Friday 15th (All 10:45)
Cork City v Galway
Bray v Treaty
Cobh v Waterford
Saturday 16th
Longford v Athlone 19:30
sbgawa
14/07/2022, 12:41 PM
All 3 games in the Premier have a lot riding on them but Pats v Dundalk is a real 6 pointer between them.
If Dundalk win they go 9 clear with a game in hand and virtually guarantee European qualification as well as keeping up a title challenge.
With Rovers having minimum 6 more weeks of Europe a win keeps them in touch.
Cork Galway the big one in Division one if Cork win they go 4 point s clear but they still have to go to Galway again so its not quite a league decider.
Glen Of Aherlow
14/07/2022, 12:44 PM
Being the eternal optimist (eejit ) , i'm quietly confident of Pats getting the win
joey B
14/07/2022, 12:54 PM
Hopefully Derry get extra time,penalties and a missed flight in Latvia,might get a draw then!
14/07/2022, 12:59 PM
Being the eternal optimist (eejit ) , i'm quietly confident of Pats getting the win
I didn't realise until last week (I think sbgawa hinted at it) how bad Dundalk's away form is.
They've dropped four points at home all season, and only won twice away from home (Harps and Derry). Second best home form and seventh away from home. That pitch must be paying for itself.
A Pat's win would really open up the battle for second. At the other end, wouldn't be hopeful of catching up on Harps' goal difference this week. (I'm assuming we're both going to lose)
Glen Of Aherlow
14/07/2022, 1:43 PM
I didn't realise until last week (I think sbgawa hinted at it) how bad Dundalk's away form is.
They've dropped four points at home all season, and only won twice away from home (Harps and Derry). Second best home form and seventh away from home. That pitch must be paying for itself.
A Pat's win would really open up the battle for second. At the other end, wouldn't be hopeful of catching up on Harps' goal difference this week. (I'm assuming we're both going to lose)
They picked up a point in Inchicore they should never have got , Pats the best team on the night and missed a few sitters ( take a bow Doyler )
14/07/2022, 2:35 PM
It's hard to know what to make of the away form. We set up the same, look to attack, have dropped silly points like drawing with UCD after being 2 up, last gasp penalty given away in Tolka. Any mention of the pitch being the difference, for us would be an excuse, for teams coming to Oriel is in their head even before a ball is kicked. Its not as if players have never experienced these surfaces as new or a rarity. Just the mentioned 4 points thrown away would have put a different complexion on the table and with the game in hand. There would at least some pressure on Rovers and going in to an arduous European spell.
El-Pietro
14/07/2022, 4:57 PM
All 3 games in the Premier have a lot riding on them but Pats v Dundalk is a real 6 pointer between them.
If Dundalk win they go 9 clear with a game in hand and virtually guarantee European qualification as well as keeping up a title challenge.
With Rovers having minimum 6 more weeks of Europe a win keeps them in touch.
Cork Galway the big one in Division one if Cork win they go 4 point s clear but they still have to go to Galway again so its not quite a league decider.
Were in almost the exact reverse position compared to our last game against Galway. Back at the end of May Galway had overtaken us after a few disappointing results and a win would have given them a 5 point gap. Similarly now Galway have dropped points lately while we've kicked on, and while a win would put us 4 clear with a game in hand (against Waterford), a Galway win allows them to leap frog us.
The two games have also been mirror images of each other. Galway came to Cork, and their keeper was man of the match but they came away with a 1-0 win despite playing with 10 men for a significant portion of the game. We went to Galway, scored a worldy in a game we created virtually no chances in, had a man sent off and spent the last 30 minutes backs to the wall repelling crosses from deep with everyone in or around the box.
A win wouldn't mean we have it wrapped up but it would make us the clear favourites for the run in and would take things out of Galways hands. One concern is that we have tended to struggle in the game after breaks. We played Stoke last week with most of our first 11 involved so hopefully not too rusty this time around.
Rustiness aside we're in good form,and reacquired Coffey who should add goals. We also have key players returning from long term injury in McGlade and Walker. Mainly though we have added Britton and hopefully he can be the difference in the tighter games. Despite our large goal difference we have scored 0 or 1 goals in 8 separate games and that has resulted in 4 draws and our only loss.
