bones last couple of weeks. 4 points would be adequate imo

McCallion was back in training this morning so hopefully that's one body back from a steadily growing injury list.

sbgawa
25/04/2023, 1:12 PM
I was in a hurry putting that up earlier, i had meant to make that point re Harps i think there is a real chance for you guys to take 6 points and establish yourselves as definite play off contenders.
Be nice to see Kerry pick up a win , people wont keep showing up for ever with no sign of progress

joey B
25/04/2023, 1:20 PM
I was in a hurry putting that up earlier, i had meant to make that point re Harps i think there is a real chance for you guys to take 6 points and establish yourselves as definite play off contenders.
Be nice to see Kerry pick up a win , people wont keep showing up for ever with no sign of progress

After the top 2 there is a much of a muchness in the first division as far as I can see,we do look a more solid team in a defensive sense but I remain unconvinced of us going forward,the good thing is there is plenty of time to get it right and hopefully we’ll keep improving…….

Slartibartfast
25/04/2023, 2:05 PM
These double game weekend are tough for the part time drogs. Last time we played great on the Friday, winning 1-0 in Derry, and poorly on the Monday, losing 3-1 at home to pats.
In saying that, something similar again this weekend will do us very nicely :-)

legendz
26/04/2023, 8:29 AM
Be nice to see Kerry pick up a win , people wont keep showing up for ever with no sign of progressThe honeymoon phase cannot continue forever. Performances and lessons learned will have to start producing results. Supporters have been very understanding but do need something to shout about! Hopefully now a win isn't too far away.

dcfc_legend9
27/04/2023, 9:26 AM
Bohs really will be looking at this weekend with aspirations of getting all 6 points up for grabs and putting some distance between them and their rivals.

Really tough weekend for us and I can't help but feel it's a make or break in our season. We need to be worst case scenario taking 4 points but preferably get all 6 points and solidify our title chasing credentials. I can't say I am overly confident from what I have seen this year though and it sounds even more ridiculous that I am worried that both games are home at the Brandywell.

First division cant see Waterford or Galways dropping points this weekend. They are way and above the rest in that league. Think Harps have an opportunity to make a push for a playoff place if they come out of this weekend with 4-6 points.

culloty82
27/04/2023, 11:30 AM
The honeymoon phase cannot continue forever. Performances and lessons learned will have to start producing results. Supporters have been very understanding but do need something to shout about! Hopefully now a win isn't too far away.

If it did come tomorrow, closing within two points of Treaty would be a real shot in the arm in terms of offering a meaningful target to aim for over this phase of the season, and geeing up the home support for upcoming fixtures.

27/04/2023, 12:48 PM
Keeping fingers crossed for 6 points at home this weekend. We're not realistically going to be near Galway or Waterford come the end of the season, but being the best of the rest has to be the target now the squad is starting to settle, and young lads have a little more experience under the belt. Would still be delighted with 5th place and a playoff of some sort, but having seen all the teams, we're no worse than anyone else.

Longford will be well set up, as Henderson always has his teams, but hoping we have too much for them. And we really owe Athlone after our dreadful performance down there at the start of the season.

cláirseach
27/04/2023, 5:28 PM
Someone has to finish third ebhind Galway & Waterford and I can't see an outstanding candidate. It is very open.

27/04/2023, 9:10 PM
Bohs really will be looking at this weekend with aspirations of getting all 6 points up for grabs and putting some distance between them and their rivals.

Great chance for Bohs to get six points. Will be tough for us at the Brandywell, but hopefully we can make it equally tough for Derry. Redmond looks to be out for the next few weeks anyway, with just having surgery, which is a huge loss for us. Would cheerfully take a point from this.

Dermobohs
28/04/2023, 12:57 PM
Personally never write off the students, but I’d be hopeful of 3 points, City will always be a tough game, never been any different but again I’d say the odds favour us.Lots of tricky ties this weekend, interesting.

