View Full Version : Hungary v Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 8th June 2021 - Friendly
08/06/2021, 7:24 PM
I like Horgan. Limited, but really really up for it. And in a more controlled way than McClean.
08/06/2021, 7:34 PM
Long ball has led to our better chances tonight, of which Duffy has played a few decent ones.
08/06/2021, 7:36 PM
Long ball has led to our better chances tonight, of which Duffy has played a few decent ones.
Not just long ball for the sake of it though. They’ve been measured long balls. It’s great to see a sensible mix of playing into the channels and building from the back.
We look slightly more likely to get a winner here now too.
08/06/2021, 7:39 PM
Playing some really intelligent stuff in the last 20 mins. Idah enjoying playing as a target man, getting a lot of joy. Knight has been excellent all game.
08/06/2021, 7:40 PM
Kelleher having a cracking game here. Far better display than Bazunu's appearances to date (who in fairness didn't do too much wrong tonight)
D24Saint
08/06/2021, 7:45 PM
Kelleher having a cracking game here. Far better display than Bazunu's appearances to date (who in fairness didn't do too much wrong tonight)
He has pulled off some lovely saves.
placid casual
08/06/2021, 7:48 PM
What game are you watching mate??
He pulled off one good save, same as Bazunu. Your agenda against him is farcical.
Kenny should be fired. Just for bringing on Collins with a few minutes to go.
08/06/2021, 7:50 PM
Tbf he's made 3, two of which were very good.
08/06/2021, 7:51 PM
So much better than Andorra it's crazy.
Comfortable defensively all night, a couple of decent saves made when they needed to be. Didn't offer a huge amount in attack, but still, a lot more solid all over the pitch.
Egan, McClean, Idah, Knight did well, as did both keepers when needed. Even Ogbene, if just for his few minutes, had a good attitude about him, just decided to run at them, go forward, take chances.
Hourihane was woeful in every way though.
08/06/2021, 7:51 PM
What game are you watching mate??
He pulled off one good save, same as Bazunu. Your agenda against him is farcical.
Ah would you stop. The save from the snap shot on the edge of the area. The two excellent tip-overs from close range. Another comfortable save or two from long range. Whichever way you look at it, it's far more than one good save, and with none of Bazunu's bad decisions giving heart palpitations.
NeverFeltBetter
08/06/2021, 7:53 PM
I guess that was alright? Was fully expecting a loss, but the defence played well and there was sections of decent play. But never really thought there was any chance of scoring at the other end, bar the crossbar. If they pull this off against Portugal in a few months I'll start to believe in Kenny again. Massive "if" that.
08/06/2021, 7:54 PM
Well its been a positive few days overall. Think we've got options in most positions with some established players to come back in. Not sure we've nailed down a central midfield but hopefully McCarthy is availabe in the autumn.
Comfortable defensively all night, a couple of decent saves made when they needed to be. Didn't offer a huge amount in attack, but still, a lot more solid all over the pitch.
Egan, McClean, Idah, Knight did well, as did both keepers when needed.
Yeah, I guess Hungary trying to play a bit helped us in a way. You look at the Andorra game and it was ten men behind the ball and the onus was on us to be creative, which is a weakness we're very much aware of. At least here we could hit on the counter a bit.
I'd still be concerned about the lack of a goal threat - and I fully agree on Hourihane and I'm not sure why he was in the team after Thursday to be honest - but look; it's three games unbeaten all of a sudden.
Next up - Portugal away though. Slightly different kettle of fish... Though I guess Kenny has bought that bit of time that a defeat in Portugal (unless it's a really bad one) can be overlooked, but then Azerbaijan and Serbia at home straight after are important ones to see if this is going anywhere, or if Hungary were just in pre-tournament mode.
Kelleher likes to make a save look good in fairness. Still don’t see a lot between himself and Bazunu, looks like they’ll both be on loan next season, whoever is starting and performing at the highest level should start for us.
