View Full Version : Killian Phillips M St Mirren (on loan from Crystal Palace) b.2002
backstothewall
02/02/2024, 9:58 AM
They play Celtic tomorrow. I'll make a point of watching that.
Eirambler
02/02/2024, 10:02 AM
There's a version of the future out there where we have the tallest squad in Europe.
Don't think we'll be far off it in a few years alright. Certainly at centre back and centre forward anyway. Though, other than Phillips, we haven't been producing particularly tall midfielders. Maybe him and Lawal can break through on behalf of the big lads.
backstothewall
06/02/2024, 11:32 PM
They play Celtic tomorrow. I'll make a point of watching that.
So I didn't do this. But I did watch the hightlights on Sportscene and watch his 20 minutes off the bench against Rangers at Ibrox tonight.
So. Based on that VERY small sample, this is what i think of him so far.
He's something unlike anyone else we have at present. And based on what little i was my impression was that Aberdeen are playing him too far forward. He's was usually the closest player to their strike Miovski tonight. He might only be 21 but he's a big, broad, powerful man. And he plays with his socks round his ankles which only makes him look taller and more physically imposing. There's a touch of Carlton Palmer about him for those of you old enough to remember him.
Strengths:
He's got a decent touch for a big man. At one point he was surrounded by 2 or 3 rangers players and looked like he was about to lose it when he played a lovely pass off the outside of his foot to Duk (i think) on the left wing.
Running on the ball: Dribbling isn't the word for this. But when he gets running with the ball at his feet it takes a perfectly timed tackle or a foul to stop him. a bit like what Stephen Reid used to do for Blackburn before his injury robbed him of that.
Weaknesses:
Work Rate: I thought this was lacking. No problem at all when the ball was in front of him, but once it got past him he had a tendency to drop his shoulders and trot back. Under other circumstances I'd say that might have been a managerial instruction given the position he was playing, but there's no way in the world that was an instruction from Neil Warnock.
Positioning: At times I thought he was just in the wrong place, but he's young and that will come with time.
Heading: Odd thing to say for a guy that size. He's huge, but his timing was out on a couple of jumps. Obviously it's a small sample but it is what it is. If it's a problem I imagine that's much harder to coach than the positioning issue.
Overall I think a more defensive role would make more of his strengths. He would get more chance to get on the ball and driver forward from a deeper position. And I can think of no better coach to improve his weaknesses, particularly that work rate issue.
You've gotta ****ing die to get three points
I'm not sure if he will ever be good enough, but I couldn't rule it out. If he was playing deeper and starts to work back as hard as he works forward, he could be a great foil for someone like Glenn Whelan. They could sit in front of the back 4, make interceptions and play those simple passes, while he bombs up and down the pitch doing what he looks to be good at.
But that's all based on a VERY small sample.
07/02/2024, 8:44 AM
I saw the Celtic game. He didn't do a huge amount with the ball that stood out but he really imposed himself and put himself about and drew a few fouls. Celtic's midfield hard to work hard to get time on the ball and had to be quick to win any second balls.
01/05/2024, 8:04 AM
Will leave palace in the summer, according to reports today
Eirambler
02/05/2024, 8:14 AM
Bit of a step backwards for him this season with two poorish loans. Hopefully he can find a permanent club around League 1 level or maybe in the bottom half in Scotland that he can settle at and maybe develop a bit.
seanfhear
02/05/2024, 9:17 AM
How has he done at Aberdeen ? Maybe Aberdeen might sign him ?
~YTM~
02/05/2024, 12:55 PM
How has he done at Aberdeen ? Maybe Aberdeen might sign him ?
Aberdeen fans don't rate him much. Most fans don't rate Aberdeen in general though. A mid table League One move would probably be a better move than signing permanently for Aberdeen.
Eirambler
03/05/2024, 12:22 PM
Rated well below McGrath (granted they play different roles) and most supporters will be happy enough if he doesn't come back after the summer. That would apply to most of their squad though, they've had a bad season.
Eirambler
19/08/2024, 10:49 PM
Looks like he's about to sign for St Mirren. Should be somewhere where he'll get plenty of game time at least, and can hopefully build back up from there. But he definitely seems to have stalled since his promising loan to Shrewsbury a couple of years ago.
