View Full Version : 2023 Leinster Senior Cup
24/02/2023, 10:47 AM
Our A team didn't look up to very much last Saturday so that's not much of a surprise. Six academy players playing last night apparently and, with all due respect and goodwill to the efforts put in by players and staff, we're generally not very successful at Academy level.
Mo Boudiaf and Jamal were excellent, i'd start them tonight. Keeper did well too. Also Fran Campbell has a bit about him
sbgawa
27/02/2023, 9:20 PM
Usher celtic knock out drogs 4 to 2 after ET.
The Bowler
27/02/2023, 10:14 PM
Not like Drogs played all their 19s, at least 6 or 7 first team squad involved. Think Usher are in 3rd tier of LSL, not a good night. Gonna be a long season for them.
joey B
27/02/2023, 10:15 PM
Dundalk reinstated after appeal!
Yossarian
27/02/2023, 10:16 PM
Dundalk back in the greatest cup competition in the world.
28/02/2023, 8:06 PM
Usher celtic knock out drogs 4 to 2 after ET.
Where are they from Usher Celtic lads?
joey B
28/02/2023, 8:45 PM
Dublin 8 Islandbridge direction...
cláirseach
28/02/2023, 8:58 PM
I watched Usher a few weeks ago in Intermediate Cup action against an MSL side called Rockmount. Tough at the back and with a pair of very decent strikers including this lad Gannon who is a fine player at that level, but overall I would have expected that Drogheda line up to take them.
RealJohn91
01/03/2023, 10:09 PM
The Crumlin vs Bohs game has been switched to Dalymount and is happening on the 12th of March at 2pm.
joey B
13/03/2023, 9:13 PM
Bray 2-1 Rovers
Kiki Balboa
13/03/2023, 9:30 PM
Rovers still without a win this season in a competitive game I think
sbgawa
13/03/2023, 9:45 PM
very young Rovers side but Bray looked decent i thought and deserved the win.
Bitterly cold as usual , decent crowd around a 1000 id say but im not used to estimating crowds in bray
13/03/2023, 10:01 PM
Bitterly cold as usual , decent crowd around a 1000 id say but im not used to estimating crowds in bray
Ive such grá for the LSC, its slapdash way of being run part of the charm so id be a little bit disappointed not to go a mix of seniors and development players at a semi-final and on. For a side that could win a league and Cup double, maybe League Cup, well the LSC, presidents trophy and if there is a cross-border playoff comp, it is a serious haul even if a couple of the main trophies are missed out on.
2 Year Contract
13/03/2023, 10:53 PM
Rovers still without a win this season in a competitive game I think
They beat UCD 4-1 away in the previous round of the LSC
sbgawa
13/03/2023, 11:24 PM
They beat UCD 4-1 away in the previous round of the LSC
Massive win for us and a suitable ansewer to the people saying we havent started well.
14/03/2023, 8:19 AM
Ive such grá for the LSC, its slapdash way of being run part of the charm so id be a little bit disappointed not to go a mix of seniors and development players at a semi-final and on. For a side that could win a league and Cup double, maybe League Cup, well the LSC, presidents trophy and if there is a cross-border playoff comp, it is a serious haul even if a couple of the main trophies are missed out on.
Didn't Rovers do exactly this? Sean Gannon, Simon Power, Darragh Nugent, Justin Ferijaz and Liam Burt all started.
sbgawa
14/03/2023, 8:48 AM
Didn't Rovers do exactly this? Sean Gannon, Simon Power, Darragh Nugent, Justin Ferijaz and Liam Burt all started.
I dont think even 1 of them has started a game this season (actually Nugent might have)
Power went off injured after 10 minutes, feel sorry for him he looks good but is made of glass.
Kiki Balboa
14/03/2023, 9:03 AM
Massive crowd for a LSL cup, which if we are being honest is little more than a competitive friendly. Extratime.ie has it done as 500 estimate.
Was it all Rovers or did Bray bring a big crowd too?