Overall it’s a decent performance, the defensive solidity and looking dangerous from set pieces is exactly what we’ll need in September. Knight was man of the match for me, although to be fair to Duffy he really lifted his game too.
Great impact from Ogbene, thought he should have taken on the shot himself with the second chance but maybe felt he should have passed the first time and didn’t want to make the same mistake twice.
It’s definitely an improved performance and a sign that Kenny and the team are adapting and improving. Long may it continue.
Olé Olé
08/06/2021, 8:00 PM
Egan, McClean, Idah, Knight did well, as did both keepers when needed.
Would agree with this. Really thought Duffy and Doherty were good too. Kelleher looked great. Knight was very good in second half. Idah did well on scraps. Good effort from McClean.
I'm a bit disappointed that Kenny is none the wiser on midfield. Hourihane is not the answer. Cullen is one I like and I would keep. But are we playing a 6 and two 8s or two 6s and a 10 or two 6s and two 8 and a halves? I know that depends on the formation but when Hourihane is so bad two games in a row, it makes the problem bigger.
Cullen and McCarthy would almost be too conservative for me but would offer something more. Hendrick has been okay in patches. Knight didn't play down the middle much in these two games but he can do it.
I think we are okay at the back and Randolph will do fine until Kelleher or Bazunu is producing at a solid level. Robinson and Connolly are yet to come back for the forward line. Ogbene did well tonight. Idah and Horgan have been fine.
It's just midfield now that is frustrating me.
08/06/2021, 8:00 PM
Thought we were the better team and a number of good individual performances. Knight was the pick of our players, disappointing from Hourihane (again).
08/06/2021, 8:02 PM
Keepers did well.
Ogbene looked rapid. I’d like to see him get a few more minutes.
The wing back system made us more solid, 4-3-3 doesn’t suit us at all. If Idah can get a goal or two I really think he could kick on to the next level.
I think having fans in the ground helped our players. Probably got the blood going and meant concentration levels were higher. Geez it has been missed. Bloody weird seeing so many fans at a game.
Olé Olé
On the midfield, I would conclude that we should have given Knight more minutes in there. And use Knight and Cullen and pick your third choice depending on formation and opposition and fitness. Cullen and Knight and McCarthy would be sound.
Knight was brilliant again for me. He is such a good footballer. He would be so good in a side like Leeds I feel.
I like Horgan. Limited, but really really up for it. And in a more controlled way than McClean.
Undoubtedly biased but I wouldnt describe Horgan as limited, that cotrol on the chest and outside of the foot inside shows what he can do. He would worry defenders running at them and can shoot. McClean is limited, whole hearted, and is far from controlled lol. Its a while since Ive actually enjoyed a 45mins from Ireland. 60-80mins we played some very good football and some indcation of progress. Hungary are limited but will be interesting to see how the do over the next few weeks but considering where we were a nil nil is grand. Some good individual performances from the young lads that take some of the sting out of players retired. Idah ran the line well. Kelleher looks just nonchalant, composure and maturity, not taking away from Bazunu. He didnt have have loads to do but you wont have multiple heart attacks when the keeper nears the ball which is something Ive gotten used to the last while. Duffy had some great moments and badly needed for him!! All in all a lot more positives without losing the run of things.
The problem with playing teams like Andorra is their weakness almost becomes a strength.
With Hungary tonight most of that team you could make a case for playing in the premiership/championship and are the sort of players Irish players play week in week out. With Andorra would any of their players even get into the top 4 league’s in England? Very few if any, combined with them putting everyone behind the ball and us being so low on confidence and it’s a recipe for disaster.
08/06/2021, 8:03 PM
Thought we were the better team and a number of good individual performances. Knight was the pick of our players, disappointing from Hourihane (again).
Not sure if we were the better team; we were hanging on a bit in that second half while Hungary were generally fairly comfortable at the other end. 7 corners to 2; 15 shots to 5 (per livescore as I know those stats are quite variable) - stats aren't everything of course, but I think it's fair to say Hungary were creating more over the 90 minutes.
But away from home in front of a full house and we certainly looked better than in previous games. Let's take the positives while we can.
