First Division (all 19:45)
Shels v Wexford
Cork v Athlone
Cabo v Galway
UCD v Bray
Treaty v Cobh

sbgawa
30/08/2021, 11:29 AM
Big game for Rovers up in Finn Park against an in form Harps.
Chance for Pats to make up a bit of ground at home to Longford if Rovers dont sneak the 3 points off Harps.
Relegation 6 pointer ;) between Waterford and Dundalk is a huge game for both in terms of pushing up and away from the bottom.
Dundalk are 10 points off 4th place with two games in hand and need to start that run I've been talking about.....although after recent ..ahem .events.....a top 3 team winning the cup might not be the foregone conclusion it has become so 4th may be no good to anyone.

The first division is done and dusted bar the outside prospect of a Paul Doolin inspired Athlone sneaking into the playoffs, can they follow up on beating Galway last week by going to Cork and winning?? with UCD playing Bray a win for Athlone and a positive result in the UCD match would have Athlone 5 behind a playoff place....Doolin certainly believes he can do it

Bohs v Derry cancelled due to Derry international call ups, which means i guess that Rovers are down Pico to Cape Verde and Dundalk are down a couple as well

PartySaint
30/08/2021, 12:55 PM
Bohs v Derry cancelled due to Derry international call ups, which means i guess that Rovers are down Pico to Cape Verde and Dundalk are down a couple as well

Jaros called up to the Czech under 21s so he’s missing for Pats.

For our slim hopes of winning the league to stay alive we need Rovers to drop points before they come to Richmond in 3 weeks and we obviously need to win our next 2 games. A trip to Harps with a few injuries after a bad week, this will show us what Rovers are made of.

30/08/2021, 12:58 PM
with UCD playing Bray a win for Athlone and a positive result in the UCD match would have Athlone 5 behind a playoff place....Doolin certainly believes he can do it
It'd be just like Doolin to screw us over again... :rolleyes:

Two sides on good form lately, but we've a bad record against Bray the past few years, so not hugely confident.

PartySaint
01/09/2021, 11:49 AM
Pats just announced that we can have up to 2,500 at our game on Friday, 50% capacity. I'm sure it'll be the same for everyone this week. It will be great to see decent crowd numbers back across the league.

D24Saint
01/09/2021, 12:29 PM
Pats just announced that we can have up to 2,500 at our game on Friday, 50% capacity. I'm sure it'll be the same for everyone this week. It will be great to see decent crowd numbers back across the league.

That must mean that the requirement for social distancing is gone from events now.

01/09/2021, 1:32 PM
The wording is "Up to 50% (subject to appropriate protective measures including social distancing between groups, face masks etc)"
You can read the document here: https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/3361b-public-health-updates/ see "COVID-19: Reframing the Challenge, Continuing Our Recovery and Reconnecting"

SPXcyan
01/09/2021, 5:12 PM
Also 2500 allowed into the RSC, good to see such a potentially high crowd into the games this weekend.

Jack B
01/09/2021, 6:01 PM
With respect to Longford this is the kindest fixture we could have had given the mess we're in with absentees. Hopefully we've enough to pull through, added attendance should be a help.

01/09/2021, 8:57 PM
With respect to Longford this is the kindest fixture we could have had given the mess we're in with absentees. Hopefully we've enough to pull through, added attendance should be a help.

Ye will beat us easily Jack B we are an awful side to watch. Goodness knows when I will be in Inchicore again so heading up ,staying overnight and then going to Ireland game following day!

PartySaint
02/09/2021, 10:21 AM
Ye will beat us easily Jack B we are an awful side to watch. Goodness knows when I will be in Inchicore again so heading up ,staying overnight and then going to Ireland game following day!

We really struggled down in Cork on Friday with all the players missing, it looks like Bermo is out for this week now as well to add to

Jaros
Mountney
Desmond
Barrett
Benson
Smith

And god knows who else will randomly pick up a knock in training.

