View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2005/06

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21

Galla
31/03/2006, 2:08 PM
Ozier must be doubtful for Sunday - Crystal won't want to lose 'home' advantage. Any other pitches suitable / playable?

clean sheet
31/03/2006, 4:14 PM
ozier is all but out.tramore fc pitch is on stand by and if that is
out they re on to dungarvan,s pitch but if i was crystal id
play on the street rather than lose home advantage to killester
or any dublin team cause refs are a bit one sided when they go to the capital

Thunderblaster
31/03/2006, 9:31 PM
refs are a bit one sided when they go to the capital

That is a common problem experienced by teams all over the country. The ref for the semi final should not be a Dublin based ref; pluck someone from Carlow or Laois, which is halfway house. Referees should referee the games fairly, and not get influenced.

lim abroad
31/03/2006, 11:29 PM
indeed they should but how often are they fair?

oldtimer
01/04/2006, 12:14 PM
The waterford Crystal V Killester match will be played at graun park in tramore at 2.30 on sunday 2nd april

tipp man
02/04/2006, 4:15 PM
Waterford Crystal 2-0 Killester. Poor game by all accounts but I wasn't there.

C.T.F.C
02/04/2006, 7:23 PM
Was at the game today and the wind certainly wasn't conducive to good football. Killester probably played the better football but Crystal adapted better to the conditions and this won the match for them. Crystal are a strong , physical side with a couple of decent forwards. It will take a good side to deny them compensation for last year.

renovater
02/04/2006, 8:44 PM
Was at the game today and the wind certainly wasn't conducive to good football. Killester probably played the better football but Crystal adapted better to the conditions and this won the match for them. Crystal are a strong , physical side with a couple of decent forwards. It will take a good side to deny them compensation for last year.
Everything is becoming Crystal Clear, just goes to showits all on the day!
well done

clean sheet
03/04/2006, 7:15 AM
i was at crystal game yesterday i was expecting alot more from kilester
they were poor how they beat westport in beyond me .hopefully
this is crystal year if any team are due to win it its them after last year
mess,i cant remember a kilester shot on goal yesterday,up the glass

nedder
03/04/2006, 8:42 AM
now thunder the foot was on the other shoe last year it was your club who was perpared to go through fire and brim stone to get justice and rightly so
remember we had M.L Call for the head of cruise because he got it wrong and we can't say you did not agree

surely you mean the shoe was on the other foot????
classic:D :D

Bad Bob
03/04/2006, 3:21 PM
I was at the Crystal versus Killester game yesterday and was amazed at how poor the Dublin team performed. Crystal were better all over the pitch.

The occasion seemed to affect the Dublin lads and they were lucky not to be more than a goal down at half time.

The second goal shortly after half time finished them off. They should very little character when they went behind and had had enough long before the final whistle was blown.

The Killester manager summed his team up when he shouted "they (Crystal) want it more than you!”.

Crystal were excellent throughout and controlled the game towards the end. After last years shambles, with regards the Carew Park Westport fiasco, I think its fair to say no other team in the country deserves another crack at it more than Crystal.

While a third final appears in 8 years still guarantees nothing, I hope it third time lucky for the lads.

Up the Glass!

headerball
04/04/2006, 9:01 AM
I was at the Crystal versus Killester game yesterday and was amazed at how poor the Dublin team performed. Crystal were better all over the pitch.

The occasion seemed to affect the Dublin lads and they were lucky not to be more than a goal down at half time.

The second goal shortly after half time finished them off. They should very little character when they went behind and had had enough long before the final whistle was blown.

The Killester manager summed his team up when he shouted "they (Crystal) want it more than you!”.

Crystal were excellent throughout and controlled the game towards the end. After last years shambles, with regards the Carew Park Westport fiasco, I think its fair to say no other team in the country deserves another crack at it more than Crystal.

While a third final appears in 8 years still guarantees nothing, I hope it third time lucky for the lads.

Up the Glass!

have to agree with you regarding how deserving crystal are in regards to winning the cup.
a 3rd final in 8 years, only the view have a better record then that.
still as they know its only a final and you don't deserve to win a trophy until its actually in your hands and then you can say " we deserved that ".

gnasher
04/04/2006, 9:54 AM

Up the Glass!

You might not be too bothered but Westport are firmly behind ye. I had Killester as favourites but it seems they played their best stuff in round 6 and the quarters. No team is more deserving of winning the cup than Crystal.

