View Full Version : Foley refuses to play for Bohs against Bray

Vitruvian Man
12/08/2005, 2:25 PM
Hot off the press...

One of our players, Dominic Foley, refused to play in last night’s eircom League fixture versus Bray Wanderers in Dalymount Park. This issue has arisen over an outstanding non-wage related payment due to him.

In recent seasons Bohemian FC has not been immune to the financial challenges of operating a professional football club and has experienced some financial difficulties, losing nine players in the close season and addressing the wage bill and other issues in attempting to manage the club within available resources.

The welfare of all of our staff is and always has been our priority. Dominic Foley is a very experienced and highly valued player at this club. We acknowledge that this money is overdue and had committed to payment of it within a specified period.

However, through last night’s action Dominic Foley made it clear that this is no longer acceptable to him. We accept that the fault is ours but we always felt that this was understood and that the matter would be resolved amicably. Dominic Foley wrote to us two weeks ago reserving the right to terminate his contract with us failing payment of the outstanding sum within fourteen days. In the intervening period the club has made a number of attempts to contact Dominic Foley including the PFAI in the process.

Our only contact with Dominic Foley was at 6:15 p.m. last night when he made himself unavailable for selection. We regret this situation and hope that it can be resolved quickly as he is an integral part of our plans going forward.

12/08/2005, 2:34 PM
.....what a week for the eircom league!! :D

great stuff - 90k a year this guy was on???!?!?

nonsense money

Vitruvian Man
12/08/2005, 2:37 PM
Rumour has it that he is using the excuse of not getting a goal bonus to terminate his contract so he can move to FC Gent with no transfer fee.

looks like we are getting shafted.

What a cnut.

12/08/2005, 2:40 PM
Rumour has it that he is using the excuse of not getting a goal bonus to terminate his contract so he can move to FC Gent with no transfer fee.

looks like we are getting shafted.

What a cnut.

hehe - he probably had to wait in the wings for his chance - seen as it took the useless git a year or more to score!

Vitruvian Man
12/08/2005, 2:49 PM
hehe - he probably had to wait in the wings for his chance - seen as it took the useless git a year or more to score!

Ironic isn't it.
Alanis Morrisette should be a EL fan.

He is a top player for us but it took a year of him being sht for him to get there.

Still we won't miss paying his wages. 90K even more than i thought he was on.

PS
WWS I have been meaning to ask you. Did you play in goal/ do referee during the recent fans match or were you hanging around the bar in Dalyier after the UCD game locked drunk and going on about signing Eamon Zayeed.

I think I have met you,

12/08/2005, 2:57 PM
He was the drunk....

Roverstillidie
12/08/2005, 2:58 PM
this is karma for you tapping tony grunt up.....

im delighted

12/08/2005, 3:02 PM
Ironic isn't it.
Alanis Morrisette should be a EL fan.

He is a top player for us but it took a year of him being sht for him to get there.

Still we won't miss paying his wages. 90K even more than i thought he was on.

PS
WWS I have been meaning to ask you. Did you play in goal/ do referee during the recent fans match or were you hanging around the bar in Dalyier after the UCD game locked drunk and going on about signing Eamon Zayeed.

I think I have met you,

I played outfield in the fans match - I was amazing against shels but had a nightmare v Bohs...... :D

zayed - yeah that was me I'd say - I was convinced we had signed him and was celebrating in vein...

Vitruvian Man
12/08/2005, 3:03 PM
this is karma for you tapping tony grunt up.....

im delighted

Having him in our team is karma enough for tapping him up.

Every team needs a good 5-goal-a-season striker :(

12/08/2005, 3:06 PM
So why didn't ye just make the payment? Are we on the verge of yet another 'eL club in financial difficulties saga'?

Roverstillidie
12/08/2005, 3:09 PM
So why didn't ye just make the payment? Are we on the verge of yet another 'eL club in financial difficulties saga'?
my understanding is they had reached an agreement to pay him, was accepted and in train, but the agreement wasnt lawyer proof!! snake isnt the word for the man.

is that the gist of it boyezzzz?