08/06/2021, 8:06 PM
Undoubtedly biased but I wouldnt describe Horgan as limited
Well he's playing at Wycombe, so I think it's fair to say there's a fair few players better than him!
I remember seeing him at Dundalk in the Euro run and my view was that he was a great winger with almost no end product at all. Was frustrating to watch at times. I think he's improved since, but still - Wycombe players haven't historically gotten in our squad for good reason :)
Eirambler
08/06/2021, 8:07 PM
I've watched every minute of every Ireland game since Kenny came in and, being brutally honest, not once have I seen anything to suggest that we're heading anywhere other than in the wrong direction - until that second half tonight.
It was raw, very much the early stage of a work in progress, but there was actually something there to work off moving forward.
We actually played with an approach and a game plan that suited us, there's no point trying to be something we're not, and these players are never going to be fast, technical, short passing footballers. They have ability, but we need to play in a way that suits what they can do, not what they can't do. I felt tonight in the second half we finally did that.
There's something there to build on, no question.
Trequartista20
08/06/2021, 8:08 PM
Decent, competitive performance. Our formation and shape suited the players and we mixed it up in terms of playing style quite well after some nervy moments early on in attempting to play it out from the back. McClean, Doherty and Knight, in particular, played well. Duffy was as solid as I've seen him in some time. Horgan made a positive impact from the bench again. Kelleher looked good when he came on and you'd have few worries starting him were Randolph unavailable.
Certain caveats apply but some reasonably encouraging signs this evening I think.
Olé Olé
08/06/2021, 8:09 PM
We probably say this a lot but Horgan is a chap who would have been better off on the continent. He has played under a few managers that like an agricultural side at club level.
Bielsa´s irish
08/06/2021, 8:09 PM
Well it was shown who is the keeper its Kelleher, thought Horgan did well, and that pass from Doherty to the center when they stop the ball to a worst back pass to duffy, those two passes were awful, fom doherty from a mid who puts Duffy under pressure inside the box, I like to play it footie but on the other end.
Horgan what a Litmanen pass near the end, he was the winner of these two matches, I loved the Doherty nutmeg tbh, Knight ok , Cullen started brightly and for the last 3 games he looks like the nephew of that hated Glenn Whelan's of autrefois.
ontheotherhand
08/06/2021, 8:12 PM
Everyone else: Great first half from Bazunu, great second half from Kelleher - we have some battle on our hands for the position now.
pineapple stu: I guess Bazunu didn't do too much wrong but MAN ALIVE that near post stop by Kelleher!
At least try to hide it stu. :)
Bazunu's save in the first half was worthy of more than a "didn't do too much wrong" rating all on it's own.
Decent performance considering we play two men down with Doherty and Hourihane on the field. Pretty clear at this point why Doherty wasn't getting a look in under successive Irish managers who must have seen what we can all see now - disinterest.
Horgan was the standout going forward after he came on. Some lovely quick thinking and passing to set Ogbene free in particular. Interesting to see him turn into the focal point in the final third.
Idah had his best game for us I thought. Held things up better than he has done and looked a bit sharper. We really need him to grow into the role because Collins is just so limited.
08/06/2021, 8:13 PM
Duffy being rehabilitated is a huge plus for us. We'll have our backs to the wall against Portugal, which will suit him.
I thought Kelleher did very well. The only reservation is that people talk about him being weaker under crosses, and I don't think he was really tested that way tonight. Bazunu had one good save and didn't do much wrong tonight either - all that comes to mind is one or two passes where I felt there were better options - but had less to do in his half.
I thought Idah looked much more comfortable than in his first caps. I'm more confident now that he's ready for this level. A goal or two would help though!
More experience for O'Shea, Knight, and Cullen, all useful.
The biggest negative is that we didn't score again; didn't much look like scoring either. Andorra doesn't count for much, and we looked toothless against them until they tired anyway. That said, Robinson and Connolly are big missing players. It'll remain a concern for a while, I expect.