In terms of context Jake Doyle-Hayes was a standout in midfield for St Mirren a few years ago and did nothing of note afterwards. So for Phillips, even being a standout there may not mean that much (to be fair John McGinn was also a standout in midfield for St Mirren and he did OK afterwards).
Razors left peg
20/08/2024, 12:08 AM
Looks like he's about to sign for St Mirren. Should be somewhere where he'll get plenty of game time at least, and can hopefully build back up from there. But he definitely seems to have stalled since his promising loan to Shrewsbury a couple of years ago.
In terms of context Jake Doyle-Hayes was a standout in midfield for St Mirren a few years ago and did nothing of note afterwards. So for Phillips, even being a standout there may not mean that much (to be fair John McGinn was also a standout in midfield for St Mirren and he did OK afterwards).
Philips I think is a lad that will make a living from football. He seems a good lad and works hard, but Id have doubts he'd ever get an Ireland cap. As he gets older, you'd never know. We've had plenty that came into their own in their mid to late 20s, but right now I wouldnt be relying on him to come into the Ireland midfield like we would have done a couple of years ago
seanfhear
20/08/2024, 3:06 PM
Ok ~ Would be a bit under-statement-ish for John McGinn.
To put it mildly !
Ok ~ Would be a bit under-statement-ish for John McGinn.
To put it mildly !
I wish our midfielders had an ok career like John McGinn.
Eirambler
20/08/2024, 8:36 PM
There was an element of sarcastic humour in the McGinn comment that might've gone over a head or two there!
31/03/2025, 1:40 PM
Interviewed in the independent: https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/i-was-right-behind-the-goal-when-shane-long-scored-against-germany-i-promised-my-ma-that-night-that-one-day-i-would-be-there-in-the-aviva/a2116447321.html
Was on the provisional squad list for the play off against Bulgaria
Eirambler
31/03/2025, 5:30 PM
Interesting side note from that article (though I'd say not hugely surprising based on what I've seen of him) is that JP Finn isn't one of Hallgrimsson's first 12 picks in midfield.
Razors left peg
31/03/2025, 5:58 PM
Interesting side note from that article (though I'd say not hugely surprising based on what I've seen of him) is that JP Finn isn't one of Hallgrimsson's first 12 picks in midfield.
Things can change quickly in a few months, before the England game not too many on here would have been calling for Mark McGuinness to start. Friendlies are next up so Finn so be given a look in training at least
Eirambler
02/04/2025, 10:15 AM
I suspect the McGuinness cap was at least partly to tie him to us as the north were known to be keen on him (his dad is from Derry).
Razors left peg
02/04/2025, 12:28 PM
I suspect the McGuinness cap was at least partly to tie him to us as the north were known to be keen on him (his dad is from Derry).
If that's the case then getting Finn in camp would be even more logical considering he could play for Cameroon too.
Eirambler
02/04/2025, 1:25 PM
Only if they think he's at least somewhere near good enough and there's a suitable competitive game to cap him in. We've had some great opportunities for that recently - England away was a dead rubber and the Bulgaria games were always likely to give us some scope to cap-tie. We're less likely to take risks in actual World Cup qualifiers, at least until such time as we're out of contention. Friendlies don't count of course (in most cases - though they'd still help a little in Vata's case).
Razors left peg
02/04/2025, 3:13 PM
There's a lad playing in a top division in Europe who is 21 and playing in a position of most need for us. He also might have the physical attributes that we are crying out for... I'd say it's worth having him in camp for some unimportant summer friendlies and after that let's see how he does
Eirambler
02/04/2025, 3:32 PM
Maybe...looking at their recent results though, they seem to have been doing better since they dropped him. Let's see if he can win his starting place back with his club first.
Razors left peg
02/04/2025, 4:31 PM
Hes 21
Eirambler
02/04/2025, 7:54 PM
Right, so maybe we don't need to go rushing him into the senior squad in the hope he's the answer to our midfield problems, when it's fairly clear that he isn't.
Razors left peg
02/04/2025, 8:14 PM
Right, so maybe we don't need to go rushing him into the senior squad in the hope he's the answer to our midfield problems, when it's fairly clear that he isn't.
