View Full Version : Roll call for Cyprus /IRELAND GAME
Thunderblaster
03/07/2005, 9:59 PM
I think that Celtic Horizons is quoting something like €837 for five days. Definitely will be hitting the island.
03/07/2005, 10:10 PM
I think that Celtic Horizons is quoting something like €837 for five days. Definitely will be hitting the island.
That's extortionate!
04/07/2005, 12:07 AM
:eek: That'd be getting the arse ripped out of you altogether, you can get cheaper than that no problemo!! :eek: :confused: :rolleyes: :eek:
Beavis
04/07/2005, 10:32 PM
We're going from the 2nd .....
Any oul excuse :rolleyes:
horney
05/07/2005, 1:39 AM
im going and bringing 3 away game virgins
jesus arent 747 charging some price 1700 euro for 4 nights i got 4 nights with thomson for 450 including ryanair to london
horney
05/07/2005, 1:41 AM
green army girl must be mad giving 747 1700 euro for 4 nights
im going and bringing 3 away game virgins
jesus arent 747 charging some price 1700 euro for 4 nights i got 4 nights with thomson for 450 including ryanair to london
So you won't be having Galway Brian from Mayo with you this time. :eek:
SuperSaints
06/07/2005, 8:55 AM
I'm going with 4 others.
Seamuslawless
06/07/2005, 9:51 AM
22 of us booked in, all heading over together. Going from Thursday to Monday, staying in Limassol. Can't wait, should be some craic! :)
06/07/2005, 10:37 AM
When trying to organise a group, you just have to put up with the indecisiveness, although it ends up costing you money because while your mates are trying to make up their minds, the flights and packages are going up in price......I used to have this problem but now I just book my own as soon as one other person agrees to go, the rest can do what they like then - usually they end up going anyway.
I've booked with Global Travel for €599 with another mate, three more probably going as well. chose Global because at this stage booking your own flights, own apartment and paying for your own transfers works out just as expensive. Those packages on icelolly.com look good, but I doubt that those are the total prices. After taxes, insurance and transfers those packages mightn't look so good!
BTW, I have relatives in Cyprus and they told me that Ayia Napa in October will be half closed up, may even resemble a ghost town :eek: , as it is primarily a clubbing resort and October is well out of season. Paphos on the other hand is an all year round resort and the bars will be buzzing in October i'm told. Larnaca is kind of in between the two then. So it's a week in Paphos for me :D
Cheers gonna book with Global travel as well, heard ayia napa is the better place but as you say thats prob not the case during oct.
Is it true that cyprus is as expensive as here?
michaelguineys
06/07/2005, 1:34 PM
22 of us goin with global travel too, stayin in paphos.
Cant wait, gonna be sum laugh!
Been to ayia napa twice and it is savage expensive.
As expensive as here, if not more so.
Bottles of smirnoff ice were £4 cypriot pounds last yr which is €8. F eckin rip off!!!
4tothefloor
06/07/2005, 7:12 PM
Cheers gonna book with Global travel as well, heard ayia napa is the better place but as you say thats prob not the case during oct.
Is it true that cyprus is as expensive as here?
Yup Cyprus is a complete rip off. Whatever you intended to bring in spending money, you'll need to double it.....That's why Green Army Girl must be mad, €1700 just to go, spending money on top of that :eek:
BTW lads, anyone know if the week long Global Travel package includes match tickets??
horney
07/07/2005, 12:00 AM
ill get him there dont worry if he forgets about the norwiegen bird ......cant have an away without the the galway tricolour
its the only way my bird will let me go to ayia nappa.............
horney
07/07/2005, 12:03 AM
ill get him there if he forgets about the norwiegen bird ayia nappa here we come...............
So I take it he's given up the idea of being a fisherman :D
Me + 7 booked in (I've already bagsed the double bed ;) ).
