08/08/2005, 9:49 PM
at home to drogs 3-3.shels with a last minute goal to draw level

must say it is starting to look like a 2 horse race now

08/08/2005, 9:52 PM
at home to drogs 3-3.shels with a last minute goal to draw level

must say it is starting to look like a 2 horse race now

Yeah that was their big opportunity to give themselves a glimmer of hope...but alas :D

chippie0001
08/08/2005, 9:55 PM
2fm said there was war at the end, Fenlon sent off and rumours of all sorts of carry on. Shels must be cracking :eek:

08/08/2005, 9:59 PM
2fm said there was war at the end, Fenlon sent off and rumours of all sorts of carry on. Shels must be cracking :eek:

im sure des will come and let ye know but from the report he gave over on our website, shels could be in big big trouble

08/08/2005, 10:03 PM
giggle giggle giggle. Sound like shels lost more than the match :D

iceman
08/08/2005, 10:06 PM
Oily doing his "Rocky" impersonation at the tunnel entrance again. How does this man keep getting away with it?

chippie0001
08/08/2005, 10:19 PM
A post from the Rovers MB, seems like the same old Shels, really can't wait to play them next week.

I`ve been away for a few weeks and needed to see some live football, so I toddled down to Tolka,

Am I glad I did, a pretty good game, but the best was served last. After the final whistle it really kicked off, the "family" clubs fans took to the pitch aand tried to get the ref. Stewy Byrne got to the ref and slapped the ball from his hand and had to be restrained by the big goons escorting the ref off the pitch.

A photographer was taking photos of all this when Irelands (real) No. 1 charges in and assaults him, knocked him and his camera to the deck and lays into him. I was only yards from all this, Ollie was dragged away and the guy was very badly shook, he eventually got to his feet with the aid of some first aiders only to be verbally abused by Mick Neville.

If Shels get away with this we can throw our hats at it . If fans behaved like this their club would rightfully be in big trouble. The spin we get from Shels will be very interesting.

Dyl10
08/08/2005, 10:21 PM
Absoloutley brilliant game! definatley up for game of the season and it was hilarious to see fenlon get sent off :D :D :D

08/08/2005, 10:25 PM
The club and those involved should, and will probably, be banned and fined.

I think the reason for the uproar was Droghedas third goal. Watch EL weekly in a few minutes. The linesman had his flag up for offside for about 10/15 seconds, the referee overruled it, but did not signal this until after the ball had gone in, he didn't signal anything about playing on or overruling his assistant while Drogheda had the ball. In all fairness, he was onside and it rightly stood, but it was the poor officials not letting the players know what was happening that caused the uproar. That said, our players not playing to the whistle was also far from intelligent play. Had the referee signalled what he was doing, Curtis Flemming was close enough to make an attempt to stop the Drogheda player, but he was looking at the assistant with his flag still in the air. That said, a draw was a fair result over the course of the 90.

I know I keep saying Drogheda player, I was too busy screaming my head off to catch or notice who it was! :eek:

Sigh... :(

08/08/2005, 10:48 PM
just saw it there...fenlon is a fuking lunatic, a total disgrace

also you have to question, why the fuk did jason byrne run the whole length of the pitch to celebrate in front of drogs fans

08/08/2005, 10:48 PM
Well personally i thought it was great craic,I enjoyed myself anyway :D

chippie0001
08/08/2005, 10:51 PM

also you have to question, why the fuk did jason byrne run the whole length of the pitch to celebrate in front of drogs fans

It was relief that they were only 14 points off the top. What an idiot, they get a last minute equaliser at home and thats what he does. Jeez I wish we still had Hawkins, still can't defend.

08/08/2005, 11:07 PM
Watch EL weekly in a few minutes. The linesman had his flag up for offside for about 10/15 seconds, the referee overruled it, but did not signal this until after the ball had gone in, he didn't signal anything about playing on or overruling his assistant while Drogheda had the ball. In all fairness, he was onside and it rightly stood, but it was the poor officials not letting the players know what was happening that caused the uproar.(
Correct me if I`m wrong, but by playing on the ref is over-ruling his assistant? He doesn`t need to signal as offside occurs when the whistle is blown.

