View Full Version : Games weekend 3rd September

Pages : 1 [2] 3

sbgawa
03/09/2021, 9:20 PM
2 brilliant goals from Harps tonight, could easily be mistaken for barcelona in their pomp! How will Ollie put up with it!

Harps deserved it , game could have gone either way, Gaffney hitting the post was unfortunate but then again Foley deflecting the ball in was equally unfortunate if not more so.
Harps looking very safe IMO very strong and good on the ball too.

wexfordned
03/09/2021, 9:28 PM
Not really fair on the spending money point, 600k for Scales, 150k for McEneff, another 200k for some Academy transfers, 250k for Bazunu Irish appearances so far 1.5m for Europe, Rovers will be making a serious profit this year and as been shown earlier in the season and now again our squad is thin enough not on a par in terms of depth with the DFC teams of 16/17/18.
I would expect us to strengthen in the off season.
You wont get any argument from Rovers fans that we aren't as good this year but we started off the season by losing our best two players from last year Byrne and McEneff, credit to Rovers Management for starting well from there and we've just sold probably our best player this year to Celtic.
I dont think the league is over yet we need to get some players back fit.
Bohs only 4 points behind Pats if they win their games in hand and have to play us twice more.
If Rovers win the league it will be because Bohs and Pats didn't finish the season well.
Its easy to slag off another team but who is going to step up and challenge a weakened Rovers

Even if Bohs win their games in hand they're too far behind SRFC (10 points) to catch them. Their early season form is the issue not current form.

Bradley's built a team of expensive veterans that have been found out in Europe/cup but stumbled through the league through everyone else's issues.

Franky I hope he stays in charge. He's a poor manager reliant on money to sign the best players/biggest squad so no one else can compete. I'd hate to think what a good manager would do with the budget SRFC have

sbgawa
03/09/2021, 9:36 PM
10 points behind with 12 matches to go and you have to play us twice.
You don't have much faith in Long and your team.
Easy to slag off other teams but can bohs step up or just whinge about how unfair the world is.
Rovers did it against Dundalk last year with probably half their budget.
I hope Long stays on too seems to like the comfort zone of handy excuses why he can't win anything :)

joey B
03/09/2021, 9:38 PM
2 good goals from us tonight where we took advantage of the absentees from Rovers.

they had a lot of the ball but struggled to create a lot of clear cut chances where we were clinical with ours,first win in 13 years over Rovers aswell….

DCSIL
03/09/2021, 9:41 PM
With our game off went to see Shelbourne comfortably see off Wexford 4-0. Not been to Tolka in a while but good crowd and having the loud fans in the Riverside worked.

03/09/2021, 9:41 PM
Mad finish in the Bowl - UCD 4-0 after 80 minutes, but Gary Shaw (who'd come on as a sub) got a hat-trick, including two in injury time to pull it back to 4-3. We'd missed a one-on-one at 4-1 which would have made things a lot neater. Our first win against Bray since beating them 4-3 in 2016, and our first league win since beating them 5-3 in 2014. So not unique in being a mad UCD-Bray game.

If we beat Cabo next week - we've a great record against them - we'd be going into the Waterford Cup game on five wins in a row. Waterford are favourites, but always nice to go into a Cup game on form.

sbgawa
03/09/2021, 9:42 PM
Harps looked threatening going forward , easy to see how they are on a six? Game winning streak

03/09/2021, 9:43 PM
Do we really have to play ten more games? Seems unnecessary. Fair play to the players though they are still giving all they have.

2 Year Contract
03/09/2021, 10:10 PM
Do we really have to play ten more games? Seems unnecessary. Fair play to the players though they are still giving all they have.

From a Pats fans perspective, for a decent chunk of the game Longford were quite well organised and pressed us very well but they couldn’t keep it up for the full 90. Attack wise they’re just so toothless, the first goal was a cracker of a free kick but that was the only shot they had until the second goal which was a last kick of the game consolation. It probably sums up longfords season that they were played through on goal by a pats back pass with 2 minutes to go, 3 attackers vs Paddy Barrett and they still ended up losing the ball which resulted in Pats going up the other end to finish the game through Darragh Burns lovely finish. Not to mention Billy Kings belter to open the scoring, some brilliant goals in the game.