28/04/2023, 1:04 PM
Great chance for Bohs to get six points. Will be tough for us at the Brandywell, but hopefully we can make it equally tough for Derry. Redmond looks to be out for the next few weeks anyway, with just having surgery, which is a huge loss for us. Would cheerfully take a point from this.

Thinking back to last season, after we put four past Pat's in Richmond. A week later, Pat's came to the Brandy, changed tactics and dragged out a boring 0-0 draw. Kind of expect the same tonight really.

28/04/2023, 1:35 PM
Edp sold out no sales tonight last 100 will be gone very soon

28/04/2023, 1:46 PM
Edp sold out no sales tonight last 100 will be gone very soon

Delighted for you all (Galway my second city and a soft spot for United). But you do realize that this means you're guaranteed to lose now. Biggest crowd in forever = only one way its going to end :D ;)

Bohs have to be shooting for 6 points this weekend but its exactly that type of expectation that means we will get 3 or 4.

2 Year Contract
28/04/2023, 2:05 PM
Thinking back to last season, after we put four past Pat's in Richmond. A week later, Pat's came to the Brandy, changed tactics and dragged out a boring 0-0 draw. Kind of expect the same tonight really.

Id take a similar style bus parking for a 0-0 draw tonight but with 3 centre backs out injured there’s only 2 fit ones at the club so playing 5 at the back as was done that night won’t be an option this time round unfortunately unless Clancy opts to play people out of position which he hasn’t really done in the past in defensive positions

kksaints
28/04/2023, 2:31 PM
Id take a similar style bus parking for a 0-0 draw tonight but with 3 centre backs out injured there’s only 2 fit ones at the club so playing 5 at the back as was done that night won’t be an option this time round unfortunately unless Clancy opts to play people out of position which he hasn’t really done in the past in defensive positions

Could play Curtis in the back 3 and the Swedish lad as the right wing back but it's unlikely.

Another Bohemia
28/04/2023, 2:48 PM
Delighted for you all (Galway my second city and a soft spot for United). But you do realize that this means you're guaranteed to lose now. Biggest crowd in forever = only one way its going to end :D ;)

Bohs have to be shooting for 6 points this weekend but its exactly that type of expectation that means we will get 3 or 4.

I think keeping expectations high is good. If you let expectations slip the narrow wins we're seeing can quickly become draws and losses. But you do need to be realistic in so far as neither team will be a pushover so aim for 6 but realise that if you get 3 or 4 it's not necessarily a bad result

Philosophizer
28/04/2023, 7:41 PM
I think keeping expectations high is good. If you let expectations slip the narrow wins we're seeing can quickly become draws and losses. But you do need to be realistic in so far as neither team will be a pushover so aim for 6 but realise that if you get 3 or 4 it's not necessarily a bad result
Bohs will be lucky to get out of ucd with a point the way they’ve performed in the 1st half. Terribly sloppy and lethargic so far. A continuation of the Drogheda performance it seems. They’ll need to shake things up fairly lively if they wanna stay at the top of the table. This certainly isn’t league winning form.

Jack B
28/04/2023, 8:22 PM
We started this game alright for the first 20 minutes or so and have been awful since, though it does seem like Graydon's clearly dived for Derry's penalty.

Mulraney looks like he's never played on artificial grass before and is absolutely baffled by it.

SPXcyan
28/04/2023, 8:42 PM
Coughlan with both goals for Waterford's away victory at Bray this evening, the man is on fire!

kksaints
28/04/2023, 8:46 PM
Poor decision for Derry's penalty, Graydon dived for it. But we were awful in the 2nd half and never looked like scoring.

28/04/2023, 8:57 PM
Coughlan with both goals for Waterford's away victory at Bray this evening, the man is on fire!
14 goals in eight games, I think, scoring in every one?

Amazing run. Have to feel a bit of pity for Danny Searle watching the team turn things around like that!

Deserved draw for us against the league leaders tonight. Pitch still in a jocker unfortunately and it didn't help either side. Hopefully with rugby **** finished it'll improve now the rest of the season

28/04/2023, 8:59 PM
Poor decision for Derry's penalty, Graydon dived for it. But we were awful in the 2nd half and never looked like scoring.

