View Full Version : Pink t-shirts on blokes... wrong or what?

30/06/2005, 3:54 PM
Now thats summer's been and gone, been noticing a serious increase in the amount of blokes wearing pink t-shirts and shirts. Am I showing my age, but in my day jeez id be laughed out of town if i even considered wearing one. So people, wrong or not? (unless your a Palermo FC fan or a cyclist for the T-Mobile team in the Tour de France)....

30/06/2005, 3:58 PM
pink shirts are a sign of management or that you want to become a manager. pa wears them all the time. :rolleyes:

pink tshirts are the new metrosexual thing to be wearing, its no longer gay but actually metro, and if you are metro you are cool :cool: :rolleyes:

i think it all evolved from the stupid indie look of the 90's to be honest. :rolleyes: :mad:

30/06/2005, 4:03 PM
Now thats summer's been and gone, been noticing a serious increase in the amount of blokes wearing pink t-shirts and shirts. Am I showing my age, but in my day jeez id be laughed out of town if i even considered wearing one. So people, wrong or not? (unless your a Palermo FC fan or a cyclist for the T-Mobile team in the Tour de France)....
IMHO, totally wrong unless your a hairdresser!

Babysis
30/06/2005, 4:03 PM
[QUOTE=paul_oshea]
pink tshirts are the new metrosexual thing to be wearing, its no longer gay but actually metro, and if you are metro you are cool :cool: :rolleyes:

QUOTE]

Spot with the metrosexual bit. As long as it doesnt have certain compnay names across the front of it I dont mind them. Some blokes can get away with it, some just cant. :D

30/06/2005, 4:06 PM
if you happen to be blond, it looks alright(ish) and you can kind of get away with it. but everyone seems to be wearing the colour right now, id look a spanner if i wore one! guess some people have the look! :rolleyes:

Drumcondra Red
30/06/2005, 4:07 PM
If you like the t-shirt wear it, who gives a f*ck about the colour, I think its worse that a thread was started on this topic!!!

So in my book fine!

30/06/2005, 4:08 PM
id look a spanner if i wore one!

ah pauro, you dont need to wear a pink tshirt to look like that :p

id say you would look well though with a blonde streak in your hair and a pink tshirt if you went back home. :D

30/06/2005, 4:11 PM
ah pauro, you dont need to wear a pink tshirt to look like that :p

id say you would look well though with a blonde streak in your hair and a pink tshirt if you went back home. :D

jeez the lads back home would think ive turned into a southern softy. :)

anto1208
30/06/2005, 4:12 PM
its just wrong plain wrong , the guys that wear them think it makes them look cool and stand out from the norm , but if you have to try that hard to be cool then you aint !!it shows a complete lack of imagineation when you just copy the trend .

pink shirts should go also this chicken run hair cut thats in fasion should get the door too . wearing wristbands because of the colour not to support a charity

30/06/2005, 5:15 PM
If you like the t-shirt wear it, who gives a f*ck about the colour, I think its worse that a thread was started on this topic!!!

So in my book fine!

He has a draw full of them

hamish
30/06/2005, 5:51 PM
You think that's bad - I bought two T shirts with a full jungle scene on the front and back - check out Sunshinejoy.com and clothing to see it. LOL :D

http://www.sunshinejoy.com

Look for African Rainforest - that's the one I have LOL :D

Click on clothing - it's the t shirt on the left.

30/06/2005, 6:05 PM
Personally I don't like them on guys, i suppose they can wear what they want, and anything goes these days. But it looks very gay to me, but sure some men's hairstyles look gay to me, i find it hard to tell the difference nowadays. If my boyfriend or any of my brothers were wearing a pink t-shirt, I would tell them it looks awful, and looks very gay, actually i've never seen them wear pink and if they ever do, they'll get stripped! :D Suppose it's cos i don't like pink myself, i never wear it, i prefer purple/green/brown/lilac/black/white. Pink, yuck! It's nice on some girls, but i think i am too white to wear pink.

So, my answer is, it's not wrong, but it looks bloody awful IMHO.... :eek: :eek:

hamish
30/06/2005, 7:23 PM
Personally I don't like them on guys, i suppose they can wear what they want, and anything goes these days. But it looks very gay to me, but sure some men's hairstyles look gay to me, i find it hard to tell the difference nowadays. If my boyfriend or any of my brothers were wearing a pink t-shirt, I would tell them it looks awful, and looks very gay, actually i've never seen them wear pink and if they ever do, they'll get stripped! :D Suppose it's cos i don't like pink myself, i never wear it, i prefer purple/green/brown/lilac/black/white. Pink, yuck! It's nice on some girls, but i think i am too white to wear pink.

So, my answer is, it's not wrong, but it looks bloody awful IMHO.... :eek: :eek:

Jeez I'm in real trouble so if you checked out my posted website above - I really do have the African Rainforest t short. Does that look gay KT? My sister thinks it makes me look like a molly LOL :D

Bosco
30/06/2005, 10:02 PM
Dont have any but have no problem with them,if girls can wear dark colours why cant lads wear bright colours?You have to be careful wearing them in certain parts of the country,where the locals aren't exactly metro lets say.I know a fella who got his nose broken for wearing one,having said that i also saw a fella in a pink t-shirt absolutely kill some culchie who taught he'd have a go

30/06/2005, 10:02 PM
I think pink shirts with tie are ok but pink t-shirts wouldn't be my thing.