One point, how would the fiasco of last year affect them, they still were in the final? I hope i'm not speaking too soon as I'm not sure if this years longer running fiasco is even sorted yet.

Either way, best of luck in the final, and bring back the Free State challenge cup!

Bad Bob
04/04/2006, 4:45 PM
You might not be too bothered but Westport are firmly behind ye. I had Killester as favourites but it seems they played their best stuff in round 6 and the quarters. No team is more deserving of winning the cup than Crystal.

One point, how would the fiasco of last year affect them, they still were in the final? I hope i'm not speaking too soon as I'm not sure if this years longer running fiasco is even sorted yet.

Either way, best of luck in the final, and bring back the Free State challenge cup!

I have no doubt Westport are behind Crystal now. We made many friends on the day and they were a lovely bunch of people.

To answer the question on how the delay affect Crystal well here are some answers.

Point 1. Crystal like most Junior League clubs play "winter" soccer. The pre-season began in late June 2004 and the league commenced in early August. By June the 19th 2005 the 21 players and staff had been training for a whole year. Premiership professional complain of burnout so imagine how hard it must have been on amateurs. Westport play "summer" soccer and were in peak condition come June.

Point 2. Seven Crystal players went on holidays, one on honeymoon in the three weeks preceding the final. These had been booked months in advance with the knowledge that the final was to be in May 2005.

Point 3. Crystal, unlike Westport, reached the 2nd round of the FAI Senior Cup and had to play Longford Town (the cup holders) only 7 days before a final that should have been over. Again, this was the last thing that was needed at the end of a twelve month campaign.

On the day Westport were by far the better team but I would be unfair to look at the game in isolation. Waterford Crystal were off the boil and Westport took full advantage. I'm not saying for a minute that the Mayo lads only won because of this, they were an excellent side and may have run out winners anyway. I just think a May 2005 final would have seen a much tighter affair.

lim abroad
04/04/2006, 11:09 PM
some good points there,i'd like to see crystal win it just because they've lost 2 finals in recent years

tralee_dynamo
05/04/2006, 7:24 AM
I would still put my money down on Clonmel - their record this season in all competitions is by far the most consistent in the country at the moment.

renovater
05/04/2006, 9:32 PM
surely you mean the shoe was on the other foot????
classic:D :D
yes, well spoted

renovater
05/04/2006, 9:36 PM
Let's turn our attention to the next big game between Clonmel and Castlebar Celtic this one should be a classic as the two managers test there wits against one another on Sunday and the winner has a home tie against Athenry should find this game easier.

Thunderblaster
06/04/2006, 11:13 PM
Sounds like a dour tactical game of football.

renovater
07/04/2006, 6:01 PM
Sounds like a dour tactical game of football.
Sounds like sour grapes on your behalf no Westport

Thunderblaster
07/04/2006, 6:32 PM
Sounds like sour grapes on your behalf no Westport

Attack the post and not the poster. Matches that are tactical are usually dour, close and are often separated after a penalty shootout or a mistake. Tactical battles are cat and mouse events, like a game of chess, and the team that makes the mistake, the opponents pounce. However, I want to see that quote retracted.

tipp man
07/04/2006, 10:11 PM
Attack the post and not the poster. Matches that are tactical are usually dour, close and are often separated after a penalty shootout or a mistake. Tactical battles are cat and mouse events, like a game of chess, and the team that makes the mistake, the opponents pounce. However, I want to see that quote retracted.
Calm down. I understand your point but stop rising to evey bait.
Tactical...... yes, dour...who knows. Lots of goal.............unlikely. Close........probably. Tense............absolutely.

Just like any cup game really so don't get too ****ed off.

clean sheet
09/04/2006, 6:15 PM
castlebar won 1 nil it it is a shock to see colnmel go out
but talking to a mate at it castlebar are poor hung on for a while
does anyone know where semi is on

tipp man
09/04/2006, 6:37 PM
Clonmel Town 0-1 Castlebar Celtic

Celtic scored in first minute and that was pretty much it in terms of goal mouth action. Clonmel Town had 80-90% of possession but could not translate that into clear cut chances. A dour game with Celtic content to have men behind the ball and hit on the break. Clonmel's lack of a BIG centre forward came back to haunt them. Celtic very good defensively wiith Dykes the man of the match. Clonmel's luck ran out and they can have no quibbles with the result as they simply did not create enough. First time they have been held scoreless all season but that statistic is more to do with the opposition they have faced because their front line is not good enough for the last 8 of the FAIJC. Its a shame because they are only one or two players away from being a really top side.