& how did the fans get on the pitch? I though I saw a Lansdowne Rd style mesh fence being held up near the end?

As for Ollie, Nutsy & Neville, why don't we have a bringing the game into disrepute charge here?

08/08/2005, 11:10 PM
i dont know what to say.. i cant belive we drew at home FFS... Im really hoping we can push for 2nd. I cringe at the thought of inter to to

As for the Ollie/Fenlon circus its a disgrace. what the fúck is going on ?????????????????? :confused: :confused: :confused:

08/08/2005, 11:11 PM
As for the Ollie/Fenlon circus its a disgrace. what the fúck is going on ?????????????????? :confused: :confused: :confused:

That was the best bit

Dyl10
08/08/2005, 11:12 PM
i dont know what to say.. i cant belive we drew at home FFS... Im really hoping we can push for 2nd. I cringe at the thought of inter to to

You cant beleive you drew :rolleyes: !!! You deserved to ****in lose :p

Dyl10
08/08/2005, 11:14 PM
Btw did fenlon spit in the 4th officials face as he was getting into the stand?

08/08/2005, 11:27 PM
Whatever about the sending off ... all of the cráp after on the pitch would have been avoided if no one was allowed on the pitch.

If the orange mesh thing isn't working .... the something else has to be tried. It look amature/gaa-ish ..... its unreal that it is still being allowed to happen.

info@fai.ie

09/08/2005, 12:25 AM
The linesman put his flag up for offside, the defenders saw it and stopped. the Drogheda striker ran through and scored with everyone thinking it would be disallowed and the goal was given, the ref went over to the linesman and the goal was still given. Only in this league :rolleyes:

ThatGuy
09/08/2005, 12:32 AM
The linesman put his flag up for offside, the defenders saw it and stopped. the Drogheda striker ran through and scored with everyone thinking it would be disallowed and the goal was given, the ref went over to the linesman and the goal was still given. Only in this league :rolleyes:Why, in what other league does the linesman's decision over-rule the referee's?

09/08/2005, 12:38 AM
Why, in what other league does the linesman's decision over-rule the referee's?

It's the linesman job to call offside, he is in a better position than the referee to see it. You can't put up your flag then suddenly put it back down again. the referee cant see offsides he is not in line.

ThatGuy
09/08/2005, 12:45 AM
It's the linesman job to call offside, he is in a better position than the referee to see it. You can't put up your flag then suddenly put it back down again. the referee cant see offsides he is not in line.
The linesman's job is an advisory role. The referee makes the decisions. And that includes off-side calls.

I thought that Feighery had retired years ago until he reffed (i think) Cork v Bohs a few weeks ago, he is without a doubt the worst referee I have ever seen here. I have little doubt that he ****ed up tonight, but the rules do state that the referee has to make the ultimate decisions, not the linesman etc.

09/08/2005, 12:47 AM
If the flag goes up does the ref not have to make some kind of play on signal?

I've never seen anything like it before. If not, we've nobody but ourselves to blame.

ThatGuy
09/08/2005, 12:52 AM
If the flag goes up does the ref not have to make some kind of play on signal?

I am 99% sure that he doesn't have to do that, and I am 100% sure that the referee is the only one who can make the decision. I may stand corrected, I am sure someone will post the rule.

I have seen the above happen on TV before, though as I said, Feighery was a joke when he was a regular referee about 5 years ago, and I'm not surprised that so soon after his Premier Division return that he is surrounded by controversy.

BohsFans
09/08/2005, 12:54 AM
Correct me if I`m wrong, but by playing on the ref is over-ruling his assistant? He doesn`t need to signal as offside occurs when the whistle is blown.

