View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Belgium - Saturday, 26th March 2022 - Friendly

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 3:55 PM
I dunno, it's looks like I'm in the minority here where I don't think it's a big deal that a lad is managing a previously troublesome issue. If he's in communication with the manager and everyone is on same page then l think it's fine.

Too many people are too interested in always looking for something to be outraged about and comments like he should never be called up again to me are nonsense

18/03/2022, 3:57 PM
I think it's reasonable to ask why the excuse Kenny gives isn't really true though

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 4:07 PM
Before the last month isn't it true we all thought he had constant injury and attitude issues? It's not a stretch for Kenny to say that he hasn't played consistently. Fair play to the internet warriors who catch Kenny out by proving that Obafemi has maybe done it once or twice in his career

ontheotherhand
18/03/2022, 4:08 PM
Seems like everything went to his head a bit when he got capped at 18 to secure his allegiance after the Declan Rice saga. Maybe he assumed that meant he was a senior for good.. Combining this snub with his refusal to play for the 21s throughout his barren spell certainly doesn't affirm his commitment to Ireland. But he's young. Plenty of time for him to mature.

I wouldn't read too much into Kenny's comments other than that he was trying to cover for the lad in the hopes things can be patched up. He played for Swansea this week and we are playing friendlies where his minutes could have been managed. He's not exactly an aging talismanic striker heading in to games we desperately need him with his club career hanging in the balance.

18/03/2022, 4:14 PM
Before the last month isn't it true we all thought he had constant injury and attitude issues? It's not a stretch for Kenny to say that he hasn't played consistently. Fair play to the internet warriors who catch Kenny out by proving that Obafemi has maybe done it once or twice in his career
Ah he didn't say he hadn't played consistently.

Not everyone with a different view to you is an internet warrior like

seanfhear
18/03/2022, 4:15 PM
It kinda suggests that International football might be a bit of a stretch for the lad. Perhaps he should retire from international football on fitness / minding himself grounds. Some fellas bodies are just not up to that much football. Thanks and all the best.

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 4:24 PM
Kenny's exact words were, Michael has never played 3 consecutive games in his career before this year... then says I think that's true, might need to check that.

So what if he was wrong cos it's happened once or twice. Has the lad ever played 20 games or has he always been in and out because of attitude or injury

Diggs246
18/03/2022, 4:37 PM
Lads forget kenny. The issue is Michael obefemi doesn't give a rats ass about us.

JR89
18/03/2022, 4:43 PM
Doesn't really make sense to exclude the Swansea games though.

"He'd never played three games in a row before he played three games in a row"

Maybe we can chalk it down to Kenny not being great at the media stuff

Does if what they were saying was until now he's been plagued with fitness issues and never had an injury free run of games like this so far in his career.

18/03/2022, 4:50 PM
Kenny's exact words were, Michael has never played 3 consecutive games in his career before this year... then says I think that's true, might need to check that.

So what if he was wrong cos it's happened once or twice. Has the lad ever played 20 games or has he always been in and out because of attitude or injury

Ah he's a long way wrong though. He's played pretty much every Swansea game this year

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 4:57 PM
Ah he's a long way wrong though. He's played pretty much every Swansea game this year

You're absolutely right...... Kenny should be fired on the spot for his blatant lies and Obafemi should be told to go play for Nigeria because Irish fans are all to delicate to understand the nuances of managing the body from previous history of problems and an actual current injury.

seanfhear
18/03/2022, 4:58 PM
It’s never a good vibe when the Manager has to start stretching the truth on these things.

18/03/2022, 5:02 PM
Oh FFS. This place.

18/03/2022, 5:24 PM
Obafemi has started Swansea's last four games in a row, against Blackpool, Fulham, Coventry, and West Brom. He was named as a substitute against Sheffield United before that, after starting their previous four games against Bristol City, Stoke, Blackburn, and Luton
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/ClubDetails?clubID=2513&seasonID=151

Before that, he'd never started more than two consecutive games, which he did four times for Southampton

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 5:37 PM
Obafemi has started Swansea's last four games in a row, against Blackpool, Fulham, Coventry, and West Brom. He was named as a substitute against Sheffield United before that, after starting their previous four games against Bristol City, Stoke, Blackburn, and Luton
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/ClubDetails?clubID=2513&seasonID=151

Before that, he'd never started more than two consecutive games, which he did four times for Southampton

So Kenny saying that Obafemi had never started more than 3 consecutive games before this season was in fact accurate!

Maybe Kenny is better at this media thing than people give him credit for......

ontheotherhand
18/03/2022, 5:49 PM
Great to see Ronan and Sykes in the team. Lovely footballers. Hope they can bring it to this level.

