View Full Version : Games weekend 15th/17th July

Pages : 1 [2]

Jack B
16/07/2022, 10:15 PM
Was only saying what I saw. Thanks for your concern though, I've managed to calm down now

You haven't mate, you've lost it.

17/07/2022, 2:55 AM
Stephen O'Donnell really is the sort of young head coach a clubs needs. Gets carded out of the technical area so dutifully stands behind the dugouts and desists from any coaching. Previous ban for a home game he takes the best seat in the house up in the TV gantry and once again not a word out of him. Oozes class, dedication and loyalty to his club at all times. Just saying what I see also!

sbgawa
17/07/2022, 7:18 AM
First win for athlone over Longford in 20 el clasicos. Looking at their results this season they have either improved with no manager or Longford had a very bad night

17/07/2022, 8:31 AM
We were brutal and Athlone ran their holes off to be fair to them. Their keeper made a couple of cracking saves but overall I think they deserved their win. They also celebrated their 3rd goal on the break like they had just won the cup final. All 11 on the pitch and every sub running to the corner going wild. Fair play to them, it meant a lot to them. A good tanking off Waterford and Dundalk in the next 2 weeks could see our season wind down fairly quickly. Grim viewing last night.

D24Saint
17/07/2022, 10:24 AM
Stephen O'Donnell really is the sort of young head coach a clubs needs. Gets carded out of the technical area so dutifully stands behind the dugouts and desists from any coaching. Previous ban for a home game he takes the best seat in the house up in the TV gantry and once again not a word out of him. Oozes class, dedication and loyalty to his club at all times. Just saying what I see also!

More fishing.

The Bowler
17/07/2022, 12:04 PM
We were brutal and Athlone ran their holes off to be fair to them. Their keeper made a couple of cracking saves but overall I think they deserved their win. They also celebrated their 3rd goal on the break like they had just won the cup final. All 11 on the pitch and every sub running to the corner going wild. Fair play to them, it meant a lot to them. A good tanking off Waterford and Dundalk in the next 2 weeks could see our season wind down fairly quickly. Grim viewing last night. I think they especially celebrated the last goal as it was scored by Adam Lennon, son of the interim manager, on his first game since he decided to leave UCD mid cycle, one of whole bunch of lads that wanted nothing more to do with UCD under the current regime and have jumped ship in this window.

17/07/2022, 12:35 PM
I think they especially celebrated the last goal as it was scored by Adam Lennon, son of the interim manager, on his first game since he decided to leave UCD mid cycle, one of whole bunch of lads that wanted nothing more to do with UCD under the current regime and have jumped ship in this window.

I really liked Lennon in his first spell at Athlone, he was absolutely fantastic last night, what a signing for Athlone who with some proper coaching would be much higher up the table they've got some really good young players they just need some leadership and experience around them.

oriel
17/07/2022, 1:58 PM
O’Donnell seemed to grab the ball while it was still on the pitch, (looking to take a quick throw) for his second yellow. He also wouldn’t leave the area, and continued to stand beside the dugout at the top of the steps, and was let get away with it.

On the ref, I thought he gave an awful lot of soft frees to Dundalk. Every time anyone went near Hoban he hit the deck, and usually got himself a free. The penalty shouts I would have to see again. Mark Doyle’s I didn’t think was a pen, Forrestors I was too far away to see, also didn’t get a great view of the one for the new lad, Serge.

I thought we were just about the better team overall, in a pretty tight game. I didn’t see Dundalk scoring, until Adam O’Reillys error and a deflection gave them a goal. Then Tunde had a great chance with the one on one, and Eoin Doyle had the header off the bar. Dundalk did finish quite strongly though and there was a header at the far post late on which could have nicked it. Third time this year that I felt we could and possibly should have got more from games v Dundalk.

So what's the difference with that and the deflected goal that Doyle took credit from in some sources, both were essentially OG's. You could argue Pats had more chances to win it, but probably the best opportunity to win it was that unbelievable miss by Kelly's header with minutes to go, and not long after Tunde missed the other end.

Thought in the end 1-1 was a fair enough outcome, but the draw definitely better for us in the race for euro spots, plus we have Pats at home, and Derry still twice to play.

Olander
I really liked Lennon in his first spell at Athlone, he was absolutely fantastic last night, what a signing for Athlone who with some proper coaching would be much higher up the table they've got some really good young players they just need some leadership and experience around them.
Is there any indication on whether Dermot Lennon has taken over Athlone Town fully, or is he still an interim manager?

There was talk of Kilduff and Sheppard taking over, but that seems to have died on the vine.

Can't remember whether it was a closed doors, or limited capacity game, but it was during the time when players bench was in the stands, and he was at Pats, he had a touchline ban, so took the opportunity to sit in beside the Harps players in the stand about 15 yards from the Pats dugout shouting out orders for about five or ten minutes until one of Harps officials came over and told him to **** off somewhere else.

atfconline
17/07/2022, 2:09 PM
Is there any indication on whether Dermot Lennon has taken over Athlone Town fully, or is he still an interim manager?

There was talk of Kilduff and Sheppard taking over, but that seems to have died on the vine.

Not even listed as the interim manager anymore, Gordon Brett has been listed for the past few games. But by all accounts, it's Lennon still in charge. Club Twitter account were on about naming a housing estate after him last night, with his 2nd win in 14 games. :bulgy:

Jack B
17/07/2022, 3:16 PM
So what's the difference with that and the deflected goal that Doyle took credit from in some sources, both were essentially OG's. You could argue Pats had more chances to win it, but probably the best opportunity to win it was that unbelievable miss by Kelly's header with minutes to go, and not long after Tunde missed the other end.

Thought in the end 1-1 was a fair enough outcome, but the draw definitely better for us in the race for euro spots, plus we have Pats at home, and Derry still twice to play.

Apparently the linesman had his flag up for Kelly's would-be header anyway.

17/07/2022, 5:31 PM
I think personally Gary Cronin has lost the run of himself and its time for him to go. I know certain people will disagree but I am just fed up of the football we are playing under his stewardship. Some questionable substitutions and some awful defending contributed to our loss. Think all the momentum is with Treaty. An awful lot of anger and dejection in our club at present going out the gate last nite. Athlone were superb especially their GK!

17/07/2022, 5:48 PM
UCD and Harps beating Sligo and Derry at halftime bizarrely.

I'm sure that'll be rectified in the second half

17/07/2022, 5:54 PM

Doyle’s shot was heading in anyway, it was already past the keeper, whereas I think Anyang had the shot covered before it deflected. Plus it was a howler of a bad pass from Adam O’Reilly to give the ball away in the first place. I agree Kelly’s miss was probably the worst of the night, he really should have buried it. Wasn’t impressed by the new lad Serge in the build up to Kelly’s chance, he seemed to make a very half assed effort to get tow the ball. Tunde and Mark Doyle probably should have done better with their chances looking back at the highlights. Happy enough with our performance really, though I’d like to se us be more clinical.

The Bowler
17/07/2022, 5:56 PM
Students ahead against the run of play, but those damn Harps also ahead. Massive 2nd half coming up in both games

17/07/2022, 6:01 PM
Potentially good results for Dundalk as well as the sides winning. I dont think the scores will stay the same but if they do the draw with Pats turns more to being a better result.

D24Saint
17/07/2022, 6:03 PM
Students ahead against the run of play, but those damn Harps also ahead. Massive 2nd half coming up in both games

Journos are loving this , European Hangover will be their main theme if it stays like this.

The Bowler
17/07/2022, 6:54 PM
3 massive points for the students. Yoro to Bolton may save our season. Harps hanging on for a draw with minutes left. The season will still boil down to the head to head games with Harps, but we looked OK tonight, and improved performance.