Certainly looked like a dive, but we deserved nothing out of that game. Very poor. Apart from Lewis’s header in the first half I don’t think we had another effort on goal. Hate watching games on that pitch too. Have still never seen a decent game on it. Not much decent football played, even by Derry, though they at least managed to create some chances.

Only semi bright spot was Sjoberg, who I though was decent.

Dermobohs
28/04/2023, 9:00 PM
Well deserved draw for u tonight, we are absolutely muck since the pats game, five or six non triers. Awful. Full time pros my arse.

28/04/2023, 9:07 PM
Well deserved draw for u tonight, we are absolutely muck since the pats game, five or six non triers. Awful. Full time pros my arse.

Agree. We are not playing well.

sbgawa
28/04/2023, 9:10 PM
Rovers worst performance of the season. Sligo deserved something out of the game, only bad finishing saved us. Assume we will have a few back monday

Jd2793
28/04/2023, 9:17 PM
city are going down.

Calcio Jack
28/04/2023, 9:27 PM
Rovers worst performance of the season. Sligo deserved something out of the game, only bad finishing saved us. Assume we will have a few back monday

Couldn’t agree more …. Guess that’s Karma as tonight was pay back for a lot of the draws we had earlier in the season when we should have won…. Hopefully the likes of Gaffney back on Monday

28/04/2023, 9:31 PM
Good point for us on the road we dont usually get much up there. We're struggling to score many but the young lads are improving slowly but surely.

SwanVsDalton
28/04/2023, 9:32 PM
Good performance from Derry tonight - their most complete 90 of the season. Should be way more clinical but will take them creating chances like that. The goals will come. Whelan is already making a big impact.

Peno was dodgy but game was only going one way. St Pat's offered very little.

thebronze14
28/04/2023, 9:42 PM
Good point for us on the road we dont usually get much up there. We're struggling to score many but the young lads are improving slowly but surely.
Ye were much better than the first match. The num 11 was a real handful. We just shaded it with more chances but can't complain at a draw

FTA-1895
28/04/2023, 9:49 PM
Good three points for Shels tonight considering the amount of players we seem to have out and with the bench being full of young lads. Lucky to get in at 0-0 but much better in the second half. Cork looked like they should have had at least one peno but their keeper should have been sent off for nearly taking Moylan's head off.

Philosophizer
28/04/2023, 10:08 PM
Ucd v Bohs was awful this eve. The pitch was brutal but it still doesn’t excuse the amount of misplaced passes. Bohs wont be top for long based on this performance. It seems like they’ve regressed back to last years form - they were all dire. They’re only threat all game was the ball into space on front of Connolly.
I’ve no idea how John O’Sullivan got a start tonight. I’ve never seen him have a good game.

ger121
28/04/2023, 10:21 PM
The amount of sand on that pitch would give Brittas Bay a run for its money. We were poor tonight regardless and UCD were fully deserving of a point.

CraftyToePoke
28/04/2023, 10:26 PM
Treaty finally click and the dizzy heights of mid table now surely beckon. Perhaps even another play off slot despite being ten or fifteen wins off the pace like the last couple of years, what a division, what a league.

Kerry have had a lot of tough evenings but this one is interesting, we aren't anything special at all and they drew the corresponding game in Tralee 1-1 against us.

Shearer
28/04/2023, 10:55 PM
Fairly comfortable win for Treaty. Some brilliant performances across the team.

Feel sorry for Kerry as a 4-0 less in a game they would have been targeting is a big blow.

CraftyToePoke
28/04/2023, 11:11 PM
Feel sorry for Kerry as a 4-0 less in a game they would have been targeting is a big blow.

They would, and it is, its a worse result than their Waterford & even the Galway one scoreline wise. We has only scored nine in total before tonight in eleven games like.