03/09/2021, 10:28 PM
Yeah the lack of goals has been the single biggest issue. Williams has managed a few since he came in but there's no goal threat generally. That was unfortunately obvious from the time our squad was finalised in pre season. But if the club are living within their means, which as far as I know is the case, then that's preferable to spending money we don't have trying to stay up and probably still going down anyway. We'll regroup and go again in a year or two and maybe try and find some hidden gems next time!

CSAD
03/09/2021, 10:50 PM
Wonder will Rovers fans acknowledge that there are serious problems in their team now or will they continue to shout in their little echo chamber that everything is okay?

The best thing that could happen to Rovers is they don’t win the league as that will hopefully be what’s required for changes to be made at the top, Bradley is an extremely mediocre manager who gets his ass saved in the league because of the squad he has but gets exposed in Europe because he isn’t good enough quite frankly.

placid casual
03/09/2021, 11:21 PM
Deserved win for Harps tonight.
Great debut by Cotter for Rovers - let's hope he fares better than all the other signings this year(apart from Danny), who have veered between underwhelming (towell) and downright disastrous (gannon).
Max murphy still has a lot to improve on but as he's still young he gets a pass.

Irrespective of how the rest of the season unfolds this Rovers team needs 4 or 5 top quality signings, and the recent recruitment record dies not bode well.
Harps look a fine team, btw, playing decent football this season

The empty vessels surface as expected.

Finlay Harp
03/09/2021, 11:22 PM
Most satisfying

Jack B
03/09/2021, 11:35 PM
Up the Harps

ToberonaTornado
04/09/2021, 12:06 AM
Tim Clancy loaded both barrels and pulled the trigger regarding ref,Rob Harvey in v Sligo Rovers post-match interview.

The Drogheda United manager was speaking after Friday's 0-0 draw with Sligo.Drogheda United secured another point in their battle to avoid a relegation scrap after a largely forgettable 0-0 draw with Sligo Rovers at Head In The Game Park on Friday night.
The visitors had much the better of the opening period, but struggled to break down their hosts. Robbie McCourt's effort from distance stung the hands of David Odumosu, but chances were few and far between.
The second half continued in a similar fashion, although Drogheda were much improved after the break and went closest when Dan O'Reilly's header from Ronan Murray's corner came back off the crossbar.
However, the most notable event of the night occurred in the closing stages, when referee Rob Harvey - having been called to the Drogheda bench by fourth official Derek Tomney - showed Tim Clancy a yellow card.
Harvey had barely taken 10 paces back towards the action when he was again called by Tomney, and this time issued a red card to the Drogheda boss, who had just returned from a three-game ban.
Speaking to LMFM's David Sheehan after the game, Clancy made no attempt to hide his anger.

https://www.lmfm.ie/news/sport/im-thinking-about-walking-away-clancy/

04/09/2021, 12:07 AM
Irrespective of how the rest of the season unfolds this Rovers team needs 4 or 5 top quality signings, and the recent recruitment record dies not bode well.
Harps look a fine team, btw, playing decent football this season

The empty vessels surface as expected.

Now where has that been heard before? There's a few glasshouses that must be in bits about Tallaght! Gannon's form has been off for season and a half now. Trying to play him at wing-back didnt work at Dundalk and is an issue still when Rovers set up similarly. Shame really, but at least there is some security with his contract. Be happy to have him back at Dundalk now we've binned that rubbish system if Rovers persist and its not working. The expectation on Towell's impact was overdone in hoping he would be a band-aid for Byrne and McEneff. More games and he will improve as he probably isnt match sharp or settled in to a new team yet. Be interesting to hear how things panned out with Cotter considering it was a done deal with Dundalk. Have the type of contract offered by Bill done us again? We really could do without Harps showing any form.

ToberonaTornado
04/09/2021, 12:16 AM
If you cant beat the opposition shure take it out on the bogs:rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/IvanHarvey19/status/1433881040997715970

04/09/2021, 12:18 AM
Harps were very good tonight. Haven't seen as composed a performance from a Harps side in a long time. Gaffney hit the post, but that's about all the real chances Rovers had for the game.