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 6:08 PM
Great to see Ronan and Sykes in the team. Lovely footballers. Hope they can bring it to this level.

I have really seen a lot of Sykes. Is he more of an attacking midfielder?

18/03/2022, 6:09 PM
So Kenny saying that Obafemi had never started more than 3 consecutive games before this season was in fact accurate!
Except that's not what Kenny said. He referred to playing successive games, not starting them. (You should know this having posted it yourself) Obafemi came on as a sub against Sheffield United.

Somewhere between white and black is a whole heap of useful nuances of grey. You should try explore them sometime instead of this daft stuff of "So you're saying Kenny should be fired on the spot" and all the other nonsense in that post

18/03/2022, 6:34 PM
Except that's not what Kenny said. He referred to playing successive games, not starting them. (You should know this having posted it yourself) Obafemi came on as a sub against Sheffield United.

Somewhere between white and black is a whole heap of useful nuances of grey. You should try explore them sometime instead of this daft stuff of "So you're saying Kenny should be fired on the spot" and all the other nonsense in that post

Perhaps you could clarify what exactly you are saying. You don’t seem to believe Kenny is telling the truth. Do you think he’s lying ? That would be extremely silly of him. All Obafemi would have to say in that case i# den6 he ever said that and he is available, at which point all he’ll breaks loose. Kenny is not that stupid.

Diggs246
18/03/2022, 6:40 PM
I think in fairness to kenny he is massaging the truth to protect the player from looking like a total prat. Kenny might think he needs him in the future so he fudges it a bit

The minute he lines up for swansea tomorrow i would be saying my goodbyes to him

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 6:59 PM
I think in fairness to kenny he is massaging the truth to protect the player from looking like a total prat. Kenny might think he needs him in the future so he fudges it a bit

The minute he lines up for swansea tomorrow i would be saying my goodbyes to him

He will play for Swansea tomorrow and then he will use the international window to work the the physios as Kenny said

ontheotherhand
18/03/2022, 7:00 PM
I have really seen a lot of Sykes. Is he more of an attacking midfielder?

I've only see highlights to be fair but he looks like an attacking midfielder who can beat a man with a combination of tricks and pace. Although wikipedia has him down as an English traveller, Conservative Party politician, and diplomatic advisor, particularly with regard to the Middle East so he sounds versatile enough to slot in across the midfield and behind the striker I'd say. Although he favours the right.

Diggs246
18/03/2022, 7:08 PM
He will play for Swansea tomorrow and then he will use the international window to work the the physios as Kenny said

To be fair they are friendly games
But I'm not sure how he is interested he is in Ireland. I couldn't think of a better opportunity to break into our starting 11 with the upcoming games. But he doesn't want to take it.

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 7:20 PM
To be fair they are friendly games
But I'm not sure how he is interested he is in Ireland. I couldn't think of a better opportunity to break into our starting 11 with the upcoming games. But he doesn't want to take it.

Im not sure how Ive suddenly become the apologist for Obafemi. We cant forget that up to the last couple of months it looked like his career was going nowhere, mainly down to him being a bit of an (insert adjective here). So yeah, maybe there is a bit of that in this still, but I trust that what Kenny said in the presser is true. I dont think Kenny was ever a big fan of him either so I dont think he'd go too far out of his way to cover for Obafemi. Kenny said that when hes spoken to him this week the player has said he absolutely still wants to play for us, so I believe it should be left at that for now and lets see what happens if the run of form actually continues or will he be back to looking fairly crap before too long.

liamoo11
18/03/2022, 7:36 PM
Im not sure how Ive suddenly become the apologist for Obafemi. We cant forget that up to the last couple of months it looked like his career was going nowhere, mainly down to him being a bit of an (insert adjective here). So yeah, maybe there is a bit of that in this still, but I trust that what Kenny said in the presser is true. I dont think Kenny was ever a big fan of him either so I dont think he'd go too far out of his way to cover for Obafemi. Kenny said that when hes spoken to him this week the player has said he absolutely still wants to play for us, so I believe it should be left at that for now and lets see what happens if the run of form actually continues or will he be back to looking fairly crap before too long.

Well said. The Lad is been honest with Kenny he could easily take the call up and report a tight hamstring after swansea game tomorrow and pull out this is a much more mature approach

BOOMSHAKALAKA
18/03/2022, 7:37 PM
If Obafemi is not fully committed or has a bit of the Stephan Ireland's about him. We should get to the bottom of that and axe an talk of him as soon as possible.