Spot on! I think everyone at Tolka needs to have a look over THE RULES OF THE GAME

BohsFans
09/08/2005, 12:56 AM
The linesman put his flag up for offside, the defenders saw it and stopped. the Drogheda striker ran through and scored with everyone thinking it would be disallowed and the goal was given, the ref went over to the linesman and the goal was still given. Only in this league :rolleyes:

Hold on a sec, but the very first thing you are told when playing SCHOOLBOY FOOTBALL is play the whistle, so it's your own fault :D

BohsFans
09/08/2005, 12:59 AM
The linesman's job is an advisory role. The referee makes the decisions.

Exactly, that's why the linesman is called the Assistant referee

09/08/2005, 1:01 AM
I am 99% sure that he doesn't have to do that

If so, should have played the whistle. It can be said that it is good that that goal wasn't what cost us the game, but in reality a draw was as good as a loss for us.

hoopy
09/08/2005, 6:33 AM
Sure it wasn't really Shels fans/management on the pitch at the end, it was us Rovers fans in disguise. Isn't that right Oily? Typical Shels once again, when they don't win there's murder on the pitch at the end. It's always everyone else's fault. Maybe you Shels fans should be asking yourselves what you're numerous coaches(I'm surprised you're bench has any room for the subs) are doing to earn their money. It's no coincidence that you're downturn coincided with the arrival of the Red Faced Penguin

09/08/2005, 6:58 AM
The disputed goal, the incompetence of the officials,the result...NONE OF THESE MATTER.

THE ONLY REAL STORY from Tolka last night, is that YET AGAIN, $hel$ management, players and officials have DISGRACED this league with their thuggery and violence.

If S. Byrne & Nuttsy are not banned FOR THE REST OF THE SEASON, Oily given something like a season long ban, and a few others like Neville get long bans as well, then this league is well and truely f*cked.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

$h€l$ MUST BE SEVERELY PUNISHED FOR THEIR ANTICS LAST NIGHT.

09/08/2005, 7:22 AM

The same reason poncy george did in united park :rolleyes:

09/08/2005, 7:25 AM

did the shels player ever hear of a whistle ;)

i always thought the saying was "play the whistle", not "play the flag"

Roverstillidie
09/08/2005, 7:40 AM
it really is always someone elses fault when shels mess up.

linesmen/pats/rovers fans etc.

the cuture oily has created around that club is poisonous

09/08/2005, 7:47 AM
Hold on a sec, but the very first thing you are told when playing SCHOOLBOY FOOTBALL is play the whistle, so it's your own fault :D

That's it in a nutshell.....you play the whistle. No excuse really.

09/08/2005, 7:57 AM
Reading in the Indo, I thought Flemming was caught for speed. Turns out it was a dodgy ref decision. Well either way Nutsy has to seriously address the defence. Scoring 3 goals should be enough to win you most games, letting 3 in is a serious worry. It has cost us everything this year.

As for the carry on after the match, well the EL doesnt need that kind of craic. Ollie has to get a fine and a ban for the rest of the season, he is a man out of control and is doing us no favours. This wouldnt happen in La Liga or even the championship.

Maybe they should erect those plastic 2 meter high screenings that you see in Seria A. That would stop people coming on the pitch.

09/08/2005, 8:01 AM
As for the carry on after the match, well the EL doesnt need that kind of craic. Ollie has to get a fine and a ban for the rest of the season, he is a man out of control and is doing us no favours. This wouldnt happen in La Liga or even the championship.

and fenlon,enda collins and stuart byrne??????????

Mpndo
09/08/2005, 8:02 AM
It's the linesman job to call offside, he is in a better position than the referee to see it. You can't put up your flag then suddenly put it back down again. the referee cant see offsides he is not in line..

Wasn't Feighery proved right. Ndo kicked the ball didn't he.

Why, by the way did TV3 only show it once?

Crowe skied the ball over from five yards (again ) last night, with the game at two all. How come nobody blaming him for only drawing?

Roverstillidie
09/08/2005, 8:03 AM

Crowe skied the ball over from five yards (again ) last night, with the game at two all. How come nobody blaming him for only drawing?

because it is never, ever their own fault!