01/07/2005, 7:59 AM
pink shirts are a sign of management or that you want to become a manager. pa wears them all the time. :rolleyes:

Paul, I think you'll find that I wear what I like.
Never once woke up in the morning and thought, 'I can't wear that. Paul wouldn't approve.'
It's only a colour on a garment, ffs. :rolleyes:

But it looks very gay to me, but sure some men's hairstyles look gay to me

You really need to get over the whole gay thing.
Men spent decades not taking care of their health and looks for fear people like you would accuse them of being gay.
The metrosexual male is here so get used to it.

01/07/2005, 8:06 AM
Pink T-shirts are gay imo. I expect to see people waving their gay tifo flags with them too.

Pink work shirts are for wánkers - or consultants if you want to give them their proper name. Also for dicks aka the HR Department...

01/07/2005, 8:10 AM
Pink work shirts are for wánkers - or consultants if you want to give them their proper name.

I'll recall that when I pull on a pink shirt next Monday morning and strut around like Gods gift.
Oh sorry, I forgot, this is London and only people like PAURO 7 actually give a shít! :rolleyes:

Babysis
01/07/2005, 8:25 AM
Quite a few of the lads in the office wear pink shirts/jumpers/T-shirts. think it comes down to the style and your confidence. They all look good in them :D It gets my vote :)

01/07/2005, 8:31 AM
I've no problem with it tbh - if they want to look like they're taking part in a Pride Parade, that's their look out. :D

Babysis
01/07/2005, 8:36 AM
I say fair play to fellas who wear what they like(especially if they look good ;) ).

Its an awful pity that some people still see it as Pink is for Girls, so a bloke wearing pink/looking after himself = Gay :rolleyes:

01/07/2005, 8:37 AM
I've no problem with it tbh - if they want to look like they're taking part in a Pride Parade

You clearly do have a problem with it!
I could start having a problem with people who don't make any effort with their appearance. :rolleyes:

01/07/2005, 8:37 AM
Pink tshirts/ shirts are gay :rolleyes:

01/07/2005, 8:39 AM
Pink t-shirts on men should be outlawed...soooooo wrong. In the good old days you'd have had the head kicked off you where I come from if you were caught wearing something like that :D

01/07/2005, 8:40 AM
Pink tshirts/ shirts are gay :rolleyes:

I think you'll find that inanimate garments don't have a sexuality of any kind! :rolleyes:
No run along and pull little girls pigtails in the playground... :rolleyes:

In the good old days you'd have had the head kicked off you where I come from if you were caught wearing something like that :D

Wonderful comment at a time when gay hate crime is rife in Ireland.
Well done on preserving the mind of the Neanderthal.

01/07/2005, 8:46 AM
prefer purple/green/brown/lilac/black/white

are you a hippy, with 10 different layers on?? :D

01/07/2005, 8:54 AM
i just want to add to macys first post, what i have against it is the image its contruse i.e. ****** aka consultants/managers/wannabee managers, I have found wherever I go that a person who wears it in an office or wherever is trying to stand out and be noticed, in an office noticted for teh obvious reasons of promotion etc. its loud, it stands out and shows a sort of strenght of character. that is what i have against pink shirts etc.

people would want to be care ful on teh gay thing, if someones gay let them off, each to their own.......just keep to "themsleves!" :D

01/07/2005, 8:55 AM

Chill out ffs it was a joke, did you not notice the big grin smilie at the end of the sentence from your lofty position on that high horse :rolleyes:

01/07/2005, 8:56 AM
You clearly do have a problem with it!
I could start having a problem with people who don't make any effort with their appearance. :rolleyes:
Not that much of a problem - I didn't start a thread on it.

How is wearing a pink T shirt suddenly the only way to make an effort with their appearance? It's the modern equivalent of a Loadsamoney T shirt - "everyone else has one, I must copy them"....

01/07/2005, 8:59 AM
How is wearing a pink T shirt suddenly the only way to make an effort with their appearance?

Pink t-shirts aren't the underlying issue here.

01/07/2005, 9:02 AM
It's only a colour on a garment, ffs. :rolleyes:

That kind of talk gets you into trouble wearing red & black jerseys :eek:

Babysis
01/07/2005, 9:06 AM
Its personal choice isnt it? I think its rubbish to stereotype people becasue they choose to wear a certain colour T-shirt :rolleyes:

It makes no sense at all. It sounds like a few of you have met a some arseholes who also happened to be wearing Pink T-shirts :eek:

Not everyone who wears pink is loud and looking to get ahead, nor are they gay :rolleyes: .

Chirst, its 2005, people should be able to dress any which way they like without being labeled with sterotypical views and assumptions.