I dont think thats clear at all... what I think is clear is that any combination of Knight, Cullen and Molumby absolutely isnt the answer to our problems. Maybe a bit of outside the box thinking might go a long way.
When a young Jack Grealish was tearing up L1 on loan we had a stubborn manager who thought that he wasnt even worth a look on an end of season tour to America, how did that work out for us. By this time next year Finn may be crap or he may be really good. Getting him involved now wouldnt cause any problems. Its not like the strikers where if all are fit someone really good might get left out.
Im am not saying for one minute that I think Finn is a brilliant player who would transform our fortunes immediately, but he has attributes that could in the not too distant future and I'd rather have him on board with us than not
Eirambler
02/04/2025, 8:30 PM
Fair enough, the problem I see though is that at the moment (unlike Grealish) this lad isn't tearing anything up. He's a squad player who has made a small number of starts for a mid table French team. I get that he's eligible for about half a dozen countries, but I'd like to see him do a bit more to earn a call up than what I've seen of him so far.
Razors left peg
02/04/2025, 8:43 PM
Fair enough, the problem I see though is that at the moment (unlike Grealish) this lad isn't tearing anything up. He's a squad player who has made a small number of starts for a mid table French team. I get that he's eligible for about half a dozen countries, but I'd like to see him do a bit more to earn a call up than what I've seen of him so far.
I dont want to put words in your mouth here, but if the Jack Grealish situation arose today I could see you saying that hes a L1 player and that its not of a high enough standard to consider him. TBF I even said myself last week in a conversation about Hodge that I dont think we should be picking players from L1. But I think we have to be open minded on a case by case basis. First priority in midfield I believe should be to get Jack Taylor starting, after that we dont have any clear possible pathways to improve our midfield in the short term barring maybe playing Collins again. So what harm would it do to see if this guy has something about him in the end of season friendlies. Other countries have gotten benefits to playing players earlier than the club form would suggest, we are so weak in midfield that I dont think we can ignore a lad of his size and physical abilities.
02/04/2025, 8:59 PM
Maybe...looking at their recent results though, they seem to have been doing better since they dropped him. Let's see if he can win his starting place back with his club first.
Has he been dropped? Started all three of their games in March. Scored in two of them too.
Agree a mid-table SPL player isn't anything to get particularly excited by. Let him improve at club level before calling him up to the seniors. Just because we're stuck for midfielders doesn't mean he's better than what we have already.
Razors left peg
02/04/2025, 9:21 PM
Has he been dropped? Started all three of their games in March. Scored in two of them too.
Agree a mid-table SPL player isn't anything to get particularly excited by. Let him improve at club level before calling him up to the seniors. Just because we're stuck for midfielders doesn't mean he's better than what we have already.
We were talking about Patrick Finn
I think he was talking about JJ Patrick-Finn, who has been on the bench (dropped). It is not unreasonable to want to see him in a friendly squad but i dont think anyone can claim yet that he is the solution to our problems. I dont think Razor is claiming that but Eiramblers assessment is also fair, he is not tearing up trees (performances have been average - 6.3 on whoscored FWIW) and still has a lot to prove. I've seen next to nothing of him (highlight reels on youtube if im being honest) but I'm not getting too excited by him at this point. Grealish was tearing new arseholes out of L1 defenders at 18 years old. He was clearly a generational talent.
CraftyToePoke
02/04/2025, 9:50 PM
HH spoke about Finn, that he has been watched and there is ongoing contact. He said he'd had some good games but equally some poor ones. There has to be some merit involved here too & while he's clearly on the radar he's not there yet. Ebosele, Vata, McAteer, Cannon, McGuinness, Dunne, all guys with choices have been capped very recently, we're on this much better than we used to be. I'd say we'll see him in June.
Razors left peg
02/04/2025, 9:53 PM
HH spoke about Finn, that he has been watched and there is ongoing contact. He said he'd had some good games but equally some poor ones. There has to be some merit involved here too & while he's clearly on the radar he's not there yet. Ebosele, Vata, McAteer, Cannon, McGuinness, Dunne, all guys with choices have been capped very recently, we're on this much better than we used to be. I'd say we'll see him in June.
