View Full Version : Games weekend 22nd 23rd July

Pages : 1 [2]

24/07/2022, 3:35 AM
Thank god someone else has now said it!

Already at the 'worst standard league ever' stage? This season its hard to argue against that Rovers are winning the title at a canter not because they are fantastic but that there's no one else going to sustain a title challenge. Always seen as a slight against a champion but champions dont care. It'll be up to Derry to stop a record equaling 4 in a row next season imo, followed by Dundalk if we follow the trajectory of rebuilding and improvement. What will set Rovers back in due course is the need to add youth to an ageing squad - Mannus and Finn for starters but even Gaffney and a bunch of others squad members ye'd squeeze a couple of years out of at most. Thats said, players generally are ageing better and lasting longer so ye could add a couple of years to the old assumed past it age. There are undoubtedly players coming through but there are those key positions of keeper and striker that are not the easiest to fill. Emakhu could up top but a bit of a rebuild is on the way and gaps closed by other sides that are already in the works. It could be close to that point that Bradley an a few of the current coaching team may look to new pastures.

ontheotherhand
24/07/2022, 3:47 AM
Already at the 'worst standard league ever' stage? This season its hard to argue against that Rovers are winning the title at a canter not because they are fantastic but that there's no one else going to sustain a title challenge. Always seen as a slight against a champion but champions dont care. It'll be up to Derry to stop a record equaling 4 in a row next season imo, followed by Dundalk if we follow the trajectory of rebuilding and improvement. What will set Rovers back in due course is the need to add youth to an ageing squad - Mannus and Finn for starters but even Gaffney and a bunch of others squad members ye'd squeeze a couple of years out of at most. Thats said, players generally are ageing better and lasting longer so ye could add a couple of years to the old assumed past it age. There are undoubtedly players coming through but there are those key positions of keeper and striker that are not the easiest to fill. Emakhu could up top but a bit of a rebuild is on the way and gaps closed by other sides that are already in the works. It could be close to that point that Bradley an a few of the current coaching team may look to new pastures.

Yeah there will be a bit of a transition coming up. Half the squad will be gone within 2 seasons and I'd imagine Bradley will be too. Derry the most likely to step into the void but wouldn't write yourselves off. Few dark horses out there as well. Whoever wins it will be winning the weakest league ever of course.

24/07/2022, 7:45 AM
Of course I'd love Dundalk to make loan deals permanent and then add to the squads quality but I think 2023 will still be a year too early depending on other clubs 'cycle'. Derry have imploded to such an extent that while they should be topping the heap in 2023, I dont think they have fully figured out why this season fell of a cliff yet. They can sign a few quality squad players but with the exception of Duffy, theyve had similar lads to pick from in round 2-3 as round 1. Close season will be interesting. St Pats, then Galway and Cork if promoted could spring a surprise out of left field. Others are bedding in still like Sligo, dare I say Bohs..though they could lose an edge with their CEO on so many clubs radar.

It's potentially great to have Statsports fronting the ownership of Dundalk with their links to so many clubs, but I wouldnt like to get over reliant on loan players, Sheppard is the sort of signing ye want and it wasnt widely known that he was signed up permanently rather than another loanee. Pats look to have done some good business this window which could make a big difference, but for us its stick to script and be patient!

24/07/2022, 8:14 AM
Easy for me to say as a Town man but there wasn't remotely enough incidents in the game for it to be one of the worst refereeing performances this season, nevermind years.
Aouchria shouldn't have been sent off, correct there. Nothing incident.
Verdon was fouled in the box and should have had a penalty.
Wouldn't necessarily be too concerned with six yellows either, Longford didn't do anything to deserve a red.
Robinson got a yellow for the incident with Aouchria. Corbally shouldn't have got a yellow as it was tight a free kick to be honest. Barker got a yellow for kicking the corner flag. I don't remember McMenamy's or Adeyemo's so I can't say for certain, let's say they were nailed on yellows. Chamber's rugby tackle is simply a yellow card no matter what you think of it.
Great win for Town, especially after Waterford's late equaliser last time in RSC.

Spot on, the over reaction from Waterford fans has been hilarious. Chambers pulling your man to the ground is a yellow card by the laws of the game no matter how annoying it was for Patterson and the fans. If Ed McCarthy had done likewise for Galway against Cork instead of kicking out he'd have got a yellow instead of a red.

If I was a Waterford fan I'd be more concerned with what was an absolutely pukeball performance. Aimless hoofball all night. Was very similar to the crap served up under Morris.

DCWA
24/07/2022, 10:21 AM
How did you know for a fact that Derry were the only good side a few months back if they weren't playing any quality teams?

This is actually a very good point. We looked good but in hindsight perhaps I jumped the gun and should have held firm in saying that there are no good teams as that is how it has transpired anyway.