SeanDrog
17/07/2022, 6:57 PM
3 massive points for the students. Yoro to Bolton may save our season. Harps hanging on for a draw with minutes left. The season will still boil down to the head to head games with Harps, but we looked OK tonight, and improved performance.

Harps 1-2 Derry

The Bowler
17/07/2022, 6:58 PM
Get in there Derry

17/07/2022, 6:59 PM
Sweet!

Losing the playoff here we come! :)

Sounds like Sligo had most of the chances and hit the woodwork twice. Could well have lost if McGinty had played

D24Saint
17/07/2022, 7:02 PM
Harps 1-2 Derry

Have to feel for Harps folk.

SeanDrog
17/07/2022, 7:03 PM
Sweet!

Sounds like Sligo had most of the chances and hit the woodwork twice. Could well have lost if McGinty had played

Those results give UCD a real shot in the arm.

joey B
17/07/2022, 7:06 PM
Got what we deserved there,utter garbage as usual ….

Candystripe
17/07/2022, 7:20 PM
Got what we deserved there,utter garbage as usual ….

1st half Derry were the better team, the 2nd half it was like Liverpool v Man utd last season. Haven't watched a team dominating a game like Derry did since then.

Jd2793
17/07/2022, 8:02 PM
At what stage do harps wake up and get rid of ollie. He is finished.

D24Saint
17/07/2022, 8:08 PM

A gentleman to talk to but seems to have run out of ideas. There has be a young coach in them parts that wants a shot.

17/07/2022, 8:14 PM
Absolutely criminal subs from Ollie today. No idea what they were at. He's totally lost it, and has lost quite a lot of the fanbase too. We're going down this year, whether automatically or through playoff it doesn't matter.

joey B
17/07/2022, 8:46 PM

He’s here to the end of the season I’d say,the talk is he’s gonna step away at the end of the season whatever happens…

DCWA
17/07/2022, 9:42 PM
Diallo made a big, big difference when brought on I thought. Really noticeable that he got the ball to feet and tried to play it sharply and intelligently.

That being said always sad to see our neighbours struggle so if we were to finish 2nd by an amount of points that made the extra 2 here irrelevant and Harps were to end up goal difference short of survival I would have accepted 1-1.

oriel
17/07/2022, 9:45 PM
Apparently the linesman had his flag up for Kelly's would-be header anyway.

I didn't realise / hear that, doesn't take away from the terrible miss :(

oriel
17/07/2022, 9:50 PM
Bordering on funny that we've somehow failed to beat Dundalk in any of these games.

Pats have also only scored one goal in the 3 games v Dundalk this season, and that was an effectively an OG, possibly was going in, but that said its a long way to go and granted we slipped to 3rd tonight (if you pick up one point from 6 last 2 games don't deserve anything else) but Pats are not making ground on the auto euro spots currently.

For us, nothing will change my view, 2nd or 3rd, either or, both would achieve the target post p6 of qualifying for europe and back on track. That would be a great season and total recovery.

joey B
18/07/2022, 12:12 AM
If UCD played Sligo every week they’d have a shot at Europe!

Jack B
18/07/2022, 12:55 AM
Pats have also only scored one goal in the 3 games v Dundalk this season, and that was an effectively an OG, possibly was going in, but that said its a long way to go and granted we slipped to 3rd tonight (if you pick up one point from 6 last 2 games don't deserve anything else) but Pats are not making ground on the auto euro spots currently.

For us, nothing will change my view, 2nd or 3rd, either or, both would achieve the target post p6 of qualifying for europe and back on track. That would be a great season and total recovery.

I think it's generous to Doyle to assume it was going in but we'll take what we can get ;) The Tunde misses were the main one really, those are guilt edge chances that should be getting buried and suddenly our season looks a tad more promising, but constantly failing to pick up wins against the sides around us has been the killer this season.

