View Full Version : Andrew Moran M Stoke (loan from Brighton) b.2003

tommy_c12000
29/10/2022, 2:09 PM
Also on bench today. Now, this is a player I can get behind. Looks very promising. Needs to move on from PL2 level in January.

Doesn’t seem to have a prior dedicated thread

third policeman
29/10/2022, 2:53 PM
Also on bench today. Now, this is a player I can get behind. Looks very promising. Needs to move on from PL2 level in January.

Doesn’t seem to have a prior dedicated thread

Absolutely. Looks like the king of crafty intelligent midfielder we’ve been praying for. If he starts getting minutes, he’s potentially another upgrade on our midfield options. Whether Kenny is willing to start promoting the next generation to build a better team for the future is another matter.

04/01/2023, 10:13 AM
He's the twelfth Irish player to appear in the Premier League this season

samhaydenjr
05/01/2023, 2:29 AM
He's the twelfth Irish player to appear in the Premier League this season

That's actually better than it seemed it would be at the start of the season, when the only players I was confident of getting time would have been Bazunu, Travers, Doherty, Coleman, Collins and Duffy

05/01/2023, 7:47 AM
I didn't think there would be as many as last season, but if Adaramola, Furlong, and maybe Greenwood can all make one appearance by the end of the season, then the total number of players will have been matched.
Actual appearances will be down though.

Eirambler
05/01/2023, 8:32 AM
Probably worth remembering though that last year was a record low, so we're still looking at a new low here even if it's not as bad as had been feared.

The upside is that 9 of the 12 were born 1998 or later. The issue remains that we have nobody of a Premier League standard born between 1993 and 1997 inclusive. Five whole lost years there of players who would be 25 to 29 right now - the peak years for.most footballers. That's a hole we can't fill (other than Cullen hopefully establishing himself at that level from next season, or Ogbene reaching that level in time) so we will just have to wait as the next group emerges and hopefully never have as barren a 5 year crop as the 93s to 97s ever again.

05/01/2023, 1:43 PM
Probably worth remembering though that last year was a record low, so we're still looking at a new low here even if it's not as bad as had been feared.
Yep - plus a lot of the players are hardly established players and may well not yet make the grade (which ties in with tets noting that the total appearances is likely to be down)

Still, I guess have to try take the positives out of it - at least there are young players getting a few games...

Razors left peg
05/01/2023, 6:03 PM
I didn't think there would be as many as last season, but if Adaramola, Furlong, and maybe Greenwood can all make one appearance by the end of the season, then the total number of players will have been matched.
Actual appearances will be down though.

Who is Greenwood?

2 Year Contract
05/01/2023, 6:07 PM
Who is Greenwood?
Ben Greenwood, left back with Bournemouth, played for the senior team a league cup game against Norwich a few months ago

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/ben-greenwood/profil/spieler/646333

JR89
24/04/2023, 4:59 PM
Signs a new four year contract today. Bit surprised as he only signed a new three year contract at the start of the season. Shows how highly Brighton must rate him, and hopefully we get to see more of him next season whether at Brighton or on loan.

24/04/2023, 7:38 PM
With Brighton missing strikers at the moment, I thought he might have been involved against United

Razors left peg
24/04/2023, 7:56 PM
With Brighton missing strikers at the moment, I thought he might have been involved against United

He travelled with the squad, I seen pics of him on the pitch before the game so I'd say hes not too far away.

liamoo11
24/04/2023, 10:20 PM
Bit of a similar situation here to conor ronan at wolves where they kept giving him longish contracts but never any real opportunity. Hopefully that's not the case here. They have similar players in the first team squad same age as him or younger who are ahead of him at present and a polish player same age out on loan who they paid 10 millon for so even without them buying in this summer it is a very tough task he faces to break in there

irishfan86
24/04/2023, 10:42 PM
Bit of a similar situation here to conor ronan at wolves where they kept giving him longish contracts but never any real opportunity. Hopefully that's not the case here. They have similar players in the first team squad same age as him or younger who are ahead of him at present and a polish player same age out on loan who they paid 10 millon for so even without them buying in this summer it is a very tough task he faces to break in there

He's 19 years old. Way too early to suggest this is a Connor Ronan situation.