If the truth lies closer to that he doesn't want to play for Kenny, then we should be wielding the axe elsewhere. We've already had a few players and coaches walk out of the Kenny set up. We can't really afford to be losing any potential talent.

Eirambler
18/03/2022, 7:52 PM
I know this might sound like a bit of a mad idea - but could we not just accept that the situation as explained today is what the situation actually is?

BOOMSHAKALAKA
18/03/2022, 8:00 PM
I know this might sound like a bit of a mad idea - but could we not just accept that the situation as explained today is what the situation actually is?

Naive.

18/03/2022, 8:00 PM
Perhaps you could clarify what exactly you are saying. You don’t seem to believe Kenny is telling the truth. Do you think he’s lying ? That would be extremely silly of him. All Obafemi would have to say in that case i# den6 he ever said that and he is available, at which point all he’ll breaks loose. Kenny is not that stupid.
Fairly clear what I'm saying, I would have thought.

On the tweet I linked, Kenny says a reason Obafemi has been left out is to manage injuries, and says that it's because he's never played more than three games in a row.

But in fact, Obafemi has played all bar one of Swansea's last 17 games. That's a big discrepancy, and I'm curious why it is.

Tets' stats about starts aren't relevant, because Kenny refers to games played, not starts. Razors Left Peg is happy to say I'm a keyboard warrior and I think Kenny should be fired and Obafemi should go away to Nigeria and other whataboutery - clearly that's unhelpful drivel.

But I've had a bit of a google since coming home from the Bowl and it seems Extratime may have misquoted Kenny. Punditarena quote Kenny (https://punditarena.com/football/ronan-calvert/stephen-kenny-michael-obafemi-ireland-squad/) as saying -

It’s complex and the truth of it is that Michael has never played three games in a row before this year.

Michael has managed to stay fit [lately] and looks a real threat in recent weeks. He feels he needs to spend time with the physios. to make sure he can continue his vein of form.

My emphasis.

So that does in fairness make a lot more sense as a quote.

18/03/2022, 8:03 PM
1504925694027079683?s=20&t=EQb6gXRWM7mdQpX3tiLq6w

Eirambler
18/03/2022, 8:16 PM
So, further evidence that Kenny was being honest and there's no underlying conspiracy theory here. Probably time to leave it at that until the June games at least.

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 9:28 PM
Fairly clear what I'm saying, I would have thought.

On the tweet I linked, Kenny says a reason Obafemi has been left out is to manage injuries, and says that it's because he's never played more than three games in a row.

But in fact, Obafemi has played all bar one of Swansea's last 17 games. That's a big discrepancy, and I'm curious why it is.

Tets' stats about starts aren't relevant, because Kenny refers to games played, not starts. Razors Left Peg is happy to say I'm a keyboard warrior and I think Kenny should be fired and Obafemi should go away to Nigeria and other whataboutery - clearly that's unhelpful drivel.

But I've had a bit of a google since coming home from the Bowl and it seems Extratime may have misquoted Kenny. Punditarena quote Kenny (https://punditarena.com/football/ronan-calvert/stephen-kenny-michael-obafemi-ireland-squad/) as saying -

My emphasis.

So that does in fairness make a lot more sense as a quote.
If you had read my post on the previous page where I quoted him "before this year" was also included.

So in your rush to hammer Kenny you just conveniently skipped over that part

18/03/2022, 9:34 PM
What rush to hammer Kenny?

Seriously RLP, an aul chill pill wouldn't go amiss for you. Ironically, given you're accusing others of being internet warriors.

Razors left peg
18/03/2022, 9:42 PM
Maybe we can chalk it down to Kenny not being great at the media stuff

I'm sure you were just being nice here

irishfan86
18/03/2022, 9:46 PM
When you're dealing with young players, you want to prioritize the long term over the short term. Any reasonable person would acknowledge Obafemi has struggled with injuries and playing consistently. He's on a run now and these friendlies are not vital. Let him establish his club career and get used to the rigours of senior football. We've seen similar struggles with Connolly too. It's a problem with young sprinters, getting used to how much they can push themselves over the course of a season.

I'd prefer to have him with the group, even to watch or lightly participate in the training sessions, as I think there'd be value there. That would be a reasonable compromise and it's disappointing Obafemi has decided not to participate at all.

Bielsa´s irish
18/03/2022, 9:51 PM
I like the squad tbf. I would have brought James McCarthy and Liam Scales both in a winning team. Maybe Smallbone and the kid At Brighton. Jimmy Dunne too.