ToberonaTornado
02/09/2021, 10:57 AM
We really struggled down in Cork on Friday with all the players missing, it looks like Bermo is out for this week now as well to add to

Jaros
Mountney
Desmond
Barrett
Benson
Smith

And god knows who else will randomly pick up a knock in training.

Seen a photo of Mounts on a Pats page with him all tucked up on a sofa and the leg in plaster and reminds me of a lot of the times he was the same @ Dundalk.
The guy has absolutely no luck as far as injuries are concerned. :( really fine player at his best.

We have our own injury problems as we head into the weekend - no Garts,McMillan,McEleney,Kelly,Val(transfered).... and of course we have a couple away on international duty as well. Dundalk are really running on fumes at this stage.
Relegation type news about our squad.

PartySaint
02/09/2021, 11:11 AM
Seen a photo of Mounts on a Pats page with him all tucked up on a sofa and the leg in plaster and reminds me of a lot of the times he was the same @ Dundalk.
The guy has absolutely no luck as far as injuries are concerned. :( really fine player at his best.

He done his cruciate on that poxy pitch in Oriel Park, he has been great for us this season.

sbgawa
02/09/2021, 11:20 AM

We have our own injury problems as we head into the weekend - no Garts,McMillan,McEleney,Kelly,Val(transfered).... and of course we have a couple away on international duty as well. Dundalk are really running on fumes at this stage.
Relegation type news about our squad.

Duffy might be called up with the injuries but maybe a bit of old school loyalty to his former employer might get him left at home ....or join up Saturday morning as he would most likely be backup only anyway.

02/09/2021, 11:20 AM
Think we're missing Colm Whelan this weekend - he'll be in Dudelange, slightly appropriately. So that's a big blow for us in a big game.

ToberonaTornado
02/09/2021, 11:34 AM
Duffy might be called up with the injuries but maybe a bit of old school loyalty to his former employer might get him left at home ....or join up Saturday morning as he would most likely be backup only anyway.

Well Micheal Duffy has been on SK's radar a long time and the timing is......... unfortunate for Dundalk.If he get's called he'll go no doubt.Zahibo missing out could actually be an addition believe it or not.It's a huge game v Waterford for us and thankfully some can travel to support.

sbgawa
02/09/2021, 11:41 AM
Yes looking forward to the drive up to Ballybofey tomorrow

02/09/2021, 12:14 PM
He done his cruciate on that poxy pitch in Oriel Park, he has been great for us this season.

Moutney's injuries have more to do with the type of footballer he is with the physicality of his game. Biomechanics are a mess and he is still working on literally straightening himself out but at this stage it is what it is. Shows the importance of both a good medical and sports science set up at clubs and the need for youths, especially if in the elite category, to be assessed as soon as possible. The one and only good thing really about current artificial pitches is that it reduces the risk of ligament injuries with the reduced torsion caused by the turf IF the correct boots are worn and would be a very basic oversight if not. Muscular, Hip, back, arthritic type injuries are possibly a different story over time. Well maintained, watered, short cut grass pitches are always going to be preferred but a cabbage patch is a higher risk than even a poor fieldturf one so grass pitches should have as much scrutiny and rigorous testing.

Finlay Harp
02/09/2021, 1:20 PM
Forecast is dry and mild in Ballybofey tomorrow night. How are we supposed to play in that!

Calcio Jack
02/09/2021, 2:29 PM
Forecast is dry and mild in Ballybofey tomorrow night. How are we supposed to play in that!

Lopes is away playing in WCQ for Cape Verde so will be interesting to see will we play with any defenders or will Bradley finally have his dream come true and play a keeper and 10 midfielders

sbgawa
02/09/2021, 2:35 PM
So i make that Gannon as the only fit defender in the squad (assuming Cotter the new signing isn't fit given he hasn't played in months).
Even Ollie must be thinking "we have a chance here".

Back 5 of Gannon Gary O neill Murphy as the 3 CB's
Finn Greene as the wingbacks

1 defender 3 mid fielders and a striker as the back 5 what could go wrong

EAFC_rdfl
02/09/2021, 3:09 PM
Ollie will see that as more proof that Harps are terrible, teams now not even bothering to put out a defense against us. Be lucky to keep it to 10 shure.