12/08/2005, 3:12 PM
Hard to know what to make of that, sounds like Foley is acting the c*nt but if the club owe him money he has a case.

Anyway, is that 90k a year figure accurate? Shocking money for someone like him if it is.

Vitruvian Man
12/08/2005, 3:17 PM
From what I am hearing from friends and reading on the Bohs board...

He is due a signing fee every year of his contract - don't know how much.
He didn't get this years one on time and complained.
The club offered him a post-dated cheque but he refused.
He said if he wasn't paid in 14 days he would terminate his contract.
He didn't show up for training or answer his phone for the 14 days.
injured against longford but refused to play against Bray though passed fit.

The speculation is (and this comes from the top in Bohs) he is in negotiation with Gent and trying to get out of having to go through a transfer fee or offer which Bohs could turn down.

But that part is jusr rumour at the moment.

Passive
12/08/2005, 3:19 PM
What a cnut.

It's even worse than that Vitruvian Man, he's a **** :D

Dominic Foley he's a Hoop, he hates Bohs...

12/08/2005, 3:21 PM
From Foleys point of view I can see why he'd want to leave, he was clearly unhappy there and I think refused to celebrate goals with the fans because of earlier abuse so it was clear he wanted to move, he still is completley out of order going about it this way though given he was earning 90k a year and for the majority of the time doing f*ck all to earn it.

12/08/2005, 3:27 PM
heard an interview with him on the radio once and he came across as an arrogant ****** - he was sneering in his attitude to the standard of football here and said he was used to the more pure "football cultures of Portugal and England"

he was basically saying he was slumming it and I got the impression he felt the league and bohs beneath him!

12/08/2005, 3:32 PM
heard an interview with him on the radio once and he came across as an arrogant ****** - he was sneering in his attitude to the standard of football here and said he was used to the more pure "football cultures of Portugal and England"

Heard that one too & was amazed given his track record. Not exactly a prolific scorer.

I think i posted link before which showed he started something like 50-70 League games in 10 years in england in various divisions & loan deals.

90k is decent money. I'm not sure how much he tyhinks he'd get with Genk.

12/08/2005, 3:33 PM

he was basically saying he was slumming it and I got the impression he felt the league and bohs beneath him!

Well then the sooner he's gone the better! Don't need bitter mercenaries!

12/08/2005, 3:41 PM
Not exactly a prolific scorer.

Putting it mildly. I think in his professional career in England he struggled to get 20 goals altogether iirc.

12/08/2005, 3:48 PM
And somepeople said he was only a journey-man! :eek:

AFIK City offered him either €700 or 900 per week but Bohz offered exactly double.

Cant wait for the Bohz fans to get back on his back again after pretending that they loved him all along :D

12/08/2005, 3:53 PM
€90K a year = €1800 a week. So I'd imagine City offered €900.

12/08/2005, 4:14 PM
And I thought Rio Ferdinand was being greedy asking for £125,000 a week, at least he's good! Id hate to be a bohs fan knowing that my club has to stump up €90k a year for a one trick pony who doesnt celebrate his 6 goals! :o

BohsFans
13/08/2005, 1:01 PM
From Foleys point of view I can see why he'd want to leave, he was clearly unhappy there and I think refused to celebrate goals with the fans because of earlier abuse so it was clear he wanted to move, he still is completley out of order going about it this way though given he was earning 90k a year and for the majority of the time doing f*ck all to earn it.

Your bassing this on nothing!
How come he sat among Bohs fans in Longford last Saturday?
He wouldn't he done that if he hated us would he??

now the **** can go and rot in hell!

ciaran76
13/08/2005, 1:11 PM
He wasn't that good anyway.To me he never looked like he wanted to play a game anyway :rolleyes: Just makes Bohs have a smaller squad now which they don't need but also frees up the wages he was on ;)

13/08/2005, 3:11 PM
€90K a year = €1800 a week.

If thats what he's on Id be saying 'thanks for the effort, fcuk off so' if I was on the Bohz board & get Eamon Zayed in on a fraction of that money + Bray could get a good fee too.