I dont get it, Im not even going to try. :confused:

Come on you metrosexual fellas, bring on the pink T-shirts :D

01/07/2005, 9:07 AM
I think you'll find that inanimate garments don't have a sexuality of any kind! :rolleyes:
No run along and pull little girls pigtails in the playground... :rolleyes:

Jaysus Peadar what are ye bringing gay hate crime into the debate for :eek: . the thread was on what do people think about blokes wearing pink tshirts - and imo they look gay on blokes :rolleyes:

01/07/2005, 9:07 AM
Not everyone who wears pink is loud and looking to get ahead

i have a pink shirt and im wearing it now!!!hehe :D :D

...but i am cool though, so i can get away with it :cool:

Babysis
01/07/2005, 9:11 AM
i have a pink shirt and im wearing it now!!!hehe :D :D

I stand by everything I said above, except for where your concerned. In which case I agree that people who wear pink being loud etc :D

...but i am cool though, so i can get away with it :cool:

Im not even going to comment - you make it far to easy to slag you saying things like that :D

01/07/2005, 9:13 AM
That kind of talk gets you into trouble wearing red & black jerseys :eek:

That's not a bad point to bring up, Pete.
I've worn a Bohs shirt, Northern Ireland football shirt, Glasgow Rangers shirt, England rugby shirt etc. and the reaction of others has intrigued me.
It's as though they expected me to burst into flames or dissolve like a plastic doll in a bath of acid. It's so peculiar how people can be offended by a garment. It doesn't have a voice or a political opinion. We take offence to what it represents or it's associated with. That's understandable, to a certain degree, with badged sporting apparel but people here are taking offence to a colour!? :confused:
Perhaps some of you need to think about what it is that you're really finding offensive and why.

01/07/2005, 9:17 AM
Just because people think they look gay doesn't make them raging homophobes and gay bashers ffs. If I said it made them look like a woman would it be sexist too? :rolleyes:

01/07/2005, 9:19 AM
Perhaps some of you need to think about what it is that you're really finding offensive and why.
Who's offended? Only some reactionary trying to hard to be PC....

fosterdollar
01/07/2005, 9:22 AM
It's not pink, it's salmon...

01/07/2005, 9:27 AM
Only some reactionary trying to hard to be PC....

If you're referring to me then you're well wrong about me 'trying to hard to be PC.' I'm just being me. Someone who likes to wear what I like without having people saying that my clothes look gay. Can you read over your comments without thinking they're petty and sad?

Eire06
01/07/2005, 9:28 AM
I like them..
but they only suit a certain type..
Can't be really skinny or it just looks stupid

Usually only suit good looking boys :rolleyes:

01/07/2005, 9:32 AM
It's an opinion ffs. Some people think combats are naf, some people think flares are naf, some people think goth gear is naf, some people think pink tshirts look a wee bit gay on blokes (as macy said it aint gay bashing, its just that pink shirts looks a bit gay in some peoples opinions)

all this talk on it though, id nearly go out and buy one myself for the craic ;) !!!

01/07/2005, 9:40 AM
all this talk on it though, id nearly go out and buy one myself for the craic ;) !!!

Go on, I dare ya! :D
I'll want a picture though. ;)

01/07/2005, 9:51 AM
Go on, I dare ya! :D
I'll want a picture though. ;)

Actually, I'm just after remembering that I used to have a pink(ish) Nirvana tshirt when I was 16 :o

I must've been going through a bit of a ahem confused phase around then :D

01/07/2005, 10:09 AM
If you're referring to me then you're well wrong about me 'trying to hard to be PC.' I'm just being me. Someone who likes to wear what I like without having people saying that my clothes look gay. Can you read over your comments without thinking they're petty and sad?
It's just an opinion on pink t shirts. I don't see why anyone would take offence really.

01/07/2005, 10:11 AM
It doesn't have a voice or a political opinion.....We take offence to what it represents or it's associated with

ah but thats where the lines cross, you wear something as its something you are represented by or you are representing something by, therefore it does associate in general with a voice or a political opinion, as you are representing a following with a political opinion.

01/07/2005, 10:13 AM
I like them..Usually only suit good looking boys

you must be extremely attractive.

01/07/2005, 11:36 AM

Only metrosexuals think its cool to be metro ... everyone else knows its quite
gay. Being "metro" is just trying to cover up the fact that they're queer as a bottle of chips (i.m.o.)

01/07/2005, 11:37 AM
im not slagging off people who wear them, just wondering why all of a sudden they've become popular, i wouldnt take any offence over people wearing them, wear what ya like ..... for the record, i dont think anyone who wears them is gay, though it seems that wearing pink over here does make you popular with the ladies..... :(

Babysis
01/07/2005, 11:44 AM
[QUOTE=Ash]Only metrosexuals think its cool to be metro ... everyone else knows its quite gay

You cant include me in that statement, thanks :rolleyes: , I totally disagree with you.

Being "metro" is just trying to cover up the fact that they're queer as a bottle of chips (i.m.o.)

And again, I think your missing the point of the whole metrosexual thing.
The point is its a term for guys who are confident with their sexuality, so much so that they realise wearing pink wont make them gay :rolleyes:

Its you opinion, I just dont agree, but then I dont mind fellas wearing pink T-shirts :D