View Full Version : Games weekend 28th April to 1st of May
Some absolute vermin up in the Brandywell again tonight. Firstly not providing a food truck specifically for away fans resulted in some kids in pats get getting jumped at half time. Then after the final whistle while being held back a group of Derry fans jump over the wall beside the away end to throw glass bottles at the pats fans. Then another group of them push open a gate that wasn’t closed by security and both sets of fans clashed on the grass behind that goal. It was quite funny when the little jumped up knackers got ran back out of the ground by retaliating pats fans but my god Derry have a massive security issue up there. I know they don’t have PSNI up there but opting for a completely inept and seemingly untrained security firm is surely not the answer. Surely games behind closed doors or a reduced capacity will need to be looked at if they can’t provide adequate safety for supporters within their own ground
Can I just say whilst largely in agreement with your post there was a small group of Pats lads who came toward the chippy area looking for trouble during the 1st half in fact a few of them tried to start a few kids several years their young (by kids i do mean children) and ended up getting slapped because of it.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/04/2023, 6:50 PM
Agree but as already said last night helped redress all the previous games where we should of won but only drew- most interesting duel last night was Pico v Mata ; can’t remember when I last saw a centre forward who was able to match Pico for physicality - I’d say both of them have a few brusies/lumps today nothing dirty ( aside from Bolger doing his usual sneaky hard man act but that’s another story) just good old fashioned toe to toe - based on his performance Mata could well be a potential replacement/addition to Gaffney
Mata puts in a serious shift every game. Maybe lacking a yard of pace might be the only thing. Was a great battle between the 2 of them. Not sure what Bolger did but it looked like Towell was just sent on to take fellas out of it.
29/04/2023, 6:50 PM
Ye were much better than the first match. The num 11 was a real handful. We just shaded it with more chances but can't complain at a draw
Jamal Ibrahim was our no 11. His first first team start in a good few weeks. He was electric all night long!
Budgie
29/04/2023, 11:20 PM
Give it a break Aido ..getting embarrassing at this stage . The mighty junior players want to stay at pike Fairview and the go to it is what it is
Calcio Jack
30/04/2023, 10:46 AM
Mata puts in a serious shift every game. Maybe lacking a yard of pace might be the only thing. Was a great battle between the 2 of them. Not sure what Bolger did but it looked like Towell was just sent on to take fellas out of it.
Bolger took Byrne out mid through first half plus numerous slightly late tackles ( he’s a fine player but has always had that ‘inner gurrier’ mentality that takes away from the rest of his game )…. As for Towell , this season he seems to be reinventing himself as some sort of ‘all round action’ man ….. unfortunately he’s incapable of tackling correctly as shown by the silly tackle on Bolger that ironically looked innocuous but put him out of the game… aside from that he’s greatly improved this year and is now a real asset (again)
sbgawa
30/04/2023, 11:11 AM
Sligo were brave on Friday, numerous times i said to my mate beside me to look accross the line and it was often 4 sligo forwards against the 3 Rovers centrebacks with Farrugia and Clarke way forward.
They let the Rovers wingbacks go stayed forward hence the numerous chances they had...on thr other hand Clarke scored as he was so far forward and Rovers looked dangerous as well.
Made for a good match.
30/04/2023, 6:23 PM
Dundalk were woeful tonight. Managed to go from 2 up against ten men to struggling to a draw and then nicking three points. We are so slow and laboured, I’ve never seen a team just play it around the back with no impetus, well not since last week in Tolka.
Rovers were poor this evening and Sligo really should feel they left 3 behind them. Will take it though as left pts behind in all other games!
On the pitch, a fully deserved win for Derry. I thought pats were poor but having said that Derry still failed to score from open play with the goals coming from a penalty and a corner. Lyness pulled off some great saves in the first half but second half there was very little chances in the game aside from the goals. I’d rather see Derry win the league than rovers but comparing rovers performance last week with anything I’ve seen from Derry so far, they appear to be levels above them performance wise
Bohs were terrible last night, passing was abysmal and slow, lacked intensity and initiative. Need Coote back quickly. I've seen a few quotes about the condition of the pitch, it was the same for both teams and UCD were able to string passes together, this was purely because Bohs stood back off them. Need to up the Ante big style on Monday
Wow! We might have an actual consensus on the worst quality season ever.