Olé Olé
25/04/2023, 5:27 AM
Because Brighton have such a record of mismanaging young Irish talent in recent years. Molumby, Ferguson, Connolly and Furlong have been afforded loans to good levels and/or first team football at Brighton. And when it appeared as though Molumby wasn't in the medium term plans there he was allowed move to WBA. Connolly probably would have been allowed move away permanently too this year if anyone was willing to take him on. Hull are saying they are open to a permanent signing now.

He faces a tough task of breaking in there but I don't see much evidence for them having lads ahead of him. Who is the "young Polish lad"? Kozlowski? If he's an attacking midfielder them 2 goals in 25 games for Vitesse will hardly worry Moran. Enciso and Buonanotte are players of a similar profile there but if MacAllister leaves in the summer Enciso might pick up the mantle as he did at the weekend before MacAllister moved forward and Enciso went off.

I don't understand this pessimism. A good news story as far as I can see.

Jd2793
25/04/2023, 6:57 AM

cant even compare these 2 lads ability wise yet. lets relax a small bit and stop thinking every club in england is trying to spite irish players.

Yard of Pace
25/04/2023, 1:45 PM
He faces a tough task of breaking in there but I don't see much evidence for them having lads ahead of him. Who is the "young Polish lad"? Kozlowski? If he's an attacking midfielder them 2 goals in 25 games for Vitesse will hardly worry Moran. .

Kacper Kozlowski. Youngest ever player at a Euros. He's more of a playmaker than a goalscorer, as his 4 in 40 games for Pogon Szcecin showed. He's quality and still 19. I think he got injured before going to Holland. He had an unproductive time at Union St. Gilloise. He's dropped out of the Polish first team squad so will be interesting to see if he pushes on (or hopefully ends up back at Pogon....)

24/08/2023, 8:03 AM
Going on loan to Blackburn

JR89
24/08/2023, 8:24 AM
Will be fighting it out with Szmodics for a starting spot but can also cover out wide. Likely pushes Gensilen down the pecking order. Think Blackburn see him as a winger rather than a CAM, though he could cover that role if needed.

Jolly Red Giant
24/08/2023, 2:42 PM
Will be fighting it out with Szmodics for a starting spot but can also cover out wide. Likely pushes Gensilen down the pecking order. Think Blackburn see him as a winger rather than a CAM, though he could cover that role if needed.
Brighton wouldn't be sending him to Blackburn unless they had some guarantees about playing time. Moran is one to watch - Brighton gave him a new contract until 2027 not too long ago - they wouldn't have done that unless they expected him to develop and to do that he needs competitive games. He is at Blackburn to play football, not sit on the bench behind anyone.

samhaydenjr
30/08/2023, 12:23 AM
Made his Blackburn debut on Sunday as a 57th minute sub: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/66561725

02/09/2023, 9:22 PM
Has anyone been watching him? Three appearances since he joined, got an assist in the 8-0 cup win and got a start today (63 mins) in Blackburns defeat to Plymouth.

Razors left peg
20/09/2023, 7:58 PM
He excellent in the 1st half for Blackburn tonight. Looks like he'd instantly be our best midfielder in senior team

third policeman
21/09/2023, 8:16 AM
He excellent in the 1st half for Blackburn tonight. Looks like he'd instantly be our best midfielder in senior team

I’m sure he will be and it’s another reason why persisting with Kenny for the next three games, rather allowing a proper manager start rebuilding, is madness.

seanfhear
21/09/2023, 8:39 AM
I’m sure he will be and it’s another reason why persisting with Kenny for the next three games, rather allowing a proper manager start rebuilding, is madness.
Kenny could give more players debuts / chances. Mind you if they played well the question would be asked ~ Why did he Not give them chances sooner. So, from that point of view, is it likely that Kenny will give new players chances at this stage ?

