View Full Version : Will the eL bottle it?
Will the powers that be bottle it again when it comes to $h€l$?
S. Byrne, Nuttsy: Surely banned for the rest of the season for attacking officials?
Oily: Should be banned for good, but surely a season long ban from being anywhere near a pitch?
Neville, Bosco and all the other angry thugs: 6 to 10 game bans?
All thes people to be heavily fined as well, and a €5,000 fine for the club as a whole on top of this.
If we are to have any credibility as a league, surely heavy punishments must be immediately handed out. If nothing happens, or some miserable little sanctions are handed out, this league is completely f*cked.
Will the league do the right thing or run away and hide again?
I think $h€l$ will get away with it...AGAIN...:mad:
Hibs4Ever
09/08/2005, 7:10 AM
Will the powers that be bottle it again when it comes to $h€l$?
S. Byrne, Nuttsy: Surely banned for the rest of the season for attacking officials?
Oily: Should be banned for good, but surely a season long ban from being anywhere near a pitch?
Neville, Bosco and all the other angry thugs: 6 to 10 game bans?
All thes people to be heavily fined as well, and a €5,000 fine for the club as a whole on top of this.
If we are to have any credibility as a league, surely heavy punishments must be immediately handed out. If nothing happens, or some miserable little sanctions are handed out, this league is completely f*cked.
Will the league do the right thing or run away and hide again?
Of course they will, they always have :mad:
Probably, somebody got decked after the match on the pitch too - somebody said it was our club photographer when he was taking a picture of ollie (but it wasnt ollie that decked him).
Fenlon was more or less asking drogs supporters for a fight (like he did against bohs earlier in the season) and gave the aul 2 fingered salute to us - had to laugh at that one :)
Hibs4Ever
09/08/2005, 7:20 AM
Probably, somebody got decked after the match on the pitch too - somebody said it was our club photographer when he was taking a picture of ollie (but it wasnt ollie that decked him).
Fenlon was more or less asking drogs supporters for a fight (like he did against bohs earlier in the season) and gave the aul 2 fingered salute to us - had to laugh at that one :)
I remember coming out of Dalymount after the Hibs v Rover's match and Fenlon was standing outside the ground, when some young Rovers fans start shouting at him that Shels weren't gonna win the league this year. Instead of just smiling and ignoring them, he had to start awearing and shouting abuse back at them :rolleyes: When i explained to the Hibs fans that this was the manager of the current league champions they couldn't believe it. :eek: What a moron he proved himself to be, and now again last night. PONCE
09/08/2005, 7:27 AM
also why did jason byrne have to run the whole length of the pitch to celebrate in front of drogs fans,....muppet
Hibs4Ever
09/08/2005, 7:28 AM
also why did jason byrne have to run the whole length of the pitch to celebrate in front of shels fans,....muppet
Did he not do it to celebrate in front of Drogs fans?? (definitely agree with the muppet bit though :D )
09/08/2005, 7:33 AM
Did he not do it to celebrate in front of Drogs fans?? (definitely agree with the muppet bit though :D )
yeah meant drogs fans...what the fuk was he thinking
As I said in the other thread, probably the same reason as poncy gearge did in united park :rolleyes:
09/08/2005, 7:36 AM
As I said in the other thread, probably the same reason as poncy gearge did in united park :rolleyes:
georgie didnt run all the way over to you lot at full speed..it seemed jason byrne couldnt wait to get to you lot
at least georgie came to city fans first. byrne didnt even go to shels fans
georgie didnt run all the way over to you lot at full speed..it seemed jason byrne couldnt wait to get to you lot
at least georgie came to city fans first. byrne didnt even go to shels fans
Look again at the footage - 'will i sign the contract or wont I' georges first instict was to turn around to the drogs supporters, then he went to the city fans and then back to the drogs supporters.
Couldnt give a f**k to be honest - if ye cant take it don't give it - both were given stick by drogs supporters so we can have no complaints :rolleyes:
Let's not drag a City player, or any other player from any other club, into this thread.
This thread is about the poisonous boil that $h€lbourne football club has become, and the damage they are doing to our league.