I thought Hourihane and Doherty were poor again.
NeverFeltBetter
08/06/2021, 8:14 PM
I mean, when Andorra scored the other evening I thought we were looking at the team's lowest moment ever, a shameful exit for the manager, the side under a pall during a summer of searching for a new manager, all of that. So to be here a few days later with goals scored and a competitive performance against a higher ranked side, it's not nothing.
But there's a lot of hard prep work to be done ahead of the next three games. Is it reasonable to expect four points from those games? A win against Azerbaijan for sure, and a progression to at least a point against Serbia (and a free shot against Portugal, though that shouldn't mean we should be expecting a 6-1 smashing).
Olé Olé
08/06/2021, 8:16 PM
The thing about Idah is that he's only 20. He looks so composed and capable in that role at 20. I have such high hopes for him.
Bielsa´s irish
08/06/2021, 8:17 PM
U see when you play with a good keeper the whole team plays with more confidence
Razors left peg
08/06/2021, 8:17 PM
I enjoyed it, having the crowd there definitely made it much more watchable. We were decent, not brilliant but better that we had been recently.
Hourihane is what he is. Ive been banging this drum for ages now. He is a brutal footballer who hides from the ball. He looks pretty when he strikes the ball so people get fooled into thinking hes a good technical player. Im not sure hes capable of a forward pass. We looked better when he went off.
Has Idah filled out a bit? He looks like a big man out there and has a bit a pace, he could turn out to be an excellent player.
Overall Im still on the Kenny bandwagon. Hes made mistakes (continues to make them in picking Hourihane),but I still think in very difficult circumstances of trying to rebuild the squad during the last year with Covid we are on the right track.
We are in great shape for years to come in goals. I love the look of both Kelleher and Bazunu. Theres very little between them and we could have a great battle between them for the next 15 years
08/06/2021, 8:20 PM
Everyone else: Great first half from Bazunu, great second half from Kelleher - we have some battle on our hands for the position now.
pineapple stu: I guess Bazunu didn't do too much wrong but MAN ALIVE that near post stop by Kelleher!
At least try to hide it stu. :)
Bazunu's save in the first half was worthy of more than a "didn't do too much wrong" rating all on it's own.
Teensy bit harsh!
Bazunu's first-half save was good, but it was a nice height and had less power on it than some of the second half efforts. It was one you'd expect him to make. And I think that was about all he had to do?
The two stand-out saves for Kelleher were the tip-overs, not the snap-shot, though that was decent as well. But he was kept busy in the second half and came through it well.
For me, Kelleher was very composed and didn't come with the bad decision-making we've seen with Bazunu (again, not tonight, but in his other three games). Kelleher for me is the one to play in Portugal (if Randolph is out)
ontheotherhand
08/06/2021, 8:25 PM
Teensy bit harsh!
Bazunu's first-half save was good, but it was a nice height and had less power on it than some of the second half efforts. It was one you'd expect him to make. And I think that was about all he had to do?
The two stand-out saves for Kelleher were the tip-overs, not the snap-shot, though that was decent as well. But he was kept busy in the second half and came through it well.
For me, Kelleher was very composed and didn't come with the bad decision-making we've seen with Bazunu (again, not tonight, but in his other three games). Kelleher for me is the one to play in Portugal (if Randolph is out)
I'll have to rewatch it again. It's not always a good thing that a keeper had more to do / looked stretched. I thought both had good solid halves and that seems to be the sentiment shared across the interwebs.
Either way both look like they can become top keepers. It's a shame they are arriving on each others heels and can't play up front instead.
08/06/2021, 8:29 PM
The problem with playing teams like Andorra is their weakness almost becomes a strength.
With Hungary tonight most of that team you could make a case for playing in the premiership/championship and are the sort of players Irish players play week in week out. With Andorra would any of their players even get into the top 4 league’s in England? Very few if any, combined with them putting everyone behind the ball and us being so low on confidence and it’s a recipe for disaster.