Calling top 4 settling in to some sort of order, was premature (patsdad :rolleyes:), tope 3 maybe though I still think Bohs will fade albeit still comfortably european spot imo. Dundalk lucky to get 3 points, Sligo not getting something, UCD nabbing a point v te current table toppers - may not be dead and buried in automatic relegation. Mad that for a bunch of clubs 2 wins and on the coat tails at the top, 2 losses and looking over the shoulder at a playoff spot. Its certainly intriguing but there is a sense that there's a generalised regression of clubs in terms of overall quality. No excuse for Rovers and Derry mind, they should be storming away really - they will in due course but even at this stage consistancy is sketchy still.
Philosophizer
30/04/2023, 6:38 PM
Was thinking the exact same thing. It’s a bit of an indictment that Rovers and Derry have been below par and yet are still 2nd and 3rd. I fully expect that sooner or later they’ll both find their form and pull well away from the pack.
Interested to see how Bohs perform against Cork on Monday. The full time pros have been outplayed in their last 2 by the part time Drogs and UCD. Is it just a blip, or are they reverting back to their mean?
On the standard I was thinking recently it would be highly unlikely the current top 3 will change in terms of finishing there, but stranger things can happen.
It will take a huge collapse and downturn in form for Bohs to move from 1st to 4th for example, but 2 defeats and wins for chasing pack could change all of that, that said I think Bohs have enough momentum built to finish top 3, but again the two defeats thing that can happen any club could change things.
Realistically, the chasing pack are looking at 4th and a top 3 winning the cup (80% chance is fair to say) and that gets final euro spot ? so who is best placed for that?
1/ Pats - good squad, home support has increased but losing a good few key games.
2/ Shels - I'm not sure they can finish 4th, but they are dogged.
3/ Sligo - Hot and cold, they have a chance, Max is the man to score, so always good to have that.
4/ Then ourselves, left Dundalk last on purpose, yes 6 players out injured including big ones too in Boyle / Kelly / Sloggett / Annesely, all bar last one expected back soon, Mountney gone for season, but one more injury for Hoban and we are goosed, also form and results not great, so I don't see us (for now) anywhere close to 4th, positives, young local lad Ryan O'Kane is one fire, scored last Fri, Hoban back to his best (if he stays fit), ................but this team seems to be a serious work in progress, made huge work out of beating 10 man Drogs, who did not deserve to lose on fri, but its 3 points. I still don't see us finishing 4th, maybe 5th, but will need to improve so much.
Philosophizer
30/04/2023, 9:37 PM
On the standard I was thinking recently it would be highly unlikely the current top 3 will change in terms of finishing there, but stranger things can happen.
It will take a huge collapse and downturn in form for Bohs to move from 1st to 4th for example, but 2 defeats and wins for chasing pack could change all of that, that said I think Bohs have enough momentum built to finish top 3, but again the two defeats thing that can happen any club could change thing.
You wouldn’t be so confident about Bohs if you had seen them on Friday - they were dreadful. Easily outplayed by UCD. And Drogs the previous week.
Bohs are only 8 points off 4th. With 24 matches to go I wouldn’t be confident at all of them finishing in the top 3. Maybe Coote coming back will give them an injection though.
Jd2793
30/04/2023, 9:51 PM
You wouldn’t be so confident about Bohs if you had seen them on Friday - they were dreadful. Easily outplayed by UCD. And Drogs the previous week.
Bohs are only 8 points off 4th. With 24 matches to go I wouldn’t be confident at all of them finishing in the top 3. Maybe Coote coming back will give them an injection though.
drogs are a good side imo not getting the rub of the green results wise. we (city) are terrible, id be shocked if bohs dont win handy enough. 2-0 in 3rd gear wouldnt surprise me. we were a bit unlucky friday in the first half but 2nd half shels were miles better. we are desperately low on confidence i think it'll be the end of healy if we lose tomorrow
Candystripe
30/04/2023, 11:21 PM
Massive game on Monday Derry city v Shamrock rovers. With Derry putting on a good performance on Friday really looking forward to this one. With Duffy, Whelan and O'Rielly back from injury finally and looking sharp hopefully all three will play most of the game and with Connelly, Fats and Dummigan back training looking forward to the next few months of the season.
Watching the last highlights from Bohs and seeing them in the Brandywell I think they'll be lucky to get 4th but they've had a good start. For me 3rd is between Dundalk and Pats.
