View Full Version : Festy Ebosele D Istanbul Basaksehir b.2002
26/04/2022, 8:18 PM
Didn’t Rooney smoke 20 a day through his entire career?
Did he?* Had a quick google and it seems he did smoke (and is in surprisingly good company - Cruyff, Socrates, Zidane, Ginola) but can't find anything to indicate (or disprove) that he was that regular a smoker.
* - that's a genuine question btw; not a sarky dismissal. Hard to differentiate in online text though!
dr_peepee
26/04/2022, 9:13 PM
Jesus Christ lads, it was just a trivial joke not a RFP for a dissertation on the relative character traits of the two players.
That’s what ye get…. !!!
seanfhear
26/04/2022, 9:31 PM
I’d say that Rooney would not be the first football manager to be a hypocrite ! !
elatedscum
26/04/2022, 11:23 PM
Did he?* Had a quick google and it seems he did smoke (and is in surprisingly good company - Cruyff, Socrates, Zidane, Ginola) but can't find anything to indicate (or disprove) that he was that regular a smoker.
* - that's a genuine question btw; not a sarky dismissal. Hard to differentiate in online text though!
that was certainly my understanding, details are a bit hazy now. i think it first emerged when he was on his honeymoon. shortly after, the dj for the wedding or honeymoon or something like that did an interview where he said that wayne was chain smoking throughout.
after that, there were occasional players leaking stuff about his regular smoking (especially when he was struggling) and he was photographed smoking really frequently. so, wouldn't swear by it, but i always just assumed it was true
samhaydenjr
27/04/2022, 1:12 AM
... and Patsy Freyne
27/04/2022, 1:51 AM
Didn’t Rooney smoke 20 a day through his entire career?
I hadn't heard that one; it's possible, but I'd have thought he'd get all sorts of pressures and help to quit the way clubs work on players now. I think Rooney was ferociously competitive, but indisciplined. He pushed hard - maybe harder than anyone - but he wasn't smart about looking after himself. I think that's visible in how young he seemed to burn out. Anyway, I agree with Pineapple that it's not that much of a gotcha, other than that it may undermine his authority as manager.
Eirambler
27/04/2022, 9:45 AM
Always found it strange that pro footballers and doctors are two of the last groups of people you'd expect to be heavy smokers, but from my experience heavy smokers are reasonably common among both those professions.
27/04/2022, 9:51 AM
And add the two together and you get Socrates, probably the worst of the lot.
Fixer82
27/04/2022, 10:54 AM
I hadn't heard that one; it's possible, but I'd have thought he'd get all sorts of pressures and help to quit the way clubs work on players now. I think Rooney was ferociously competitive, but indisciplined. He pushed hard - maybe harder than anyone - but he wasn't smart about looking after himself. I think that's visible in how young he seemed to burn out. Anyway, I agree with Pineapple that it's not that much of a gotcha, other than that it may undermine his authority as manager.
Apparently when David Moyes removed sausage and chips from the MAN U canteen menu, Rooney kicked up an awful stink
seanfhear
27/04/2022, 11:29 AM
And just think about how smart he was.
mark12345
28/04/2022, 12:43 AM
Mention of Socrates and there was that famous story (maybe someone on here could verify it) about his studying at UCD and his turning up to play for the reserves one Saturday. He was told by the powers that be in the students' team that he would not get a game, and promptly left. Of course that was before he went on to star at the 1982 World Cup.
28/04/2022, 2:17 AM
I think the Socrates UCD link has been proven to be a myth.
28/04/2022, 10:05 AM
Yeah, we covered it in the UCD programme in the mid 00s. Someone got in touch (a former foot.ie poster actually - sadly passed away in the last couple of years) and Socrates said he'd never even been to Ireland. No idea where it originated.
28/04/2022, 1:51 PM
Festy nearly cost me my Wordle record today.
Eirambler
28/04/2022, 1:53 PM
Yep, ended up with four of the letters and had to remind myself that Festy isn't a word! Unfortunately for me, testy wasn't right either so a disappointing 5 today...
28/04/2022, 1:56 PM
I tried it and it accepted it in line 5! Testy was my line 4. It left me with just one more guess.
liamoo11
30/04/2022, 1:22 PM
Starts today so must have got his head down and impressed again in training. Good for him and good to see Rooney not holding a grudge and been professional about it
Apparently when David Moyes removed sausage and chips from the MAN U canteen menu, Rooney kicked up an awful stink
He left the beans on the menu then ?
(Sorry, I’ll get my coat !!)
05/08/2022, 4:08 PM
Named as a substitute in Udinese first game of the season alongside Abankwah, against FeralpiSalò in the Italian Cup
There's a live stream on Italian tv but looks like it geoblocked
Eirambler
05/08/2022, 4:22 PM
Do you have a link to the stream?
05/08/2022, 4:28 PM
Do you have a link to the stream?
Think it's on the right here
https://www.sportmediaset.mediaset.it
Eirambler
05/08/2022, 4:55 PM
The Coppa Italia doesn't exactly bring out the crowds in Udine I see.
Eirambler
05/08/2022, 6:05 PM
No run out for the two lads and Udinese made heavy weather of beating a team I've never heard of before tonight who play in a 2000 capacity stadium.
samhaydenjr
06/08/2022, 2:23 AM
No run out for the two lads and Udinese made heavy weather of beating a team I've never heard of before tonight who play in a 2000 capacity stadium.