Best of luck to Celtic (and their colourful supporters). I would imagine they are now favourites to win it. Saw a few Crystal people at it and I think both sides have similarities which could make for a dour final unless Athenry upset the form book. I cannot judge Castlebar on today's performance other than to say they are bloody hard to break down.

renovater
09/04/2006, 9:40 PM
Clonmel Town 0-1 Castlebar Celtic

Celtic scored in first minute and that was pretty much it in terms of goal mouth action. Clonmel Town had 80-90% of possession but could not translate that into clear cut chances. A dour game with Celtic content to have men behind the ball and hit on the break. Clonmel's lack of a BIG centre forward came back to haunt them. Celtic very good defensively wiith Dykes the man of the match. Clonmel's luck ran out and they can have no quibbles with the result as they simply did not create enough. First time they have been held scoreless all season but that statistic is more to do with the opposition they have faced because their front line is not good enough for the last 8 of the FAIJC. Its a shame because they are only one or two players away from being a really top side.

Best of luck to Celtic (and their colourful supporters). I would imagine they are now favourites to win it. Saw a few Crystal people at it and I think both sides have similarities which could make for a dour final unless Athenry upset the form book. I cannot judge Castlebar on today's performance other than to say they are bloody hard to break down.

Fair play you some it up pretty well Celtic got the rub of the green and held on.
Celtic will beat Athenry providing they keep there wingers at bay Celtic are a more stronger team and Crysal will have there work cut out.
but then again it's all on the day and winning runs count for nothing
one must agree this is a stronger celtic side than the westport side that won last year.May be because of there ex league of Ireland players who will be well able to deal with any situation put up to them.

C.T.F.C
09/04/2006, 11:42 PM
Fair play to Castlebar. They came with a gameplan and it paid dividends for them. Their defence is extremely solid, particularly Dykes who was undoubtedly man of the match. Plan A didn't work for Town and apparently there was no plan B. Back to the drawing board im afraid. Best of luck to Castlebar.

Galla
10/04/2006, 9:43 AM
Fair play to Castlebar. They came with a gameplan and it paid dividends for them. Their defence is extremely solid, particularly Dykes who was undoubtedly man of the match. Plan A didn't work for Town and apparently there was no plan B. Back to the drawing board im afraid. Best of luck to Castlebar.

I still don't undertand why Robbie Boland wasn't brought on. It made no sense bringing another small striker beside Coady and persist in lobbing high balls from just past the half way line. Ian Barnes spat the dummy early on and just sulked around the pitch for the whole game - as for his free kicks - shocking. Having said that I think when you look at Town at the moment they're a few players off being a 'top' team - they've had very soft draws in all competitions and even at that have had to rely on lady luck more than once. A striker and centre half each with a bit of presence and strength would make a big difference. That's not too much to ask !!

swinfordfc
10/04/2006, 5:55 PM
All Connacht clash in the FAI Cup semi finals interesting battle Mayo v Galway and it might be on mid week as well :eek:

last man
10/04/2006, 8:56 PM
All Connacht clash in the FAI Cup semi finals interesting battle Mayo v Galway and it might be on mid week as well :eek:
Do you know where that will be on?

Bestie
10/04/2006, 9:26 PM
I understand that the semi final between Castlebar Celtic and Athenry will be on in Milebush Park, Castlebar. The likely date will be Sunday 23rd April. According to the FAI website, the decision on the date and venue will be made tomorrow evening (Tue).

Thunderblaster
10/04/2006, 11:31 PM
Celtic against Athenry will be a good provincial tie, but I think that Celtic will have too much to spare over their Galway counterparts. Celtic and Waterford Crystal will be a tactical battle with both sides cancelling each other out and I can see the FAI Junior Cup coming back to Mayo, and I think that not only Mayo supporters get behind Celtic if they reach the final, I think that the Connacht clubs should be rooting for Celtic also. Another pointer, Castlebar Celtic could be on the verge of history. They could be the first Mayo side ever to win the clean sweep in knockout competitions in one season and that would be a fantastic achievement that I doubt that would never be repeated.

OscarBravo
12/04/2006, 1:39 PM
Celtic will play Athenry on Sunday, April 30 in Milebush Park with a 2.30pm kick-off.
The winners will play Waterford Crystal in the final on Sunday, May 14 in Terryland Park, Galway with a 3pm kick-off.