14/03/2023, 9:09 AM
I dont think even 1 of them has started a game this season (actually Nugent might have)
Power went off injured after 10 minutes, feel sorry for him he looks good but is made of glass.
They're still all classed as senior players though.
Massive crowd for a LSL cup, which if we are being honest is little more than a competitive friendly. Extratime.ie has it done as 500 estimate.
Was it all Rovers or did Bray bring a big crowd too?
1,172 officially on FAI Connect.
2 Year Contract
20/03/2023, 5:34 PM
Apparently people in the UK and Europe don’t respect the League of Ireland because of the Leinster FA's organisation of the Leinster Senior Cup. Great stuff to see there’s apparently such a huge international audience in the LSC, hopefully the fixture organisation can get better so the Europeans can get back to not knowing the competition exists ;)
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41096983.html
dundalkfc10
20/03/2023, 7:47 PM
Apparently people in the UK and Europe don’t respect the League of Ireland because of the Leinster FA's organisation of the Leinster Senior Cup. Great stuff to see there’s apparently such a huge international audience in the LSC, hopefully the fixture organisation can get better so the Europeans can get back to not knowing the competition exists ;)
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41096983.html
Had mates as far as Croatia text me about it. There hoping it's live on LOITV Friday
sbgawa
20/03/2023, 7:49 PM
jesus Duffer is some feckin whinge , its a glorified friendly for the bigger clubs , chance to give kids a run out. If hes bothered it is minowisim at its best.
sbgawa
20/03/2023, 7:50 PM
They're still all classed as senior players though.
Fair point and we should have had enough to beat bray but they were better than i expected (and bradser as well obv)
legendz
21/03/2023, 5:10 PM
Munster Senior Cup semi-finals:
Treaty United 2-3 Cobh Ramblers
Played in Jackman Park.
Waterford v Cork City this evening in Ozier Park. Semi Finals being played at Neutral Venues in the region of the home drawn team!
21/03/2023, 6:33 PM
Played in Jackman Park.
Waterford v Cork City this evening in Ozier Park. Semi Finals being played at Neutral Venues in the region of the home drawn team!
Utter nonsense, shocked clubs agreed.only adding expense in a competition with no prize money
2 Year Contract
21/03/2023, 6:49 PM
Utter nonsense, shocked clubs agreed.only adding expense in a competition with no prize money
Odd one alright, wait till the Europeans hear about this!
legendz
21/03/2023, 8:21 PM
Utter nonsense, shocked clubs agreed.only adding expense in a competition with no prize money It is utter nonsense. Is the Leinster Senior Cup fairing better apart from the Dundalk v Shels saga?
Shearer
21/03/2023, 10:32 PM
Played in Jackman Park.
I was at the game in Jackman Park.
Awful night weather wise, so I was delighted to see a small crowd because the fat controllers from the MFA were charging lads a tenner in the gate to a Mickey Mouse competition that means nothing outside of Cork.
Even if they added the winners of each top flight junior league it would give make it some bit provincial, but right now the only clubs not from Cork in the competition are Waterford and Treaty.
Cork City beat Waterford 2-1 last night in awful weather conditions in Ozier Park in Waterford. Cork had their keeper sent off in first half but won it with a late goal. I heard 150 to 200 there.
legendz
22/03/2023, 3:36 PM
The whole playing games in Jackman Park and Ozier Park is ridiculous. The Munster LoI clubs could arrange a Munster League Cup that could be more worthwhile. If it fails, it fails. If it was a hit, Connacht and Ulster might suit. In the absence of the League Cup, regional league cups might have a place in the first half of the season.
dundalkfc10
24/03/2023, 11:24 AM
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/1639227727671853056?t=U7x788Tu_8G8lOv3QgZbzQ&s=19
The Bowler
17/04/2023, 7:59 PM
Usher from LSL 3rd tier lead a strong enough Bray 3-1 after 60 minutes. The 1st Division is really not very good, as evidenced by a bang average Galway team running away with it
The Bowler
17/04/2023, 8:05 PM
Make that 4-1, now we are into embarrassing territory
joey B
17/04/2023, 8:13 PM
A few intermediate teams would do ok in the First Division I think,bad bad league….
joey B
18/04/2023, 1:27 AM
Bray charging 15 euro into the LSC is a bit of a joke …..
total hoofball
18/04/2023, 8:47 PM
Bray charging 15 euro into the LSC is a bit of a joke …..