The crazy thing is that in England if you describe an opponent of a top-tier team like that, you're probably talking about an FA Cup third round fixture against a semi-pro outfit from the Isthmian League - in Italy, you're talking about the team that finished third in the third tier, the equivalent of MK Dons
Eirambler
06/08/2022, 7:40 AM
Yes, they were very close to promotion to Serie B, which is why they qualified for the Italian Cup - unlike national cups in this part of the world they limit the entrants in Italy to about the 40 highest ranked teams. The nearest comparison I can think of in England would maybe be Burton when they were in the Championship a few years back.
To be fair to them they looked a well organised outfit.
13/08/2022, 6:26 PM
On as a late sub V Milan for his Serie A debut
Diggs246
13/08/2022, 10:21 PM
Fair play to him!
I didn't think he would get a look in for months. Was Robbie our last Seria A player?
15/08/2022, 1:13 PM
Fair play to him!
I didn't think he would get a look in for months. Was Robbie our last Seria A player?
Yes, under Tardelli
26/08/2022, 10:05 AM
udinese playing Monza this evening, it'll be on BT Sport
Razors left peg
26/08/2022, 4:16 PM
udinese playing Monza this evening, it'll be on BT Sport
Ebosele and Abankwah both on bench
After selling their first and second choice RWBs they move their CB out to play RWB in the last game. He's sent off and suspended for this game so they move their captain and CM out to play RWB. I know it's early days but if he can't get a start against the team that finished fourth in Serie B last season and playing lads out of position he'll want to buy a comfy cushion for the bench.
tommy_c12000
26/08/2022, 5:34 PM
They’ve 14 subs registered for the game…it will take more than a comfy cushion to make that bench comfortable…
seanfhear
26/08/2022, 6:44 PM
They’ve 14 subs registered for the game…it will take more than a comfy cushion to make that bench comfortable…
At least it will be warm during the energy crisis.
Exgrad
29/09/2022, 9:43 AM
Was hardly worth his while flying all over europe the last couple of weeks. Has all ready played at a higher level than a lot of that squad will ever play at.
tommy_c12000
29/09/2022, 1:47 PM
Yea he should have gotten more game time for sure. Hopefully he won?t continue to rot away at Udinese and either breaks into their team this side of Christmas (unlikely) or secures a good serie B with James after Christmas
19/10/2022, 6:16 PM
Starting tonight for Udinese in the Italian Cup
Abankwah named on the bench, the team announcement had to be put out twice, because his name was misspelled the first time!
Hooked at half time with Udinese trailing 1-0 at the break.
18/12/2022, 8:44 PM
Ebosele played 72m against Athletic Bilbao in a friendly yesterday
https://www.udinese.it/news/squad/udinese-0-1-athletic-bilbao
tommy_c12000
19/12/2022, 6:02 PM
They seem to have pretty strong sides out throughout the friendlies, a sign of a significant breakthrough or are they still missing bigger players to come back in for next league game?
tommy_c12000
23/12/2022, 6:15 PM
Started 3rd game in a row today (all friendlies), vs Lecce. One more friendly left before serie A game on Jan 4, when we will get a better idea if this represents a ‘breakthrough’….
tommy_c12000
29/12/2022, 3:52 PM
Came on as late sub today in last friendly before league resumption, as did James, as Udinese returned to full strength. League restarts early Jan but probably has not made the breakthrough we’ve been hoping for.
Loose/not validated link to mid table serie A team Salernitana, which would be a great loan move if he can get game time
tommy_c12000
31/12/2022, 3:31 PM
The Salernitana loan move gaining some traction with more mainstream Italian papers, nothing official yet. Would be an amazing move IF he plays
tommy_c12000
31/12/2022, 3:54 PM
Could do with updating the thread title actually
31/12/2022, 7:33 PM
Done, and done
04/01/2023, 8:54 PM
Came on for the last nine minutes against Empoli. Abankwah an unused substitute again
04/01/2023, 8:56 PM
14 players named on the bench. That's mad stuff
I thought bench sizes were at least some way standardised?
samhaydenjr
05/01/2023, 1:58 AM
Very decent cameo, beating his man a few times, playing a good pass into the box for one of his forwards and a decent cross - hopefully did enough to merit more minutes (or that loan move to Salernitana). Only four more to pass Robbie Keane and become the Irish player with the fourth most appearances in Serie A. English commentator on Fubo TV seemed to pronounce his name as though he were Italian - something like Eh-Bowe-Zillay.
tommy_c12000
07/01/2023, 6:02 PM
Not risked today against juve, time for a loan Festy
samhaydenjr
06/02/2023, 1:58 AM
Two sub appearances in the last couple of weekends against Verona and Torino put Festy within one Serie A appearance of Robbie's number (albeit with few minutes played) - if an upper-mid-table Serie A team considers him a good impact sub option, at what point should we view him in a similar manner?
third policeman
06/02/2023, 8:15 AM
Two sub appearances in the last couple of weekends against Verona and Torino put Festy within one Serie A appearance of Robbie's number (albeit with few minutes played) - if an upper-mid-table Serie A team considers him a good impact sub option, at what point should we view him in a similar manner?
Now. He’s a player with obvious talent and potential. Needs to be integrated into the squad sooner rather than later.