I think out of all of those you listed there Vata is the one who pushed it a bit if we talk about a deserved call up, but you're spot on in that we've been quietly good at it
CraftyToePoke
02/04/2025, 10:06 PM
I think out of all of those you listed there Vata is the one who pushed it a bit if we talk about a deserved call up, but you're spot on in that we've been quietly good at it
Vata looked a touch early on his cameo but clearly it was prevention over cure & Albania were all over it we feared traction, so it got dealt with best we can for now.
Looking back, Szmodics was probably at it a bit too but he's our player.
Ebosele, I read was capped because he was raging at Crawford over something & was talking to his options so again, it got sorted.
The others, McGuinness was picked over Duffy, two big lumps at the wrong end of the Championship, cap the dual & we duly capped the dual to end the duel. Nice.
Cannon was at it too, England wanted him to hedge but it got done. McAteer, just promoted, could have hedged like Hogan did but we got him.
Overall, enough fires quietly & quickly put out there to think Finn will be with us if we want him. But I'd agree, June is made for him & I'd be inclined to do it then.
03/04/2025, 6:08 AM
We were talking about Patrick Finn
Fair enough.
Agree with SkStu's view on Finn. We're not a club team that can throw new players in for development. An international team can't get away with that quite as much. Fewer games for one. I think what I said about Phillips applies for Finn too - "Just because we're stuck for midfielders doesn't mean he's better than what we have already."
(Ronan Finn now - he could be the solution :) )
Razors left peg
03/04/2025, 4:38 PM
Mods any chance the title of this thread can be corrected to the correct spelling for St Mirren... my OCD is twitching every time I see it :D
Razors left peg
03/04/2025, 4:50 PM
Fair enough.
Agree with SkStu's view on Finn. We're not a club team that can throw new players in for development. An international team can't get away with that quite as much. Fewer games for one. I think what I said about Phillips applies for Finn too - "Just because we're stuck for midfielders doesn't mean he's better than what we have already."
(Ronan Finn now - he could be the solution :) )
But my point is that we know what we have isnt good enough so continuing to roll with that and not look for other solutions would be a very Irish answer to it.... "Sure its grand" kind of thing!
The summer friendlies is a perfect opportunity to have a look at some other lads in training at least. Ive no interest in seeing a Cullen Knight midfield against Luxembourg. It would be a complete waste of chance to evaluate other options. Yes we are stuck for midfielders and there is no guarantee that Patrick Finn is any better than what we have, but hes at least playing in a league thats a high enough level that the idea shouldnt be dismissed either. I think Killian Phillips would be worth bringing into camp too btw. I dont think hes better than what we have either but who knows once hes in around the group. Another option could be someone like Joe O'Brien Whitmarsh. Doing ok on loan, and with Southampton going down he could potentially be playing regularly in the Championship next season.
Friendlies are crap, no one likes to even watch them and the players will have very little interest in cutting short their holidays to play in them, so we should at least try make them productive by having a look for some other ideas
03/04/2025, 5:03 PM
You don't need to call someone up to look at them though. You can watch their club games. (Or follow them on WyScout, as HH seems to like doing.)
You're potentially wasting a rare international window of you fill the squad with players you already know aren't good enough. O'Brien-Whitmarsh is miles away from a call-up for example.
Razors left peg
03/04/2025, 5:39 PM
You don't need to call someone up to look at them though. You can watch their club games. (Or follow them on WyScout, as HH seems to like doing.)
You're potentially wasting a rare international window of you fill the squad with players you already know aren't good enough. O'Brien-Whitmarsh is miles away from a call-up for example.
O'Brien Whitmarsh is miles away from a call up right now, will he be in September? Hes already made match day squads in Premiership before the loan and its not beyond the realms of possiblity that he could be starting for them early next season. They are terrible and there will probably be a big clear out in the summer.
In general, Im personally just not a fan of continuing with the same problem without looking for some sort of solution. When the solution isnt blatantly obvious sometimes you have to get creative. In our case with the Irish midfield I would like to see the Collins thing again too. Just anything different, because if we go into the next WC Qualifiers as we are Id be fairly sure that we'll be watching the Tournament on TV again. Hungary will kill us in midfield with Szoboszlai.