The Gaffer
12/04/2006, 3:45 PM
Celtic will play Athenry on Sunday, April 30 in Milebush Park with a 2.30pm kick-off.
The winners will play Waterford Crystal in the final on Sunday, May 14 in Terryland Park, Galway with a 3pm kick-off.
If Athenry win their semi final, will this not be more or less home advantage for them? Seem's a little unfair to Crystal

gnasher
12/04/2006, 4:55 PM
Same thing happened last year - must be the Junior committee thinking if they get Crystal to travel they might just win it. (which I hope they do).

lim abroad
13/04/2006, 7:51 AM
they seem to be doing this a lot recently,fairview played portmarnock in tolka and carrick at the rsc in recent years

renovater
14/04/2006, 3:53 PM
If Athenry win their semi final, will this not be more or less home advantage for them? Seem's a little unfair to Crystal

No not when you consider that Westport travel to Kilkenny to play Westport last year.
Good luck to Athenry against Celtic.Even tho it's a tall order.
But one must consider that should A-ry make it gives them every chance of winning.

The Gaffer
15/04/2006, 12:26 PM
No not when you consider that Westport travel to Kilkenny to play Westport last year.
Good luck to Athenry against Celtic.Even tho it's a tall order.
But one must consider that should A-ry make it gives them every chance of winning.
I think Crystal deserved that at least after all they had to wait 2/3 months to play the final because of the objections

Thunderblaster
16/04/2006, 10:17 AM
If Crystal wins the FAI Junior Cup this year, it is nothing more than what they deserve after the rubbish they were put through last year.

renovater
17/04/2006, 12:35 PM
I think Crystal deserved that at least after all they had to wait 2/3 months to play the final because of the objections

there nothing fair you have to be good enough on the day regardless how many times you make the final.
if the Fai got its house in order we would not have the final late just goes to show some poeple have politcal glout to get away with every thing.

swinfordfc
17/04/2006, 6:01 PM
there nothing fair you have to be good enough on the day regardless how many times you make the final.
if the Fai got its house in order we would not have the final late just goes to show some poeple have politcal glout to get away with every thing.

Will you ever keep your crap to yourself renovater please and just let the football do the talking?

bigball
18/04/2006, 7:55 AM
does anyone know the odds on the 3 teams left? it'll be an interesting semi final incastlebar. a real clash of styles. castlebar big srrong and well organised against a small pacy athenry side. will be interested to see if castlebar tighten the pitch in milebush to counteract athenrys pace. shouldn't be alot between both teams. castlebar are on a great run at the moment and athenry are consistently in the top 3 in galway for last few years. either way a final in galway is a huge incentive.

18/04/2006, 11:24 AM
Try Ladbrokes - ususally have prices

renovater
21/04/2006, 7:36 PM
Will you ever keep your crap to yourself renovater please and just let the football do the talking?
since when you became judge on all things i have oppinion like it or lump it.

renovater
21/04/2006, 8:04 PM
lads,
can u giv us a bit of advice on Castlebar? shape formation ets... fairview cy playin them this weekend in FAI senior cup.....
dykes likes to play it tight at the back with back four,and he will be that ankor man. like to play long balls from 18yrd box to box
Tries to pick out his front runners he will try and play his strikers from wide postion.keep mchale man marked.
weekness dont like teams hitting them on the wings.try and get in behind dykes slow to back track.
he loves balls coming from centre postion he will clear them all day.
keeper can drop the odd clanger.
when things arent going his way he will lose it and start getting at his own players so play it tight at the back control mid field play to the wings with mid field coming to surport front runners.

The Gaffer
24/04/2006, 8:25 AM
Are the rumours true that the Final is now on the 21st May???

swinfordfc
24/04/2006, 11:41 AM
Are the rumours true that the Final is now on the 21st May???

semi final between Castlebar and Athenry is on this weekend 30th April in milebrush

mullerj52
25/04/2006, 11:48 AM
Whatever happens, it plans to be a good game. Remember that Athenry are there on merit. Though Manulla must be kicking themselves as they went out to the Galway team. Personally as some of you know I do follow celtic and have done for years. I wish them luck.

swinfordfc
25/04/2006, 1:03 PM
Yes best of luck to Celtic on sunday

Athenryboy
25/04/2006, 1:20 PM
it promises to be a good game allrite, ive played with a few of the castlebar lads and im sure we'll have a few bevvies after in rockys or where ever the footie local is now!

if the milebush pitch is still in as good condition as i remember it, both sides will give a good show!

mullerj52
25/04/2006, 4:37 PM
Athenryboy, we'll have a couple allright after the game, hope to be there. you wont be able to miss me!