Jd2793
01/05/2023, 8:12 AM
Massive game on Monday Derry city v Shamrock rovers. With Derry putting on a good performance on Friday really looking forward to this one. With Duffy, Whelan and O'Rielly back from injury finally and looking sharp hopefully all three will play most of the game and with Connelly, Fats and Dummigan back training looking forward to the next few months of the season.
Watching the last highlights from Bohs and seeing them in the Brandywell I think they'll be lucky to get 4th but they've had a good start. For me 3rd is between Dundalk and Pats.
dundalk??? id be shocked if they are anywhere near europe come the end of the season. they are a poor side.
sbgawa
01/05/2023, 8:28 AM
Shels will have boyd back sometime in June hopefully (for him) and he might keep them in the hunt.
01/05/2023, 8:43 AM
...comparing rovers performance last week with anything I’ve seen from Derry so far, they appear to be levels above them performance wise
Thought the same after our match in Tallaght.
We certainly should have scored from play on Friday. Not taking our chances will cost it over the course of the season.
Counter to that, we've scored two goals from corners in the last two games, which has been something of a rarity for us recently.
Also thought the penalty was a foul, albeit Grayson made sure contact was made after he seemed to be losing possession.
Not entirely confident tonight, even if Rovers mightn't haven't played well on Friday. You'd expect them to come at us and play, but I think we're easier to play against by sitting back and hitting us on the break.
Knocklyonhoop
01/05/2023, 2:06 PM
Calling top 4 settling in to some sort of order, was premature (patsdad :rolleyes:), tope 3 maybe though I still think Bohs will fade albeit still comfortably european spot imo. Dundalk lucky to get 3 points, Sligo not getting something, UCD nabbing a point v te current table toppers - may not be dead and buried in automatic relegation. Mad that for a bunch of clubs 2 wins and on the coat tails at the top, 2 losses and looking over the shoulder at a playoff spot. Its certainly intriguing but there is a sense that there's a generalised regression of clubs in terms of overall quality. No excuse for Rovers and Derry mind, they should be storming away really - they will in due course but even at this stage consistancy is sketchy still.
I think Rovers have been very good this season if a little unlucky ‘ less clinical than usual. Poor on Friday but Sligo were very impressive and should have taken all 3 points. Derry are strong and now have Duffy and Whelan back. Bohs picking up points even when not playing well. Pats appear to be too inconsistent like Sligo. Shels won’t score ‘ concede many & I think the other 4 will be bottom 4 (unless Hoban really goes on a run).
massive couple of weeks for the 3 leaders with all facing offf and everyone getting a chance at home
The Bowler
01/05/2023, 3:54 PM
Ian Ryan going to quickly come under pressure at Bray, shocking run of results including getting smacked by Usher Celtic. A lot of talk about centre back Cole for his goal scoring, but they are shipping goals galore, not sure he's a great defender to be honest. The natives will be getting restless ery quickly.
SPXcyan
01/05/2023, 4:01 PM
A fairly comfortable win for Wexford in Waterford, not a single shot on target for the blues, title race effectively over now.
kksaints
01/05/2023, 4:08 PM
More rubbish from us today. Sligos keeper didn't have a save to make. We're such a poor side. Neil Doyle was poor yet again, missed a load of handballs although I think the sending off was correct. Don't know what Eoin Doyle was thinking.
joey B
01/05/2023, 4:38 PM
Bizzare red card for Cork and a cracking free kick for Bohs in the space of a couple minutes,I’ve no idea what the red card was for and neither did the commentators!
Calcio Jack
01/05/2023, 4:46 PM
Bizzare red card for Cork and a cracking free kick for Bohs in the space of a couple minutes,I’ve no idea what the red card was for and neither did the commentators!
Actually a triple whammy as a few mins earlier the ref blew for a foul when Cork player was through on goal…. Usual never ending risible officiating… and ref also looks overweight
Shinkicker
01/05/2023, 4:58 PM
Actually a triple whammy as a few mins earlier the ref blew for a foul when Cork player was through on goal…. Usual never ending risible officiating… and ref also looks overweight
The player sent off was in a clash with Afolabi may have left something on him while on the ground or said something to the ref. I think the former and think the lino possibly spotted it.
Jack B
01/05/2023, 5:10 PM
I've been more patient than most but Clancy can g'way to he honest. Second season here and he has 3 total wins vs Rovers, Derry, Dundalk and Sligo in over 20 games. Totally reliant on a better squad vs the weakest teams in the league and there's no sign of it improving, the coaching looks miles off it relative to other sides as far as I can see.
