View Full Version : Shelbourne v Steaua
28/07/2005, 12:22 AM
Ndo suffers from a problem in that he has real ability and flair so isn't a real Fenlon type player. No hoolahan either, no word of injuries to either pre match all the reports said Harris weas a doubt and Reynolds was out and that was it.
If you had Ndo, Stewie, Hoolihan and Ryan across the middle ... then there would be a great chance. Crowe and Byrne up front and the back four would be OK again (will Hawkins be in ??) .... thats the way you'll win.
Any other way and i think you wont, hate saying it but football is the only way you'll win.
hamish
28/07/2005, 12:24 AM
Ndo suffers from a problem in that he has real ability and flair so isn't a real Fenlon type player. No hoolahan either, no word of injuries to either pre match all the reports said Harris weas a doubt and Reynolds was out and that was it.
They said on RTE that Hoolihan and Byrne were suffering from a stomach bug - same as Hawkins last week.
Where do Shels eat???
TheOwl
28/07/2005, 12:25 AM
Weso was out with a stomach bug (would have started if fit). Not sure about Ndo but he would defo have been on the bench if he was fit.
TheOwl
28/07/2005, 12:26 AM
They said on RTE that Hoolihan and Byrne were suffering from a stomach bug - same as Hawkins last week.
Where do Shels eat???
Abra - nuff said!
It's still quality tho, steak kebab and taco fries? Thank god I'm not a footballer!
Yeah, I checked that Welsh channel, Eurosport, Setanta - the whole bloody lot of them - nothing. Wonder would there be anything on BBC Wales??
Shall I confirm your application for martyrdom then?
28/07/2005, 12:30 AM
If you had Ndo, Stewie, Hoolihan and Ryan across the middle ... then there would be a great chance. Crowe and Byrne up front and the back four would be OK again (will Hawkins be in ??) .... thats the way you'll win.
Any other way and i think you wont, hate saying it but football is the only way you'll win.
I agree except Ryan, not convinced at all, and Baker is not upto it at all. We've a real problem on the right, so I'd move Ndo to the right and play Moore in the middle who was very good tonight I thought. You're right though in that we have to play football and keep the ball, that's the only way we will get anything.
Crawley and Hawkins might be suspended, I think they were both on yellows but I'm not sure, what did RTE say during the game? Could work out alright though, he'll have to play Harris so he can't stick him up front and if he plays Cahill at left back he'll be forced to play Hoolahan.
And no Crawley is a major advantage if you're trying to play football along the ground.
hamish
28/07/2005, 12:31 AM
Abra - nuff said!
It's still quality tho, steak kebab and taco fries? Thank god I'm not a footballer!
LOL :D - used to eat in Abra in Baggot Street when I worked up there - love their kebabs. Was such a regular that the manager used to give me extra helpings of everything I ordered - never got a stomach bug though.
Why wasn't Fitzpatrick brought on? - no disrespect to Harris - he looked completely out of position (obviously) and he hasn't had much match practise either. :confused:
28/07/2005, 12:37 AM
Crawley and Hawkins might be suspended, I think they were both on yellows but I'm not sure, what did RTE say during the game?
RTÉ declared in commentary that Hawkins would miss the return as a result of picking up a second yellow, but when Fenlon was interveiwed afterwards he said that, as far as he knew, three yellow cards incur a suspension, not two. No mention of Crawley missing the game.
Why isn't Nailler at least making substitute appearances in these circumstances?? :confused: He's the consummate lone striker. Kills the ball with his first touch every single time and crucifies defenders on the turn. His omission is positively perverse.
28/07/2005, 12:38 AM
Why isn't Nailler at least making substitute appearances in these circumstances?? :confused: He's the consummate lone striker. Kills the ball with his first touch every single time and crucifies defenders on the turn. His omission is positively perverse.
You're telling me :(
It's all the more staggering when you sub off two strikers and bring on two defenders instead. He is getting a very, very raw deal at Shelbourne, impresses every time he plays, popular with the fans yet rarely gets a chance even with injuries.
28/07/2005, 12:43 AM
I think you see a different Byrne to me, probably the best crosser on his weaker foot in the league.
You're more observant than me Slash/ED/Jammer if you are able to rate the best crossers in the League off their weaker feet
28/07/2005, 12:44 AM
You're more observant than me Slash/ED/Jammer if you are able to rate the best crossers in the League off their weaker feet
Well there's very few who can do a decent cross off their weaker foot anywhere. His crosses on his left are as good as most in this league on their stronger foot.
boysingreen
28/07/2005, 3:05 AM
Fair play to Shels for the clean sheet, that was objective A. As for objective B, nicking a goal or two, I'm no tactical genius.. but lobbing the goalie from the other end of the field was hardly the best way to go.