21/09/2023, 8:40 AM
Missed a great chance to score but seems to be getting good reviews and in a position we are lacking. Personally think he has work to do on the physical side which regular play in the Championship will help with. But if he gets on the score sheet, expect an onslaught of Kenny-out tinted posts crying despair at his absence from the senior squad.

seanfhear
21/09/2023, 9:18 AM
Missed a great chance to score but seems to be getting good reviews and in a position we are lacking. Personally think he has work to do on the physical side which regular play in the Championship will help with. But if he gets on the score sheet, expect an onslaught of Kenny-out tinted posts crying despair at his absence from the senior squad.
Eamonn Dunphy may ride again !

21/09/2023, 9:32 AM
Eamonn Dunphy may ride again !

Box-office, baby

seanfhear
21/09/2023, 9:41 AM
Box-office, baby
Just imagine what a great Vice-President for Donald Trump that Eamonn Dunphy could have been / could yet be ! ! ;) ;) ;)

21/09/2023, 10:01 AM
Just imagine what a great Vice-President for Donald Trump that Eamonn Dunphy could have been / could yet be ! ! ;) ;) ;)

In good times - "He's a gentleman. He's a class act. He's a rebel. And he stands up to bullies"

When it turns sour - "He's the guy who ran away and left his wife for a young one."

seanfhear
21/09/2023, 10:13 AM
In good times - "He's a gentleman. He's a class act. He's a rebel. And he stands up to bullies"

When it turns sour - "He's the guy who ran away and left his wife for a young one."
Is it too late for Eamonn to be Taoiseach ? !

Razors left peg
21/09/2023, 3:59 PM

I watched the full game yesterday and honestly if he continues like that over the next few weeks Id absolutely be starting him against Greece. He offers us what we dont have in midfield. He was so positive on the ball. With this campaign over its time to start building around Ferguson and Moran.

But to your other point, it wouldnt be a case of why wasnt he in before, hes just started playing senior football.

Edit: Sammie Szmodics didnt impress me at all yesterday. He absolutely should be in squad over McGrath or Hendrick but hes not drastically different from Alan Browne standards

seanfhear
21/09/2023, 4:10 PM
I watched the full game yesterday and honestly if he continues like that over the next few weeks Id absolutely be starting him against Greece. He offers us what we dont have in midfield. He was so positive on the ball. With this campaign over its time to start building around Ferguson and Moran.

But to your other point, it wouldnt be a case of why wasnt he in before, hes just started playing senior football.

Edit: Sammie Szmodics didnt impress me at all yesterday. He absolutely should be in squad over McGrath or Hendrick but hes not drastically different from Alan Browne standardsI think Alan Browne is playing well at the moment.

Razors left peg
21/09/2023, 4:17 PM
I think Alan Browne is playing well at the moment.

He is, and theres no doubt he should be in Ireland squad like I said Szmodics should be.... but neither are going to change us too much are they?

zero
21/09/2023, 4:21 PM
He is, and theres no doubt he should be in Ireland squad like I said Szmodics should be.... but neither are going to change us too much are they?

nothing will change as long as SK is in charge. i was thinking the other day that if he was in charge of say holland, how long would he last? he'd have the players to play his system but his limitations go well beyond the players.

i'd say he wouldn't last 6 games.

Razors left peg
21/09/2023, 4:39 PM
nothing will change as long as SK is in charge. i was thinking the other day that if he was in charge of say holland, how long would he last? he'd have the players to play his system but his limitations go well beyond the players.

i'd say he wouldn't last 6 games.

Kenny has brought plenty young players in, theres more than enough hes done wrong but thats not one

zero
21/09/2023, 5:10 PM
Kenny has brought plenty young players in, theres more than enough hes done wrong but thats not one

i was referring more to the tactical naivety and culture of losing he has introduced rather than the player selection, as in it doesn't matter who he chooses really. he could have the best players in the world and still be found out. a disaster of a manager.

third policeman
27/09/2023, 8:44 PM
Two goals tonight against Cardiff. Robinson on target for them.

kennedmc
27/09/2023, 8:47 PM

And 2 assists also - according to Sky Sports football app.

mark12345
27/09/2023, 8:48 PM

Two goals and an assist now. Expect he'll also get the MOTM award. Seems to be really settling in at Rovers.