Two super goals from Harps as well. On a great run of form now, hopefully it continues on as well. Could do with climbing the table a little more yet.

CorribsideSteve
04/09/2021, 12:23 AM
It's shocking to see Dundalk face the very real, ever-growing possibility that they'll be fully embroiled in a relegation play-off. They might have 2 games in hand,but I don't think that means anything, the way they are playing.

04/09/2021, 12:26 AM
Tim Clancy loaded both barrels and pulled the trigger regarding ref,Rob Harvey in v Sligo Rovers post-match interview.

https://www.lmfm.ie/news/sport/im-thinking-about-walking-away-clancy/

Is there any kind of league managers association here? They'd have their work cut out on Tim Clancy and Ollie issues but it is daft not to be able to use video evidence in an appeal be it on the pitch or sidelines. If there was an objection to a Go Pro in a technical area how will the refs react when they get mic'd up which will happen one day broadcast or not. Response to this will be interesting!

04/09/2021, 12:28 AM
It's shocking to see Dundalk face the very real, ever-growing possibility that they'll be fully embroiled in a relegation play-off. They might have 2 games in hand,but I don't think that means anything, the way they are playing.

https://thumbs.gfycat.com/LinearOfficialKudu-max-1mb.gif

CorribsideSteve
04/09/2021, 12:31 AM
O ye of little faith etc etc. But surely everyones wishing this season was over already up there. I would have felt. The cup is still up for grabs I suppose.

joey B
04/09/2021, 12:43 AM
Cork 7 unbeaten in the league now,just a couple too many draws for them to look at a play off,but maybe Healy finally has a foundation to build on for next season…

ontheotherhand
04/09/2021, 1:21 AM
Now where has that been heard before? There's a few glasshouses that must be in bits about Tallaght! Gannon's form has been off for season and a half now. Trying to play him at wing-back didnt work at Dundalk and is an issue still when Rovers set up similarly. Shame really, but at least there is some security with his contract. Be happy to have him back at Dundalk now we've binned that rubbish system if Rovers persist and its not working. The expectation on Towell's impact was overdone in hoping he would be a band-aid for Byrne and McEneff. More games and he will improve as he probably isnt match sharp or settled in to a new team yet. Be interesting to hear how things panned out with Cotter considering it was a done deal with Dundalk. Have the type of contract offered by Bill done us again? We really could do without Harps showing any form.

I think the idea was the Gannon just needed a new club to recapture his form or motivation. It hasn't panned out obviously but I wouldn't be putting the blame on him either. Our issue is the gaping holes missing where McEneff and Byrne played. I don't regret the signing even if he was poor enough for Dundalk before coming to us. We had Finn as an option there. That we are now left with Gannon playing another position he isn't good at (right sided CB) is just down to injuries. Gannon would be a sub otherwise.

I don't think anyone expected Towell to make up for both McEneff and Byrne's departure to be fair but he's certainly not made enough of an impact to cover even one of them so far. Outside of the run leading in the Europe where we were very good and he was key to what we did he's struggled to play the role being asked of him. Still early days as he came in mid season and we've been ropey all over the pitch. Cotter did look good and should replace Joey in the back 3 when (if) everyone is fit. Joey's done at this level sadly.

Fair play to Harps. Some run they are putting together.

What's the feeling in Dundalk on Perth now? I see a lot of Dundalk posters focusing on the Rovers mgmt team lately but do people up there feel Vinny is the man to eventually steady the ship or is he just a stopgap until Kenny returns or whatever the plan might be? It's bizarre for Dundalk to be where they are with the money spent and players available and you can't just blame FG or Bill can you? I don't know the ins and outs so I wouldn't go posting my hot take on it every week but the slide started under Vinny and seem to be continuing so what's the feeling up there? If Rovers did get rid of Bradley for being top of the league would Dundalk take him? Imagine what he'd do with twice the budget he already has.

And sad to see the toilet damaged in Ballybofey but good to see the repairs already paid for by proper hoops. A ban for whoever was involved should follow.

