View Full Version : Glentoran v Shelbourne

crc
13/07/2005, 7:00 PM
0-0 at half time.

Glens have had a few chances, but Shels are clearly the better side. Shels had a great period after half an hour when they should have scored 2 or 3 goals.

Anyone who can't watch it on RTE 2, can listen to it on BBC Radio Ulster (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/default.stm#). (Click on Live Glentoran v Shelbourne - underneath Wycombe Wanderers v Chelsea :rolleyes: )

PS - its 1-0 to L'pool after 17 mins.

crc
13/07/2005, 7:17 PM
:ball: 1-0 Shels

Jason Byrne 55mins.

13/07/2005, 7:22 PM
LiverPOO 2 - 0 TNS

crc
13/07/2005, 7:26 PM
:ball: 2-0 Shels

64mins Jason Byrne (pen)
a good penalty

ger121
13/07/2005, 7:33 PM
Have to say they are looking very good and have dominated the match. The tie is looking like it is only their's to lose.

crc
13/07/2005, 7:39 PM
:ball: 2-1
Sean Ward 77mins - a bit lucky to get a second bite at it, but well hit in the end.

-lamb-
13/07/2005, 7:42 PM
1-2 sean ward
considering glendinning and melaugh are absent and the glens have had only 2 weeks pre-season they're hanging in ok.
more pressure from glens now

crc
13/07/2005, 7:57 PM
2-1 Shels FT

Glens came back into it in the end and nearly got an equaliser, but Shels were clearly the better team.

13/07/2005, 8:00 PM
I suppose they will take that, but 2 nil was so much more better than 2-1, the tie is still alive now. Should be a cracker in Tolka though :)

crc
13/07/2005, 8:04 PM
I'm just happy that Shels have just won the eL 3 points in the UEFA co-efficient league. Another win at Tolka and that will be 6 points. That's a good start to making up Bohs' Aberdeen & Kaiserslautern points that we will lose after this year.

hamish
13/07/2005, 8:18 PM
What a smashing game of football - Bravo Shels for such lovely football and also to the Glens for a stirring fightback.
After this game and Setanta, we must have a league emcompassing the clubs from north and south. So what if a few "suits" and "blazers" are made redundant. :)

13/07/2005, 8:18 PM
I'm just happy that Shels have just won the eL 3 points in the UEFA co-efficient league. Another win at Tolka and that will be 6 points. That's a good start to making up Bohs' Aberdeen & Kaiserslautern points that we will lose after this year.

Dont think its three points. 1 win equals 1 point, divided by no. of european entrants (3 - Shels, Longford, Cork) is 0.333 points to our coefficient.

Improvement on last year. None of last year's entrants won a game in the first qualifying round.

ShelsTim
13/07/2005, 8:25 PM
Should've been more. Glentoran were sub-par and we shouldn't have let them back into the game. Also Glen Fitzpatrick played abismally when he came on, Crowe would want to have been absoluted wrecked to warrant him being taken off. Their keeper stopped a rout. Would want to win at home, would be dissapointed with anything else. As for Steau.....

13/07/2005, 8:26 PM
I wasn't able to get to the game so watched on the TV.

Shels were far better than the 2-1 scoreline suggested, but the way we fell back and let Glens back into it was pathetic. Byrne off Crawford on? Joke decision. Really we should have put the thing beyond any doubt whatsoever, but unless we play very poor in the return leg we should beat them in Tolka Park espically with Ndo back in the team, we were by far the better side. If we can get two wins it's good for the co-efficent, already we have equalled what we got in the first round last year.

Good luck to Cork and Longford tomorrow.

13/07/2005, 9:01 PM
Cracking game; fair dues to Glentoran for making a game of it for the last quarter of an hour, though the game should have been buried by then. Referee, incidentally, was appalling (again... :rolleyes: Wasn't it the same lad from the Ireland-Israel game last month?) - Glentoran should have had three red cards - one for the elbow, one for the penalty (last man) and one for McCallion for deliberate handball when he was already on a yellow (and Hoolihan was booked for the exact same thing just minutes before). Ref bottled it on every single occasion.

Why didn't Ndo come on? He played against us, which is a few weeks ago now, so he must be fully fit by now. He'd have been perfect for a game like that against tiring and demoralised part-timers - would have torn them apart.

13/07/2005, 9:07 PM
I can only assume Ndo is injured or Fenlon has lost his marbles. He should walk into our side, if he picked Baker ahead of him he needs his head checked. I really hope he was injured.

13/07/2005, 9:09 PM
Why would he be on the bench if he was injured though?

-lamb-
13/07/2005, 9:10 PM
when is the 2nd leg? 1 week won't do much for glentoran's fitness or match readiness but 2 weeks might.