28/09/2023, 1:44 AM
I make it two goals and two assists and I think he won the penalty that ended up being missed too. Second goal was a lovely strike and the pass inside for the 5th goal was quality.

Quite a showing!

NvDIj6XsmEY

https://youtu.be/NvDIj6XsmEY?si=TBBWUn8rJGCdmapc

Insidetherock
28/09/2023, 10:04 AM
I make it two goals and two assists and I think he won the penalty that ended up being missed too. Second goal was a lovely strike and the pass inside for the 5th goal was quality.

Quite a showing!

NvDIj6XsmEY

https://youtu.be/NvDIj6XsmEY?si=TBBWUn8rJGCdmapc

Serious performance from Moran there, and he still looks like a schoolboy playing men's football. Even thought his touch for the first cut back was a bit heavy, but he got straight back on it and laid it on a plate

Is a winger or a ten? He seemed pretty comfortable centrally picking passes, making runs and laying off balls

Also, two other things from the clip..

First time I have ever heard an English commentator pronounce Moran properly

And nice goal by Callum Robinson.. might he come back in as an option for future squads?

The idea of a top level Moran and Ferguson operating for Ireland fills the heart with joy.. our Odegaard and Halland perhaps?

liamoo11
28/09/2023, 11:28 AM
Serious performance from Moran there, and he still looks like a schoolboy playing men's football. Even thought his touch for the first cut back was a bit heavy, but he got straight back on it and laid it on a plate

Is a winger or a ten? He seemed pretty comfortable centrally picking passes, making runs and laying off balls

Also, two other things from the clip..

First time I have ever heard an English commentator pronounce Moran properly

And nice goal by Callum Robinson.. might he come back in as an option for future squads?

The idea of a top level Moran and Ferguson operating for Ireland fills the heart with joy.. our Odegaard and Halland perhaps?

I think he is a 10 centrally , I'd hate to see him pushed out wide in a front 3 I think that would really limit him. For us I think he would work best centrally as the most advanced central midfielder in a 4231 when we are away from home against strong sides and in a 4312 at home or away against weaker sides

Razors left peg
28/09/2023, 5:06 PM
Blackburn played Moran as almost a right wing back in the league game at the weekend and that didnt suit him at all. In the game last week against Sunderland he was in a free role that started off the left wing and he just drifted everywhere. He was picking up the ball of the defense centrally and was extremely positive on the ball moving forward, Blackburn somehow managed to lose that game even though they were the better team and Moran was excellent.

His 2 assists yesterday we so clever, I dont think we have a midfielder in the senior set up that would make the pass for the 2nd assist, and most of our wingers would probably run the ball out of play for the 1st one.

He has been nominated for Blackburns player of the month along with Szmodics. The immediate impact hes made is incredibly impressive, considering this is his first taste of regular mens football and its so exciting to consider the possibilities for what he could bring to the Ireland team if he keeps going like this.

He does still look small, so this season will definitely help him put on some muscle I think, but I would 100% be calling him into the squad for the Greek game and start building around him and Ferguson going forward.

29/09/2023, 12:14 PM

JR89
25/11/2023, 2:46 PM

Moran is on a roll at the moment with his fourth assist in three games.

Demesne Lad
25/11/2023, 2:58 PM
I wonder if Brighton will be tempted to recall him, given their injury list?

JR89
25/11/2023, 3:57 PM
Gets himself a goal to make it 2-0

25/11/2023, 3:58 PM
Nice one. Goal and assist, and the obligatory Szmodics goal comes soon after.

Eirambler
26/12/2023, 3:29 PM
Taken off at half time today despite Blackburn chasing a goal. Has been very poor for Blackburn in recent weeks. We obviously need more decent midfielders to come through but there's definitely a need to temper expectations with this lad for now at least - most Blackburn fans would happily ship him back to Brighton on New Year's Day.