View Full Version : Matches weekend 14th to 15th May
Jack B
14/05/2021, 7:34 PM
Can't do much about either goal there. Jaysus.
Straightstory
14/05/2021, 7:36 PM
Great free kick by Dane Massey. Wonder strike by Mark Doyle. Pats in trouble.
D24Saint
14/05/2021, 7:41 PM
Well fiddlesticks that was unexpected. Its looking a big ask to get anything from the game now.
SeanDrog
14/05/2021, 8:43 PM
We are now fourth in the table .... bleedin hell .... come on Drogs
What a result Drogs 3-1 Pats
2 Year Contract
14/05/2021, 9:25 PM
2 brilliant strikes to put Drogheda 2 up gave pats a huge uphill battle. Pats gave it a go second half but Drogs were very well organised and all worked their socks off which made it very hard for pats to find any space. Well worth the 3 points, fair play
CraftyToePoke
14/05/2021, 9:30 PM
Saw it out in Limerick, nice solid one nil home win, soaked up a bit of pressure but held on. After the rollercoasting yoyoing goal swapping madness of recent games this was needed.
sbgawa
14/05/2021, 9:38 PM
Tommy Barret is doing a great job, hopefully when crowds are allowed back in the limerick people comeout and back him.
New club no POS legacy, something to build on
da bishop
14/05/2021, 9:44 PM
Treaty bandwagon rolls on ,good deserved win ,Athlone huffed and puffed but that about it.
CraftyToePoke
14/05/2021, 10:01 PM
Tommy Barret is doing a great job, hopefully when crowds are allowed back in the limerick people comeout and back him.
New club no POS legacy, something to build on
Ah yeah, delighted for him. Don't think he ever really got a clear run at it under the previous regime without crumbling chaos and dysfunction all around the playing side, budget slashed mid season, uncertain pre season etc. And even this season he had a short runway to put a squad together and hardly any prep time with them after the club were admitted. I really hope he gets a few seasons of stability behind the scenes, time to build without the madness, to see what's in him as a manager as he has the makings of a decent one I think.
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 7:53 AM
fair result 1-1 in the end.
Harps better first half , Dundalk on top in second half.
With a bit of luck we'd have won but c'est la vie and we were total and absolute rubbish in the first half so draw prob right result.
The press are fairly coming for Dundalk,i see former Dundalk cheerleader, Dan having a go again this morning.
EDIT = https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/costly-calls-raise-fears-for-dundalk-as-fan-anger-intensifies-40428674.html
He's put that on premium for some reason!
SeanDrog
15/05/2021, 8:03 AM
I don’t think Dundalk are as bad as ppl are making out - they are making chances and have actually been unlucky in many games. If they get the right manager and bring focus I think they could rise very quickly.
Watched the last 30 mins of Drogs - Pats, impressive from Drogs. They'll be fine and look confident.
Not expecting anything from Tallaght tonight.
Finlay Harp
15/05/2021, 8:43 AM
I think if Rovers win tonight, they’ve one hand on the league trophy already.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/05/2021, 8:55 AM
There’ll be no title race again this season. Well clear already and Towell to come in.
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 8:56 AM
There's Johnny Ward back on the sniff again! :rolleyes::p;)
15/05/2021, 9:15 AM
He's not wrong though. Win tonight and they'd be 7 points clear after 11 games, just 4 points dropped all season, best defence and attack in the league (if you ignore Drogheda's 7-0 win against an U19 team), no-one really showing the consistency to keep up - indeed no-one able to beat them in the league in almost a full season - and as Nah Nah notes, Towell to come in. It's a fairly ominous picture for everyone else.
Finlay Harp
15/05/2021, 9:32 AM
You could go one better and say that if Rovers beat Dundalk next week then Dundalk might struggle to get Europe through a league position.
I know it’s early in the season but it’s a league this year that’s dog eat dog. I can see a team not normally in the mix doing something out of the ordinary.
15/05/2021, 9:39 AM
It's funny to see the contrasting views on Harps/Dundalk last night.
For Dundalk fans, they were just crap in the first half, and better second half.
For me, I thought Harps were excellent in the first half. Set up well, pressed high and gave Dundalk no time on the ball, played some neat football, and probably should have had more than just the one goal.
Second half, we sat back, didn't come out with the same intensity at all, and allowed Dundalk a chance to get back into the game. Probably lucky not to concede another as well, but a draw was undoubtedly a fair reflection of the game.
15/05/2021, 10:04 AM
I can see a team not normally in the mix doing something out of the ordinary.
Well Drogheda and Harps are doing that right now I guess. I think the top three are a step ahead and will take three European spots. The fourth Euro spot could be someone different to usual though.
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 10:19 AM
He's not wrong though. Win tonight and they'd be 7 points clear after 11 games, just 4 points dropped all season, best defence and attack in the league (if you ignore Drogheda's 7-0 win against an U19 team), no-one really showing the consistency to keep up - indeed no-one able to beat them in the league in almost a full season - and as Nah Nah notes, Towell to come in. It's a fairly ominous picture for everyone else.