I've spent most of the day on my knees beside a toilet in work! :)
F*ck me, they allow that sort of thing where you work?
Do you make much money from it?
Very poor performance from $hel$, I thought. Sat back to much, hoofed too much and made no real attempt to play football at all. Maybe Steau stopped them, but I felt $hel$ could have imposed themselves on the game much more than they did.
Baker was utter rubbish, only Honker, Rogers and J. Byrne were good I thought.
Libero
28/07/2005, 8:00 AM
I'm no tactical genius.. but lobbing the goalie from the other end of the field was hardly the best way to go.
I think that comment shows a complete lack of understanding of the hierarchy that exists in European football. Steaua are a really good side..any fool could see that. Shels players had no time on the ball, they were up against better players all over the pitch. In the circumstances, I'd say they did very well on the night. The bookies had Steaua down to win easily such is the gap between the sides. Its a credit to Shels that they are competing with sides like this and not showing them too much respect either.
28/07/2005, 8:04 AM
In the circumstances, I'd say they did very well on the night.
Considering that another Irish team lost 5-0 to virtually unknown opponents, Shels did get a good result tonight.
fosterdollar
28/07/2005, 8:09 AM
Firstly, I think Stuey Byrne coming off was a big blow to Shels. I don't think Baker played particularly badly - he got some woeful service from the backs - but he was marked out of it by a huge defender. Moore was impressive. I pretty much agree with the general feeling on the rest of the players. Still though, for some reason it looked like J Byrne was chickening off when he started appealing to the bench to be taken off. He hadn't been playing well imo and his miss where he just swung the leg three yards off the line warranted execution in my book. Ollie Cahill is by no means the player he was last season (in European football at least). He couldn't be trusted last night at all. Best player for Shels, even the though he didn't play particularly well (as if that makes any sense ;) ) was Heary. I love watching him play. What a captain! His influence on the pitch simply cannot be underestimated. By far the most valuable player on any team in the country at the moment.
garykelly
28/07/2005, 8:12 AM
Considering that another Irish team lost 5-0 to virtually unknown opponents, Shels did get a good result tonight.
dont you mean "Irish" team. disgraceful result but shel's result is more important. fair play to them. with the clean sheet any away goal will count double. Shels should now turn the table, and have a go at steau in the away leg. steau will be fully expecting them to sit back, but if shels get stuck in early on they'll have a chance. Very hard for a team to get going if they are complacent and their plans go askew early on.
28/07/2005, 9:10 AM
i have a feeling of it going the way last years against deportivo and so many other teams have done in the past, like bohs against rosenborg and pats v ******. i really thought shels were poor in the second half, steau werent up to much in fairness, but shels gave them way too much time and space and let them attack. lucky for shels that they hadnt anyone willing to take a pop from 25 yards etc. in the first half i think shels should have gotten a goal. 1 - 0 is a far far better result than 0 - 0. it will be very difficult to go through not unfortunately. :(
fosterdollar
28/07/2005, 9:16 AM
1 - 0 is a far far better result than 0 - 0. it will be very difficult to go through not unfortunately. :(
Not sure it's as dramatic as that. If Shels sneak a goal over there, Steaua need two to stay in the tie (and win). 1-0 heading out there means just one keeps them in it. Obviously 1-0 is better but not by a huge margin.
Drumcondra Red
28/07/2005, 9:34 AM
You talking about c.eltic?? they're not an Irish team...
Playing for 0-0 is all very well IF manage to nick a goal away from home but i think Shels will lose out in the same way as did to Deportivo. Bigger pitch in Bucharest will mean almost impossible to defend the goal.
I didn't see the first 30 minutes but especially in the 2nd half the Shels passing was woeful. Cawley hoofed the ball aimlessly so many time was like watching Ireland in the Charlton days. Shels needed to hold more possession when no counter attacks available.
Passive
28/07/2005, 9:42 AM
I thought Shels were well on top in the first half but the second half was complete backs-to-the-wall stuff. Too much hoofing, but in fairness Bucharest are a class above them so they probably had to resort to neanderthal tactics. Can't see them getting anything out of Romania, but a very credible performance nonetheless.
As for the "other Irish team", at least we can finally say that the EL is better than the SPL.
Also good to see that Bohs were the only side to let us down in Europe this year.
28/07/2005, 9:44 AM
they're not an Irish team...
:D :D :D
As for the "other Irish team", at least we can finally say that the EL is better than the SPL.
Discussion on the "other" "irish" team is banned from Foot.ie
28/07/2005, 10:13 AM
Cawley hoofed the ball aimlessly so many time was like watching Ireland in the Charlton days.
So did Baker. He took no responsibility at all, or tried to get on the ball, and left his team mates down badly I thought.
harry crumb
28/07/2005, 10:48 AM
Jim Crawford is average.
Stuey Byrne and Wes Hoolahan could make a huge difference next week. Its definately all to play for.
Does Fenlon have enough belief in his players though.
After last night IM not so sure. How could he bring on Harris with O'Neill on the bench.
EireBadBoy
28/07/2005, 10:50 AM
Cawley hoofed the ball aimlessly so many time was like watching Ireland in the Charlton days. Shels needed to hold more possession when no counter attacks available.
Aye, but let's not forget how succesful that era was. :)
garykelly
28/07/2005, 10:53 AM
lads, no point in saying 1-0 is better than 0-0, cos it's 0-0 as it stands. If shels were a goal up they'd just defend defend defend a tactic which comes updone 9/10 times in football. at 0-0 shels know they have to score and the away goal is a massive incentive to do so. might sound crazy but in this case 0-0 is prob the best scenario. If shels played poor and got a draw then they should have no fear going to Romania. Nobody was giving shels a chance before the first leg and they came away with the draw. So who knows what might happen out there. What they cant do is go there with an inferiority complex. Fenlon really needs to instill some self-belief into his players. Playing negatively will be suicide. But i'm sure the tactics will be better than supposed 'top' manager Strachan ;) 2-0 down away from home. let's play 4-3-3 :D
28/07/2005, 10:58 AM
After last night IM not so sure. How could he bring on Harris with O'Neill on the bench.
With Hawkins suspended next week for the away leg, and Jamie having been injured, he needs match practice. He will probably have to play 90 minutes next week, allbeit in defence, and with no game this weekend this was the only time to do it?
Unless Flemming stands in. Rather Jamie! :D
28/07/2005, 11:13 AM
With Hawkins suspended next week for the away leg, and Jamie having been injured, he needs match practice. He will probably have to play 90 minutes next week, allbeit in defence, and with no game this weekend this was the only time to do it?
Unless Flemming stands in. Rather Jamie! :D
Didn't Nuttsy say last night that hawkins was ok, it's 3 yellows to be suspended?
28/07/2005, 11:13 AM
Cawley hoofed the ball aimlessly so many time was like watching Ireland in the Charlton days. Shels needed to hold more possession when no counter attacks available.
So did Baker
That is all either player is capable of. We need to get our skillfull, talented players into the side like Hoolahan and Ndo instead of average players who are not capable of playing in a team looking to progress in Europe like Baker.
28/07/2005, 11:19 AM
That is all either player is capable of. We need to get our skillfull, talented players into the side like Hoolahan and Ndo instead of average players who are not capable of playing in a team looking to progress in Europe like Baker.
I was genuinely shocked at how poor Baker was. Given the talent in your squad, how does this guy get into the team? :confused:
28/07/2005, 11:22 AM
I was genuinely shocked at how poor Baker was. Given the talent in your squad, how does this guy get into the team? :confused:
The alternative is Bobby Ryan who has been as bad. Personally I'd play Ndo out there with Mooire Byrne and Hoolahan, but Ndo seems to have disappeared off the face of the planet so god knows what's happening there.
Apparently Fahey is available, I wonder if we offered Ryan and Baker for him would Pats accept? We've plenty of cover and don't need two specialist right wingers when one, decent one could do.
28/07/2005, 11:24 AM
The alternative is Bobby Ryan who has been as bad. Personally I'd play Ndo out there with Mooire Byrne and Hoolahan, but Ndo seems to have disappeared off the face of the planet so god knows what's happening there.
Apparently Fahey is available, I wonder if we offered Ryan and Baker for him would Pats accept? We've plenty of cover and don't need two specialist right wingers when one, decent one could do.
Ryan did well against us last week. He helped set up Crowe's goal with a good pas and all night his passing was good.
28/07/2005, 11:26 AM
Ryan did well against us last week. He helped set up Crowe's goal with a good pas and all night his passing was good.
He did some good things, he was involved in both goals alright, but he gave the ball away from sheer stupidity an incredible amount of times.
CuanaD
28/07/2005, 11:34 AM
IMO:
Delaney was good
Crawley was not
Hawkins always worries me - hes far to easy to lob - cant defend if he has to track back
Shels are a far better team with Heary in the side (he will play for Ireland soon)
Scouse does very little wrong but works better with Harris beside him
SByrne was missed
Hoolihan may be the secret weapon for the second half of next week
Moore was glory hunting in the 1st half but was far better in the second
Baker was decent 1st half but crap in the second - he didnt want the ball
Cahill was top class - he got past down the outside nearly every time & got the best crosses in
Crowe & Byrne both played well - they are working better together each week
Harris looked fitter than i would have expected - good news; & he put himself about well.
Fleming did well
I've forgotten someone
They could beat Steaua next week - get the ball down & play through the middle (& up the wing with Cahill) - Steaua will be expecting the long ball crap again & we have midfielders who can pass properly if they are let.
28/07/2005, 11:37 AM
Didn't Nuttsy say last night that hawkins was ok, it's 3 yellows to be suspended?
No, its defo 2. SOmeone posted the direct UEFA rulebook quote on SHelsweb.
28/07/2005, 11:45 AM
No, its defo 2. SOmeone posted the direct UEFA rulebook quote on SHelsweb.
It is 3 in the group stages and 2 in the qualifiers so he is out of the return.
28/07/2005, 11:45 AM
I was wondering about this.
Tolka Park is supposedly a 15,000 seater ( or so I was told), yet over and over again it was mentioned that it was a sellout and that all 8,000 seats were sold!
What is the real capacity of Tolka?
28/07/2005, 11:48 AM
It's never 15,000 anyway!
Around 10,000.
TheOwl
28/07/2005, 11:49 AM
I was wondering about this.
Tolka Park is supposedly a 15,000 seater ( or so I was told), yet over and over again it was mentioned that it was a sellout and that all 8,000 seats were sold!
What is the real capacity of Tolka?
9,700 I think is the official capacity, don't know where you are getting the 15,000 from.
I think it was capped to 8,000 last night as it was open seating, although I couldn't see 1,700 empty seats.
28/07/2005, 11:59 AM
I couldnt see 1 empty seat!
28/07/2005, 12:14 PM
Which was espically suprisingly since the new stand was over full again with the stairs covered on the Riverside side and more than one person to a seat for a fair bit of it.
fosterdollar
28/07/2005, 12:15 PM
I couldnt see 1 empty seat!
Ah there were a few to be fair. Even beside where i was in the Roadside there were three or four about but i doubt they summed to hundreds around the stadium.
Mpndo
28/07/2005, 12:22 PM
Jim Crawford is average.
Stuey Byrne and Wes Hoolahan could make a huge difference next week. Its definately all to play for.
Does Fenlon have enough belief in his players though.
Hawkins out next week, thats why Harris was brought on. Needs match practice, as he will more than likely play next week.
GK for the Town
28/07/2005, 12:28 PM
what positions were Steaua's interrnational players playing ? I though the blondy haired left back was good for them, especially in the 2nd half. Baker didnt stand a chance with him in the 2nd half and he seemed to be giving Heary a bit of hassle aswell.
green army
28/07/2005, 12:30 PM
i think shels missed a good chance last nite. played well in the first half but didnt come out at all in the second which was dissapointing.shels didnt lok like scoring. anytime the ball was on the wing for a cross there was one crowe in the box.was dissapointed with crowe, he looked off the pace the whole nite. i would have taken him off earlier. ollie cahill was superb and full of running. i think fenlons tactics will cost shels a place in the next round. steau will use every trick in the book out there to get throu. dont laugh but i think that nil all is better than 1-0 in so far as shels have to come and try and score as apposed to sitting back for most of the game.
declan hide
28/07/2005, 12:31 PM
[QUOTE=CuanaD]IMO:
Delaney was good
Crawley was not
Hawkins always worries me - hes far to easy to lob - cant defend if he has to track back
Shels are a far better team with Heary in the side (he will play for Ireland soon)
Scouse does very little wrong but works better with Harris beside him
SByrne was missed
Hoolihan may be the secret weapon for the second half of next week
Moore was glory hunting in the 1st half but was far better in the second
Baker was decent 1st half but crap in the second - he didnt want the ball
Cahill was top class - he got past down the outside nearly every time & got the best crosses in
Crowe & Byrne both played well - they are working better together each week
Harris looked fitter than i would have expected - good news; & he put himself about well.
Fleming did well
I've forgotten someone
QUOTE]
well if scouse is rodgers then youve forgotten crawford
ThatGuy
28/07/2005, 12:43 PM
While no Shels fans will agree with any criticisms of their golden boy, the player at the back most guilty of hoofing aimlessly was Owen Heary. What more do you expect from rubbish players like the other 3 defenders.