View Full Version : Foley refuses to play for Bohs against Bray
kevincronin2000
15/08/2005, 11:37 AM
If Bohs owe him his 'signing on fee/bonus' and can't pay it presently, then of course they are the ones to blame.
There's nothing legally wrong it seems with what Foley is doing. But tell me this, a player allegedly earning in the region of €1.8k per week and being paid EVERY week is hardly slumming it. This is where it sticks with me. Although it seems that he is legally entitled to walk from his contract, what he is doing is morally wrong.
Much as we don't get on with each other, you have to look at what the Shamrock Rovers players have had to put up with over the last few years to put Foley's situation into perspective. Next week Bohs are playing Shels where Hawkins, Ryan and Crowe will put up with dogs abuse from Bohs supporters, but with respect to each of them they signed an agreement to defer monies owed to them by Bohs following their transfer to Tolka Park.
It does concern me however that some rival supporters are amused by this situation when I'd wager that there are players at every club in this country who could turn around and do what Foley is doing to Bohs.
Dominick Foley IS a mercenary and I'd be happy if he never wears the red and black of Bohs again. What he has said has been insulting to the club, his manager, his team mates, the supporters of Bohs, the supporters of ALL clubs in the eL and have ultimately let himself down.
While he was enthralling crowds with his 1 goal in 23 matches, there were people who had some faith in him. He's really come out of his shell in the last couple of months and he was really shining through, generally being excellent, scoring goals. But this is just a kick in the nuts to those of us who did support him when he was justifiably getting stick for his moaning, falling over and generally playing the victim.
Dominick Foley, thinks that he is above this league. Well Dominick, I say this league is too good for YOU. Players like you are a pariah in our game. You do not know how good you had it.
well said, exellent post
Roverstillidie
15/08/2005, 11:46 AM
It does concern me however that some rival supporters are amused by this situation when I'd wager that there are players at every club in this country who could turn around and do what Foley is doing to Bohs.
the reason people are amused is that for a while now there has been some serious smugness and a holier than thou attitude from dalymount in relation to other clubs difficulties, and pure delight at our (now passed) prediciment. the gypos board ruthlessly took advantage of our difficulties in insisting on srewing us on rental for pox park.
never mind complaining about gent tapping foley up 2 years after tapping tony grunt up.
the boot is on the other foot and you have gotten a taste of your own medicine here. its just one player, no threat to your existance or anything so drastic. so thats why laughter is fair game. fellow fans of your club dished out plenty of it, so time to take it on the chin my black and tan friends!! :D
btw they are talking about kicking the s hite out of him on gypo web, will the herald run that on page 1?
bohs til i die
15/08/2005, 11:51 AM
I believe Bohs paid a transfer fee of €15k for Tony Grant. Slightly different scenario. Grant wasn’t tapped up. Bohs made a few bids for Grant, the final bid was accepted by the Rovers board.
Bohs haven’t screwed Rovers for rent. Rovers are paying the same rent, or close to it, that they were paying for Tolka Park or Richmond Park in years gone by.
15/08/2005, 12:05 PM
If he walks from Bohs he can't sign for an EL team this season as the window is closed. Only unemployed players can be signed outside the window and not ones that are voluntarily unemployed like Foley would be or like Alan Murphy with us. So if he wants to go he must have a club lined up outside the EL. Otherwise I couldnt see him giving up his 1.8k per week or whatever just on a point of principle.
15/08/2005, 12:05 PM
btw they are talking about kicking the s hite out of him on gypo web, will the herald run that on page 1?
If you take a less selective read of the MB, you'll find that the one or two people who have spoken in those terms have been quite rightly told to desist or receive permanent bans.
That, my friend, is the difference between Bohs and Rovers. ;)
bohs til i die
15/08/2005, 12:08 PM
If he walks from Bohs he can't sign for an EL team this season as the window is closed. Only unemployed players can be signed outside the window and not ones that are voluntarily unemployed like Foley would be or like Alan Murphy with us. So if he wants to go he must have a club lined up outside the EL. Otherwise I couldnt see him giving up his 1.8k per week or whatever just on a point of principle.
Foley isnt walking out on 1.8k per week, his net cost to the club [ie: his gross wage] isnt even that high.
Roverstillidie
15/08/2005, 1:19 PM
I believe Bohs paid a transfer fee of €15k for Tony Grant. Slightly different scenario. Grant wasn’t tapped up. Bohs made a few bids for Grant, the final bid was accepted by the Rovers board.
Bohs haven’t screwed Rovers for rent. Rovers are paying the same rent, or close to it, that they were paying for Tolka Park or Richmond Park in years gone by.
grunt's transfer bid was only accepted because he refused to play 'because he wanted to go to boyezzzzz to win things'. good to see that worked out. he was at the very least informally approached.
was the 1,800 pw figure not released by the bores themselves?
and we are paying much more to the gypos for loyal orange phibsboro than we paid shels and spa fc, but the our issues relate to the clauses in that contract. we have to pay even if we dont play there and other assorted catches that were definitly put in to screw us. fair play on the commercial side, you could and you did, needing to money for the likes of foley's wages. but these things have a habit of coming around to bite you on the a rse.
15/08/2005, 1:51 PM
Plaudits for the Bohs board. What's rare is wonderful! :D
Roverstillidie
15/08/2005, 3:26 PM
Plaudits for the Bohs board. What's rare is wonderful! :D
hmmmmm, thats one way of looking at it :mad:
just dont get all hot and bothered when karma gets you. you deserve it
If thats what he's on Id be saying 'thanks for the effort, fcuk off so' if I was on the Bohz board & get Eamon Zayed in on a fraction of that money + Bray could get a good fee too.
Nah your grand, we'll keep Eamo. Sure why would he want to sign for a club who have had so many financial problems over the past few years ? it will happen again.......... When he wins us the cup he'll sign a nice little contract extension with us and everyones a winner :D
BohsFans
15/08/2005, 4:02 PM
:D :D :D :D :D
Why is there never any inbetween? It's either best or worst.
When did I ever say he was the worst??
BohsFans
15/08/2005, 4:09 PM
Nah your grand, we'll keep Eamo. Sure why would he want to sign for a club who have had so many financial problems over the past few years ? it will happen again.......... When he wins us the cup he'll sign a nice little contract extension with us and everyones a winner :D
Financial problems? All clubs in Ireland have those, but the difference is our players get paid every week!
We couldn't get Zayed because Bray won't do business with us, but he has said he would love to sign for Bohs and challenge for honours.
Roverstillidie
16/08/2005, 9:40 AM
We couldn't get Zayed because Bray won't do business with us, but he has said he would love to sign for Bohs and challenge for honours.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
BohsFans
16/08/2005, 12:37 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
How many years is it now since the "cup specialists" have won the cup, or any silverware for that matter???
BohsFans
16/08/2005, 12:48 PM
Carmarthen 5-1 Longford Town
[1 - 0] R.M. Thomas
[1 - 1] Myler (pen.)
[2 - 1] G. Lloyd
[3 - 1] G. Lloyd (pen.)
[4 - 1] R.M. Thomas
[5 - 1] N. Cotterall
:D :D :D :p