You could go one better and say that if Rovers beat Dundalk next week then Dundalk might struggle to get Europe through a league position.
I know it’s early in the season but it’s a league this year that’s dog eat dog. I can see a team not normally in the mix doing something out of the ordinary.
I threw a few emojis and the Johnny Ward craic in there to try and lighten the mood. Jaysus yous are a hard audience to have a laugh with.
I'm here all Month! ;)
15/05/2021, 10:55 AM
The rolleyes emoji probably a wrong one to start off with in fairness!
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 11:27 AM
The rolleyes emoji probably a wrong one to start off with in fairness!
True.We're a bit restricted on the emoji choices so ran with what was available.
Any rumours anyone on the Dundalk manager anyone?,seen Staunton and Dave Rogers getting a mention this week.
15/05/2021, 11:45 AM
Logged in for 2 mins apiece to both games today and saw 2 cracking goals. Great free kick from Massey and great finish my McNamee. He's a great signing for harps, imo.
If I was nasty I'd go hard on dundalk and rip their club apart, but I'm actually feeling sorry for their real lifetime fans who are a witness to this farce.
Ah here, hold back on the sympathy for now. We're only 1.5 seasons from being a peno shootout for a clean sweep, 6 months from a last EL group game and FAI Cup. Were muck at the moment, mid table, not a decade in division 1 and the antics now are not quite an owner threatening to demolish buildings over a lease, refusing to sell but saying that the club will be let run in to examinership. Its all relative and this is a bump even with a pricy squad, not hours from the antics being terminal!
Id prefer nasty, rip away, sympathy is patronising;)
sbgawa
15/05/2021, 12:01 PM
With a bit of luck we'd have won but c'est la vie and we were total and absolute rubbish in the first half so draw prob right result.
The press are fairly coming for Dundalk,i see former Dundalk cheerleader, Dan having a go again this morning.
EDIT = https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/costly-calls-raise-fears-for-dundalk-as-fan-anger-intensifies-40428674.html
Dont think he was having a go to be fair it was prety much a rehash of what is already out there
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 12:10 PM
Dont think he was having a go to be fair it was prety much a rehash of what is already out there
Constantly at it is my point,and in fairness it's not just not him. Had to laugh at him putting it on a paywall though.James Rogers had the story well before.
sbgawa
15/05/2021, 12:12 PM
Having a bit of a gap will allow the team go into every match with no pressure and that is a big factor.
The win against Pats last weekend was a huge one in terms of establishing that gap.
Rovers need to follow it up by beating Derry tonight then head up to Oriel next week for a match that could if they win it put them 21 points ahead of Dundalk. That would be a gap that its hard to see DFC coming back from.
In terms of the league being over its a bit early to be calling it now.
Rovers have been winning games at the death and the question is do they have a second gear that they can get into or is it going to be like this all season in which case the gap isnt very big and last minute goals cant continue forever, like dogs that chase cars and pros that putt for pars
15/05/2021, 12:28 PM
I threw a few emojis and the Johnny Ward craic in there to try and lighten the mood. Jaysus yous are a hard audience to have a laugh with.
I'm here all Month! ;)
I'd say it's the quality of your material rather than the audience that is affecting the amount of metaphorical laughter there. :)
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 12:39 PM
I'd say it's the quality of your material rather than the audience that is affecting the amount of metaphorical laughter there. :)
See,even this sad loser bstard gets me :) hurrah!
15/05/2021, 12:42 PM
The only thing that can make this season more competitive is if Rovers progress in Europe. The best of teams can struggle on the domestic front with the effort that goes in to the schedule. Any gap could be crucial. Tiblisi would be a reasonable start, nice long trip and winnable for an unseeded side!
joey B
15/05/2021, 12:43 PM
Maybe it's a bad time but Dundalk could do worse than nabbing Tim Clancy, doing a fine job at Drogheda....
sullanefc
15/05/2021, 12:55 PM
One situation referenced in the article is the Keegan/Giovagnoli situation. Alan Mathews didn't have the same spotlight/criticism as Shane Keegan. And I get the line of "well Dundalk" made a song and dance about Keegan. I still don't think journalists should be favouring Pats over Dundalk. Maybe it's just Dan McDonnell, who I have to say is grating on LOI Central but sin scéal eile.
But anyway, a question, why was Giovagnoli restricted to the stand, yet Stephen O'Donnell can sit on the bench? If Giovagnoli was allowed on the bench, surely it would have been a bit smoother.
placid casual
15/05/2021, 4:36 PM
Ah here, hold back on the sympathy for now. We're only 1.5 seasons from being a peno shootout for a clean sweep, 6 months from a last EL group game and FAI Cup. Were muck at the moment, mid table, not a decade in division 1 and the antics now are not quite an owner threatening to demolish buildings over a lease, refusing to sell but saying that the club will be let run in to examinership. Its all relative and this is a bump even with a pricy squad, not hours from the antics being terminal!
Id prefer nasty, rip away, sympathy is patronising;)
As you wish.