7 stragglers also managed to scab their way in on our trip. They are sleeping on the floor if I have to go up & turf them out of those beds myself..... :D
SuperDub
11/07/2005, 10:52 PM
Me and 3 other travelling companions going out wednesday back monday. Staying in limossol
Babysis
12/07/2005, 11:17 AM
You will probably need to edit that list, as I doubt Im going to go now.
12/07/2005, 10:06 PM
You will probably need to edit that list, as I doubt Im going to go now.
:mad: :mad: :eek: Pourquoi ma cherie? :D
Sorry. ignore me, I'm a nosy witch :D
horney
12/07/2005, 11:20 PM
So I take it he's given up the idea of being a fisherman :D
yeah two many whale burgers and black sheep
Babysis
13/07/2005, 8:49 AM
:mad: :mad: :eek: Pourquoi ma cherie? :D
Sorry. ignore me, I'm a nosy witch :D
No its cool. there are a few things going on with family etc, which means i will need my holiday allowance from work for other days off - so probably wont be able to go to Cyprus.
13/07/2005, 10:07 PM
No its cool. there are a few things going on with family etc, which means i will need my holiday allowance from work for other days off - so probably wont be able to go to Cyprus.
aahh! :(
Babysis
14/07/2005, 10:40 AM
aahh! :(
Its cool, these things happen and they are more important than a game of football. Im sure you lot will have a great time without me :)
Saint Tom
14/07/2005, 9:37 PM
Its cool, these things happen and they are more important than a game of football.
Take it back!
rodoman
14/07/2005, 10:22 PM
20 of us going from Waterford, staying in Phapos €547, booked it last oct
Babysis
15/07/2005, 9:02 AM
Take it back!
I wish i could. im working on going, but i think realistically it wont happen. :(
Cyprus will be a laugh.
Saint Tom
15/07/2005, 8:43 PM
I was kidding babysis, dont mind me
Babysis
15/07/2005, 9:26 PM
I was kidding babysis, dont mind me
oh no, I knew you were, dont worry :) Im just gutted Im not going :(
Dawn_Run
19/07/2005, 9:21 AM
Anyone looking for Cyprus deals..... Just saw an ad on hte back of the indo for Saltterys (http://www.slatterys.com). €799 for 7 nights.
GK for the Town
19/07/2005, 3:07 PM
Is anybody going with Abbey Travel, i think its around the €800 for 7 nites in Aiya Napa ? Still havent got anything booked yet, Gotta get my ass into gear though. Some of the mates are a little put off the idea cause it'd be too expensive. I dont mind either 4 days or 7. Preferably Dublin Airport.
NOLANone
19/07/2005, 6:08 PM
Staying in Ayia Napa, 7 nights self catering, booked it ourselves. Depart Belfast 2nd Oct, return 9th/10th, cost £350, including Belfast to Heathrow flights, but no coach transfers from airport to apartments or apartments to the match in Nicosia (and hopefully back sometime before our flight leaves, if we've stopped celebrating that is.)
Anyone know if it will be difficult to arrange mini-buses for these journeys?
Should we attempt to book transport before leaving Ireland?
From experience, anyone know if it's likely that some of the local bars in Ayia Napa will organise buses from Ayia Napa to the match in Nicosia and back after?
19/07/2005, 6:26 PM
Jaysus! Ayia Napa won't know what has hit it! Armagh invasion!! :eek: :D I'd say there'll be loads of buses running from the pubs to the game and back Nolan, don't know about transport from airport though, maybe hire a mini van or 2.... :confused:
NOLANone
19/07/2005, 8:44 PM
Thanks for the advice Kerr's Tribe, I'll pass it on to the rest of the boys. Some of the away trip virgins were getting a bit nervous about travel arrangements and since I'm one of our trip organisers just thought I'd ask for advice.
The last trip the club ran was Malta, years and years ago, which was a fantastic trip, see the pair of belly-dancers for details! So the pressure's on me to pull off, sorry bad choice of words, to better that memorable night. Any ideas as to what would help 15 men, mostly married/courting, to remember their week in Cyprus? :rolleyes: 3-0 to Ireland doesn't count!