13/07/2005, 9:13 PM
Next week (Wednesday), live on RTÉ also.

Gareth
13/07/2005, 9:14 PM
sssss

13/07/2005, 9:15 PM
Referee, incidentally, was appalling (again... :rolleyes: Wasn't it the same lad from the Ireland-Israel game last month?) - Glentoran should have had three red cards - one for the elbow, one for the penalty (last man) and one for McCallion for deliberate handball when he was already on a yellow (and Hoolihan was booked for the exact same thing just minutes before). Ref bottled it on every single occasion.

The ref was Greek what can you expect?

All credit to Shelbourne the return leg should be interesting. Glentoran have to over come 2 away goals easier said than done.

exile
13/07/2005, 9:16 PM
a deserved shels win a match where both keepers played very well , i thought the scoreline flattered glentoran some bit though

what did people think of the punditry ? thought dolan and matthews came across really well

13/07/2005, 9:17 PM
He was according to your official site + no mention of him being injured in the build up.

harry crumb
13/07/2005, 9:20 PM
a deserved shels win a match where both keepers played very well , i thought the scoreline flattered glentoran some bit though

what did people think of the punditry ? thought dolan and matthews came across really well

Yes Dolan is an excellent pundit. Mattews brought a seriousness to the occasion. Don't think Dolan gave Shels enough credit though and played too much emphasis on the fitness issue. The fitness was a big difference but Shels were the better team overall.

Really enjoyed the game. Even my mother enjoyed it. :confused:

13/07/2005, 9:26 PM
Don't think Dolan gave Shels enough credit though

That doesn't sound like him :eek: :rolleyes:

exile
13/07/2005, 9:29 PM
Really enjoyed the game. Even my mother enjoyed it. :confused:

have to say enjoyed it as well it still feels wierd though enjoying a match involving an el team from the comfort of your own home :eek:

13/07/2005, 9:31 PM
I thought Dolan was an arse, especially the post-match comments. We all know that given free reign Pat would spend his way to oblivion and has nearly managed it on a few occasions. So what if the Glens aren't a fulltime team? Try showing Roy Coyle your trophies Pat...

Its a fine line between informed analysis and preaching, and he danced right through that line.

He's like a chocolate cake, alright every once in a while but you get sick of it if you have it every week.

exile
13/07/2005, 9:35 PM
He's like a chocolate cake, alright every once in a while but you get sick of it if you have it every week.

and quote of the week goes too ................ :D

hamish
13/07/2005, 9:36 PM
I know I'm a bit slow but what was that crack he made about spam?? :confused:

13/07/2005, 9:41 PM
I would have thought Dolan himself was a living refutation of that principle.

exile
13/07/2005, 9:42 PM
I know I'm a bit slow but what was that crack he made about spam?? :confused:

Their was an advertising board saying spam on it , and whats with all these advertisment board's in the irish league having jesus on them, the one in portadown had jesus loves you ......... (insert witty remark here)

13/07/2005, 9:44 PM
I would have thought Dolan himself was a living refutation of that principle.

You are what you eat...so it just adds further credence

13/07/2005, 10:14 PM
Enjoyable enough game. Play was poor from both sides in the first quarter of the game with Shels dominating. Shels put some nice moves together in the latter part of the 1st half and should have been ahead. Glens were severely unimpressive. For the main part of the 2nd half Shels dominated and played some nice stuff carving out some nice chances. Great work by Crowe for the 1st goal. Winning the ball with his determination and bravey, drove forward strongly into the Glens end and picked out Byrne well who stuck it home perfectly. Also did well to win the peno perfectly placed and hit by Byrne. Disappointing to let Glens back into it. Was a well placed goal though. The referee was poor. I counted two red cards for Glens, the elbow and the peno (last man back). Shels were impressive, pity they have left the result so tight for next week. They really stepped it up compared to their performance against Pat's at Richmond. They should do it in Dublin but who knows? The Irish League sides did show in the Sentanta they can potentially take an eL side on their day no matter where the game is played.

hamish
13/07/2005, 10:16 PM
Their was an advertising board saying spam on it , and whats with all these advertisment board's in the irish league having jesus on them, the one in portadown had jesus loves you ......... (insert witty remark here)

I suppose that's how good the game was - I didn't notice any sideline adverts. I'll leave the witty remarks to your good self - I've suffered enough at the hands of you Corky Boys on Footie with your witticisms already. :D

Thanks exile for the info in any case. ;)

13/07/2005, 10:18 PM

I think I read here before that the Free Presbyterian Church is responsible for these.