Your club is dropping like cement block on the ocean.
You won't qualify for Europe, won't mae any progress in Europe this year, and as a result of spending far far more money than your earning your owners peak6 will pull the plug within the next 18 months, and as they wont get their asking price for a suitable buyer will walk away and leave your club in ruins
Your club is more likely to be extinct in 5 yrs than it is to be champions again.
SeanDrog
15/05/2021, 4:39 PM
Maybe it's a bad time but Dundalk could do worse than nabbing Tim Clancy, doing a fine job at Drogheda....
Gggrrrrrrrr
Dalymountrower
15/05/2021, 4:40 PM
As you wish.
You won't qualify for Europe, won't mae any progress in Europe this year, and as a result of spending far far more money than your earning your owners peak6 will pull the plug within the next 18 months, and as they wont get their asking price for a suitable buyer will walk away and leave your club in ruins
Your club is more likely to be extinct in 5 yrs than it is to be champions again.
A bit more soft soap from PC, 18 months!!
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 4:43 PM
As you wish.
Todays assessment of Dundalk FC's finances and wellbeing was brought to you by the Davy16 and KPMG in association with NPHET.
Calcio Jack
15/05/2021, 6:58 PM
Ok result for Rovers considering lengthening injury list with Kavanagh, O’Brien, McCann , Greene, Watts and Farugia missing and Gannon showing again he’s not a wing back
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 7:15 PM
Ok result for Rovers considering lengthening injury list with Kavanagh, O’Brien, McCann , Greene, Watts and Farugia missing and Gannon showing again he’s not a wing back
Fairly dodgy that goal by Gaffney would you reckon?
https://twitter.com/areyou_foreaal/status/1393641306245771267
15/05/2021, 7:18 PM
Ha! That's ridiculous.
League title wide open anyways. Hand firmly grasped off the trophy, and those prattlers from early on can be ignored :)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/05/2021, 7:18 PM
God bless them but the refs really are atrocious
lofty9
15/05/2021, 7:19 PM
Fairly dodgy that goal by Gaffney would you reckon?
https://twitter.com/areyou_foreaal/status/1393641306245771267
which part? 2 balls on the pitch or the 20 yard steal on the throw in?
placid casual
15/05/2021, 7:35 PM
The ref was appalling the entire match for both teams. A fat shambles of a referee.
Rovers fell through that game and managed a draw based on memory, almost.
Why do Derry persist with that parkhouse guy-he looks so uninterested.
Fitzgerald looks a real threat whenever I see him play.
Onto oriel Park for dundalks Cup final next week. 😋
mcgonigle
15/05/2021, 8:35 PM
That really is atrocious officiating, just when you think they can't get any worse you see something like that. Rovers will walk the league, they don't need any help from officials. Who was the ref?
15/05/2021, 9:02 PM
Referee not obliged to stop the game for a 2nd ball on the pitch, rule changed around 10 years ago to stop ballboys throwing balls on the pitch.
Derry switched off and it’s not the first time a team has done that against Rovers this season.
“When the ball goes dead, we come alive” S Bradley.
ToberonaTornado
15/05/2021, 9:04 PM
That really is atrocious officiating, just when you think they can't get any worse you see something like that. Rovers will walk the league, they don't need any help from officials. Who was the ref?
Stephen Bradley
(think it was Gram kelly)
15/05/2021, 9:14 PM
Referee not obliged to stop the game for a 2nd ball on the pitch, rule changed around 10 years ago to stop ballboys throwing balls on the pitch.
The main issue is that wherever it was taken from (out of camera shot even) was nowhere near where the ball went out of play. Terrible reffing.
15/05/2021, 9:22 PM
Referee not obliged to stop the game for a 2nd ball on the pitch, rule changed around 10 years ago to stop ballboys throwing balls on the pitch
While this is true, that goal still shouldn't have stood because of where it was taken from. Derry can have every right to be annoyed at the goal standing, and Rovers taking the throw from 20 yards further from where it should have been taken is, I think, above and beyond "play the whistle"
15/05/2021, 9:29 PM
As you wish.
This will make for entertaining reading back some day or you will have to change yer name to Mystic Meg PC.
Onto oriel Park for dundalks Cup final next week.
Ouch!! Well its a guaranteed 7th year of cup finals in row i suppose then (not including LC, LSC, Malone Trophy, cross border stuff, Presidents Cup or any of that malarkey...).
sbgawa
15/05/2021, 9:31 PM
While this is true, that goal still shouldn't have stood because of where it was taken from. Derry can have every right to be annoyed at the goal standing, and Rovers taking the throw from 20 yards further from where it should have been taken is, I think, above and beyond "play the whistle"
You are at least 50% wrong Stu , it was more like 30 yards :)
mcgonigle
15/05/2021, 9:36 PM
Derry switched off and it’s not the first time a team has done that against Rovers this season.
“When the ball goes dead, we come alive” S Bradley.
Who mentioned the second ball?
15/05/2021, 9:38 PM
Lofty9