View Full Version : YBIG Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

22/03/2007, 8:13 AM
For those of us who don't know the area very well where will you be giving them out?

Mento
22/03/2007, 11:40 AM
i'll have a list of pubs and distribution points later today GSpain

26/03/2007, 1:15 PM
Great issue again.

Are you doing another one for Wednesday?

andrew1977
26/03/2007, 2:14 PM
First time i have read YBIG ( got a copy on saturday ) , very impressed and a great interesting read, will defo be buying in future

Mento
26/03/2007, 5:47 PM
No none for Wednesday Gary, hard enough doing the one!

Andrew no need to buy, it's free:)

RogerMilla
09/05/2007, 3:22 PM
mento , you about ? have PM'd your fckn shine box.

Mento
09/05/2007, 7:23 PM
Ye Roger, mail that to me at ger@youboysingreen.ie

Going to Bratislava/Prague at the end of July or start of August for a reccie.

Think we are going to fly through Frankfurt for the matches in September :)

Paulie
10/05/2007, 9:11 AM
I don't suppose you're doing anything on Aarhus as well?

RogerMilla
10/05/2007, 9:15 AM
Aarhus , in the middle of our street

Paulie
10/05/2007, 9:16 AM
Aarhus , in the middle of our street

I bet that gag has never been made before.

RogerMilla
10/05/2007, 10:02 AM
must have been , i certainly didnt make it up !!

Sligo Hornet
10/05/2007, 10:47 AM
"Aarhus, Aarhus......my kingdom for Aarhus!!!;)

Mento
10/05/2007, 11:27 AM
I don't suppose you're doing anything on Aarhus as well?

Unfortunately not. I'll be sacked if i take any more time off work.

took me a while to get the 'in the middle of our street gag'.
it's brutal:D

RogerMilla
10/05/2007, 12:35 PM
nice one hornet , that looking for richard DVD was a cracker.

Paulie
10/05/2007, 12:46 PM
Unfortunately not. I'll be sacked if i take any more time off work.

took me a while to get the 'in the middle of our street gag'.
it's brutal:D

Fair enough. The fact it's a midweek game with a double header shortly afterwards hardly helps you either.

Mento
30/05/2007, 11:05 PM
We are going to Slovakia and Czech Republic on July 26 for 3 nights for a reccie mission.
Anyone with any questions and suggestions please post here...

Sligo Hornet
31/05/2007, 9:21 AM
We are going to Slovakia and Czech Republic on July 26 for 3 nights for a reccie mission.

Most importantly ( for BOTH loacations ) anywhere we can buy match tickets!!:o

SuperDave
31/05/2007, 4:41 PM

find out the best way between the prague and bratislava. trains, buses, prices etc... and obviously good "meeting places".

Mento
07/06/2007, 4:40 PM
Lads, Check this out, well worth entering...quality prize!
http://www.ybig.ie/news_detail.asp?id=149&SectionId=3

Irish Fans Travel Site http://www.pilgrimsabroad.com have teamed up with YBIG to offer 1 lucky winner the chance to win a trip to see The Republic of Ireland play Slovakia and The Czech Republic!! *

This brillant prize will bring the winner and an adult of their choice to see Stan and the Boys in Green on Tour as they head to Bratislava and Prague for the massive Group D Euro 2008 qualifiers against Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

Prize Details:
2 Adults
Flying Stansted to Bratislava (1955-2250) * Winners responsible for making their own travel arrangements to and from London Stansted.
Coach transfer to Hotel Aston
2 nights stay in Bratislava with bed and breakfast inc.
Transfer to Prague on Sunday 9th September.
Stay 4 nights Hotel Albatros with Bed and Breakfast inc.
Transfer to Prague airport
Fly back to London Stansted on Thursday 13th September

Prize Value worth approx 1200 euros!!

To be in with a chance to win this prize, answer the following Question:
Name 3 countries where Pilgrimsabroad.com have brought legions of Irish fans to over the last 10 years?
Answer can be found on www.PilgrimsAbroad.com

To Enter : Email us at contact@youboysingreen.ie with "Pilgrims Abroad comp" in the subject line or fill out the contact us form on our website with both "Pilgrims Abroad comp" and your answer in the query box.
**Terms and conditions apply.(see bottom of page)

Mento
20/07/2007, 5:11 PM
Going to Slovakia and Czech Rep next Thursday if anyone has any requests; ie pubs and ladies of the night!

stiofain
20/07/2007, 7:34 PM
Going to Slovakia and Czech Rep next Thursday if anyone has any requests; ie pubs and ladies of the night!

Ladies of the night :D as if you need an excuse!

Some average prices for food and drink would be appreciated so we've an idea of how much to put aside for the trip. Any recommendations of places to get a decent breakfast/lunch/supper etc would be welcome as i'm not getting these included at either of the hotels i'm staying at.
Some infomation on the train between Bratislavia and Prague would also be good, as would the distance between the stadiums and city centres.

Many thanks.

Mento
20/07/2007, 11:08 PM
ye we will be doing the train journey next week so will know exactly how long etc
will get prices as well

HolylandsMan
21/07/2007, 12:39 AM
Good man - train would be the one thing I'd be worried about. Rough indication of price of drink would be great as well. I keep hearing conflicting reports about Prague.

stojkovic
21/07/2007, 5:28 PM
Good man - train would be the one thing I'd be worried about. Rough indication of price of drink would be great as well. I keep hearing conflicting reports about Prague.

Think its the same in Irish pubs everywhere - rip off - 3.50 a pint

They even put prices up when there 6000 paddies in town for the weekend.

Drink in local bars and dont drink Guinness and you'll pay about 1.50 a pint (half litre) for top quality best in the world lager (pilsner).

Bottle of Tonic
21/07/2007, 6:15 PM
Yeah frequency and reliability of train service to prague is the one I'm thinking of. I know you can book tickets in advance but that would be way too organised for my party's tastes. It would be good to know if they were putting on extra trains/carraiges avoiding a potential scrum for spaces on a train on the sunday/monday.

22/07/2007, 12:07 PM

Not surprised re the conflicting reports.

Drank in Prague en route to Israel in 2005 at something like 50 cent a pint in the main square. It was seven times the price in the Irish bar at the other corner of the square. The Irish bar was packed on a Thursday afternoon and the local one was empty.

AidoM
23/07/2007, 8:44 AM

I suppose the usual about pubs, and meet up places and also a good place in each stadium to hang the foot.ie flag :ball:

Will you check (no pun intended) if they take the slovakian currency in the Czech Republic and if it's about the same rate to the Euro (If they do it might avoid having to convert when we all descend on Prague)

Remember you don't have to use the reccie as a full dry (:eek:) run :D

stiofain
23/07/2007, 7:00 PM

What hotels are you booked into for the reccie mission?

Mento
23/07/2007, 11:42 PM
we are bookin tomorrow stiofain, won't be busy so we left it till last minute

Paulie
24/07/2007, 2:49 PM
For those of us that are into rugby will you see if you can find a pub that will be showing the Rugby World Cup games that are on while we're away? The most important rugby games to see are France V Argentina on Friday September 7th and Ireland V Namibia on Sunday the 9th. It would be nice to see one or two of the other group games on during that week as well but those 2 games are the main ones. Cheers.

Sligo Hornet
24/07/2007, 2:54 PM
For those of us that are into rugby will you see if you can find a pub that will be showing the Rugby World Cup games that are on while we're away? The most important rugby games to see are France V Argentina on Friday September 7th and Ireland V Namibia on Sunday the 9th. It would be nice to see one or two of the other group games on during that week as well but those 2 games are the main ones. Cheers.

"Egg Chaser":D

Paulie
24/07/2007, 4:33 PM
"Egg Chaser":D

You better believe it! (although football is still much better!)

Mento
29/07/2007, 2:35 PM
we stayed in the art william for one night and it was a lovely 4 star hotel. also stayed in the old city hotel which was a bit of a kip but did exactly what it said on the tin.

There is a perfect square (2 squares actually, 200 metres apart) to descend on with bars lining the street beside it. Beers prices will vary here but pints of Heineken (the nicest heino I have ever tasted) were about 1.70.
The old town square in prague looks ideal as well.
Both Prague and Brat accept euro but won't accept czech money in Brat and visa versa.
Sky sports et al is widely available in both countries.

Will be writing up a full guide this week when I dry out!

stiofain
29/07/2007, 4:33 PM
Fantastic. Looking forward to reading the full report.

Sligo Hornet
10/08/2007, 10:31 AM
we stayed in the art william for one night and it was a lovely 4 star hotel. also stayed in the old city hotel which was a bit of a kip but did exactly what it said on the tin.

There is a perfect square (2 squares actually, 200 metres apart) to descend on with bars lining the street beside it. Beers prices will vary here but pints of Heineken (the nicest heino I have ever tasted) were about 1.70.
The old town square in prague looks ideal as well.
Both Prague and Brat accept euro but won't accept czech money in Brat and visa versa.
Sky sports et al is widely available in both countries.

Will be writing up a full guide this week when I dry out!

Any news Mento when the guide will be available?

Mento
10/08/2007, 11:21 AM
have a good bit of it done
i wud reckon early next week all the pdfs will be on the site.
I'll go for Tues/Wednesday

Danny
15/08/2007, 8:35 AM
any irish pubs in bratislave that have TG4 ?
Derry v Pats is on the friday nite.

if not any internet cafès ?

15/08/2007, 8:41 AM
also ireland are playing namibia in teh rugby on teh saturday i beleive....

15/08/2007, 8:44 AM
Here's on for YBIG:

Roy Keane is having a rant at WAGs in today's paper's saying one guy wouldn't return his calls because his wife wanted him to play in London.

“We had a player this summer who didn’t even ring us back because his wife wanted to move to London — he didn’t even have the courtesy to pick the phone up. And shopping was mentioned. "

How was shopping mentioned if he wouldn't talk to him?

citizenerased
15/08/2007, 9:05 AM
possibly from a third party known as 'an Agent'

15/08/2007, 10:52 AM
Here's on for YBIG:

Roy Keane is having a rant at WAGs in today's paper's saying one guy wouldn't return his calls because his wife wanted him to play in London.

“We had a player this summer who didn’t even ring us back because his wife wanted to move to London — he didn’t even have the courtesy to pick the phone up. And shopping was mentioned. "

How was shopping mentioned if he wouldn't talk to him?

Yeah I was thinking that myself. I reckon it must be the guy Baird who went to Fulham rather than Sunderland.

Paulie
15/08/2007, 12:41 PM
also ireland are playing namibia in teh rugby on teh saturday i beleive....

That's on Sunday. I wouldn't mind seeing the France - Argentina match on Friday night either.

Mento
15/08/2007, 1:37 PM
The Dubliner has all the sat channels, and i't a fairly big bar

WE have SHAY GIVEN for the Questions and Answers,
So any questions for Shay, post away here please

15/08/2007, 2:00 PM
The Dubliner has all the sat channels, and i't a fairly big bar

WE have SHAY GIVEN for the Questions and Answers,
So any questions for Shay, post away here please
How do you personally think you rank (and have ranked over your career) against the best keepers in the world?

Do you have ambitions to play for a bigger club than Newcastle?

Mento
21/08/2007, 1:56 PM
finishing off the guide today so it will be up on our site later on tonight

Sligo Hornet
22/08/2007, 10:05 AM
finishing off the guide today so it will be up on our site later on tonight

Just down loaded the new Guide, and read it......Quality piece, very informative, and some good pictures:)

Only down side is that having taken it all in.....I want to go NOW:D

Mento
22/08/2007, 10:43 AM
Just down loaded the new Guide, and read it......Quality piece, very informative, and some good pictures:)

Only down side is that having taken it all in.....I want to go NOW:D

Cheers Hornet.
Ye so guide is up on site. Obviously it aint going to print for a few days yet so if anyone has any thoughts on changes etc feel free to post, cheers

NOLANone
22/08/2007, 10:45 AM
Brilliant edition, as usual, thanks to all involved for the time and effort of researching these two away matches. Will see you all in a few short weeks! Can't wait for this trip, will be amazing craic.
"Come on you boys in green!!!!!!!!"

Paulie
28/08/2007, 4:42 PM
Is there a problem with the boys in green website at the moment? I've been trying to open up the guide for the double header over the last couple of days but for some reason it won't open.

Mento
28/08/2007, 9:04 PM
no problem Paulie, what's it saying??