09/08/2005, 10:37 AM
I am afraid to say .... i definitely think this will be bottled ... swept under the carpet again !! ..... and taking the hard line might even solve it which is a pity.
Passive
09/08/2005, 10:45 AM
Shels are a gentlemans club run by thugs.
From what I heard of last night, Ollie beat up the Drogheda photographer on the pitch after the game. Considering he physically attacked our manager earlier and had to be restrained from attacking Bohs fans earlier in the season, action has to be taken against him. Roddy is pressing charges against him, I hope the photographer does too.
Nutsy is an odd one. He comes into the pub with Rovers fans after every Rovers game and there's never any hassle, but his actions on the pitch this season have been terrible. He deserves a lengthy ban for his behaviour last night.
Funny there's no Shels fans on this thread yet.
someone mentioned introducing a "disrepute" charge similar to England - it has to be introduced as the current disciplinary sanctions are not working and recidivist behaviour is the order of the day with these people constantly being "warned as to their future conduct"
where will the line ever be drawn and they say 'ok we gave you a chance now for the punishment"
Any player trying to wind up opposition fans by celebrating in front of them should get automatic yellow card & incident over. That includes George.
garykelly
09/08/2005, 10:55 AM
must have been serious stuff if no shels fan is posting in response. shels poor reaction to not winning could be becuase they are so far behind the top and they could be in trouble if they dont get back to champions league qualifiers.
09/08/2005, 10:55 AM
"warned as to their future conduct"
biggest joke in the league that disciplinary statement.
repeat offenders are never hit with increased bans, the league need to clamp down seriously on them.
09/08/2005, 10:58 AM
must have been serious stuff if no shels fan is posting in response. shels poor reaction to not winning could be becuase they are so far behind the top and they could be in trouble if they dont get back to champions league qualifiers.
There's not much point in posting tbh, can't condone it, at all, so not even gonna try.
Similarly I was as mad as Nutsy myself and would have broken the linesmans nose if I was him, so I can't call for his head either!
It's easier to just sit back and watch the bickering with the rest of the people here to be frank. :)
I will say I think a €5,000 fine is a bit excessive, normally we don't see above €200. But whatever floats your boat, I don't see it reaching €5K myself. :)
09/08/2005, 11:14 AM
There's not much point in posting tbh, can't condone it, at all, so not even gonna try.
Similarly I was as mad as Nutsy myself and would have broken the linesmans nose if I was him, so I can't call for his head either!
It's easier to just sit back and watch the bickering with the rest of the people here to be frank. :)
I will say I think a €5,000 fine is a bit excessive, normally we don't see above €200. But whatever floats your boat, I don't see it reaching €5K myself. :)
My point is that it would need to be of that magnitude to get the message across to $h€l$, and all other clubs, that this type ofbehaviour cannot go on.
If this had happened with fans, there would have been Gardai involved, when should Nuttsy, Oily get away with it?
09/08/2005, 11:21 AM
"It’s taken a couple of days to get our heads right, but the players know exactly what’s required of them. It’s last chance saloon for them now and they have to put the [Champions League] defeats behind them."
Shelbourne manager Pat Fenlon ahead of his side’s crunch Premier Division meeting with Drogheda United on Monday evening.
Taken from www.eleven-a-side.com (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/)
09/08/2005, 11:45 AM
Didn't Declan O'Brien do that in Dalyer the other week?
Juz the Hoop
09/08/2005, 12:00 PM
also why did jason byrne have to run the whole length of the pitch to celebrate in front of drogs fans,....muppet
When do shels players ever celebrate in front of thier own fans. Rogers scores against us didnt go to his own lot no straight over to us. Last night hardly surprised me for want of better phrase Ollie and Fenlon should take "a long hard look at themselves".
JUZ
09/08/2005, 12:00 PM
The celebration thing happens all the time, and no doubt is related to the amount of abuse he got in the same fixture last season when he got sent off. It wasn't quite as poetic as when he did it to Bohs for similar reasons after getting the goal that finished their season, though :) Carbon copy of that goal actually. O'Callaghan also gestured to the Drumcondra End during the last Cork game in Tolka btw, it's not an issue, if supporters can give abuse they should be able to take it when it's shoved back at them. The attitude from fans who spent 90 minutes giving players unholy abuse when they give a bit back through a celebration or something is a joke.