Bielsa´s irish
18/03/2022, 9:55 PM
I dont get al this fuss about Obafemi he is just a post teenager ln the learning. We have Knight on his position with Ogbene too

Bielsa´s irish
18/03/2022, 9:57 PM
Knight will play out wide on the right

Bielsa´s irish
18/03/2022, 10:03 PM
The main thing before names is how the 11 will cope without Barry and the nat team coach.

18/03/2022, 10:35 PM
Ok, everybody to neutral corners and take a breath.

elatedscum
19/03/2022, 3:34 AM
We've already had a few players and coaches walk out of the Kenny set up. We can't really afford to be losing any potential talent.

Players: McGoldrick… and? Am I missing anyone? 1 retirement in 2 years is pretty impressive.

The fact the likes of Shane Long and Seamus Coleman are still available for selection is a testament to Kenny - and of course to the men themselves

19/03/2022, 7:13 AM
I'm sure you were just being nice here
Kenny isn't great on the media stuff. That's well acknowledged.

So as a possible answer to my question, it was certainly worth considering.

As it turned out, it's extratime who maybe aren't great at the media stuff.

DeLorean
19/03/2022, 9:00 AM
In fairness Stu, Razor pointed out to you twice (before your Pundit Arena research) what SK actually did say. You even quoted him in post #60. He reiterated the point about it being 'before this year' in post #65, but you still continued to fight the fight that wasn't there. Let's not put all the blame on extratime, they only set you on your way. :)

CraftyToePoke
19/03/2022, 11:52 AM
He has you there Pineapple. He types the truth.
I await your usual micro point deflection hair splitting pedantry combo with anticipation as you navigate from here.

19/03/2022, 1:50 PM
Surprised there's no mention of the lack of League of Ireland players

ontheotherhand
19/03/2022, 2:00 PM
Who would you suggest? Forrester? McGonigle is the form player and he's from the north. Jack Byrne isn't close to the levels he hit when called up previously. Same for Graham Burke who I don't think was ever good enough for a call up to begin with. Duffy injured.

Don't think anyone eligible in the league now would have enough to make a mark to be honest. Overall quality might be the same but there are no obvious standouts for me. Maybe one will emerge.

19/03/2022, 7:17 PM
Who would you suggest? Forrester? .

I’m biased, obviously, but I don’t think Forrestor would be out of place. I’m not expecting him to be called up, but I think he’s upped his game again this season, and is a class act. I think only personal issues stopped him making a real go of it across the water. I’m delighted he’s back with us though.

19/03/2022, 8:00 PM
In fairness Stu, Razor pointed out to you twice (before your Pundit Arena research) what SK actually did say. You even quoted him in post #60. He reiterated the point about it being 'before this year' in post #65, but you still continued to fight the fight that wasn't there. Let's not put all the blame on extratime, they only set you on your way. :)
He did in fairness - I misread the post/missed the extra quote (Paris In In The Spring syndrome)

19/03/2022, 8:05 PM
Don't think anyone eligible in the league now would have enough to make a mark to be honest.
I think Byrne was worth a squad place when he was in form at Rovers. Helped that he had a good set piece on him too. But he was a standout player here. I don't think there's anyone else close tbh.

elatedscum
19/03/2022, 11:31 PM
I’d agree that Jack is probably the best footballer in the league. Michael Duffy probably has the ability to knock on the door of the squad and is in my opinion a better footballer than say Ronan Curtis - but obviously he’s injured. Git Forrester is the other player than is worth considering right now. He’s playing his best football since he came home and he’s fitter than he has been in a while. Anyone who saw him play against Spurs or Chelsea wouldn’t doubt his ability. Totally legitimate not to include him - but if he was in a squad I wouldn’t think it was a bad call.

I’d definitely have McGrath in - but can totally understand Kenny not picking him. I think I’d have Shane Long in the squad, considering there’s no Idah, Obafemi or Connolly. He’s obviously playing **** all for Southampton but he’s playing well whenever he gets the chance. Once again, can’t really argue with Long not being included.

Haven’t really seen Manning do it - Christie has looked the more impressive player when I’ve seen Swansea play this season. But Scales hasn’t been involved for Celtic in ages I think since they got knocked out of the Europa league and there are few alternatives: Enda Stevens is still injured, not sure if Derrick Williams is playing for LA Galaxy since their season started - I think Robbie Brady could do a job at left back but he can’t stay fit either. Bagan is an option but I don’t think he’s quite there yet either, so no real complaints about Manning.

Good to see Ronan get a call-up, he’s a pretty unique footballer in an irish context. And Sykes, I’ve not really seen enough of, but I like the fact that he’s made it to the squad. I always feel sorry for guys like Michael Duffy or Aaron McEneff who pick us and then never make a squad, it’s understandable but I always feel a bit disappointed for them…