09/08/2005, 8:04 AM
Spot on! I think everyone at Tolka needs to have a look over THE RULES OF THE GAME

dont they write the rules up in tolka :confused:

09/08/2005, 8:05 AM
Reading in the Indo, I thought Flemming was caught for speed. Turns out it was a dodgy ref decision. If the TV camera shows that it was Ndo who played the ball into the path of the Drogs player then the ref was 100% correct.

lofty9
09/08/2005, 8:06 AM
I watched it last night on TV and couldn't believe Fenlon's antics, I was actually cringing with embarrassment for him. However my wife made me laugh when she asked in all seriousness "why is the wee ball boy going mad"!! :D

Dotsy
09/08/2005, 8:17 AM
I watched it last night on TV and couldn't believe Fenlon's antics, I was actually cringing with embarrassment for him. However my wife made me laugh when she asked in all seriousness "why is the wee ball boy going mad"!! :D

:D :D :D Classic

rerun
09/08/2005, 8:19 AM
Maybe they should erect those plastic 2 meter high screenings that you see in Seria A. That would stop people coming on the pitch.
Maybe the shels officials etc. should stay in the dug out until everyone else has left the stadium ??? :)

09/08/2005, 8:30 AM
Disgraceful scenes on tv last night, at the end of the day, how can clubs stamp out violence and the likes by supporters when club officials are ten times worse. Action has to be taken!

rebs23
09/08/2005, 8:31 AM

Oh thats cheered up this Tuesday morning!!!

KK77
09/08/2005, 8:51 AM
the thing is the Shels player passed the ball through to O'Brien so he was onside regardless of the linesman putting his flag up sure anyway the ref is entitled to overrule especially when it's the correct decision. It really stinks of Shels being bad losers and the carry on should not be allowed.

09/08/2005, 9:11 AM
The scenes on TV (seems they even worse after the game) are why people do not like Shelbourne. I blame Oily as he sends out a message that this behvaiour is ok for his manager & players.

Some great quotes from TV Weekly:

Trevor: "...Shels are bad losers.."
Scully: "...Pat Fenlon is a disgrace...disgraceful scenes"

As said already its simple really - PLAY THE WHISTLE. With new offside rules this is especially important!

BYE BYE Season at Tolka. City will put nail in the coffin live on TV Monday Night!

09/08/2005, 9:15 AM
The referee was 100% correct to play on, my gripe is at the lack of a signal, as the assistant referee had his flag in the air for some time. A simple hand gesture would have sufficed. Either way, a draw was a fair result. Drogheda only had something like 4 attacks anyways, need to sort out the defence, couldn't blame the keeper for any of them.

09/08/2005, 9:16 AM
BYE BYE Season at Tolka. City will put nail in the coffin live on TV Monday Night!

theres going to be absolute war at that game

09/08/2005, 9:18 AM
I had nothing better to do last night, so I thought it would be a good night to introduce my 9 year old godson to his first EL game. And in fairness, it was a cracking game.

But the scenes at the end were deplorable, and trying to explain behaviour like that to an inquisitive 9 year old is pretty hard. I was sitting quite close to it all, and the bile and evil coming out of Fenlons mouth was quite unbelieveable. Eamonn Collins is not much better.These people are representatives of the Eircom League, both home and abroad and they behaved like nothing but tinkers. Indeed, I'd say that tinkers would even be shocked at them. Under no circumstances should any man degrade himself and behave like a caged animal, yet these people seem to be allowed to do this. I've seen them inaction before, last season against Cork in Tolka springs to mind, but this was simply unbelieveable.Shelbourne Football Club, its management, Chief Executive and some of its players are the epitome of everything football is not.

This was a great game, 6 goals, plenty of controversy and drama...everything that the EL is all about. The behavour at the end however befits the Zoo area of the Phoenix Park. I'll not be bringing my godson to Tolka again, which is a pity because he really enjoyed the game. Unfortunately he witnessed a totally depraved, insane lowlife in full flow afterwards, and it genuinely scared him.

Serious bans, fines and points deductions have to be the order of the day. These people cannot be seen to be allowed behave in this manner and get away with it. :mad: :mad: