View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Scotland - Saturday, 11 June 2022 - 2022/23 UEFA Nations League
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 4:54 PM
That was a foul against Collins outside there box there surely. He’s let a little bit too much go if you ask me - but he’s been fair:
Yeah and the Obafemi fault wasn't when McClean tried an Olimpic goal hit the upright, plus let's say it we scored a fluke goal. The 1st. The match should be levelled. We wew too naive at the back. Mcginn should have scored one a game changer. Frank Stapleton kind of finishing the 2nd, left the gk hopeless.
A decent half there. The only problems Scotland presented us were down to us creating them.
Duffy the enigma. Agent of chaos in terms of the system but such an asset in the opposition box.
Egan and Collins top class. McClean doing McClean things but, joking aside, he’s done well in the LWB position. One awful cross which is standard expectation at this stage. Kenny will feel Browne selection at RWB is vindicated with the goal (he called out Browne scoring two goals for Preston from RWB as part of his reasons for picking him there), but he clearly isn’t our best solution there when all are fit.
I much prefer the look of Cullen/Molumby vs Cullen/Hendrick, especially with the fact that we are playing a proper front two up front as it gives Knight the opportunity to do what he does best adding tempo and purpose in the final third.
For the criticisms deserved in the last two games, the plaudits for the performance in that 45 are warranted too. I’d like to see us get another couple. Scotland are no great shakes across the pitch. Finish them.
sbgawa
11/06/2022, 4:57 PM
Kenny producing a result when he needs one.
11/06/2022, 4:58 PM
Real chance to rack up a big win here. Scotland are poor, but we've been quite decent. Cut out the sloppy mistakes and go at them in this half.
Trequartista20
11/06/2022, 4:58 PM
No more fannying around with the ball the back in the second half, surely?
It's suicidal stuff.
11/06/2022, 4:59 PM
Hopefully no start of 2nd half slump now! Great stuff so far. A few shaky moments but has Kelleher had a save to make? We might have had at least one more.
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:00 PM
A decent half there. The only problems Scotland presented us were down to us creating them.
Duffy the enigma. Agent of chaos in terms of the system but such an asset in the opposition box.
Egan and Collins top class. McClean doing McClean things but, joking aside, he’s done well in the LWB position. One awful cross which is standard expectation at this stage. Kenny will feel Browne selection at RWB is vindicated with the goal (he called out Browne scoring two goals for Preston from RWB as part of his reasons for picking him there), but he clearly isn’t our best solution there when all are fit.
I much prefer the look of Cullen/Molumby vs Cullen/Hendrick, especially with the fact that we are playing a proper front two up front as it gives Knight the opportunity to do what he does best adding tempo and purpose in the final third.
For the criticisms deserved in the last two games, the plaudits for the performance in that 45 are warranted too. I’d like to see us get another couple. Scotland are no great shakes across the pitch. Finish them.
McClean was overconfident is the last kick, had a good half thought he would dribble past two guys got caught in possession should have played it long, then he was Vought on camara complaining to Parrott Knight or Obafemi
Razors left peg
Lessons have been learned from the other games. Having actually strikers up front makes a difference. Obafemis hold up play has been great.
More of the same please, without the stupidness at the back
third policeman
Doherty and Omobamidele when back from injury??
Doherty for McClean,Omabamidele for Duffy and Festy for Browne.
11/06/2022, 5:02 PM
A very enjoyable half of football.
Bielsa´s irish
Egan has been Great today.
liamoo11
Set up much better. Parrott and Obafemi playing as a central 2 actually running towards goal unlike ogbene running out wide into no man's land continously.
A compact midfield 3 with molumby and knight taking turns at been the more advanced and foingvthst hard running and tge other dropping into sit with Cullen. Cullen playing further forward away from Duffy and been brave and getting turned when receiving the ball.
The full backs starting high on half way and forcing the 3 at the back to actually work across the whole pitch instead of lazily sitting deep and narrow.
Kelleher cutting out danger with quality sweeping and getting a strong punch on the dangerous corner
joey B
11/06/2022, 5:09 PM
Holy god!!!
What a strike!
Though I can't help wonder if Scotland have our goalkeeping problems of 18 months ago.
But we've been crying out for ages for someone to just have a pop at times, and that's what can happen
Superb strike, having a very good match.
irishultra
OMG what a goal, the touch away after the tackle. He has such slick movement. Doesn't play or move like an Irish player.
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:10 PM
What a Goal!!!! The mini Lewandowski !!!!
Everything about that from “FFS REF!!!” to “WELL HOLY GOD!”
Colbert Report
11/06/2022, 5:12 PM
One of the best Irish goals I've ever seen.
liamoo11
11/06/2022, 5:15 PM
OMG what a goal, the touch away after the tackle. He has such slick movement. Doesn't play or move like an Irish player.
He will be some player in non league football in a few years as lads on here predicted
joey B
I’m all for letting games go but this ref has gone too far the other way,foul on Parrot there…
Bielsa´s irish
Obafemi seemed a hamstring. Parrott pass it to Hogan man!!!
joey B
11/06/2022, 5:17 PM
Duffy out of Ukrainian game,thank f**k!