Forza Glentoran
13/07/2005, 10:50 PM
Cracking game; fair dues to Glentoran for making a game of it for the last quarter of an hour, though the game should have been buried by then. Referee, incidentally, was appalling (again... :rolleyes: Wasn't it the same lad from the Ireland-Israel game last month?) - Glentoran should have had three red cards - one for the elbow, one for the penalty (last man) and one for McCallion for deliberate handball when he was already on a yellow (and Hoolihan was booked for the exact same thing just minutes before). Ref bottled it on every single occasion.

Why didn't Ndo come on? He played against us, which is a few weeks ago now, so he must be fully fit by now. He'd have been perfect for a game like that against tiring and demoralised part-timers - would have torn them apart.

Using your logic, Shels #15 should have been off, having attempted to con the ref on two separate occasions.

Also, there was a time towards the end of the first half, when the Glens were all over Shels, and had won a throw deep in Shels territory. In order to kill the obvious momentum we had generated by that point, Shels #3 decided to simply sit on the ground and demand treatment, rather than walk all of TWO YARDS to the sideline! Fair play to the official for catching on to his little game and telling him to get up.

Sadly, the poor fella was "unable" to, and allowed the game to be held up while the stretcher bearers were forced to make their way to him from the other side of the pitch, just to carry him that whole TWO YARDS!! He wasn't the only Shels player who seemed to have a problem staying on his feet either!

As for the game itself, there is no doubt Shels were better, and that we rode our luck at times. The reason for Shels superiority is quite clearly because of their match fitness. Had the Glens been at the same stage in our season, I believe we would have won, and fairly convincingly at that. No question, Shels are a good side, but by no means are they excellent. I would just love to see a game between our sides when we're both in the middle of our seasons.

Bottom line- this tie is far from over. If Shels think it's over, they have another thing coming.

13/07/2005, 10:53 PM
Also, there was a time towards the end of the first half, when the Glens were all over Shels, and had won a throw deep in Shels territory. In order to kill the obvious momentum we had generated by that point, Shels #3 decided to simply sit on the ground and demand treatment, rather than walk all of TWO YARDS to the sideline! Fair play to the official for catching on to his little game and telling him to get up.

Sadly, the poor fella was "unable" to, and allowed the game to be held up while the stretcher bearers were forced to make their way to him from the other side of the pitch, just to carry him that whole TWO YARDS!! He wasn't the only Shels player who seemed to have a problem staying on his feet either!

That "fella" was Crawley who I believe subsequently had to be taken off as he could not complete the game. I think he had been whacked by a tackle of one of your players a few mins earlier.

13/07/2005, 11:00 PM
If you think the only difference between the sides out their was merely fitness and had Glentoran been mid season they would have 'won, and fairly convincingly at that' you're fairly deluded. You played Longford in your season and would have lost on away goals, the time of the season starting wouldn't change a completley one sided game into a completley one sided game the other way, that's completley and totally daft.

Fitness helped, of course, but there was a hell of alot more between the sides than that.

13/07/2005, 11:06 PM
Wasn't there some Glens fan on here talking about how they were training intensely for the first half of the season?

exile
13/07/2005, 11:09 PM
they said on the box tonite that they came back for training 2 weeks ago mattews and dolan reckon that thats not good enough for a team hoping to progress

Forza Glentoran
13/07/2005, 11:09 PM
That "fella" was Crawley who I believe subsequently had to be taken off as he could not complete the game. I think he had been whacked by a tackle of one of your players a few mins earlier.

Part and parcel of the game, PS. Players often come off wosre when challenging for the ball. Not one of our players would be regarded as dirty, perhaps with the exception of Glendinning, who was absent tonight. As I said, Crawley was more than capable of walking, or even limping those two yards to the sidelines, but instead unsportingly sat on his @rse and held up the game.

13/07/2005, 11:11 PM
they said on the box tonite that they came back for training 2 weeks ago mattews and dolan reckon that thats not good enough for a team hoping to progress

I saw that but Glens actually came into it most in the last 10 minutes. The crucial period where inferior fitness should show you up most so I am wondering how poor is their fitness situation as I rememver a Glens fan talking about their training regime for this season in a progressive and positive light.

13/07/2005, 11:13 PM
Part and parcel of the game, PS. Players often come off wosre when challenging for the ball. Not one of our players would be regarded as dirty, perhaps with the exception of Glendinning, who was absent tonight. As I said, Crawley was more than capable of walking, or even limping those two yards to the sidelines, but instead unsportingly sat on his @rse and held up the game.

Forza, honestly neither you or I know what's wrong with him so we cannot say what he felt and whether he felt another step may aggravate things. I didn't think you were absolutely filthy or anything but you played hard and I think your two first half bookings and tackle on Crawley broke their best momentum of the match so far at that point.