Yossarian
28/04/2023, 11:13 PM
Dundalk were woeful tonight. Managed to go from 2 up against ten men to struggling to a draw and then nicking three points. We are so slow and laboured, I’ve never seen a team just play it around the back with no impetus, well not since last week in Tolka.

oriel
28/04/2023, 11:37 PM
Have to say very very poor by Dundalk for 45 mins of the second half, lucky for us and John Martin that chance came on 90+1, possibly the only decent move of the half too.

Drogs did not deserve to lose that, but we won, and we move on, questions still there but a win and 3 points, move on to Monday and UCD away, if we can win its obv 6 points from BH w/e.

Knocklyonhoop
29/04/2023, 12:09 AM
Rovers were poor this evening and Sligo really should feel they left 3 behind them. Will take it though as left pts behind in all other games!

2 Year Contract
29/04/2023, 1:30 AM
Some absolute vermin up in the Brandywell again tonight. Firstly not providing a food truck specifically for away fans resulted in some kids in pats get getting jumped at half time. Then after the final whistle while being held back a group of Derry fans jump over the wall beside the away end to throw glass bottles at the pats fans. Then another group of them push open a gate that wasn’t closed by security and both sets of fans clashed on the grass behind that goal. It was quite funny when the little jumped up knackers got ran back out of the ground by retaliating pats fans but my god Derry have a massive security issue up there. I know they don’t have PSNI up there but opting for a completely inept and seemingly untrained security firm is surely not the answer. Surely games behind closed doors or a reduced capacity will need to be looked at if they can’t provide adequate safety for supporters within their own ground

2 Year Contract
29/04/2023, 1:36 AM
On the pitch, a fully deserved win for Derry. I thought pats were poor but having said that Derry still failed to score from open play with the goals coming from a penalty and a corner. Lyness pulled off some great saves in the first half but second half there was very little chances in the game aside from the goals. I’d rather see Derry win the league than rovers but comparing rovers performance last week with anything I’ve seen from Derry so far, they appear to be levels above them performance wise

Shinkicker
29/04/2023, 5:36 AM
Bohs were terrible last night, passing was abysmal and slow, lacked intensity and initiative. Need Coote back quickly. I've seen a few quotes about the condition of the pitch, it was the same for both teams and UCD were able to string passes together, this was purely because Bohs stood back off them. Need to up the Ante big style on Monday

Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/04/2023, 6:09 AM
Certainly didn’t deserve to lose that but need to take your chances. Played some lovely stuff. The good pitch really suited us. Shams just more clinical then us. Lovely finishes for the 2 goals. Think we would have won if Hartmann was fit.

legendz
29/04/2023, 6:57 AM
Kerry's first foray into the U17 league in 2016 was a difficult season. Senior level is naturally going to be under more scrutiny.

Calcio Jack
29/04/2023, 7:48 AM
Certainly didn’t deserve to lose that but need to take your chances. Played some lovely stuff. The good pitch really suited us. Shams just more clinical then us. Lovely finishes for the 2 goals. Think we would have won if Hartmann was fit.

Agree but as already said last night helped redress all the previous games where we should of won but only drew- most interesting duel last night was Pico v Mata ; can’t remember when I last saw a centre forward who was able to match Pico for physicality - I’d say both of them have a few brusies/lumps today nothing dirty ( aside from Bolger doing his usual sneaky hard man act but that’s another story) just good old fashioned toe to toe - based on his performance Mata could well be a potential replacement/addition to Gaffney

da bishop
29/04/2023, 2:55 PM
Good result for Treaty and comprehensive in the end,hardly cause for belief in terms of playoff ambitions.For the most part in spite of the scoreline it was muck ,the bit of class only coming from Alec Byrne and the lively Dean George,Kerrys penalty miss and the rebound cleared off the line coupled with Treaty scoring seconds later a big factor in the game.Kerry tbf are giving their local talent a chance ,obviously baby steps in terms of developement as evidenced by the very poor defending all game so big learning curves ahead ,the decent away following appeciated the efforts the players gave.Att around 500 /600 id say and maybe one local in the Treaty team ,few in the squad.btw embarassing to see no stretcher for Colin Kelly when injured.