19/07/2005, 10:37 PM
Thanks for the advice Kerr's Tribe, I'll pass it on to the rest of the boys. Some of the away trip virgins were getting a bit nervous about travel arrangements and since I'm one of our trip organisers just thought I'd ask for advice.
The last trip the club ran was Malta, years and years ago, which was a fantastic trip, see the pair of belly-dancers for details! So the pressure's on me to pull off, sorry bad choice of words, to better that memorable night. Any ideas as to what would help 15 men, mostly married/courting, to remember their week in Cyprus? :rolleyes: 3-0 to Ireland doesn't count!
:D How about some of this, if they can be persuaded away from the DRINNK!
Ayia Napa (http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Europe/Cyprus/Famagusta_District/Ayia_Napa-394703/Off_the_Beaten_Path-Ayia_Napa-BR-1.html)
also might help (http://forum.virtualtourist.com/2/forum-417-1-Travel-Cyprus--forum.html?wosid=Sa4PzUu93UMbMalsJI0Ocw)
I'd say, if u have time hire a mini-van or two and head up to the mountains for a day or 2. Food is meant to be great in tavernas off the beaten track :)
4tothefloor
19/07/2005, 11:25 PM
courting
Is it still called that up there? :eek: :D
GK for the Town
20/07/2005, 9:15 AM
we have 12 seats left dub-gatwick-paphos at €599 per person staying 7 nights self catering at mayfair apts price includes taxes and transfers to/from hotel. www.globaltravelrugeley.com
steve.
ps 20 seats left cork-gatwick-paphos :o
Cheers for that. Is there any 4 nites from Dublin places available ? It says on the site "Flying Dublin Cork to Larnaca via UK"
supasparx
20/07/2005, 4:43 PM
Staying in Ayia Napa, 7 nights self catering, booked it ourselves. Depart Belfast 2nd Oct, return 9th/10th, cost £350, including Belfast to Heathrow flights, but no coach transfers from airport to apartments or apartments to the match in Nicosia (and hopefully back sometime before our flight leaves, if we've stopped celebrating that is.)
Anyone know if it will be difficult to arrange mini-buses for these journeys?
Should we attempt to book transport before leaving Ireland?
From experience, anyone know if it's likely that some of the local bars in Ayia Napa will organise buses from Ayia Napa to the match in Nicosia and back after?
I lived in Cyprus early 90's, and seem to remember that all the towns and large villages ran what were called ' service taxis '. These were stretch Mercedes cars that ran between all towns and villages at set times, which were shared by anyone needing to travel. These were very cheap, although the driving was awful. :eek:
Think a few bars will be arranging coachs, dont hold me to this but expect them to be; The Bhoys Bar, Finnegans Bar (Ayia Napa): The Step Inn (Limassol): Jaggy Thistle (Paphos).
The fella who owned The Step Inn ( Stellios) is sound. Married to an Irishwoman (for his sins) :D and worked in The Tree of Idleness greek restaurant in Bray Co. Wicklow a few years back. Not sure if he still has it tho
NOLANone
20/07/2005, 10:26 PM
Cheers Supasparx, :D that's good info and one less thing for me to worry about! :)
keenanboy
20/07/2005, 10:30 PM
15 of us going here. Lufthansa to larnaca via frankfurt. 1 week. 7 bed villa called 'where god's live' in paphos. Yeah baby!
Saint Tom
24/07/2005, 12:42 PM
i met the guy who owns the bhoys bar through work a few times and he reckons they will be running coaches. Nicosia is about an hour from ayia napa so a taxi between four wouldnt cost a fortune either
Sligo Hornet
24/07/2005, 4:03 PM
Me my son, Adam ( The Blob ), sister in law Sue and a fat Russian!!.....staying in Protaras for 7 nights
01/08/2005, 11:24 AM
I'm confirmed. Dublin-Budapest-Athens-Larnaca and back! :eek:
Coming in on the Thursday evening and leaving Monday morning.