Cabinteely v Shelbourne
Athlone v Wexford
Treaty v Cork city
Saturday 24th
Cobh v Bray (19:00)
sbgawa
21/04/2021, 9:29 AM
This strange season continues
Would be a huge result for Harps to get something out of the Pats match and continue their great start.
Rovers Bohs is probably a bigger match for Bohs than Rovers , lose and they are 10 points behind, genuinely dont know how it will go , if matches were played over 87 minutes we would be in 6th place combine that with a swap of keepers with Dundalk and we would be in 8th or 9th. Still feel we have a lot more in us but it would be nice to see a convincing win.
Waterford , Longford has an early six pointer feel to it.
Dundalk you would feel simply have to win against Drogs, if they lose and 1 of the top 3 win they would be 14 points behind with same number of games played a lot of games to go but that is a big gap. A run of 10 or so wins in a row would change everything and they have done it before but its a big gap especially in what looks to be a league where there are several teams that can beat each other.
First division starting to shake out, big game in Galway, chance for UCD to really show credentials for a title run.
Bray on Sunday really need a win they would have been expecting to challenge.
sbgawa
23/04/2021, 9:53 AM
Huge buzz of excitement about tonight's matches clearly :D
Have to say im a bit worried about tonight hopefully we wont be depending on a last minute goal to dig something out of the game.
Dogs that chase cars and pros that putt for pars etc.
5.45 is an awful time for a game on a Friday.
Let's hope the officials aren't the story of the game.
Dalymountrower
23/04/2021, 12:08 PM
5.45 is an awful time for a game on a Friday.
At least they are making some attempt to stagger the kick of times, although that may be that they dont want any clash with the RTE live game.
D24Saint
23/04/2021, 12:35 PM
At least they are making some attempt to stagger the kick of times, although that may be that they dont want any clash with the RTE live game.
Why aren’t they staggering the Saturday games. There should be at least two slots if not three. It makes no sense sticking the three games on the same time.
23/04/2021, 12:57 PM
Would people really watch three games in a row? I'd have thought the extra viewership wouldn't be worth the extra hassle to clubs of having games kicking off at different times each weekend.
What kind of numbers do we think you getting watching other clubs games?
I know myself I don’t really bother with any that aren’t Derry. I watched last 15 mins of Dundalk-Pat’s on Saturday night past as I had a bet on Pat’s but that’s it.
How many people actually log on to WatchLOI and watch games not involving their own club? Games live on RTE would be different obviously.
Would people really watch three games in a row? I'd have thought the extra viewership wouldn't be worth the extra hassle to clubs of having games kicking off at different times each weekend.
Whatever about three games, there is absolutely no excuse not to at least have a double header!
23/04/2021, 2:03 PM
Whatever about three games, there is absolutely no excuse not to at least have a double header!
Is there though?
I'd be thinking along the lines of DCWA's post - does anyone here watch games other than their own? Maybe one for a poll?
joey B
23/04/2021, 2:23 PM
What kind of numbers do we think you getting watching other clubs games?
I know myself I don’t really bother with any that aren’t Derry. I watched last 15 mins of Dundalk-Pat’s on Saturday night past as I had a bet on Pat’s but that’s it.
How many people actually log on to WatchLOI and watch games not involving their own club? Games live on RTE would be different obviously.
I did last season but not this year unless its on RTE,empty grounds with 2 random teams you dont follow is not a great watch,quality of the football just isnt there.........
Bucket
23/04/2021, 2:36 PM
I'm still out of work so I watch the 5:45 game on WatchLOI and GUFC on LOITV afterwards and I watch one of the Saturday games.
I've found it hard to resist watching the Dundalk train wreck and the irony of giving a nod to the GNR with their away gear!
sbgawa
23/04/2021, 2:39 PM
Is there though?
I'd be thinking along the lines of DCWA's post - does anyone here watch games other than their own? Maybe one for a poll?
I would generally watch at least one other game at the weekend.
This weekend i would watch Harps v Pats (Rovers obviously) and Dundalk v Drogs Saturday.
Is there though?
Yeah! The reason the games are being streamed is because the country is virtually locked down, and there is little or nothing to do at the moment. I've watched at least one other game each weekend.
Jack B
23/04/2021, 3:06 PM
I don't really go out of my way to log in and watch games on a day where Pat's aren't playing, but would and have previously left Watch LOI on on the rare times a game has followed one of ours and had a look. If it happened more regularly I'd definitely be watching more games through that alone.