ToberonaTornado
04/09/2021, 2:55 AM
Dundalk were very lucky to get out of Waterford with a point despite playing well for about 60mins,faded badly as the 2nd wore on and the goal we conceded was calamitous.I would have taken your arm off for a point in this before a ball was kicked but was left feeling that me had missed an opportunity as Waterford were no shakes even for as bad as we were lets say.We were missing (i think) 8 key players due to injury or international call-ups.
Why VP decided to play Abibi instead of Yates(who debuted last week in our FAI cup match) is beyond me? He was very poor throughout the match,punched balls he should be catching and was largely culpable for the Waterford goal.Yates played well last week so hard to know why he was dropped to the subs bench for this one.
So despite us getting what i hoped we'd get out of the game i was disappointed that we ran out of steam at the end and allowed Waterford to sneak back in to the match. The usual players played well - Stanton,Patching,Dummigan,Boyle & even Hoban put a decent shift in despite not getting on the scoresheet.
Perth won't be at the club next year and With the help of god Peak6 won't be here either despite Vinny cheerleading for them AGAIN during the week saying(guessing and hoping i'd reckon) that they are committed to staying.

04/09/2021, 3:43 AM
What's the feeling in Dundalk on Perth now? I see a lot of Dundalk posters focusing on the Rovers mgmt team lately but do people up there feel Vinny is the man to eventually steady the ship or is he just a stopgap until Kenny returns or whatever the plan might be? It's bizarre for Dundalk to be where they are with the money spent and players available and you can't just blame FG or Bill can you? I don't know the ins and outs so I wouldn't go posting my hot take on it every week but the slide started under Vinny and seem to be continuing so what's the feeling up there? If Rovers did get rid of Bradley for being top of the league would Dundalk take him? Imagine what he'd do with twice the budget he already has.

And sad to see the toilet damaged in Ballybofey but good to see the repairs already paid for by proper hoops. A ban for whoever was involved should follow.

On Perth, there are so many different stories about what went on its hard to know, maybe a mix of a few things, but Id have no problem with him staying on if the dross in the squad are ousted. The biggest reason for poor performance starting when we were still champions (and a cup final) a few months previous, has to sit with the owners, board and how the chairman was allowed to call the shots on football affairs. He backed the wrong advisors eg agent over coaches and experienced LoI people. Its alleged that players agent drove a wedge between the chairman and those who had a notion and suggested that things were going astray. VP goes, FG is in but not able to veto some of the signings - ironic that he sent Patching off training on his own and then out on loan considering his form. Like most disasters a few things tend to converge rather than one ingle issue. If I were a player that was busting a gut and then one of the highest paid LoI contracts ever is given to new player who doesnt perform and while proven players are being given short contracts or reduced terms well Id not be too pleased and morale would take a hit. Too many new faces too quickly doesnt help either,

Bradley to Dundalk, no. Dundalk may have a bigger wage bill but Rovers are not in the bargain basement either. There may be some of the law of diminishing return involved where the calibre of player you'll get to play LoI wont differ hugely in ability within a certain range of budget. No need to spend anything like the money Dundalk are to top the league and also have some Euro progress anyway. If there is movement on contracts any time soon it will likely mean that owners and manager are there for 2022 and I think Perth can assemble a competitive side on better value for money even with a budget cut. We do need to see a couple of coaching appointments and some work on the pitch - will also indicate things settling down a bit. One very quiet chap at the moment is Jim Magilton, hopefully working away hard in the background on various things as he should have bar the managerial messing.

I wont miss P6 TT if they leave after the messing but only if there is a buyer. I'm no fair weather fan but I'd find it wearisome to go back to bucket collections if there was a fan takeover unless it was some hybrid model backed by someone with a few quid!!

trevy
04/09/2021, 5:29 AM
Is there any kind of league managers association here? They'd have their work cut out on Tim Clancy and Ollie issues but it is daft not to be able to use video evidence in an appeal be it on the pitch or sidelines. If there was an objection to a Go Pro in a technical area how will the refs react when they get mic'd up which will happen one day broadcast or not. Response to this will be interesting!