1 shot on target in 3 games now. Wasting a lot of the good that's going on with the club off the pitch.
01/05/2023, 5:46 PM
Cork can't be as bad as Harps, can they?
The Bowler
01/05/2023, 5:55 PM
Cork can't be as bad as Harps, can they? I'm starting to think they might be
Cork were awful. I do think we were better anyway with Flores and Coote back in but Cork offered nothing and the subs made them worse. Lovely strikes from Flores and McManus.
I’ll take a draw from the later game.
culloty82
01/05/2023, 6:00 PM
Ryan Kelliher has at least stepped up to the mark for Kerry when presented with chances, even if they've been very much at a premium so far, Seán McGrath having already shown at Cobh what he's capable of doing.
Jd2793
01/05/2023, 6:05 PM
with healy in charge we are. he'll hopefully be gone tonight. our squad is extremely limited but we have been shambolic most of the season. bohs goal was coming just before the red anyway we hadnt crossed the half way line in 20 mins. far far too negative. drogs are a lot better than us
total hoofball
01/05/2023, 6:12 PM
Shels were really poor for the first 70 minutes until our equaliser glad to come away with a point from that game in the end
legendz
01/05/2023, 6:16 PM
When Kerry arrive for matchday, they need to try and park the bus before the wheels come off.
Treaty are on the playoff train.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/05/2023, 6:25 PM
Pats awful for the second time we’ve played them this season. We didn’t really play that well but got the only goal and it looked like a game where one goal would win it. Injuries piling up.
9 yellows and 1 red
01/05/2023, 6:39 PM
23 yellow cards and 2 reds and 1 of the 5 games still left to play....if refs were paid on card commission they would sail through a cost of living crisis!
and just like that Dundalk are no longer looking over the shoulder at a playoff spot and in to 4th. Starting to think Sligo may be edging toward favourites tag for a European spot.
01/05/2023, 6:44 PM
I've been more patient than most but Clancy can g'way to he honest. Second season here and he has 3 total wins vs Rovers, Derry, Dundalk and Sligo in over 20 games. Totally reliant on a better squad vs the weakest teams in the league and there's no sign of it improving, the coaching looks miles off it relative to other sides as far as I can see.
1 shot on target in 3 games now. Wasting a lot of the good that's going on with the club off the pitch.
That stat is pretty damning! coupled with the defensive mess earlier in the season, you have to wonder about the coaching and tactical setup.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/05/2023, 6:49 PM
Bolger took Byrne out mid through first half plus numerous slightly late tackles ( he’s a fine player but has always had that ‘inner gurrier’ mentality that takes away from the rest of his game )…. As for Towell , this season he seems to be reinventing himself as some sort of ‘all round action’ man ….. unfortunately he’s incapable of tackling correctly as shown by the silly tackle on Bolger that ironically looked innocuous but put him out of the game… aside from that he’s greatly improved this year and is now a real asset (again)
Great finish this evening by him
Philosophizer
01/05/2023, 7:13 PM
with healy in charge we are. he'll hopefully be gone tonight. our squad is extremely limited but we have been shambolic most of the season. bohs goal was coming just before the red anyway we hadnt crossed the half way line in 20 mins. far far too negative. drogs are a lot better than us
Bad day for Cork but they could have been 1-0 up inside the 1st 30 seconds only for an excellent double save by Talbot from Keating. I didn’t think Bohs were overly dominant at 11v11 but after the red it was one way traffic.
Flores being back made a huge difference for Bohs. Without him or Buckley on the pitch it seems they revert to their rudderless 2022 form.
Coote being back also clearly brings back a spark.
Has anyone else noticed Afolabi just does not seem to be on the same wavelength as the rest of the team? He’s a fine player but just doesn’t seem to click with those around him…
ger121
01/05/2023, 7:46 PM
I said to a mate earlier, I could see UCD overhauling City like they did Harps last season.
Jd2793
01/05/2023, 7:58 PM
Bad day for Cork but they could have been 1-0 up inside the 1st 30 seconds only for an excellent double save by Talbot from Keating. I didn’t think Bohs were overly dominant at 11v11 but after the red it was one way traffic.
Flores being back made a huge difference for Bohs. Without him or Buckley on the pitch it seems they revert to their rudderless 2022 form.
Coote being back also clearly brings back a spark.
Has anyone else noticed Afolabi just does not seem to be on the same wavelength as the rest of the team? He’s a fine player but just doesn’t seem to click with those around him…
infairness we started well, keating was stopped by talbots wonder save oh and the ref nailed us calling a free in, instead of playing advantage when coffey was going through 1v1. after that i dont think we got past half way then the card came.... bohs had some good chances before the goal came tbf twardek made crowley look a fool. dont think the red had a bearing on the outcome but definitely added a goal or 2 to bohs total. the defending for yer 3rd + 4th was horrendous. coote is a classy player, kind of one who will bring the level of a team way up.
placid casual
01/05/2023, 8:19 PM
Bradley was bang on when he said Sligo were the best team Rovers have played this season, and if the sligo board backed their manager financially they could easily finish 2nd.
The rest are far, FAR behind Rovers.
Shearer
01/05/2023, 8:20 PM
Seven goals and two clean sheets in four days for Treaty United.
A result on Friday against Athlone would be another step in the right direction, but a long way to go.
01/05/2023, 8:26 PM
Bradley was bang on when he said Sligo were the best team Rovers have played this season, and if the sligo board backed their manager financially they could easily finish 2nd.
Have RTE reverted back to Errortel form or something cuase the table there has Bohs 4 point clear at the top, ahead of Rovers no!?
Calcio Jack
Agree…. Couldn’t believe how easy that was …. As an aside what language is Rory Paterson speaking ? He’s inaudible
Dermobohs
In fairness jd, gilchrists decision to kick Afolabi in the nuts even though he’d won the ball, and city were in posssesion was mental. Reale didn’t even see it btw, was allowing play on but the Lino, Michelle o neill made him bring it back, how he missed it from where he was is baffling.
Your call back for the 1v1 was a city player shouting for it, he was allowing play on otherwise. Mad game altogether, we’re nowhere near handing out 5-0 s to anybody(ask ucd) but some daft play by city helped it along.
Anyhow we are very unexpectedly on top and well milk it till we’re not thanks!!
( prob about two weeks)
Jd2793
01/05/2023, 8:27 PM
In fairness jd, gilchrists decision to kick Afolabi in the nuts even though he’d won the ball, and city were in posssesion was mental. Reale didn’t even see it btw, was allowing play on but the Lino, Michelle o neill made him bring it back, how he missed it from where he was is baffling.
Your call back for the 1v1 was a city player shouting for it, he was allowing play on otherwise. Mad game altogether, we’re nowhere near handing out 5-0 s to anybody(ask ucd) but some daft play by city helped it along.
Anyhow we are very unexpectedly on top and well milk it till we’re not thanks!!
( prob about two weeks)
no excuse for gilchrists stupidity. ridiculous carry on from our most experienced defender. way to ruin the game but a goal was on its way at that stage anyway ye were miles on top
01/05/2023, 8:28 PM
Go on the Town. Rode their luck at times without doubt but worked like dogs and they deserve a bit of luck. Great boost for a very young team.
SPXcyan
01/05/2023, 8:34 PM
Who'd of thought the top two would lose today, quite surprising.
da bishop
01/05/2023, 8:40 PM
Deserved win for Treaty ,Bray on top for 30 mins but after that Treaty more than held their own until lead goal.Bray lost their way completely ,too many yellow cards and big 3 points for Tommy Barrett ,another goal haul plus a decent performance.A big queue for the playoffs starting to form what with Treatys and Longfords results.
joey B
01/05/2023, 8:56 PM
Men against boys in Finn Park,Athlone absolutely monstered us physically,zero answer from us and in the end a desperately disappointing weekend all told….
thebronze14
01/05/2023, 9:08 PM
Yeah they was grim. Completely outmuscled and out played. Worried where we'll be at the end of three tough fixtures. Injuries to two important players too. Don't have a deep enough squad to cope with injuries
01/05/2023, 9:31 PM
Athlone have some good players. Pierrot is a real handful. They're probably the best of the rest after the top two as the table shows at the moment.
01/05/2023, 9:33 PM
I've been critical enough of us so far but credit where it's due, we've deserved a win like tonight. While our quality can be questioned, the workrate can't be. Probably deserve another couple of points than what we have so good to ride our luck a bit tonight. Have seen a few fans of other clubs say it but there isn't a whole lot between 3rd and 9th in the first division from what I've seen. All are much of a muchness on any given day.