Expecting a tight one against Harps tonight. First goal will be the story of this one I'd say, as good as we've been we've not found ourselves behind in a game yet and I wouldn't fancy it happening in Finn Park.
Yossarian
23/04/2021, 3:08 PM
I would be the same, tomorrow I’ll watch the Dundalk game obviously, but if there was a game either side of it I’d watch some if not all of them. It makes no sense to me having the games on at the same time. Even if the extra audience is minimal what is the reason for not playing the games at different times? Surely there is no extra cost.
23/04/2021, 5:24 PM
Those lads behin the Donegal News hoarding in Finn Park look totally like stewards and nothing at all like fans :D Pats not looking like falling off the pace at the top of the table, pressure all on Rovers later!
Jack B
23/04/2021, 5:32 PM
I like Harps until we have to play them, making this an extremely tough game. Cracking goal from King though, great moment of quality that popped out of the blue.
joey B
23/04/2021, 6:19 PM
Pats 2 up and comfortable,not much trouble for them from us....
redarmyfaction
23/04/2021, 6:35 PM
Pats 2 up and comfortable,not much trouble for them from us....
Pats haven't broke sweat so far.
SeanDrog
23/04/2021, 6:37 PM
Is there though?
I try to watch a few matches each week - love getting to see how other teams perform.
redarmyfaction
23/04/2021, 7:11 PM
Decent game in Tallaght. surface looks amazing.
lofty9
23/04/2021, 8:00 PM
Is there though?
I’ve watched most Harps games and dub derby on now is the first Ive seen outside of Derry and Harps.
joey B
23/04/2021, 8:03 PM
Ross Tierney looks a player!!
23/04/2021, 8:07 PM
I am not going to bother subsubscribin to watchloi any more. If you are doing somethin else at the same time & u r listenin to the commentary it keeps bufferin on me so not wastin my money on that rubbish. Happy to follow it on twitter.
PartySaint
23/04/2021, 8:08 PM
Every time Harps brought a player on their throw ins got longer. Probably our most impressive win of the season so far, thought we were poor for long spells of the game but didn’t give Harps much and took our chances when they came.
A draw in Tallaght would top the night off nicely.
Bohtastic
23/04/2021, 8:14 PM
At the moment Rovers would take the hand off you for a draw.
D24Saint
23/04/2021, 8:21 PM
It was a peno alright but never a straight red, horrendous decision.
Kiki Balboa
23/04/2021, 8:21 PM
That was a soft pen.......
Bohtastic
23/04/2021, 8:23 PM
Terrible decision.
Rovers aren't impressing this season.
Jack B
23/04/2021, 8:25 PM
As much as it's soft on face value it's a red by the letter of the law in fairness. If you're to see it as a foul, that is. Clear goalscoring opportunity and there wasn't any intent to play the ball.
mcgonigle
23/04/2021, 8:26 PM
Triple whammy for Bohs, as soft a peno as you'll see, sending off and then Talbot should save that everytime. All after Bohs dominating
mcgonigle
23/04/2021, 8:28 PM
Also think Gannon is lucky not to be sent off
NeverFeltBetter
23/04/2021, 8:41 PM
Treaty United beat Cork. 5 games in and doing well, but will reserve judgement until one series of games is played. But much better than I thought so far.
Calcio Jack
23/04/2021, 8:43 PM
[QUOTE=Bohtastic;2074670]Terrible decision.
Rovers aren't impressing this season.[
Imagine what we’ll be like when we click into gear - was a peno and red card
Keith Long didn’t know he was live in his interview with Tony O’D no wonder he was being so outspoken and livid re the penalty -albeit completely wrong
PS was he wearing fake tan
23/04/2021, 8:49 PM
Decent game of ball in Galway tonight. Annoying to have conceded a 90th minute equaliser for the second time this season, but overall happy with the point. Galway are a decent side (albeit that they haven't won all season, which is strange). We're more solid than last season, which is good (Todd is an excellent signing) and Whelan and Kerrigan are a class pairing up front.
First Division feels a lot stronger than last year; the FAI Cup could be interesting this year.
Bohtastic
23/04/2021, 8:52 PM
You might click, but you can't expect to get those decisions all season.
Only so many average performances you can get away with.
mcgonigle
23/04/2021, 8:54 PM
[QUOTE=Bohtastic;2074670]Terrible decision.
Rovers aren't impressing this season.[
Imagine what we’ll be like when we click into gear - was a peno and red card
It's a dive, if it was the other way you would be fuming. Mandriou making a name for himself, luckily for him the standard of reffing in this league is awful.