Marc Bircham spoke about this last week and said was going to try get the managers together to do something about the disciplinary system. Appealing wrong decisions seems to be a waste of time as FAI discipline decisions are never overturned and it costs 500 to make an appeal. It's crazy that video evidence can't be used in players or managers favour.

04/09/2021, 7:45 AM
I could understand not allowing video evidence when it may not have been available for all grounds, it was probably an FAI half baked attempt at keeping it a level playing field. With LoITV, its time to move things on a bit. Refs should want this and to be mic'd up with an appeals process. Not to be so short sighted (ahem) to think it would undermine them. Its gets them off the hook if they make a mistake and cards overturned post game. Results will stand but ye'd hope that they have some professional pride to want to improve standards.

SeanDrog
04/09/2021, 10:45 AM

It will be interesting to see how the powers that be react to this

Kiki Balboa
04/09/2021, 11:08 AM
It will be interesting to see how the powers that be react to this

Well a player only got one match ban for chucking a stone into a crowd.... so maybe it wont be that bad....

joey B
04/09/2021, 11:31 AM

Idiotic stuff that by a small minority,Rovers fans were exceptionally generous last year for our gofundme and the vast majority of them are embarrassed by that I’m sure….

El-Pietro
04/09/2021, 11:51 AM
Cork 7 unbeaten in the league now,just a couple too many draws for them to look at a play off,but maybe Healy finally has a foundation to build on for next season…
I missed last night's game due to hay fever and sneezing fits. Seems like it was a very good performance. We've left it too late for the playoffs but this recent run is promising for next season. Shels up next which will hopefully encourage fans to come out and will also be a good test to see if we're playing well or if we've been getting results against bad teams (though good performances against Pats and Sligo were mixed in).

04/09/2021, 12:16 PM
It's shaping up nicely in the FD behind Shels, who are very unlikely to let their lead slip now.

Cork are probably too far behind 5th place, and their run-in involves almost all the teams above them.

There's not a huge amount between Galway, UCD, Treaty, and Bray, though Galway are in the best form right now. Treaty, despite the final scoreline, were far from impressive last night.

sidewayspasser
04/09/2021, 12:16 PM
I missed last night's game due to hay fever and sneezing fits. Seems like it was a very good performance.
A very good first half, I'd say. Second half was more about seeing it out, although there were enough chances to add a fourth goal.
I hope we get some defenders back in time for the Shels match. Darragh Crowley had to play right back, which clearly wasn't his best position, and most of Athlone's attacks came down his side in the second half.

sullanefc
04/09/2021, 1:04 PM
It's shaping up nicely in the FD behind Shels, who are very unlikely to let their lead slip now.

Cork are probably too far behind 5th place, and their run-in involves almost all the teams above them.

A 36 game season would have been interesting.

City are 3rd in the half time table on soccerway, 5 pts of 1st and 12 pts clear of 4th.

We have lost a crazy amount of points from winning positions this year, late in games too.

Hopefully we will be a bit stronger in that department next year.

04/09/2021, 1:15 PM
A very good first half, I'd say. Second half was more about seeing it out, although there were enough chances to add a fourth goal.
I hope we get some defenders back in time for the Shels match. Darragh Crowley had to play right back, which clearly wasn't his best position, and most of Athlone's attacks came down his side in the second half.

I was also at the Cork game last night and would say this is a fair summation. The third goal was particularly lovely.

04/09/2021, 1:45 PM
O ye of little faith etc etc. But surely everyones wishing this season was over already up there. I would have felt. The cup is still up for grabs I suppose.

Well we have been relegated and won the cup in the same season before - unfortunate timing that season as what would have been a relegation play-off the season before was automatic relegation with the umpteenth tinkering with the league format (even before Galway DVD days:D). Twas also the switch to Summer football so we were the cup winners for only a bit of a year. I wont make any big claims on getting away from the relegation zone but even having to go through the play-off never mind relegation is a big fall from grace, almost up there with fake accounts, bogus license application, relegation, examinership and repossession of a ground lease or 2 (damn rough spell that was) so as is always the way for LoI clubs today's problems are relative so will pull the head out of the sand about November hopefully nicely midtable and maybe with the cup....

joey B
04/09/2021, 3:05 PM
Can anyone tell me why Anthony Wordsworth was suspended for 4 games? Just looking through the games from last night and noticed that because he scored….