Finlay Harp
02/09/2021, 4:01 PM
So i make that Gannon as the only fit defender in the squad (assuming Cotter the new signing isn't fit given he hasn't played in months).

Ollie will turn your negativity into positive negativity and our negativity in to negative negativity!

ToberonaTornado
02/09/2021, 4:50 PM
Awful signing from start to end. This guy...............:rolleyes::mad:

Dundalk head coach Vinny Perth has confirmed that Wilfried Zahibo is likely to miss the remainder of the season with a hip injury.

https://www.dundalkfc.com/lilywhites-dealt-zahibo-blow/

ToberonaTornado
02/09/2021, 4:52 PM
Awful signing from start to end. This guy...............:rolleyes::mad:

https://www.dundalkfc.com/lilywhites-dealt-zahibo-blow/

And a fcking bucket load of cash he'll bring with him as the highest paid player EVER in LOI!

joey B
02/09/2021, 5:07 PM
Waterford at 7/2 looks a decent bet with all the players Dundalk are missing…

littlebray
02/09/2021, 6:14 PM
Think we're missing Colm Whelan this weekend - he'll be in Dudelange, slightly appropriately. So that's a big blow for us in a big game.

Bray has Maher in Bosnia with the Ireland U21s, does that level the playing field?

02/09/2021, 6:18 PM
Oh that seems fair enough; yep.

Opposing First Division sides missing key players due to international callups - that can't have happened often!

Calcio Jack
02/09/2021, 6:56 PM

Finn is suspended

sbgawa
02/09/2021, 7:00 PM
For fecks sake.
Harps at 4 to 1 looks like a great bet at this rate.
I'll bring my boots

02/09/2021, 7:06 PM
If only ye had some sort of academy ye could dip into to promote a player to the first team.

02/09/2021, 7:16 PM
If only ye had some sort of academy ye could dip into to promote a player to the first team.

Or maybe a B Team. Perhaps they could play in the second tier?

sbgawa
02/09/2021, 7:16 PM
You will win nowt with kids.;)

But we do have plenty who might be about to get a chance to prove they can do it on a wet and windy Tuesday night in ballybofey......except on a friday

Finlay Harp
02/09/2021, 9:53 PM
You will win nowt with kids.;)

But we do have plenty who might be about to get a chance to prove they can do it on a wet and windy Tuesday night in ballybofey......except on a friday

Aye but the weathers to be ****e. Mild and dry.

littlebray
02/09/2021, 10:44 PM
Oh that seems fair enough; yep.

Opposing First Division sides missing key players due to international callups - that can't have happened often!

Oops, just saw the suspensions - a batch of 5YC this week. UCD lose Evan Weir, Bray lose Barnett, Clifford and Richie O'Farrell. Not so fair now, I fear.

2 Year Contract
03/09/2021, 12:37 PM
Speaking of suspensions, it must be good for the rest of the players in the league to know that they’ll only receive a 1 game ban with no additional games for punching an opponent in the face and likewise if they want to throw a coin into the stands (yes obviously it shouldn’t have been thrown at him in the first place before it’s said). Madness

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/danny-mandroiu-hit-with-one-match-ban-over-reaction-to-dublin-derby-abuse-40814618.html

Dalymountrower
03/09/2021, 12:50 PM
Speaking of suspensions, it must be good for the rest of the players in the league to know that they’ll only receive a 1 game ban with no additional games for punching an opponent in the face and likewise if they want to throw a coin into the stands (yes obviously it shouldn’t have been thrown at him in the first place before it’s said). Madness

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/danny-mandroiu-hit-with-one-match-ban-over-reaction-to-dublin-derby-abuse-40814618.html

Yep, expected 3 match ban for Kelly for the straight red, he will now miss the Maynooth game.