You have given me food for thought the reality may be that we would be better off just scrapping this league altogether as there are clearly no good teams in Ireland.

Perhaps we can all merge and make one and just playing friendlies out of the Aviva? Would save us all a lot of wasted time and money.

2 Year Contract
24/07/2022, 11:46 AM
Amazing action shot from the UCD shels match. Donal Higgins was not far off losing an eye after getting Brendan Clarke's studs to the face

https://inpho.ie/media/U8K6_36J_y1Qn1feg1N7Ag..a?ts=9AQKaVYcqVSxDLuXou4HA YP5ALcaxH9Vobi-3AZKNLc.a

joey B
24/07/2022, 11:50 AM
Amazing action shot from the UCD shels match. Donal Higgins was not far off losing an eye after getting Brendan Clarke's studs to the face

https://inpho.ie/media/U8K6_36J_y1Qn1feg1N7Ag..a?ts=9AQKaVYcqVSxDLuXou4HA YP5ALcaxH9Vobi-3AZKNLc.a

https://foot.ie/threads/276801-Games-weekend-22nd-23rd-July?p=2117949&viewfull=1#post2117949

Oh it’s in here already don’t worry!

Shinkicker
24/07/2022, 4:52 PM
If a Rovers player scored away from home and went to the celebrate the way Weir did in front of the home section I’d be disappointed - if the same player then went and got a second yellow in a stupid manner and then again tried to wind up the away fans whilst walking off I’d think he’s an idiot - so didn’t hurt ( what ‘hurt’ today is how poor we were) but was just pointing out how stupid immature his behaviour was and I assume now he’ll be suspended your manager will as think the same
The second yellow was very soft. Personally I didn't think it was a yellow card offence. The likely hood of Drogheda getting a point at Tallaght was minimal. They were in a one point position and he killed the clock as any player would do in that situation and fair play to him. The ref didn't seem to mind. When players score the quite often celebrate by running by opposite fans cupping their ears, pointing to their name on the back of their shirt as well as other celebrations. As long as he didn't single out any individual or say something derogatory or personal, he has the right to celebrate however he wants.
If the home fans were giving him verbals he would have enjoyed the celebration and clock killing even more. If away players celebrating wildly upsets you, then you are following the wrong sport.

ontheotherhand
24/07/2022, 8:57 PM
The second yellow was very soft. Personally I didn't think it was a yellow card offence. The likely hood of Drogheda getting a point at Tallaght was minimal. They were in a one point position and he killed the clock as any player would do in that situation and fair play to him. The ref didn't seem to mind. When players score the quite often celebrate by running by opposite fans cupping their ears, pointing to their name on the back of their shirt as well as other celebrations. As long as he didn't single out any individual or say something derogatory or personal, he has the right to celebrate however he wants.
If the home fans were giving him verbals he would have enjoyed the celebration and clock killing even more. If away players celebrating wildly upsets you, then you are following the wrong sport.

How did you feel about your team assaulting Conor Kearns in the UCD bowl a few years back when he celebrated?

You're right though. Players celebrating and winding up fans is a beautiful part of the game. I always find it a bit weird when a player like Weir does it as there is no rivalry there but it adds a bit of spice I suppose.

ontheotherhand
24/07/2022, 9:15 PM
This is actually a very good point. We looked good but in hindsight perhaps I jumped the gun and should have held firm in saying that there are no good teams as that is how it has transpired anyway.

You have given me food for thought the reality may be that we would be better off just scrapping this league altogether as there are clearly no good teams in Ireland.

Perhaps we can all merge and make one and just playing friendlies out of the Aviva? Would save us all a lot of wasted time and money.

Wait....you might be jumping the gun again. What if Derry go on a run and win the league from here? It's doable. Duffy is back for you. Lopes and Byrne are out for us.

Shinkicker
25/07/2022, 4:14 AM
How did you feel about your team assaulting Conor Kearns in the UCD bowl a few years back when he celebrated?

You're right though. Players celebrating and winding up fans is a beautiful part of the game. I always find it a bit weird when a player like Weir does it as there is no rivalry there but it adds a bit of spice I suppose.
I genuinely don't remember the kearns incident. However, if as you say he was assaulted the appropriate action should have been taken by the ref and the correct punishment handed out. As a supporter I love to see players celebrate their goals and for us it only hurts until the game is over or its brought up and relived over a pint.

ontheotherhand
25/07/2022, 5:23 AM
I genuinely don't remember the kearns incident. However, if as you say he was assaulted the appropriate action should have been taken by the ref and the correct punishment handed out. As a supporter I love to see players celebrate their goals and for us it only hurts until the game is over or its brought up and relived over a pint.

https://extra.ie/2019/07/16/sport/soccernews/watch-bohs-fans-attack-ucd-keeper-conor-kearns-after-losing-1-0

Weirdly it was Kearns who got the more lengthy ban. Just for celebrating a win and then having his eye gouged. I think Pender got a shorter ban but I'm not sure. It was a bizarre one. But the UCD Bowl is a cauldron.