Its a good point, even the weakest of sides are usually well coached and drilled and hard to break down even for the best of sides, and we are far off a good side yet. When we were ranked top 15 back in the day we had that horror draw in Lichtenstein. Teams can drag another side down (we may need to do it) but when they come out and play ye can compete by hitting on the break. If we had a Guardiola managing us people wouldnt whip up the hysteria and panic when a side is being developed. The unusual international circumstance have in a odd way probably saved SK's job with the early calls to pull the trigger. Any sort of decent showing v Portugal will be a proper benchmark of progress rather than the premature game against England eg - damaging more than helpful experience.
Thought was a very good second half performance. Much improved.
08/06/2021, 8:37 PM
I'll have to rewatch it again. It's not always a good thing that a keeper had more to do / looked stretched. I thought both had good solid halves and that seems to be the sentiment shared across the interwebs.
I think Bazunu certainly had a solid half - his first really solid game for us - but Kelleher was very good and I don't think ever really looked stretched. Just looked very assured. I know what you mean about it not necessarily being a good thing that a keeper is stretched, but I think Hungary just upped the tempo in the second half and created more (and in turn allowed us more chances on the break, which allowed us create more)
Agree if they both continue on their current trajectory that it's bad in a way that one will have to sit on the bench. But they've a long way to go in their careers yet of course.
08/06/2021, 8:37 PM
Not sure if we were the better team; we were hanging on a bit in that second half while Hungary were generally fairly comfortable at the other end. 7 corners to 2; 15 shots to 5 (per livescore as I know those stats are quite variable) - stats aren't everything of course, but I think it's fair to say Hungary were creating more over the 90 minutes.
But away from home in front of a full house and we certainly looked better than in previous games. Let's take the positives while we can.
BBC had it 17-5 and 60/40 possession. So we definitely weren't the better team. But we generally nullified them.
ontheotherhand
08/06/2021, 8:39 PM
I think Bazunu certainly had a solid half - his first really solid game for us - but Kelleher was very good and I don't think ever really looked stretched. Just looked very assured. I know what you mean about it not necessarily being a good thing that a keeper is stretched, but I think Hungary just upped the tempo in the second half and created more (and in turn allowed us more chances on the break, which allowed us create more)
Agree if they both continue on their current trajectory that it's bad in a way that one will have to sit on the bench. But they've a long way to go in their careers yet of course.
All fair.
Though if Bazunu is on such a dramatic trajectory of improvement why would you want to stop him? :)
Fairly happy with that and delighted with the clean sheet and the general comfort. I wasnt able to watch the second half in detail but caught most of the good and bad. Nothing to add to what has already been said by most but thought Kelleher was very impressive and is at least equal to Bazunu in my opinion. Ogbene was very impressive when he came on too.
Parrott and Hourihane well off the pace required. SK needs to drop Hourihane.
Olé Olé
08/06/2021, 8:45 PM
There's a huge pair of variables to factor into the goalkeeper decision equation. Where will Kelleher and Bazunu be next season? I reckon Kelleher will be number 2 at the Pool. Does Bazunu have enough in the bank to get a Championship move? Or maybe he finds a League One side near Manchester and trains a little with City, as was intended last season but for COVID. Otherwise, a foreign trip might be no harm to him. Belgium, the Netherlands and Spain have all welcomed plenty young City players.
RiffRaff
08/06/2021, 8:49 PM
The fact we had some youngsters playing was the only encouragement for me. Hungary are a poor side and we should have shown more attacking intent. I keep hearing we are moving towards a more attractive style of football but I will never understand why people like the idea of passing for passing sake apart from the chance to sing ole a few times. Put em under pressure!
08/06/2021, 8:52 PM
All fair.
Though if Bazunu is on such a dramatic trajectory of improvement why would you want to stop him? :)
Cos Kelleher is better of course!
Next season will be interesting for both. Will Bazunu get a loan deal higher than L1? He was dropped for the last two months and that won't be a good look to Championship clubs. Will Kelleher get a loan deal at all? He needs one and there's rumours he'll get one
Edit - Ole Ole read my mind :)
08/06/2021, 8:55 PM
Also, watch as Hungary get stuffed 4-0 by Portugal in the z Euros now...