SeanDrog
23/04/2021, 8:55 PM
I know there is a long way to go but it feels like the top of the table at least is settling with Rovers looking like they will only get better and pull away - they have won ugly (no disrespect intended) which is a usual trait in a league winning team when required.
I like Pats but feel they won’t be able to keep the pace.
As a Drogs fan I take heart that our only two defeats to date are against the current top 2 (injury time goals too), but we need a lot more points b4 I feel a bit more relaxed (sure isn’t that the thrill).
I don’t think the bottom part of the table has settled yet and may take till mid series two before we had a real sense of who’s in the dog fight.
In the first Athlone still top but Shels might be finally settling for a sustained push.
placid casual
23/04/2021, 9:01 PM
Absolutely desperate performance by Rovers, only saved by the opponents not having a functioning striker. For me the blame us squarely on Bradley for his team selection, with essentially no holding midfielder picked. Rovers were so open at times and you have to wonder how longer will Rovers get away with playing so poorly. The midfield needs to be sorted out, quickly.
It was a peno because Danny got pushed over in the box- no need for the red card though, in my view.
Your man Burt continues to impress me, I have to say.
redarmyfaction
23/04/2021, 9:01 PM
Bohs were fleeced, pure and simple, they had an edge from just after they conceded, looked likely to win after they leveled it and then to lose like that.
Calcio Jack
23/04/2021, 9:04 PM
You might click, but you can't expect to get those decisions all season.
Only so many average performances you can get away with.
So last season we were unbeaten and brilliant but of course the begrudgers claimed it wasn’t a real title due to curtailed season - seems this year the usual suspects are now trying to create a narrative that we’re lucky, underperforming etc.
To paraphrase Bradley we don’t care ,we won , we’re top of the league, we move on
Calcio Jack
23/04/2021, 9:08 PM
Absolutely desperate performance by Rovers, only saved by the opponents not having a functioning striker. For me the blame us squarely on Bradley for his team selection, with essentially no holding midfielder picked. Rovers were so open at times and you have to wonder how longer will Rovers get away with playing so poorly. The midfield needs to be sorted out, quickly.
It was a peno because Danny got pushed over in the box- no need for the red card though, in my view.
Also need Joey O’Brien back ASAP to organise the defence.
And Sean Gannon isn’t a wing back
Dalymountrower
23/04/2021, 9:09 PM
I would say that on the basis of games so far, Pats and Sligo excellent Rovers third but will probably improve, they were awful tonight, saved by the Ref that they hate!.
Anybody else for fourth other than Waterford.
mcgonigle
23/04/2021, 9:13 PM
For a minute there I thought you were posting something serious but then you said Mandriou was pushed over and you're back on form. You had me there for a bit
23/04/2021, 9:17 PM
Those lads behin the Donegal News hoarding in Finn Park look totally like stewards and nothing at all like fans :D Pats not looking like falling off the pace at the top of the table, pressure all on Rovers later!
Had to go check who you were on about there. Neither Harps fans nor stewards... they're Pats officials
placid casual
23/04/2021, 9:20 PM
We miss Joey OBrien almost as much as Byrne or McAniff, in my view. Hopefully he gets back soon. He is The organiser in this Rovers team. Still too early to make any seasond end predictions, so as long as Rovers keep winning whilst trying to establish a bit of form I'm not going to complain too much. If Long/Croly could instill in their team the need to play like tonight every week of the season they might actually challenge for things, but it seems to me that people like Buckley & Ward just target the Rovers games and tune out the rest of the time.
patsdad
23/04/2021, 9:27 PM
we don’t care ,we won , we’re top of the league, we move on
You’re not, as it happens.
Dalymountrower
23/04/2021, 9:28 PM
We miss Joey OBrien almost as much as Byrne or McAniff, in my view. Hopefully he gets back soon. He is The organiser in this Rovers team. Still too early to make any seasond end predictions, so as long as Rovers keep winning whilst trying to establish a bit of form I'm not going to complain too much. If Long/Croly could instill in their team the need to play like tonight every week of the season they might actually challenge for things, but it seems to me that people like Buckley & Ward just target the Rovers games and tune out the rest of the time.
If Ward and Bucley up their game only against Rovers how do you square that with 2nd place last year but losing all our games v Rovers?
placid casual
23/04/2021, 9:56 PM
I'll be honest with you. I couldn't give a €hit. 😉