Think the new signings plus the returns of Barrett and Lennon will improve us, but still and all I think it's a battle to finish 4th and hope that'll sort Europe rather than overtaking Derry or Dundalk right now. Can't say I've been hugely impressed by Dundalk on the rare occasions I've seen them this season, but it can't be denied that they've made themselves incredibly difficult to beat this season which is a great base to build from. Think Derry have shown a higher ceiling this season but with much more inconsistencies, at least of late.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/07/2022, 9:24 AM
Sweet!

Not unless he was likely to score a few goals.

oriel
18/07/2022, 11:46 AM
I think it's generous to Doyle to assume it was going in but we'll take what we can get ;) The Tunde misses were the main one really, those are guilt edge chances that should be getting buried and suddenly our season looks a tad more promising, but constantly failing to pick up wins against the sides around us has been the killer this season.

Think the new signings plus the returns of Barrett and Lennon will improve us, but still and all I think it's a battle to finish 4th and hope that'll sort Europe rather than overtaking Derry or Dundalk right now. Can't say I've been hugely impressed by Dundalk on the rare occasions I've seen them this season, but it can't be denied that they've made themselves incredibly difficult to beat this season which is a great base to build from. Think Derry have shown a higher ceiling this season but with much more inconsistencies, at least of late.

A lot of other fans are saying this, and to an extent its fair as away form in short has been very poor, 2 wins, and all of our defeats (3), dreadful performances away in Drogs (first series) and UCD, a lame effort in Tallaght all notable mentions. However its the home form that has been really impressive, with 9 wins and 2 draws, no defeats, only Rovers have a slightly better record.

That said away form / results have to improve, as relying on home wins won't be enough to maintain top 3 and auto euro qualification.

18/07/2022, 11:53 AM
Diallo made a big, big difference when brought on I thought. Really noticeable that he got the ball to feet and tried to play it sharply and intelligently.

Second half subs really helped change the game, though Derry still struggled to create much from open play. We've been lucky against Harps this year, three late goals in all the games.

I think Harps fans are being a wee bit over-critical. Yes, Derry dominated the game (77% posssession), but we only managed three shots on target the entire game. Harps were superb slowing the game down, making a nuisance of themselves. They also picked up an impressive seven yellow cards, Mihaljevic's for blocking Maher from a quick throw-out being a highlight.

Saw a recording on social media of Horgan giving off the players after the game. Some choice language used, but he reckons they just don't care enough.

As an aside, the pitch was the best I've seen it in ages. Still not level or anything, but better than usual.

2 Year Contract
18/07/2022, 2:21 PM
Saw a recording on social media of Horgan giving off the players after the game. Some choice language used, but he reckons they just don't care enough.

Saw that clip too. Saying they’re going to get relegated and they don’t give an f is one thing, players may take that and want to prove him wrong to prove that they do care or whatever. The second comment however calling them C's can’t have gone down too well I’d imagine in a dressing room of modern day footballers. They wouldn’t see that as a constructive criticism that they can try to actively change, more of an outright insult purely meant to disrespect them.

Probably a standard enough dressing down from a manager in years gone by but I think Ollie's ‘old school’ managerial style is starting to go against him in this current scenario.

The clip however did get me thinking how needed behind the scenes LOI doc is such as the Netflix/Amazon ones at big European clubs. I enjoyed the Rod squad one but it’s been 10 years since that now. Bring the people what they want!!

MattB11
18/07/2022, 2:27 PM
It was Gavin Dykes not Ollie

sbgawa
18/07/2022, 2:33 PM
Not that surprising in a dressing room that just lost a local derby after being 1 nil up.
Even Pepe loses the rag occasionally.

18/07/2022, 10:38 PM
Not that surprising in a dressing room that just lost a local derby after being 1 nil up.
Even Pepe loses the rag occasionally.

Pepe is never not angry! Pep could lose it occasionally indeed.