Can't condone the rest of what happened, but like Endai said, if I was a player or offical I would have being going crazy too so I can't condemn them too much. Olly had nothing to do with what happened the reporter apparently.
The celebration thing happens all the time, and no doubt is related to the amount of abuse he got in the same fixture last season when he got sent off. It wasn't quite as poetic as when he did it to Bohs for similar reasons after getting the goal that finished their season, though :) Carbon copy of that goal actually. O'Callaghan also gestured to the Drumcondra End during the last Cork game in Tolka btw, it's not an issue, if supporters can give abuse they should be able to take it when it's shoved back at them. The attitude from fans who spent 90 minutes giving players unholy abuse when they give a bit back through a celebration or something is a joke.
Can't condone the rest of what happened, but like Endai said, if I was a player or offical I would have being going crazy too so I can't condemn them too much. Olly had nothing to do with what happened the reporter apparently.
its not about the fans - its the players - they are pros - in Byrnes case the highest paid pro in ireland - its amateuresque to run the length of the pitch to celebrate in front of opposition fans - its actually banned under FIFA laws as provoking crowd trouble.
09/08/2005, 12:08 PM
Yeah but it happens everywhere, and has happened to us plenty of times this season.
09/08/2005, 12:15 PM
jason byrne ignored his on fans, went past them to celebrate next to drogs fans
great thought to see jason ecstatic with a home draw to drogs :D
09/08/2005, 12:17 PM
great thought to see jason ecstatic with a home draw to drogs :D
I'd say you would have been even more ecstatic if you could have managed that result this season :)
09/08/2005, 12:19 PM
I'd say you would have been even more ecstatic if you could have managed that result this season :)
TBH we have got a lot better results than that ;)
New Hearts player stopped to celebrate in front of the Hibs supporters on sunday. Its a good way to start a riot. He got booked for offense. End of story.
09/08/2005, 12:51 PM
I know and it's great :D
09/08/2005, 12:53 PM
Last night hardly surprised me for want of better phrase Ollie and Fenlon should take "a long hard look at themselves".
What did Ollie do that was so bad and why should they take a look at themselves Juz,I am proud of them and proud of the fact they restrained themselves from killing the ref,I would have
09/08/2005, 12:55 PM
I know and it's great :D
Isn't it great being invincible and making up our own rules? :D
09/08/2005, 12:58 PM
Isn't it great being invincible and making up our own rules? :D
The best part is being able to laugh about it afterwards :D
Flashhh,AAaahhhh
Roverstillidie
09/08/2005, 1:03 PM
What did Ollie do that was so bad and why should they take a look at themselves Juz,I am proud of them and proud of the fact they restrained themselves from killing the ref,I would have
so we are to be thankful that murder wasnt committed? it was just assault so its ok? 4th official allegedly spat at by your manager? not fatal, so whats the fuss. drogheda photogropher bust open? yeah but he can still see, so stop going on about it! 'restrained'?!?
jesus, why did rovers not think of that one? next time the gypos get milled at doyles corner we can turn around and say 'well at least we didnt kill them'!!!
i hope that was tongue in cheek, i really do.
hoops1
09/08/2005, 1:12 PM
There is only one thing the referee should have done last night to collins and fenlon to stop there antics
thats a swift kick to the ghoulies and order them back to the chocolate factory!
Could you imagine what would have happened if the penalty in Longford was given against Shels
The oompa lumpas would have had a heart attack and burst there little purple heads and there would have been no chocolate made in the chocolate
factory for at least a month
THink of the children!
09/08/2005, 3:40 PM
so we are to be thankful that murder wasnt committed? it was just assault so its ok? 4th official allegedly spat at by your manager? not fatal, so whats the fuss. drogheda photogropher bust open? yeah but he can still see, so stop going on about it! 'restrained'?!?
jesus, why did rovers not think of that one? next time the gypos get milled at doyles corner we can turn around and say 'well at least we didnt kill them'!!!
i hope that was tongue in cheek, i really do.
No tongue in cheek,all opinion of which yours is no more valuble than mine so don't go on as if it is.