Razors left peg
08/06/2021, 8:58 PM
Also, watch as Hungary get stuffed 4-0 by Portugal in the z Euros now...
They probably will, they arent a very good side. But from our point of view we were looking for signs of improvement over the last 2 games and I think we've seen some.
08/06/2021, 9:03 PM
Yeah, that's definitely true. I'm more confident now than last Wednesday. While still acknowledging it's a bloody weak Ireland team
D24Saint
08/06/2021, 9:06 PM
It was an improvement tonight. It’s a pity the performance against v Andorra wasn’t better as the week would have been a success for Kenny if it had been. It’s no point getting over excited but after the recent bad run you would have to take a bit of positivity out it.
08/06/2021, 9:07 PM
Well he's playing at Wycombe, so I think it's fair to say there's a fair few players better than him!
I remember seeing him at Dundalk in the Euro run and my view was that he was a great winger with almost no end product at all. Was frustrating to watch at times. I think he's improved since, but still - Wycombe players haven't historically gotten in our squad for good reason :)
We probably say this a lot but Horgan is a chap who would have been better off on the continent. He has played under a few managers that like an agricultural side at club level.
I agree and think this is an issue for him, he has often performed better in a rag tag international side than at club level. Wouldnt have had a hope in hell of being capped if it wasnt for SK knowing him and his potential. He isnt a kid any more but he is capable of a better standard than just being an energetic body to get in the way at Wycombe or Hibs. I dont really agree on the club European performances, he often stood out as a player that was going to climb levels, not wanting to cherry pick games but v Alkmaar the Dutch media had him as THE danger man and the Dutch know a thing or 2 about good wingers ;) Maybe he is most effective for Ireland as an impact sub to run at tired defenders, but in terms of his club career I wouldnt be at all surprised if he moved especially after relegation to L1. International performances put him in the shop window, he demonstrated quality technique with limited opportunity and he recognised and made a run that with some vision (by Idah I think) and a squarish ball in to his path he was one on one with the keeper. I'm not an official Horgan fans club but I do think that we have players that would thrive in less physical, agricultural leagues than in lower English or Scottish leagues. It would certainly feed in to Kenny's belief in how the game should be played - a lot of these lads just dont look comfortable with the time they have on the ball at International level which conversely makes them hesitant and lose possession. Less helter skelter style leagues on the continent would help or players at international style - why not La Liga 2 and still be in the national side than L2 in England. It should be encouraged to widen options away from the UK!
ontheotherhand
08/06/2021, 9:11 PM
Cos Kelleher is better of course!
Next season will be interesting for both. Will Bazunu get a loan deal higher than L1? He was dropped for the last two months and that won't be a good look to Championship clubs. Will Kelleher get a loan deal at all? He needs one and there's rumours he'll get one
Edit - Ole Ole read my mind :)
I wouldn't be too worried about Bazunu being dropped towards the end of a loan to be honest. Barry-Murphy said he needed a rest but I'd say it was as much to do with seeing what Lynch had to offer in preparation for the next season. The club is now up for sale as well. Probably half thinking of who they could put in the shop window and Bazunu wasn't going to be an option for them moving forward.
Hopefully they both get their loans. Is it better to go to a club like Rochdale where you're going to be exposed every week or go learn how to be a cog in a better defensive unit?
Razors left peg
08/06/2021, 9:12 PM
Yeah, that's definitely true. I'm more confident now than last Wednesday. While still acknowledging it's a bloody weak Ireland team
It is a weak team, and would be under any manager at the moment, but at least we have positives in the young players we have. Parrott, Idah, Knight, O'Shea, Molumby, Bazunu and Kelleher have all looked pretty good in the last week. If we were in this scenario with a bunch of 30 somethings with nothing on the horizon I'd be worried.
We have a ways to go but I genuinely think we will be a very good side in the next few years.