Just one last thing on Patrick Finn. One of the games I watched him in this season was against PSG. He wasnt amazing, didnt do anything that necessarily stood out, good or bad. He was fine... but isnt fine at that level kinda notable? The O'Brien Whitmarsh example is a massive stretch considering hes playing in L2, Finn isnt as much of a stretch IMO based on the level of teams hes playing against, albeit in a small sample size.
03/04/2025, 5:49 PM
O'Brien Whitmarsh is miles away from a call up right now, will he be in September?
Who knows? Let's see in September. Lots of junior players have made PL squads and done nothing since. There was a discussion about Adaramola in that regard a while back, and he then flopped in the Belgian league. Alex Murphy made a few PL squads and has done nothing since.
When the solution isn't blatantly obvious, sometimes there's just not a solution and we have to accept that Cullen/Molimby/Knight may be the best options.
"Hungary will kill us in midfield with Szoboszlai" - so let's put an Accrington Stanley midfielder in instead. That makes sense.
Razors left peg
03/04/2025, 6:08 PM
"Hungary will kill us in midfield with Szoboszlai" - so let's put an Accrington Stanley midfielder in instead. That makes sense.
Ok now youre just trying to be antagonistic. I used him as an example of a long shot to potentially look at in a summer friendly because he might be playing Championship football next season. I did not suggest that he will be in our starting midfield immediately. He was just part of the wider point.
Looking for outside the box solutions has served me well in life personally. I think calculated risks are worth taking at times. Obviously not everyone agrees so I wont continue to hammer the point.... Sure its grand, it'll be good enough!
Supreme feet
03/04/2025, 6:17 PM
It's less about the level they're playing at, more about the physical attributes we're lacking. David Meyler played most of his career at a lower level than Glenn Whelan and James McCarthy, but I always felt he gave the midfield the kind of aggression and athleticism that the other two lacked. He seemed to take more responsibility.
If we want to play more direct and pragmatic, we need a physical presence in midfield. We need to get our biggest, strongest, most athletic midfielders, and put them in there to win duels, break up play, and play simple passes. Knight and Cullen are not capable of doing that for us, we're back in the Hendrick/Hourihane situation all over again with those two. I definitely wouldn't object to seeing Finn and Phillips in the summer.
Eirambler
03/04/2025, 6:55 PM
If we're looking for a midfielder that's genuinely better than some combination of Cullen, Knight, Smallbone, Taylor and Molumby we're going to have to find someone who isn't currently in the Irish system/setup to be honest. There's no hidden gem here, not one that's going to make a difference as soon as this autumn anyway.
Against stronger opposition I would want us to mitigate the problem by playing three centre mids at the expense of an attacker. Swapping out one of Parrott, Ferguson, Azaz or Ogbene for someone like Molumby might seem like a downgrade, but if it makes our midfielders look competent again then it would be a change worth making.
When Cullen first came into the team he was one of our best players playing in a midfield three - packing the midfield against stronger opposition was one of the few things Stephen Kenny got right and he was probably unlucky not to get a result or two from it while he was in charge.
It would be great to see Cullen in that setup again so he can hopefully remind us that he's a very decent player. Hallgrimsson doesn't seem up for that approach though - but what he may do against Portugal is pick all three of O'Brien, O'Shea and Collins and have Collins stepping into midfield again to help out. But I think it would make more sense to just pick three out and out midfielders. I hope he's smarter than to play a straight 4-4-2 against Portugal, we could get destroyed playing that way.
I wouldnt object to seeing Finn either but... it goes beyond just physicality being required. We need a host of attributes to augment our current midfield options. You have to be physically present but you have to bring with it some composure, passing range and the ability to take the ball on the turn. I have seen more of Phillips than Finn but he doesnt seem to have that yet. Finn, I cant reasonably comment. But those are the things that HH will be looking at and it is his call whether either are ready for a friendly test or even a "closer look". Finn has promise, I'm sure, but he is not an ever present for Reims and has seemingly been just "ok". That doesnt compare to Jake O'Brien who had an immense half season with Lyon last year, was a stand-out in a team that was pushing hard for Europe etc... the case there would be much stronger if Finn was at Jakes level.