They picked up a point in Inchicore they should never have got , Pats the best team on the night and missed a few sitters ( take a bow Doyler )
Yeah, we should have won the home game alright. I also thought we were decent enough in Oriel and unlucky not to get anything out of it. I’d say I’m hopeful of the win rather than confident. Would be a great 3 points to get.
patrickccfc
15/07/2022, 11:39 AM
A near capacity crowd at the cross tonight. Weather is great, so all set up for a great game. No place like it on a night like this. Hopefully it doesn't disappoint and is a game worthy of the occasion. A win for us here would be massive.
RealJohn91
15/07/2022, 1:30 PM
Very interesting to see what type of eleven starts for Bohs tonight. No Devoy and you'd assume most of the new signings will be starting. John O'Sullivan is certainly saying all the right things in the media anyway.
joey B
15/07/2022, 6:48 PM
Pats who play in red are wearing white and Dundalk who play in white are wearing red!
D24Saint
15/07/2022, 6:48 PM
Pats who play in red are wearing white and Dundalk who play in white are wearing red!
Only in Ireland, absolutely ludicrous.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/07/2022, 7:18 PM
Why has that happened?
15/07/2022, 7:21 PM
Maybe we wanted to feel like the home team......
D24Saint
15/07/2022, 7:34 PM
Maybe we wanted to feel like the home team......
That animal O’Donnell is to blame no doubt :p
Bohtastic
15/07/2022, 7:43 PM
It's hard to know what to make of the away form. We set up the same, look to attack, have dropped silly points like drawing with UCD after being 2 up, last gasp penalty given away in Tolka. Any mention of the pitch being the difference, for us would be an excuse, for teams coming to Oriel is in their head even before a ball is kicked. Its not as if players have never experienced these surfaces as new or a rarity. Just the mentioned 4 points thrown away would have put a different complexion on the table and with the game in hand. There would at least some pressure on Rovers and going in to an arduous European spell.
Mentioning points thrown away... all of Dalymount shudders...
15/07/2022, 7:44 PM
and it'd be genius if it worked:D I think nything would be given a go to pick up away points!
15/07/2022, 7:49 PM
Pat's leading - Doyle set up Doyle whose shot went in off Boyle.
For all the criticism of him (much of it no doubt justified), Eoin is second in the goalscoring charts and has two more than Hoban. It'll be interesting to see if he can get Pat's past Mura
The Bowler
15/07/2022, 8:17 PM
Comical second goal for Treaty. Two poor sides, Bray are awful, Treaty are industrious. Can't see any chance of progression at Bray until Devo is gracefully retired by the owner, which is unlikely, as he brought him with him from Cabo, despite their abysmal record under Devo. I've said it before, it's a job for Collie ONeill, but with his history at Cabo, that's not likely. Besides, I retain a teenie bit of hope that Collie may be back at the The Bowl next season (despite Collie outing them for trying to force him to play the son of a board member) maybe time will be a healer !
joey B
15/07/2022, 8:27 PM
Cracking goal from Burt for Bohs….
The Bowler
15/07/2022, 8:30 PM
Cracking goal from Burt for Bohs…. Drogs commentator trying to make out the keeper should have saved it....only if he was 6 inches taller
15/07/2022, 8:32 PM
Nick a win and I might actually believe that Dundalk have some skin in this title fight.
Jack B
15/07/2022, 8:42 PM
Bordering on funny that we've somehow failed to beat Dundalk in any of these games.
D24Saint
15/07/2022, 8:48 PM
Bordering on funny that we've somehow failed to beat Dundalk in any of these games.
We should have won on our own merits but. The ref had an absolute nightmare of a game. The new lad looks an exciting player.
15/07/2022, 9:05 PM
We should have won on our own merits but. The ref had an absolute nightmare of a game. The new lad looks an exciting player.