Drogheda Photographer fell over,thats it.No more,no less
I have more repect for Nutsy and Ollie now,than i ever did before
09/08/2005, 3:43 PM
Will the eL bottle it?
I think it's safe to say we have our answer, which was an emphatic "YES!"
09/08/2005, 4:17 PM
I have more repect for Nutsy and Ollie now,than i ever did before
And to think that people have a go at us for condoning or refusing to condemn our fans behaviour.
In a grown up league Shels would have to pay heavily for this, just ask Jose.
09/08/2005, 4:20 PM
And to think that people have a go at us for condoning or refusing to condemn our fans behaviour.
In a grown up league Shels would have to pay heavily for this, just ask Jose.
Thats a great point and your right,so i'll try not to criticize your fans for not condemning other fans again,that sound fair :)
I'm being honest,this is how i feel and i can't help how i feel
Sam Savic
09/08/2005, 5:02 PM
Don't be too smug. Shels won't be getting away with it. In fact, you might be surprised at the sanctions that could be taken.
Either way, it's the end of the season for Shels.
Roverstillidie
09/08/2005, 5:05 PM
Thats a great point and your right,so i'll try not to criticize your fans for not condemning other fans again,that sound fair :)
I'm being honest,this is how i feel and i can't help how i feel
of course there is freedom of speech etc, i never once said my opinion was more valuable.
i just think your logic is bizarre. there was trouble, but because there were no fatalaties its all ok? and you are proud of your clubs representitives because they only assaulted the ref?!? thats a pi ss poor defence of some heavy scenes from tolka last night.
do a poll. was the behaviour of the shelbourne players, management and fans acceptible? 99% will say an emphatic no. you will have to defend them that bit better to win this one im afraid anto.
and that doesnt mean switching the debate to rovers 'hooligans' again. this is about named shelbourne employess doing specific things. dont change the subject.
Thats madness, its part of the game. Go watch tennis if you don`t want to be "offended"
I agree but going up in front of stand winding up opposition fans is only inviting thrown bottles or other objects.
I think any player playing for the current league champions who are chasing 3 in a row, who runs the length of the pitch to celebrate drawing with a team 3 places below them at home should be booked...
Im surprised no1 mentioned that the ref was perfectly right to let play go on,o'brien wasnt offside!!
The t.v. pictures prove it,but i suppose cos fenlon saw it as offside it must have been.... :rolleyes:
scrappy harp
09/08/2005, 7:29 PM
Too right there was no offside , Fenlon was wrong and he reacted in the only way he knows when things are going against shels.
He's scum and somethin will have to be done about it.
How can any shels fan come on here and defend it and have the nerve to talk about other teams when incidents like these happen.
Throw the book at him the little *****.
I agree it's shocking, disgraceful, etc, etc, but most of all it's flucking hilarious to see all the rattles coming out of the prams down Tolka way.
09/08/2005, 9:22 PM
What happen to Eddie Collins at the start of the season when it broke his ban ..... What actually became of that ??
tomsoc
09/08/2005, 9:29 PM
He was given another chance to serve his ban (maybe with one game on top) and of course "severely warned as to his future conduct".
09/08/2005, 9:39 PM
"severely warned as to his future conduct".
So does this count as his 'future conduct' ??
He was involved too from what i could see !!
Copa Mundial
10/08/2005, 12:40 AM
[QUOTE=Anto McC]What did Ollie do that was so bad and why should they take a look at themselves Juz,I am proud of them and proud of the fact they restrained themselves from killing the ref,I would have[/QUOTE
Mistakes made by match officials are often highlighted and discussed on here.Correct and courageous decisions by officials are always overlooked.From what I saw of last nights incident, the referee was 100% correct in his decision as Joseph Ndo played the ball in O Briens direction,hence he was NOT offside, and you advocate violence :confused:
Being held accountable for ones actions is something you might familiarise yourself with!
We are all trying to encourage more people to attend Eircom League games, but im afraid last nights actions have left people with a bad impression of our league again.This seems to be occurring more frequently.The league is again making headlines for all the wrong reasons and its about time that its front line personnel(players, managers) started taking responsibility for their actions. :ball: