View Full Version : YBIG Thread
GSPAIN is doing an anti rebel song rant, any rebels out there willing to do the opposite??
22/09/2006, 2:55 PM
How's about a campaign to find the best away trip of recent times? Call for votes from 1 to 10 for each away trip people have been on and get the average.
Or maybe turn it into a series - one away trip reviewed per issue? With people then being asked to vote? Could be interesting.
22/09/2006, 3:06 PM
Time allowing, I'd like a go at a rant against Irish media coverage of Irish football. I live in UK so won't approach it from a staunchly pro eL angle, though I wouldn't ignore it, but more from the perspective of how much it ****s me off reading syndicated UK write-ups in Irish papers on UK matches featuring Irish players but don't mention them in the article.
fair play gspain. There's also a broader issue of whether "today's fan" has any idea of what I'd consider essential tenets of being an Irish fan. Political songs or insertions aside, I'm aghast at the "Theirry Henry, yer 'aving a larf" type song.
And also, though I've been happy to sing it in the past, is "You'll Never Walk Alone" appropriate for us to sing? I don't think so anymore. It's a Liverpool song first and fortemost, then Celtic, and I think we just make ourselves look daft singing it.
Other rants would include how the **** can Don Givens keep his job? Do the Irish players care enough to wear the shirt? I think some don't.
PM me if you'd like to discuss further.
Fire away Stuttgart, needs to be done by next Wednesday at the latest though.
We will have stuff from stuttgart including a lot of photos.
Top trips would be an interesting read
if anyone wants pics in next issue send them to info@youboysingreen.ie
24/09/2006, 8:19 AM
Ill struggle by Weds, but if I get a few hrs free at work will have a go.
All comments, good or otherwise, greatly appreciated
Docboy
12/10/2006, 4:42 PM
Unfortunately missed out on this one, liked the other ones though. Always liked the fanzine approach.
Let us know bout the next one,perhaps could throw an article your way?!
scousedub
12/10/2006, 7:02 PM
Excellent, much more reading than the programme. The article on Anto and Girvan was class.
SUB of the day
12/10/2006, 7:37 PM
As on flight to Stuttgart, I passed zine around on flight back to the Peoples Republic, same reaction, great read and photos, kicks ass of official programme.Classic voice of the fans publication.
Babysis
12/10/2006, 9:07 PM
Picked up a copy in Smiths - really enjoyed it, but my Dad liked it so much he insited i take a copy for him to bring home - he has been quoting it to anyone who will listen. Thanks:D
co. down green
12/10/2006, 10:27 PM
Plenty of reading and some good pics of Stuttgart.
Excellent read and very professionally produced.
13/10/2006, 12:53 AM
I only snatched a quick flick through, but it looked good. Heard positive comments from others too.
Bald Student
13/10/2006, 1:10 AM
I only snatched a quick flick through, but it looked good. Heard positive comments from others too.Don't worry, there was a pile liberated and they'll be available at UCD's next home game.
AidoM
13/10/2006, 11:00 AM
We now know there's one out there:eek:
Dr. Ogba
13/10/2006, 11:07 AM
Anywhere I can pick up a copy at this late stage? Didn't see anyone giving them out at Lansdowne on Wednesday...
p_o_r
13/10/2006, 11:58 AM
Thought it was a great improvement on the previous edition. Some very interesting well written articles and opinions. Keep up the good work.
BTW I don't really agree with the opinions on a united Irish team, is there a fourm I could express them (other than here of course)
13/10/2006, 12:03 PM
BTW I don't really agree with the opinions on a united Irish team, is there a fourm I could express them (other than here of course)
Try this
http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2006/10/06/why_irelands_international_foo.html
thought it's a little out of date now.
YBIG6 looked really good but I left it in the pub, never to be seen again :(
I met my lifelong friend Ray Houghton under the East Lower before the game. He really enjoyed all the photos.
PaulB
13/10/2006, 12:06 PM
Excellent read, heard nothing but good comments about it.
Mento
13/10/2006, 12:28 PM
For anyone who wants a copyyou can pm me an address and we will send them out
Collyontour
13/10/2006, 12:57 PM
Brilliant. Great read. Keep up the good work
soylent green
13/10/2006, 1:01 PM
Good for anybody who was in Stuttgart. Nice to see some eircom League content too.
theleprechaun
13/10/2006, 7:53 PM
great read. and it is FREE. at least some good things are free these days
13/10/2006, 8:11 PM
The article on Anto and Girvan was class.
Loved that! Funny stuff. :D
I thought the interview with Stephen Kenny was great too. Good to see LoI content in it. Good stuff.
15/10/2006, 11:34 AM
Loved that! Funny stuff. :D
I thought the interview with Stephen Kenny was great too. Good to see LoI content in it. Good stuff.
Must say the Eircom League coverage was very good and very positive towards the league!! Would love it if you could even increase the EL coverage if possible, might give the ole ole gobsh!tes something to think about while they're reading the mag with their stupid leprechaun hates.
That has definitely been the best issue to date and a great read overall, fair play!!
10 out of 10
Anyone interested in doing an article/rant, the deadline is Friday November 3 and can be e mailed to contact@ybig.ie.
Go on ya know yis want to!
Plus, anyone want any pictures published, e mail them in, cheers
p_o_r
25/10/2006, 10:51 PM
Would a retort to the article on why we should have a united Irish team be worth a try, if so I'll do something by early next week.
ye of course, fire away and keep me posted
theworm2345
26/10/2006, 4:07 AM
If you want everyone to hate you I can do at David Connolly/Mark Kennedy article
26/10/2006, 7:49 AM
How about a "Separated at Birth?" insert:
Every time I watch the US Office and see the Jim character all I see is Rory Delap.
I probably need psychiatric help.
aidz1
26/10/2006, 10:40 AM
only got around to reading it in the last day or so...
well done....by far the best issue yet that i have got hold of..
keep up the good work
26/10/2006, 12:18 PM
Or a pair of specs.
Is there even one similarity :)
26/10/2006, 1:32 PM
Maybe I need to find a better pic of Delap, when he had longer hair. I see the similarity every time.
Loadedscream
26/10/2006, 1:37 PM
Anywhere I can pick up a copy at this late stage? Didn't see anyone giving them out at Lansdowne on Wednesday...
Yeah I missed it too lads, is there a pdf of it out there or anything?
26/10/2006, 1:43 PM
They normally post the pdfs on http://www.youboysingreen.ie/index.aspx but they haven't the current one up yet. Seem to be devoting their efforts to ybig.ie :)
26/10/2006, 1:53 PM
Sorry for binning this, but this Mento fella's been using Foot.ie almost exclusively to push his fanzine for months now without even a link back to Foot.ie, and I don't think that's on. I've asked him to quit it.
YBIG issue 7 will be out for Wednesday and we have Paul McGrath for the Q&A. He said the Singing Section in Croker is a brilliant idea. He was very interested in it. The more people like McGrath that say back it, the better chance we have of getting it going. Robbie keane also backed it in Issue 4.
The fanzine will be available on the streets and in the pubs around lansdowne. Pdfs are in the archive on www.ybig.ie
12/11/2006, 9:16 PM
On the singing section, by the way, we've (the NLSA) given in a draft press release to announce the whole thing and the FAI have told us they are going to go ahead with it. It's in their hands now to organise, really. Which isn't the best of places for it...
thats good stuff, surely they can't fkuc that up
13/11/2006, 9:34 AM
Excellent read as usual. I printed this off last night and read it in bed. :)
RedMick
13/11/2006, 1:48 PM
will there be any sellers at Dalymount on Tuesday night?
It's free and we will be there on Tuesday. Don't know if we will have any though, printers say they will be ready in the morn but they mayh not be
Karlos
13/11/2006, 9:09 PM
Had a little read on my lunch break. Good stuff. Quality has really improved from issue to issue. Well done
RedMick
14/11/2006, 7:39 AM
Good stuff Mento, see yous there!
Must say another great read!! Fair play!!
On a side note was drinking with some langers before the match in paddy cullins (who go there before every match) who said they never saw or heard of the fanzine before wednesday when it was given to them :confused:
Did ye used just hand it out at the other side of the stadium by the crossroads or something! They were well impressed anyway and were asking about the previous issues!! (and were impressed with the Eircom League coverage too!! Hopefully we can see more of that!!)
we have been handing them out there every match, sometimes not in the pubs maybe.
we are talking about how to get more to cork etc - thinking of sending copies down to a big soccer pub there
harpskid
17/11/2006, 10:23 AM
I missed Wednesday's issue - is there anyway some of the contributors could post me one?
17/11/2006, 10:27 AM
Yeah I missed Wednesdays one too is is possible to get.
17/11/2006, 11:33 AM
http://www.ybig.ie/archive/YBIG%20Issue%207/ybig_Issue7.pdf
theleprechaun
17/11/2006, 7:55 PM
good read, as usual