View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V France - Monday, 27th March 2023 - Euro 2024 Qualifier

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

27/03/2023, 7:56 PM
Agh. That was an awful goal to concede. Have to feel for Cullen. Had started the half really well.

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 7:56 PM
Cullen’s set pieces have been awful standard. Do we not have anyone better when Brady not playing?

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 7:57 PM
Knight maybe deserves a bit of the blame for the goal too. At the very least it looked like the defence wasnt in sync collectively.

third policeman
27/03/2023, 7:58 PM
Cullen’s set pieces have been awful standard. Do we not have anyone better when Brady not playing?

Smallbone.

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 7:59 PM
France been very poor. That really was the self destruct button

texidub
27/03/2023, 7:59 PM
Cullen is one of my favourites, but even before that he was a bit anonymous in the first half and like was said above his deliveries haven't been great. Time to think about bringing Smallbone on?

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:02 PM
Ogbene needed to play that earlier, and Knight needed to shoot earlier. Those kinds of half-chances aren't going to be too plentiful.

27/03/2023, 8:02 PM
Just need to stay in it now. Every chance we’ll get an opportunity if we can stop them scoring again.

Edit, don’t think I’d take Ferguson off yet. Give h8m ten more minutes anyway.

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 8:03 PM
Looks like the standard tempo pick up after conceding, doing well since then. Would fear France pick us off with another goal now shortly as we open up.

backstothewall
27/03/2023, 8:11 PM
Was Ferguson injured?

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 8:11 PM
The current Norwich City whipping boy, Idah on, would love to see him score.

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 8:13 PM
Knight badly needs a move out of league one

third policeman
27/03/2023, 8:14 PM
Knight and Molumby both look knackered.

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:14 PM
Looked like VAR closed its eyes for a bit. Mbappe should have won a penalty.

joey B
27/03/2023, 8:16 PM
Knight is out on his feet,more subs needed….

27/03/2023, 8:16 PM
We're getting to the stage where you think of throwing McClean and Johnston at Pavard and see if we can get him sent off

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 8:17 PM
Kenny discussing with Andrews for several minutes. Still nothing on much needed subs. Such a lack of proactivity. Only 15 minutes left. Waiting for 2-0?

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:18 PM
Disappointing that the crowd has been so quiet since the goal. This is when the team needs the noise

texidub
27/03/2023, 8:19 PM
Knight badly needs a move out of league one

He's fantastic. Easily top championship level player. Would love to see him tested in the Permiership or a decent continental league. I was talking to someone who knows a lot of the players a few weeks ago and I got a bit exasperated when Knight came up. "What's he doing in League One?!" I spluttered. The simple reply I got was "Earning good money."

texidub
27/03/2023, 8:20 PM
Johnston.. brave substitution. I approve.

27/03/2023, 8:20 PM
If Kenny really trusts his players why does he wait so long before making substitutions. Especially when losing and nothing is happening

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:21 PM
Good example of the difficulty of Irish position there: Molumby encouraging more players to get forward and enact a defensive press, but when we do France break, should probably score, and Molumby gets booked for a cynical foul.

27/03/2023, 8:23 PM
If Kenny really trusts his players why does he wait so long before making substitutions. Especially when losing and nothing is happening

I assume he wants to stay in the game as long as possible and then set things up for a rousing last 10-15. It’s not the worst thing in the world against a team as dangerous as France.

As NFB says, it’s a difficult situation we’re in.

Crosby87
27/03/2023, 8:25 PM
Come on Ireland

joey B
27/03/2023, 8:26 PM
Our set pieces have been shocking…

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:28 PM
Great run by McClean, doubt the shot would have heat the keeper. The chances are there...

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 8:29 PM
Fantastic entertainment.

Wonderful effort by ireland and a lot of positives but need goal otherwise counts for nothing except the stereotypical “heroic Irish” effort but fall short

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:31 PM
Ogbene has been outstanding.

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:33 PM
And to think I was glad when Lloris retired.

MichaelCherrito
27/03/2023, 8:35 PM
What a save!!! That was 1-1.

Crosby87
27/03/2023, 8:36 PM
Getting annoying right now

joey B
27/03/2023, 8:37 PM
A sickner of a save that!

NeverFeltBetter
27/03/2023, 8:38 PM
Real shame. The point was there if we were just a bit more clinical. There's a good team in this group, but the debate will continue as to whether Kenny is the one to lead them.

Wish they would play like this more often. Too much "Heads held high" sentiment.

27/03/2023, 8:39 PM
I don’t know what to say. Done fantastically all game, made one mistake and got punished. Deserved something from that. Gutted but also very proud. Players and manager can hold their heads up high after that. Still null points I suppose but that was a strong performance from us.

27/03/2023, 8:40 PM
They were fantastic since going 1-0 down.

One sloppy error and we got punished.