Careful, or you risk sounding like some Cork fans that couldnt hack being tackled. I'd imagine if the ref was bad for one he/she was bad for both
D24Saint
15/07/2022, 9:08 PM
Careful, or you risk sounding like some Cork fans that couldnt hack being tackled. I'd imagine if the ref was bad for one he/she was bad for both
That’s just fishing for a reaction. We were denied a clear peno. Like I said we should have won the match without the ref.
da bishop
15/07/2022, 9:11 PM
Comical second goal for Treaty. Two poor sides, Bray are awful, Treaty are industrious. Can't see any chance of progression at Bray until Devo is gracefully retired by the owner, which is unlikely, as he brought him with him from Cabo, despite their abysmal record under Devo. I've said it before, it's a job for Collie ONeill, but with his history at Cabo, that's not likely. Besides, I retain a teenie bit of hope that Collie may be back at the The Bowl next season (despite Collie outing them for trying to force him to play the son of a board member) maybe time will be a healer !
Some poor defending from Bray for both goals, thought Bray had some moments and tried to play a bit but when you have Byrne up front who cant move your at nothing added to that signing o gorman who was a shambles at Treaty when there shows poor judgement.Good team performance from Treaty and Curran a handfull.
15/07/2022, 9:14 PM
We all have a litany of gripes with the officiating but the old adage is usually correct that these things tend to balance out over a season. Getting that equalisr was important for Dundalk in the context of European qualification with Pats not closing the gap. Does little for a title challenge though. Masquerading as the home side only half worked!
joey B
15/07/2022, 9:15 PM
Good point for Galway in Cork after playing most of the game with 10 men…
joey B
15/07/2022, 9:19 PM
Some poor defending from Bray for both goals, thought Bray had some moments and tried to play a bit but when you have Byrne up front who cant move your at nothing added to that signing o gorman who was a shambles at Treaty when there shows poor judgement.Good team performance from Treaty and Curran a handfull.
Is Gorman on his 4th 1st division club in 2 seasons?
SeanDrog
15/07/2022, 9:32 PM
Congrats to bohs - great goal - I think we deserved something but thems the breaks. - very enjoyable match - ref was questionable for both sides.
Very happy with how we played - Kevin is creating a nice foundation to build upon for next season.
I’ve zero fears of not staying up this season at this stage which was our goal tbh. Mission accomplished.
Great to see Bohs bring their usual big crowd - always great Bohs support in my many decades of going to Utd Park.
ger121
15/07/2022, 10:09 PM
First back to back league wins since forever. 4 points off 4th with a game in hand. Dare to dream!
mcgonigle
15/07/2022, 10:11 PM
That’s just fishing for a reaction. We were denied a clear peno. Like I said we should have won the match without the ref.
He was awful for both teams. Pats committed 24 fouls and only had 3 yellows, took at least 15 before a card was shown, was becoming ridiculous. Forrester had two blatant dives but was only booked for one. We could have had a peno ourselves in the first half.
As for O'Donnells sending off... The Rob Hennessy show.
D24Saint
15/07/2022, 10:21 PM
As for O'Donnells sending off... The Rob Hennessy show
I forgot about that. It was two yellow cards , must have been for whinging. He didn’t seem to do anything that Doherty didn’t get up if I was neutral. I’m not and I can’t stand the individual so it was a great call by an otherwise questionable referee.
oriel
15/07/2022, 10:22 PM
Interesting game, all Pats first half, decent by Dundalk most of second half, rare you see two OG's in a 1-1 draw.
At least keeps us 6 clear of 4th and game in hand.
RealJohn91
15/07/2022, 10:33 PM
Promise could've had three or four goals on another night. Thankfully Burt scored that cracker. Still look very suspect at the back and Darragh Markey is some player, wouldn't mind seeing him in black and red next season.
da bishop
15/07/2022, 11:04 PM
Spot on there Joey ,Bray,Treaty,Galway,Longford and at least 10, maybe 12 clubs all told the last 8 years.Was horrible at Treaty and brought players around down with him in terms of form.
ToberonaTornado
16/07/2022, 3:24 AM
Neil Doyle,who was 4th official was very instrumental in both sending offs for Dundalk but ref rob Hennessey was brutal for both teams.
Thought we were marginally the better side throughout but was an interesting and entertaining match and we earned a decent point at a difficult ground v difficult opponents.
D24Saint
16/07/2022, 8:47 AM
Neil Doyle,who was 4th official was very instrumental in both sending offs for Dundalk but ref rob Hennessey was brutal for both teams.
Thought we were marginally the better side throughout but was an interesting and entertaining match and we earned a decent point at a difficult ground v difficult opponents.
Who was sent off apart from the Dundalk manager ?