04/09/2021, 3:24 PM
0-3 walkover to Dundalk, our luck is changing:) ,,,be some fun if he shouldnt have played and we end up in 8th spot a point ahead of Waterford!! Im sure there is a simple explanation, its not like LoI suspensions kick up problems!

sbgawa
04/09/2021, 3:25 PM
Can anyone tell me why Anthony Wordsworth was suspended for 4 games? Just looking through the games from last night and noticed that because he scored….
Punched 4 people in the head?

04/09/2021, 4:02 PM
Punched 4 people in the head?

Or threw 4 coins into the crowd. One of them was probably a €2. 🙂

04/09/2021, 8:01 PM
Probably don't get enough credit at Harps. Talk of a cow patch of a field..talk of Ollie Horgans 'style of football', last night was anything but.

6 wins from 6 in all competitions now. Started the season well, in a good run now..just a pity about the bit in the middle!

sbgawa
04/09/2021, 8:30 PM
What has made the difference Nigel recently?
With Rovers our bad spell earlier was down to simple numbers injured followed by 8 or 9 wins in a row when we got people back.
Was it the same for Harps or a change of tactics or something else?

04/09/2021, 8:37 PM
What has made the difference Nigel recently?
With Rovers our bad spell earlier was down to simple numbers injured followed by 8 or 9 wins in a row when we got people back.
Was it the same for Harps or a change of tactics or something else?

Awful run with injuries, couple of players left and new players brought in, confidence was totally shot. Any number of reasons really.

Sometimes you just need a win to lift the spirits and the FAI Cup win down in Limerick against Fairview Rangers, albeit in extra-time, seems to have given the players the lift they needed and was the catalyst for the revival.

Again, doesn't come into the discussion too often when people talk about the squads in the league, but the squad Harps have is too good to be looking at a relegation battle, and they know it themselves. Plenty of league and cup winners in there, no reason they shouldn't be further up the table.

sbgawa
04/09/2021, 8:53 PM
Awful run with injuries, couple of players left and new players brought in, confidence was totally shot. Any number of reasons really.

Sometimes you just need a win to lift the spirits and the FAI Cup win down in Limerick against Fairview Rangers, albeit in extra-time, seems to have given the players the lift they needed and was the catalyst for the revival.

Again, doesn't come into the discussion too often when people talk about the squads in the league, but the squad Harps have is too good to be looking at a relegation battle, and they know it themselves. Plenty of league and cup winners in there, no reason they shouldn't be further up the table.

agree with you here but i think for most people thye just assume "ah its Harps ...relegation battle"

Olander
04/09/2021, 9:31 PM
Probably don't get enough credit at Harps. Talk of a cow patch of a field..talk of Ollie Horgans 'style of football', last night was anything but.

6 wins from 6 in all competitions now. Started the season well, in a good run now..just a pity about the bit in the middle!
Not sure about that, I think Horgan gets plenty of praise, some of it unjustified at times IMO.

Let's call a spade a spade, Harps pitch is poor and has been for yonks. Harps are a physical side that play on the edge, I always laugh when I see their twitter (cringe) crying about how many bookings they receive in games. That's how Harps play, there's no point pretending otherwise and that poor aul Ollie Horgan is the victim of some sort of conspiracy. It comes from the top, and the way Ollie conducts himself on the sideline is embarrassing at times. Off the pitch, he is a gent, but he loses it far too often during games.

There is a bit of a narrative that Ollie is some sort of genius working off a shoestring budget. Harps have a competitive budget in Premier Division terms, nowhere near the top sides, but they're well able to bring in pros from the UK and Scotland, and they have done for some seasons.

This years squad is the most competitive squad Harps have assembled in years. There's some really good players and a really experienced backbone with the likes of Webster, Dunleavy (when fit), McNamee, McEleney etc. I find with Ollie he has a bit of a scattergun approach to signing players, anybody with a bit of LOI experience can be signed and there is a decent turnover, a good example of this would be Conor Barry, a player that is nowhere near the level Harps should be aiming for.