Didn`t expect anything for Mandriou. Ironically, the publicity surrounding Bohs writing to their fan base to tell them how unacceptable the chanting was , raised the publicity and the FAI must have thought they needed to be seen to react? Presume Bohs will get a fine too.

littlebray
03/09/2021, 2:39 PM
Didn`t expect anything for Mandriou.

Not the only one, it had to be added to the list which was then recirculated as an "Updated" with no details about Mandriou except that it was a "non-card offence".

Dalymountrower
03/09/2021, 2:59 PM
Not the only one, it had to be added to the list which was then recirculated as an "Updated" with no details about Mandriou except that it was a "non-card offence".

Given his temperment, probably the last time Mandriou will get to toss a coin on a football field.

placid casual
03/09/2021, 3:04 PM
How come kelly only got one match ban for a straight sending off-or is info rubbish as usual

sbgawa
03/09/2021, 3:20 PM
How come kelly only got one match ban for a straight sending off-or is info rubbish as usual

Usual anti Rovers bias from the FAI

Dalymountrower
03/09/2021, 3:30 PM
Usual anti Rovers bias from the FAI

Dermot Desmond must have curtailed his cigar supply to Abbotstown.

03/09/2021, 6:57 PM
Great start for us - 2-0 up on Bray and Doolin 2-0 down in Cork.

For anyone interested, the programme this month has features on when the LoI was postponed to avoid famine, the earliest known "Students Taught Lesson" headline, and a demolition job on a munitions factory. Available at https://t.co/bxsu3yiZ8E?amp=1

sbgawa
03/09/2021, 8:35 PM
Cotter been excellent tonight so far for Rovers.
Game could go either way here.

03/09/2021, 8:46 PM
Harps tryin to give a dig out though!

ger121
03/09/2021, 8:57 PM
Not been a good couple of weeks for Rovers.

sbgawa
03/09/2021, 8:57 PM
As expected we lose...on the bright side i got the score right in the predictions league 2-1 and backed Harps on Paddy Power at 4 to 1.
Big goal at the end for Waterford and good 3 points in the end for Pats.

Not been a good couple of weeks but been a good couple of years :)

wexfordned
03/09/2021, 9:02 PM
Harps tryin to give a dig out though!

Looking at that SRFC team this year it's depressing they're going to win the league. For a club to spending the money they are & put in such pis poor performances when it matters in Europe/cup is shocking. Even tonight you'd expect a reaction, but that was **** poor.

Bohs dropped too many points at the start as they had to build a team around a whole new forward line and Dundalk have just been embarrassing so they're giving to win the league almost by default.

EAFC_rdfl
03/09/2021, 9:12 PM
2 brilliant goals from Harps tonight, could easily be mistaken for barcelona in their pomp! How will Ollie put up with it!

sbgawa
03/09/2021, 9:13 PM
Looking at that SRFC team this year it's depressing they're going to win the league. For a club to spending the money they are & put in such pis poor performances when it matters in Europe/cup is shocking. Even tonight you'd expect a reaction, but that was **** poor.

Bohs dropped too many points at the start as they had to build a team around a whole new forward line and Dundalk have just been embarrassing so they're giving to win the league almost by default.

Not really fair on the spending money point, 600k for Scales, 150k for McEneff, another 200k for some Academy transfers, 250k for Bazunu Irish appearances so far 1.5m for Europe, Rovers will be making a serious profit this year and as been shown earlier in the season and now again our squad is thin enough not on a par in terms of depth with the DFC teams of 16/17/18.
I would expect us to strengthen in the off season.
You wont get any argument from Rovers fans that we aren't as good this year but we started off the season by losing our best two players from last year Byrne and McEneff, credit to Rovers Management for starting well from there and we've just sold probably our best player this year to Celtic.
I dont think the league is over yet we need to get some players back fit.
Bohs only 4 points behind Pats if they win their games in hand and have to play us twice more.
If Rovers win the league it will be because Bohs and Pats didn't finish the season well.
Its easy to slag off another team but who is going to step up and challenge a weakened Rovers