Shinkicker
25/07/2022, 6:26 AM
https://extra.ie/2019/07/16/sport/soccernews/watch-bohs-fans-attack-ucd-keeper-conor-kearns-after-losing-1-0

Weirdly it was Kearns who got the more lengthy ban. Just for celebrating a win and then having his eye gouged. I think Pender got a shorter ban but I'm not sure. It was a bizarre one. But the UCD Bowl is a cauldron.having seen the clip I remember it now. Nothing wrong with the keepers celebration. When smaller clubs pull off a major heist against the bigger clubs emotion and adrenalin kick in. Bohs No 2 was wrong to react they way he did all the rest was handbags at twenty paces.

mackend6
25/07/2022, 9:57 AM
I wasn't at the game so can only go on what was included in the highlights but if you're talking about the incident around 4.15 in the video below you need to give your head a wobble - absolutely nothing wrong with that (or with Rovers fans giving him grief in the moment) but to be moaning about it after the fact is a bit much.

Anyway - another good result for us - our results against Bohs and Shels this season probably dictate we'll finish 8. I think at the start of the season I'd have preferred to be a notch higher but it is what it is - at this stage it looks like we're well clear of any relegation worries.

Would love us to give the Cup a good rattle this year.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oS7qLSwG_kw

25/07/2022, 1:41 PM
The way Weir lifted the elbow it could have been a straight red though hard to see if he connected. Looked like he was trying connect. There have been a lot worse antagonistic goal celebrations but it was a bit childish. Chris Lyons looked like he had a word with him.

ontheotherhand
25/07/2022, 4:09 PM
having seen the clip I remember it now. Nothing wrong with the keepers celebration. When smaller clubs pull off a major heist against the bigger clubs emotion and adrenalin kick in. Bohs No 2 was wrong to react they way he did all the rest was handbags at twenty paces.

Your number 2 was Pender and he got a 2 game ban I think which was fair enough. Keith Buckley was the eye gouger and should have been punished fairly severely but the rest was handbags as you say. Just a very over the top reaction for the game that was in it. Glad to hear it wasn't you chasing him up the steps though!

25/07/2022, 4:34 PM
Your number 2 was Pender and he got a 2 game ban I think which was fair enough. Keith Buckley was the eye gouger and should have been punished fairly severely but the rest was handbags as you say. Just a very over the top reaction for the game that was in it. Glad to hear it wasn't you chasing him up the steps though!

Probably one very few times ye'd consider being thankful for not having 70k at a LoI game with 500 cameras and to have weeks of debate around one of the most scumbag things to do on a football pitch and shame the game!

ontheotherhand
25/07/2022, 4:40 PM
Probably one very few times ye'd consider being thankful for not having 70k at a LoI game with 500 cameras and to have weeks of debate around one of the most scumbag things to do on a football pitch and shame the game!

I did end up in a very long debate with the bold marinbohs around it...but yeah thankfully it went largely unnoticed.. Although it might have converted a few gaa fans over.......

total hoofball
25/07/2022, 5:21 PM
I wasn't at the game so can only go on what was included in the highlights but if you're talking about the incident around 4.15 in the video below you need to give your head a wobble - absolutely nothing wrong with that (or with Rovers fans giving him grief in the moment) but to be moaning about it after the fact is a bit much.

Anyway - another good result for us - our results against Bohs and Shels this season probably dictate we'll finish 8. I think at the start of the season I'd have preferred to be a notch higher but it is what it is - at this stage it looks like we're well clear of any relegation worries.

Would love us to give the Cup a good rattle this year.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oS7qLSwG_kw

One of the sort of amusing about the LOI is when some random opponent who you have never heard of and don't know their name gives it loads celebrating their goal infront of you like a minnow

Shinkicker
25/07/2022, 7:04 PM
[QUOTE=ontheotherhand;2118118]Your number 2 was Pender and he got a 2 game ban I think which was fair enough. Keith Buckley was the eye gouger and should have been punished fairly severely but the rest was handbags as you say. Just a very over the top reaction for the game that was in it. Glad to hear it wasn't you chasing him up the steps though![/QUOTE
The lone ranger....... Or more like tonto. It Wasn't me

Shinkicker
25/07/2022, 7:11 PM
[QUOTE=ontheotherhand;2118118]Your number 2 was Pender and he got a 2 game ban I think which was fair enough. Keith Buckley was the eye gouger and should have been punished fairly severely but the rest was handbags as you say. Just a very over the top reaction for the game that was in it. Glad to hear it wasn't you chasing him up the steps though![/QUOTE
The lone ranger....... Or more like tonto. It Wasn't me