03/04/2025, 7:08 PM
If we're looking for a midfielder that's genuinely better than some combination of Cullen, Knight, Smallbone, Taylor and Molumby we're going to have to find someone who isn't currently in the Irish system/setup to be honest. There's no hidden gem here, not one that's going to make a difference as soon as this autumn anyway.
That's exactly it. There's simply no point pretending otherwise.
rebelmusic
03/04/2025, 8:00 PM
Good conversation. I hope the June friendlies are used to figure this out.
Thinking back to the Trap days, it was the exact same problem and we managed to qualify for the euros and basically qualify for the WC. Whelan, Andrews Gibson and Paul Green were our options. Compare that to Cullen, Taylor, Knight and Molumby and I don't think we're miles off. A Cullen/Taylor partnership could easily be an improvement if they can figure it out.
Maybe that's more depressing than reassuring but I'd argue the biggest problem is that HH hasn't yet figured out what our midfield system should be.
Razors left peg
03/04/2025, 8:45 PM
The one guy that none of us has mentioned in any of this is Smallbone, and thats telling in itself. Hes a nice footballer, was good in the Championship so you'd think he could really be a good option for us. Is it a mobility issue with him? At 25 is there still time that he could improve to take over our midfield? I dont think hes good enough defensively to be able to play in a 2 man midfield.
Taylor is the obvious answer in the short term. Hes going to be a Championship midfielder next season and youd have to hope he plays every week there.
Razors left peg
03/04/2025, 8:50 PM
I wouldnt object to seeing Finn either but... it goes beyond just physicality being required. We need a host of attributes to augment our current midfield options. You have to be physically present but you have to bring with it some composure, passing range and the ability to take the ball on the turn. I have seen more of Phillips than Finn but he doesnt seem to have that yet. Finn, I cant reasonably comment. But those are the things that HH will be looking at and it is his call whether either are ready for a friendly test or even a "closer look". Finn has promise, I'm sure, but he is not an ever present for Reims and has seemingly been just "ok". That doesnt compare to Jake O'Brien who had an immense half season with Lyon last year, was a stand-out in a team that was pushing hard for Europe etc... the case there would be much stronger if Finn was at Jakes level.
There was a game I watched a few weeks ago where Finn showed some lovely feet at the edge of the box to beat a couple of defenders, and then ruined it with one of the worst dives Ive ever seen to try get a pen. It was a nothing piece of play, but it showed that he wasnt just a big lump of a lad and has a bit of skill to him.... the dive was actually so bad that I recorded it on my phone and I wouldnt even begin to know how to upload that here :D
Eirambler
03/04/2025, 9:20 PM
In the Trap era we mainly launched it over midfield when in possession, so it didn't matter that our midfield was technically incapable. Out of possession we just parked the two centre mids in front of the back four and hoped for the best. We had days like the Russia game, where it sort of worked, but more days like the Croatia, Spain, Italy Euros games and the Germany qualifier where it fell apart fairly dramatically.
I would say our current midfield, for all it's flaws, is arguably marginally better than the Trap one. But we haven't produced any genuine quality central midfielders for 25 years or more. The best we've had since the Keane/Holland/Kinsella days was probably James McCarthy, who grew up in Scotland.
elatedscum
04/04/2025, 4:23 AM
we haven't produced any genuine quality central midfielders for 25 years or more. The best we've had since the Keane/Holland/Kinsella days was probably James McCarthy, who grew up in Scotland.
Wes Hoolahan raises his left foot
elatedscum
04/04/2025, 5:27 AM
it's an interesting debate. if i had to find uncapped players in the midfield, this is where i'd look... i tried to grade the lads who have come to the fore at different times over the last few years in tiers.
Tier 1:
Don’t think there are any. Finn Azaz and Jack Taylor would have been Tier 1 players for me prior to their caps - don't thinl there's an obvious player right now. The T2 players are all a bit more contentious, but I do think it’s worth giving one or two an opportunity when we can like in a friendly.
Tier 2:
Bosun Lawal - needs to play football and his manager basically said they didn't have the luxury of helping him back from the injury and giving him first team football, given their 2 points above the relegation zone, but i think he's probably a player who makes his debut at some point next season for Ireland.
Joe Hodge - at 22, you can still visualise a really good midfielder, injuries have been really rough for him but despite his current League one status, he’s a player you can still dream big on if it all comes together.