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:18 PM
Duffy was overconfident the whole match !!
seanfhear
I hope it’s not a hamstring. A lot of Irish forwards having problems with hamstrings.
Fixer82
This playing out from the back craic is painfully bad. How many times do we have to have a lucky escape?
Insidetherock
11/06/2022, 5:19 PM
Imagine playing strikers.. and getting goals.. who'd have thunk.. we're not going to win this group.. but Ill take second all day.. it'll keep us in Group B, and almost guarentee we'll at least get a play off spot if we don't qualify directly from the group stages..
Plus a 3 goal win puts us in a strong position if we end up on same points and go head to head
Colbert Report
11/06/2022, 5:19 PM
What's up with this obsession with playing the ball out from the back when we have a goal kick? Just bizarre.
Fixer82
11/06/2022, 5:22 PM
What's up with this obsession with playing the ball out from the back when we have a goal kick? Just bizarre.
It’s not working for us
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:23 PM
Hogan looked very lively. We need Hendrick now.
joey B
11/06/2022, 5:34 PM
Players have worked their socks off today,if there was any doubting their commitment…
Fixer82
11/06/2022, 5:36 PM
Players have worked their socks off today,if there was any doubting their commitment…
Absolutely! Great tenacity
Fixer82
11/06/2022, 5:37 PM
I like the ref. He’s not taking any crap or diving from players. Letting game flow
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:42 PM
Obafemi since he was so decisive, Collins was motm for me.
Insidetherock
11/06/2022, 5:44 PM
At 33, Mc Clean would still be a serious player in the SPL
Fixer82
11/06/2022, 5:45 PM
At 33, Mc Clean would still be a serious player in the SPL
He’s a very fit man
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:46 PM
Robinson is just red card
11/06/2022, 5:47 PM
Scotland have been wojus.
I don't mean that to take away from the win, but it has to be said all the same
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:48 PM
Obafemi since he was so decisive
Collins
McClean
Egan
Parrott
The best 5.
sbgawa
11/06/2022, 5:51 PM
46927 is pretty impressive considering the dross that has been served up lately
Obafemi (MOTM - a goal and assist)
Molumby (dynamo)
Parrott (classy)
Collins (classy)
All exceptionally good. If Scotland were bad, it’s because we made them look bad.
Razors left peg
11/06/2022, 5:57 PM
He will be some player in non league football in a few years as lads on here predicted
I was guilty of that. Fair play to him the way he's turned himself around. I really didn't see this player in him. Connolly take note
Bielsa´s irish
11/06/2022, 5:57 PM
Obafemi (MOTM - a goal and assist)
Molumby (dynamo)
Parrott (classy)
Collins (classy)
All exceptionally good. If Scotland were bad, it’s because we made them look bad.
Yeah but I'm worried, first half Knight played the Hoolahan role, width from the sides especially MClean that was a train on the left. After 3-0 we returned to the 3-4-3 and we only created one that was McClean super centering to Hogan's head. Then another one from McClean that should have shoot instead of a long ball to the second post. I'm worried Kenny changed formation after 3-0
BOOMSHAKALAKA
11/06/2022, 5:58 PM
Yaaaaaaaaasssssssss!!!! Great win. We needed that. It just goes to show that the players are there, a mix of the experienced ones and the young players. I'm not sure about the lap of honour though. This has to be backed up against Ukraine. Scotland were awful but who cares.
joey B
11/06/2022, 5:59 PM
Super result,the 2 in midfield and the 2 up front ran themselves into the ground ,hopefully Obafemi isn’t too badly hurt,need to back it up though,singular results are no good to us….
Jd2793
11/06/2022, 6:04 PM
parrott and collins outstanding. delighted for parrott. we are so much better with 3 in midfield.
Trequartista20
11/06/2022, 6:08 PM
A real battling up-and-at-'em performance that brought back stirring memories of great victories of the past.
We were extremely competitive all over the pitch from start to finish. And Obafemi and Parrott's goals were of the highest quality.
But it has to be said, Scotland were absolutely gutless. They just didn't seem to have the stomach for the fight.
Razors left peg
11/06/2022, 6:11 PM
Let's not have the excuses for the win now. This wasn't a B or C team like has been used as a caveat for previous good results. Scotland were poor because they were out played.
11/06/2022, 6:13 PM
Best performance under Kenny by some distance. Yes, Scotland were bad, but we played a big part in that, in always being in their faces.
If ever there was a game that showed the importance of a goal at the right time, this was it. Time and time again we've started brightly only for the attacking intensity to fizzle out after about 20 or 25 minutes when we don't see any reward. Today we did see the reward, and it gave us the momentum to keep at it.
Pretty much everything went well today apart from suicidal passing out from the back which could easily have cost us a goal, and did cost us a Duffy suspension (which I don't see as a good thing). I thought the Obafemi pass + Parrott header combination was the superb, especially from Obafemi who saw it and had played it within an instant.
And, even though it would be easy to imagine the players losing faith in Kenny after recent matches, they certainly didn't show any evidence of that tonight.