Ollie struck gold when he signed Owolabi this year, I saw bits and bobs of him in pre-season and he looked really impressive. It surprised me how slow Ollie was to introduce him but I suppose you have to acknowledge how well Adam Foley did early on in the season. Owolabi though will be a hot property in the off season, there's not many strikers like him in Ireland. Power, physically imposing, pace to burn, comfortable on both feet, has a bit of skill and can find the back of the net. He won't be short of offers from the UK and Ireland.

Harps could've made a push for Europe if they didn't have their annual mid-season meltdown, but they're on some run at the moment, so who knows. Ollie the messiah! Hopefully they can do it.

DCWA
04/09/2021, 9:57 PM
Owolabi though will be a hot property in the off season, there's not many strikers like him in Ireland. Power, physically imposing, pace to burn, comfortable on both feet, has a bit of skill and can find the back of the net. He won't be short of offers from the UK and Ireland.

Even at this early stage I will be surprised if he is not a Derry City player next year.

CorribsideSteve
04/09/2021, 10:24 PM
Well we have been relegated and won the cup in the same season before - unfortunate timing that season as what would have been a relegation play-off the season before was automatic relegation with the umpteenth tinkering with the league format (even before Galway DVD days:D). Twas also the switch to Summer football so we were the cup winners for only a bit of a year. I wont make any big claims on getting away from the relegation zone but even having to go through the play-off never mind relegation is a big fall from grace, almost up there with fake accounts, bogus license application, relegation, examinership and repossession of a ground lease or 2 (damn rough spell that was) so as is always the way for LoI clubs today's problems are relative so will pull the head out of the sand about November hopefully nicely midtable and maybe with the cup....

Galway will never live that down. Gluttonous Celtic Tiger wankery that the club is still in the shadows from. I do hope it's not a repeat of 2002 for ye. A Galway-Dundalk PO fixture would be some craic all the same.

thebronze14
05/09/2021, 1:51 PM

It's a weird aspect of Ollie's time at Harps. Practically every season we start well in first 5/6 games. Then go missing in the middle and pull it together in the the end.
14 We were top first few games but fell apart. Bit better near the end, culminating in a cup semi....

15 Looked like we would run away with the league, then allowed Wexford to take over. Finished strong to go up through the playoffs....

16. Started with victory over Derry and looked very composed at first in the league. Weathered a difficult spell in the middle but stayed up pretty comfortably in the end

17. An anomaly as we were poor all season and comfortably relegated

18. Started pretty well and then hit a rocky patch. An away win in Galway changed our season and we finished brilliantly to go up by the Playoff

19. Started well with good draws at home to Dundalk and away to Pats then went on a sickening run and couldn't buy a win or a point. Pulled a few decent results together and stayed up by Playoff

20. Before Covid we had got off to a good start, beating Sligo, 1 minute from beating Derry, a great performance down in Cork but then after the break we were abysmal before pulling it out of the fire with our late run

21. Great start to the season then the mid season slump, followed by a great run to get us on track.

Bar 2017 our seasons have had a similar trajectory. One result seems to change things like Bohs away last season, Getting past Fairview this season the turning point. Long way to go yet though

05/09/2021, 4:11 PM
Maybe has a Ollie fear of (league) heights and if Harps do to well too often he'd have to rewrite his post match relegation candidates talk. @Olander, He does shoot from the hip but I do think the ridiculously thin skinned refs have bought in to the Ollie ott reaction rep s and just pull out the cards if he complains much at all. He does play with a double edged sword though and isnt too pleased when Harps players are on the receiving end of Harps like physical tactics. I think he is shrewd and calculated too and takes the hits to take focus off things that are on the edge by his team on the pitch. That photo of him sitting in the stand, runners off and feet up on the back of the seat in front relaxing and still able to easily coach from there is iconic. That said Harps have been a long time evolving and there have been a few times that they look to be decent football sides but revert to type if under pressure - its hard to change the tendency for players to do what is most familiar when struggling. Finn Park would not be the place that teams generally hate to go to if it wasnt fo Ollie. Do Harps fans expect or want more though if it meant Ollie leaving?