I would hope that is joke because that would be as ridiculous as some of the stuff the North Koreans got up to
joey B
18/04/2023, 9:05 PM
I would hope that is joke because that would be as ridiculous as some of the stuff the North Koreans got up to
18/04/2023, 9:34 PM
Rumours of certain fans being refused entry, tweets referencing supporters club bus to longford on saturday being hidden by club account, things may be better on the pitch but off it....
FTA-1895
08/05/2023, 10:05 PM
Shels into the semi final with a handy 2-0 win in heavy rain and a partially waterlogged pitch.
FTA-1895
15/06/2023, 8:55 PM
Shels v Bohs semi final set for July 3rd.
RealJohn91
03/07/2023, 6:24 PM
Bohs playing the u19s against Shels tonight. Shels a mix of that and senior players by the looks of it. Game is on YouTube for those interested https://www.youtube.com/live/K5HB4pITivE?feature=share
03/07/2023, 7:10 PM
Looks like a half decent attendance - LSC capturing the interest of the sporting public too!?! Has to be a symptom of covid or we are in an alternate reality.
Quite like that Bohs kit for some reason!
Thoroughly enjoyable game this with in now 3-3. So much for flat atmosphere Monday night games.
2 Year Contract
03/07/2023, 8:43 PM
Caught the second half of this on the above link. Shels subs 3-4 Bohs under 19s. Poor quality but high entertainment value on show with Bohs deserving of the win against a much more experienced shels side who were poor. Cian Byrne at the back for Bohs looks a great prospect
ger121
03/07/2023, 9:02 PM
Everyone loves a final.
HarveyHD
04/07/2023, 6:31 AM
Caught the second half of this on the above link. Shels subs 3-4 Bohs under 19s. Poor quality but high entertainment value on show with Bohs deserving of the win against a much more experienced shels side who were poor. Cian Byrne at the back for Bohs looks a great prospect
Yes, poor quality, but a score of 3-4 made my evening :)
Bohs looked better, they deserved to win.
wonder88
04/07/2023, 11:30 AM
Good crowd at Tolka by the looks of it. Shows the value of the LSC. I remember it being the first trophy won by Brian Kerr with St Patricks, and reading a column by Con Houlihan afterwards in the Evening Press about the great joy the club got from it. Fair play to Damian Duff for standing up for the historic competition. Now we need the league cup back, especially for clubs outside Leinster.
04/07/2023, 12:03 PM
Meh - I think one or the other is fine, but not both
dundalkfc10
04/07/2023, 12:05 PM
The Laague Cup was a fantastic tournament, a tournament that benefited the great Dundalk sides of 2014-2019
Good crowd at Tolka by the looks of it. Shows the value of the LSC. I remember it being the first trophy won by Brian Kerr with St Patricks, and reading a column by Con Houlihan afterwards in the Evening Press about the great joy the club got from it. Fair play to Damian Duff for standing up for the historic competition. Now we need the league cup back, especially for clubs outside Leinster.
Someone posted an image of the Bohs away following at Tolka in an estimated crowd of 2,000 for this LSC tie!
JC_GUFC
06/07/2023, 9:29 AM
I remember the days when suspensions could be used in the LSC! At the drop of a hat matches would be re-arranged so players wouldn't miss an important league game.
I'd definitely welcome the League Cup back - I enjoyed in the 90s when it was a pre-season group competition. Teams play each other pre-season anyway so why not just have a competitive edge to them? I guess this would rule out the possibility of playing "A Trialist".
I think if you leave the European teams out of it, 4 groups of 4 teams, or even just start from a last 16.