13/08/2005, 3:14 PM
They can't just tell him to get lost- he has a contract, which Bohs breached. If they couldn't afford it they shouldn't have given it to him, or offloaded other players so that they could.

13/08/2005, 3:28 PM
Seems to be yet another expensive legacy from Kenny. We're still feeling the effects of his reckless trading. Watch and learn Derry!

13/08/2005, 3:33 PM
Seems to be yet another expensive legacy from Kenny. We're still feeling the effects of his reckless trading. Watch and learn Derry!

Its the board that make the contracts, the buck stops there.

13/08/2005, 3:40 PM
True enough. But Kenny was the instigator.
Farrelly, thank God, seems to be able to operate with a tighter grip on his wallet, even if it is forced on him.

13/08/2005, 3:56 PM
To be honest, thats probably because he's pocketing most of it himself as he gets paid similar wages to Foley + the same again for being the manager! :eek:

13/08/2005, 7:22 PM
I seen him play for St. james' Gate against Pats. Didn't look good enough then...

Always thought Bohs were mad to sign him the day before (possibly even that day) a crunch euro game (that they lost :) )

jfogarty
13/08/2005, 7:30 PM
If thats what he's on Id be saying 'thanks for the effort, fcuk off so' if I was on the Bohz board & get Eamon Zayed in on a fraction of that money + Bray could get a good fee too.

i dont think that money would get you zayed. pats were told €60k and i presume he is on a decent wage

ThatGuy
13/08/2005, 7:44 PM
Foley alledgedly lost the plot in the dressing room on Thursday evening when the Bohs players were putting their training kit on and claimed that he was too good for the league, too good for Bohs, and by playing for Bohs he was "doing us a favour".

13/08/2005, 8:44 PM
Not a lot of people know this ... but the majority of Bohs fans were actually quite patient with Foley, and defended him when the more impatient among us got on his back while he, er, developed. I was one of the 'give him time' brigade.
Given that he took about nine months out of his year's stay with the club to get things together and look like a striker, I would say that, far from us owing the langer anything, he owes us, big-time. :mad:

jorge
13/08/2005, 9:47 PM
So whats happening now? :confused:

13/08/2005, 9:50 PM

From the Irish Independent

Foley quits Bohs in payment row

Dominic Foley: Quit Bohs over money dispute

Saturday August 13th 2005

BOHEMIANS suffered a major setback yesterday when striker Dominic Foley quit the club due to a contract dispute.

Foley, 29, had grown disillusioned at Bohemians as he waited to be paid a five-figure lump sum that he was due since last November. Finally, after repeated attempts to get the money, he handed in two week's notice a fortnight ago.

On the advice of his solicitor, former eircom League chairman Brendan Dillon, Foley refused to play in Bohs' last two matches, though he continued to train with the club as normal.

The Gypsies attempted to meet Foley on Wednesday with a view to finding a solution to the problem but the striker insisted that he would terminate his contract unless the money he was owed was paid in full. The Cork-born striker is now free to move to another club.

Bohemians issued a statement last night accepting responsibility for failing to honour Foley's contract, adding they still hoped that the issue could be resolved.

Player-manager Gareth Farrelly said: "I've said all along that Dominic is an integral part of my team and I hope that it can be sorted out. I have no problems with him at all - even while this has been going on, he has been an absolute professional in training."

Owen Cowzer

© http://www.unison.ie/

CharlesThompson
14/08/2005, 7:04 AM
If Bohs owe him his 'signing on fee/bonus' and can't pay it presently, then of course they are the ones to blame.

There's nothing legally wrong it seems with what Foley is doing. But tell me this, a player allegedly earning in the region of €1.8k per week and being paid EVERY week is hardly slumming it. This is where it sticks with me. Although it seems that he is legally entitled to walk from his contract, what he is doing is morally wrong.

Much as we don't get on with each other, you have to look at what the Shamrock Rovers players have had to put up with over the last few years to put Foley's situation into perspective. Next week Bohs are playing Shels where Hawkins, Ryan and Crowe will put up with dogs abuse from Bohs supporters, but with respect to each of them they signed an agreement to defer monies owed to them by Bohs following their transfer to Tolka Park.

It does concern me however that some rival supporters are amused by this situation when I'd wager that there are players at every club in this country who could turn around and do what Foley is doing to Bohs.

Dominick Foley IS a mercenary and I'd be happy if he never wears the red and black of Bohs again. What he has said has been insulting to the club, his manager, his team mates, the supporters of Bohs, the supporters of ALL clubs in the eL and have ultimately let himself down.

While he was enthralling crowds with his 1 goal in 23 matches, there were people who had some faith in him. He's really come out of his shell in the last couple of months and he was really shining through, generally being excellent, scoring goals. But this is just a kick in the nuts to those of us who did support him when he was justifiably getting stick for his moaning, falling over and generally playing the victim.

Dominick Foley, thinks that he is above this league. Well Dominick, I say this league is too good for YOU. Players like you are a pariah in our game. You do not know how good you had it.

bohs til i die
14/08/2005, 7:40 AM
Of course Foley is entitled to do what he is doing, but having agreed to a post dated cheque, he then changed his mind. Then he threatens to quit [and seemingly has quit] a job that sees him take home €900 a week for the sake of a delay in receiving a payment of €10k [apparently thats what he is owed].

If he is prepared to wait 9 or 10 months for this money, whats three more weeks, unless he has something much bigger lined up and is now using this to get out of his contract so the new club dont have to pay a transfer fee.

Bohs baord have to accept some portion of the blame, and in fairness they do admit wring doing in the statement released on Friday, but Foley has manipulated this situation, and he isnt doing it for no reason.

14/08/2005, 10:51 AM
It does concern me however that some rival supporters are amused by this situation when I'd wager that there are players at every club in this country who could turn around and do what Foley is doing to Bohs.
Well i'm amused by the fact that Bohs were willing to pay him those wages in the firt place. I'd also guess thatKenny didn't see him play in for his portuguese side and signed him purely on the basis that he played for Ireland. IMO any club that pays that much to any player deserves to be mocked

14/08/2005, 11:09 AM
Well, you wouldn't want to be an EL supporter if you couldn't take the odd mocking! :rolleyes:

14/08/2005, 2:48 PM
The rumour in ballybofay lastnight was that foley was on his way to drogheda :eek:

14/08/2005, 3:20 PM
I hope for Drogheda's sake (I think I do anyways) thats bull!

sonofstan
14/08/2005, 3:59 PM
The rumour in ballybofay lastnight was that foley was on his way to drogheda :eek:
prepare now to celebrate his first goal sometime early next season!

14/08/2005, 5:21 PM
Seems Foley is entitled to do what he has done but strange decision. Players in teams across the UK & beyond have had pay cuts & more in recent years.

Drogs would be stupid move for Foley as no guarantees they'll be around in 12 months time to pay any wages.

Foley was sh!te last but has had 2 months of good form this year. He still wouldn't even get on the bench of eL all-star team.

Career Stats 1994-2003 (http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=8982)

Sam Savic
14/08/2005, 5:26 PM
Foley set to sign for Cork City.

14/08/2005, 8:22 PM
Where did ya hear that?

BohsFans
15/08/2005, 2:47 AM
Foley was sh!te last but has had 2 months of good form this year. He still wouldn't even get on the bench of eL all-star team.

Career Stats 1994-2003 (http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=8982)

Rubbish!

He has been the best striker in the league this season by a country mile, but I hate the ****.

Sam Savic
15/08/2005, 4:50 AM
Where did ya hear that?
From someone at Bohs - normally reliable.

15/08/2005, 10:21 AM
He has been the best striker in the league this season by a country mile

:D :D :D :D :D

Why is there never any inbetween? It's either best or worst.

15/08/2005, 10:25 AM
Foley set to sign for Cork City.

Would he get in our team?
He had a chance to play for us and he chose Bohs.