Ogbene & Coleman both excellent,

Calcio Jack
27/03/2023, 8:40 PM
Getting annoying right now

Stupid goal to give away such a pity … then again any team that has a manger that still picks McClean ( wasted a corner and then wasted shot when he should of squared the ball ) deserves nothing …

RiffRaff
27/03/2023, 8:41 PM
Good performance and great last ditch effort. Have we moved forward under Kenny though. Unfortunately I dont think so

tommy_c12000
27/03/2023, 8:43 PM
Sickening result, promising performance. Poor from Cullen for the goal and pretty anonymous first half, you’d question if he can step up to the premier league next season. An excellent championship player though. I think he’s a bit overrated in what is the easiest position to play in on the field. Ogbene exceeded my expectation, good game. Just needs to stay wide and not central. Bazunu was excellent, no question who our number one is. Need to build on this performance and actually start getting results in our group. Set piece deliveries were largely awful, Cullen and McClean should not be on them. We need better.

Still don’t understand why Browne gets game time on the right wing.

DCWA
27/03/2023, 8:43 PM
Great performance. THE BOSS is back.

ontheotherhand
27/03/2023, 8:44 PM
Couldn't ask for much more. We were set up well, the starting lineup was the right one, the subs were brave and the players gave it everything. Deserved a point and would have had it if not for an absolutely unreal save.

The only complaint for is on set pieces. The final two Cullen hit were good and resulted in two excellent chances but otherwise we couldn't get it right.

Molumby had his best game, same for Ogbene. Coleman and O'Shea were superb. Doherty too. Ferguson worked hard and did what he could with what he got but Idah was a good sub. He has a bit more pace and it worked well.

Sickening really but on paper that should have been far worse.

joey B
27/03/2023, 8:45 PM
Can’t ask much more of that team against one of the best in the world,Ogbene and Coleman were excellent I thought,just a pity about the mistake and goal…..

ontheotherhand
27/03/2023, 8:48 PM
Good performance and great last ditch effort. Have we moved forward under Kenny though. Unfortunately I dont think so

Genuinely, what does this mean? We played well but we haven't moved forward enough to beat the WC runners up?

Do even the positive performances have to turn into a referendum on the manager?

27/03/2023, 8:49 PM
Just a shame that the goal we conceded was one we gave away so easily.

Apart from that, it was a solid performance all round, and we did give them a scare at the end.

Disappointing for Ferguson but it was always going to be that way for the lone frontman.

27/03/2023, 8:50 PM

Its actually becase he trusts his players to come good. Im sure people can see the good and the bad in terms of taking someone off early. As Ive said before, its one area that baffled me on occasions when he was at Dundalk - a tactical change doesnt need to reflect on the player or indeed the managers starting off thinkig.

Ok so we were beaten by one of the outstanding teams in world football, one pass goes astray and we were punished. But by and large that was a good erformance and yes some will say its a result base game but once again we see how this squad is being developed. They were fearless considering who they were facing, not hammered by any means. The French will grab those points as not just with the Collins effort we finished on the font foot and they killed the game with subs and getting frees. To be expected! I'm a bit disappointed not to have gotten a result and thats is a guage of where things are going imo.

RiffRaff
27/03/2023, 8:53 PM
Genuinely, what does this mean? We played well but we haven't moved forward enough to beat the WC runners up?

Do even the positive performances have to turn into a referendum on the manager?

Meaning we were losing narrowly at home to top teams when Kenny took over

27/03/2023, 8:53 PM
Collins header was a completely free one. Awful marking he had a lot to aim at
https://twitter.com/leflofloo/status/1640452883199012864?s=48&t=YIS5pyM9lBYqBB9pofQ_og

SwanVsDalton
27/03/2023, 8:54 PM
That was really strong, probably should have got something out of it. As ever, it's about making that level of performance the absolute floor going forward, being consistent and doing it against Greece and beyond.

If the team and Kenny has finally unlocked that, we'll do OK.

27/03/2023, 8:55 PM
Kenny got that game totally right and deserves credit even from the most staunch of the anti-Kenny faction. One mistake and the best in the world will punish you. That’s what it came down to. Greece will be the best gauge.

Ogbene, O’Shea, Collins and Doherty were brilliant. Egan solid. Molumby was a warrior but was tiring in the last 25 mins. Knight had a better second half. I was terrified that Coleman would be exposed but he did really well and Ogbene really supported him well. Bazunu pulled off some good stops.

Again, very much a full team performance and they all executed well. The substitutes were effective (McClean gave us a lift and the right type of energy, Idah impressed too) although Johnston didn’t see much of the ball apart from that carry thru midfield just after he came on.

JR89
27/03/2023, 8:57 PM
Just a shame that the goal we conceed was one we gave away so easily.

Apart from that, it was a solid performance all round, and we did give them a scare at the end.

Disappointing for Ferguson but it was always going to be that way for the lone frontman.

That's the the sickener about it is it was a sloppy mistake rather than a great piece of play from France that won them the game.

Yeah Ferguson had the thankless job of being the lone front man today but should see himself and Obafemi maybe back starting together for Greece away.

27/03/2023, 8:58 PM
Just a shame that the goal we conceed was one we gave away so easily.

Very League of Ireland in Europe of us....Kenny out!!