Forza Glentoran
13/07/2005, 11:25 PM
If you think the only difference between the sides out their was merely fitness and had Glentoran been mid season they would have 'won, and fairly convincingly at that' you're fairly deluded. You played Longford in your season and would have lost on away goals, the time of the season starting wouldn't change a completley one sided game into a completley one sided game the other way, that's completley and totally daft.

Fitness helped, of course, but there was a hell of alot more between the sides than that.

Disagree completely, Slash. For a start, regarding the Longford scenario you refer to, the game at Flancare was played just 48 hours after our title decider with Linfield. So as you can imagine, our boys were barely recovering. As for me being deluded, pull the other one. Like I said, you are a good team, but no better than the top 3 sides up here when our season is in full swing. For God's sake, get over yourselves. Nice to see so many native americans at the Oval tonight, by the way. :D

13/07/2005, 11:32 PM
Disagree completely, Slash. For a start, regarding the Longford scenario you refer to, the game at Flancare was played just 48 hours after our title decider with Linfield. So as you can imagine, our boys were barely recovering. As for me being deluded, pull the other one. Like I said, you are a good team, but no better than the top 3 sides up here when our season is in full swing. For God's sake, get over yourselves. Nice to see so many native americans at the Oval tonight, by the way. :D

But in all fairness, I disagree completley. If you compare the leagues the only way to do it is Europe and our results are far better. Glentorans win in Europe last year was their first tie won in something like two decades (Correct me if I'm wrong there), compared to LOI sides that have won five champions league ties in five years and are favourites to make it six, along with a good few in other competitions in the same time (Frustratingly, mainly in the co-efficentless inter toto cup). Not all of those came with the advantage of summer fitness either. Shels, imo, completley dominated that match bar the last 10 minutes when we fell back, that is not just down to having played a few more games recently. You're side not be that much less fit than us, have you not been training one night a week for two weeks now?

Afterall, the time of the match when fitness should have counted, Glentoran had their only chances of the game.

Forza Glentoran
13/07/2005, 11:33 PM
Forza, honestly neither you or I know what's wrong with him so we cannot say what he felt and whether he felt another step may aggravate things. I didn't think you were absolutely filthy or anything but you played hard and I think your two first half bookings and tackle on Crawley broke their best momentum of the match so far at that point.

Well, PS, he looked perfectly fine as he walked around the sidelines, all the way back to the dugout after his antics.

I honestly think we did ok tonight, considering our lack of sharpness and fitness compared to Shels. We know we can score against them, even though, according to their fans, we were outclassed. How could we possibly have been, when all they could manage was 2-1?

Forza Glentoran
13/07/2005, 11:45 PM

But in all fairness, I disagree completley. If you compare the leagues the only way to do it is Europe and our results are far better. Glentorans win in Europe last year was their first tie won in something like two decades (Correct me if I'm wrong there), compared to LOI sides that have won five champions league ties in five years and are favourites to make it six, along with a good few in other competitions in the same time (Frustratingly, mainly in the co-efficentless inter toto cup). Not all of those came with the advantage of summer fitness either. Shels, imo, completley dominated that match bar the last 10 minutes when we fell back, that is not just down to having played a few more games recently. You're side not be that much less fit than us, have you not been training one night a week for two weeks now?

Afterall, the time of the match when fitness should have counted, Glentoran had their only chances of the game.

I reckon we've been training two nights a week, but we've had feck all match practice worth talking about, so we're all over the place. Things weren't helped by our Asst Manager leaving suddenly last week either. Fair enough, your league have had better success in Europe, but I disagree that summer fitness didn't help you to succeed. I think with summer football, we could succeed regularly in Europe.

13/07/2005, 11:55 PM
Summer football fitness helped, but the start of our improvement in Europe and run of results came with a few seasons of winter football. It's important but it isn't everything. I do agree that it does help though, if I was the IFA I'd be seriously considering it for your league too, it can only help in Europe.

14/07/2005, 12:01 AM
What about the lad that elbowed Hawkins in the face within the first few minutes? Surely thats "dirty"? :)

Forza Glentoran
14/07/2005, 12:14 AM
What about the lad that elbowed Hawkins in the face within the first few minutes? Surely thats "dirty"? :)

Actually, I don't believe in was an elbow. It appeared to me as a bit of a "coming together". There didn't appear to be anything violent, and if I know the incident to which you're referring, that was Parkhouse. He's a big lad, who is quite big and strong, but he's a bit clumsy when challenging for balls in the air. He's not dirty, by any stretch of the imagination.