ToberonaTornado
16/07/2022, 9:41 AM
Who was sent off apart from the Dundalk manager ?
SO'D got 2 yellows and padge was a straight red.
16/07/2022, 12:53 PM
I forgot about that. It was two yellow cards , must have been for whinging. He didn’t seem to do anything that Doherty didn’t get up if I was neutral. I’m not and I can’t stand the individual so it was a great call by an otherwise questionable referee.
O’Donnell seemed to grab the ball while it was still on the pitch, (looking to take a quick throw) for his second yellow. He also wouldn’t leave the area, and continued to stand beside the dugout at the top of the steps, and was let get away with it.
On the ref, I thought he gave an awful lot of soft frees to Dundalk. Every time anyone went near Hoban he hit the deck, and usually got himself a free. The penalty shouts I would have to see again. Mark Doyle’s I didn’t think was a pen, Forrestors I was too far away to see, also didn’t get a great view of the one for the new lad, Serge.
I thought we were just about the better team overall, in a pretty tight game. I didn’t see Dundalk scoring, until Adam O’Reillys error and a deflection gave them a goal. Then Tunde had a great chance with the one on one, and Eoin Doyle had the header off the bar. Dundalk did finish quite strongly though and there was a header at the far post late on which could have nicked it. Third time this year that I felt we could and possibly should have got more from games v Dundalk.
Jack B
16/07/2022, 1:09 PM
For what it's worth apparently a couple of the Dundalk players mentioned that they thought they got away with one for the challenge on Serge, didn't really get a great view of it myself.
Had the chances to win it regardless, awfully frustrating that we find ourselves primarily in a battle to hang onto 4th right now. Silver lining is that we look like we'll be in a stronger position squad-wise to see the season out with Barrett and Lennon being back, not to mention the new lads should they settle well.
Glen Of Aherlow
16/07/2022, 1:10 PM
O’Donnell seemed to grab the ball while it was still on the pitch, (looking to take a quick throw) for his second yellow. He also wouldn’t leave the area, and continued to stand beside the dugout at the top of the steps, and was let get away with it.
On the ref, I thought he gave an awful lot of soft frees to Dundalk. Every time anyone went near Hoban he hit the deck, and usually got himself a free. The penalty shouts I would have to see again. Mark Doyle’s I didn’t think was a pen, Forrestors I was too far away to see, also didn’t get a great view of the one for the new lad, Serge.
I thought we were just about the better team overall, in a pretty tight game. I didn’t see Dundalk scoring, until Adam O’Reillys error and a deflection gave them a goal. Then Tunde had a great chance with the one on one, and Eoin Doyle had the header off the bar. Dundalk did finish quite strongly though and there was a header at the far post late on which could have nicked it. Third time this year that I felt we could and possibly should have got more from games v Dundalk.
I’d like to see the three incidents again but at the time I thought they would have been soft penalties if given and I was close enough to the Forrster and Serge incidents
mcgonigle
16/07/2022, 2:00 PM
For what it's worth apparently a couple of the Dundalk players mentioned that they thought they got away with one for the challenge on Serge, didn't really get a great view of it myself.
Had the chances to win it regardless, awfully frustrating that we find ourselves primarily in a battle to hang onto 4th right now. Silver lining is that we look like we'll be in a stronger position squad-wise to see the season out with Barrett and Lennon being back, not to mention the new lads should they settle well.
Apparently Forrester mentioned that he was a big diving cheat and should have been sent off. For what it's worth
Jack B
16/07/2022, 4:29 PM
Apparently Forrester mentioned that he was a big diving cheat and should have been sent off. For what it's worth
Alright fella calm down. Was only saying what I'd heard, no need to be upset.
joey B
16/07/2022, 7:55 PM
Athlone 2 up away to Longford,they haven’t beaten them in 9 years…
culloty82
16/07/2022, 7:57 PM
And it would be only their second win of the whole season, heaping the pressure on Cobh!
joey B
16/07/2022, 8:00 PM
It’s 2-1 already so sorry Athlone I’ve probably jinxed you!
mcgonigle
16/07/2022, 9:59 PM
Alright fella calm down. Was only saying what I'd heard, no need to be upset.
Was only saying what I saw. Thanks for your concern though, I've managed to calm down now