Luca Connell - I think he’s a lovely midfielder, and anyone who has seen enough of his games will believe that. Has battled injury issues, illness and Celtic in his short career. There’s a reason he was named in the PFA Team of the Year at 22 and captain of Barnsley at 23 and it’s cause he’s a class above his peers at that level. I know he’s recently received criticism from Conor Hourihane (caretaker manager of Barnsley) but honestly I think that was just Hourihane attacking the two biggest dogs in the prison (Connell as captain and Adam Phillips as their other star player), hoping that if you drop them then you send a message to every other player that it’s a meritocracy and everyone needs to pull their weight and Conor has the proverbial stones to lift Barnsley out of the mess. Either way, it’ll probably take a championship move to force his way into contention but given his passing range and creativity and comfort under pressure, he’s someone who might be worth seeing sooner rather than later.
Killian Phillips - playing for an average team in a below average league. He’s extremely combative as a footballer. He’s got genuine desire to win that you don’t normally see and he scores more goals than you’d expect him to. Performances against Celtic and Rangers who give you hope and make a case for giving him an opportunity to see if he can elevate his game at international level. The big fear would be that he’d lack the technical ability to play at that level and also that he’s not the midfielder that we’re missing, although personally I think we are probably missing two types of midfielder, a really creative midfielder and a really dynamic combative one.
Connor Ronan - genuinely the most creative midfielder I’ve ever seen playing for the 21s and the closing thing we’ve come at that level to having someone show the creativity that Wes showed for Ireland and Norwich. He’s doing pretty well in an ok league. The numbers of assists have dried up but that’s cause he played much much deeper last season. Maybe he lacks the physicality needed but we could do worse than seeing him in a camp and seeing how he compares to Finn Azaz or Will Smallbone or Jamie McGrath.
John Joe Patrick Finn - he’s shown enough glimpses to get you excited. I saw his games against both Real Madrid and PSG this season and in both games he held his own. At this point, he’s got real technical ability, he’s got a level of physicality and tackling that you wouldn’t have predicted and he’s also quick and can find a pass. He’s very raw but I don’t think anyone would be critical if he won a call up last month or in June.
Tier 3:
Conor Coventry - already turned 25, you’d expect him to be much further along than he is. Decent chance he’ll be a championship midfielder next season and has to prove it at that level and kick on from there. has been called up in the past without being capped.
Chris Forrester - the ship has long sailed but we’ve had worse players playing for us and he was absolutely instrumental in Pat’s ridiculous run in Europe and nearly to a title. Had some awful things not happened to him off the pitch, I think he’d probably have as many caps as someone like Enda Stevens or Conor Hourihane ended up getting.
Baba Adeeko - has shown glimpses for Wigan that he could become very good. I remember the game against United. He’s got technical ability and a spark about him but needs to grow a lot as a footballer and move up a division before being considered.
Tyler Goodrham - if we knew for sure he was committed, I’d probably bump him up to T2. Looked very good at League 1, he’s had a tougher time going up a division and probably struggled playing in one of the weaker sides in the league. Still he’s got a bit about him, so you wouldn't forget about him completely.
Tier 4:
Gavin Kilkenny - absolutely slid down the leagues going from Prem to championship to L1 to L2 year on year - probably due to a lack of physicality or really athletic attributes. Could maybe resurrect his career in Europe.
Dylan Watts - a standout for Rovers in their European run, he probably deserves a name check at least
Conor Noß - ability wise, he has something about him. Lost another season to injury. Probably needs a really good season of regular football next season and a transfer back to Germany off it. You’d think it’s very unlikely to come together for him at this stage.
Danno Mandriou - ability wise, he’s good enough to play Championship level. Don’t think I’ve ever seen a purer striker of the ball, maybe Steven Reid back in the day. If you’ve ever seen Danno ping balls 60 yards in the warm up, it’s a thing of beauty. Suspect it’s stuff off the field and a desire to be back home that’s led to him playing for Shamrock Rovers rather than Blackburn Rovers at this stage in his career.
Zak Gilsenen - another guy not dissimilar to Noß in ability, just had a bit about him, always a long shot to be able to put it together but you wouldn’t have ruled it out. Unfortunately another awful injury has made it even more unlikely.