View Full Version : Attendances 2021

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

pateen
07/11/2021, 5:01 PM
I'd say Terryland pretty much sold out 5000+ there I guess

Buller
07/11/2021, 5:05 PM
I'd say Terryland pretty much sold out 5000+ there I guess

3,700 announced at halftime last, but it feels like closer to 5000! Absolutely rammed in.

thebronze14
07/11/2021, 6:19 PM
Is that a general Donegal excuse? Oh Covid is over. And is every part of FP open air, some of the “indoor” facilities like I previously said, you wouldn’t keep Pigs in, and I know, I’ve lived on a Pig Farm!

Bizarre response...Like I said I wasn't at the game. So enlighten me to what rules were broken? The only time 'indoor' at the match as you say would have been in the jacks so would have been surrounded by fellow Derry fans. Your derogatory stance towards Donegal is funny also considering ye have quite a lot of fans from the county

nr637
09/11/2021, 8:06 AM
Galway at home play-off attendance of 4,000+, Treaty with over 3,000 great crowds, if the play-off's were decided on attendances, then these clubs would be in the Premier already!

ToberonaTornado
12/11/2021, 2:21 AM
2200 Dundalk v Longford.

Candystripe
13/11/2021, 12:32 PM
Looked like the biggest attendance at the Brandywell for a league game in years.

Est, 4,000+

D24Saint
13/11/2021, 1:04 PM
A solid if unspectacular 2000-2300 in Richmond last night. We obviously have a lot of fans dusting down their scarfs and old jerseys for the cup final.

13/11/2021, 8:09 PM
A solid if unspectacular 2000-2300 in Richmond last night. We obviously have a lot of fans dusting down their scarfs and old jerseys for the cup final.

Good crowd down from Harps as well. Must have been over 100 anyway.

nr637
17/11/2021, 3:18 PM
Should be interesting to see the attendance at both Finn Haps v Longford & Waterford v St. Pats on Friday night!
Both games have plenty of reasons to attract the fans on the night. :confused:

D24Saint
18/11/2021, 7:07 AM
Harps fans making a big effort. A collective march to finn park has been organised to help drum up a big match atmosphere.

Finlay Harp
18/11/2021, 3:50 PM
Yeah, good vibes around at the minute. I’d expect a couple of thousand at a minimum.

ToberonaTornado
18/11/2021, 7:57 PM
Harps fans making a big effort. A collective march to finn park has been organised to help drum up a big match atmosphere.

The Shed side army in Dundalk doing something similar for our fixture v Derry. A celebration of the takeover and the lifting of the Peak6 siege.Great to see it.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FEfy_6PXoA4jE1_?format=jpg&name=360x360

Kingswood Rover
19/11/2021, 10:18 AM
This Marching business is catching on.

19/11/2021, 10:39 AM
All part of an initiative to make an all-island league more attractive to our Northern brothers and sisters.

ToberonaTornado
19/11/2021, 11:14 AM
All part of an initiative to make an all-island league more attractive to our Northern brothers and sisters.

Brilliant ;) :cool:

19/11/2021, 4:53 PM
7,500 sell out in Tallaght tonight.

Buller
19/11/2021, 9:39 PM
7,500 sell out in Tallaght tonight.

7,765 in the end, the hoops are having a party.

19/11/2021, 9:44 PM
1200 ish in Dalymount for UCD v Bray

joey B
19/11/2021, 9:54 PM
3500 at Finn Park tonight at a guess…

D24Saint
19/11/2021, 10:09 PM

Wow the county certainly came out to support Harps tonight. That’s an incredible crowd.

redarmyfaction
19/11/2021, 10:13 PM
Estimate 3200 for the Showgrounds, about 300 there from Bohs but they were pretty subdued for most of the night.

D24Saint
19/11/2021, 10:24 PM
Estimate 3200 for the Showgrounds, about 300 there from Bohs but they were pretty subdued for most of the night.

Good practice for Sunday week so.

EatYerGreens
19/11/2021, 11:44 PM

It looked less than that on TV. What's the capacity there these days ?

20/11/2021, 12:25 AM

Think it was over 4,000 in the end. Likely won't get any accurate figures as there was massive queues leading up to kickoff so people were probably ushered in quickly without proper counts.

redarmyfaction
20/11/2021, 11:27 AM
It looked less than that on TV. What's the capacity there these days ?

About 4K seated and whatever you can get standing behind the Maugheraboy end and the little standing section in the away end..

20/11/2021, 11:39 AM
Think it was over 4,000 in the end. Likely won't get any accurate figures as there was massive queues leading up to kickoff so people were probably ushered in quickly without proper counts.

You are hardly suggesting that the club didnt know if there could have been a squeeze in spots Nigel? Derry fans will be all over this!

20/11/2021, 2:34 PM
You are hardly suggesting that the club didnt know if there could have been a squeeze in spots Nigel? Derry fans will be all over this!

Massively oversold the away area again.

EatYerGreens
20/11/2021, 3:33 PM
What size was the crowd at the RSC? I've seen people on social media saying it was big. Hopefully Waterford stay up in the play-off final, as UCD don't bring a lot to the Premier Division if we're honest (and especially not supporters).

D24Saint
20/11/2021, 3:42 PM
What size was the crowd at the RSC? I've seen people on social media saying it was big. Hopefully Waterford stay up in the play-off final, as UCD don't bring a lot to the Premier Division if we're honest (and especially not supporters).

2500 or in that ballpark was mentioned on loitv.

20/11/2021, 11:29 PM

Stayed over in Sligo Park last night. First visit in Showgrounds since 2016. Sligo done a great job with the murals of their famous players,history and the €100 brick in the wall where you put in a message either someone whos passed away or a big Sligo rovers fan. Brilliant!
Loved the fancy dress from a few Bohs fans plus fireworks at the end. Bohs friend of mine stayed in Great Southern Hotel and a lot of bohs fans stayed over. I stayed in Sligo Park and bumped into few Bohs fans that were in bar in hotel after the game!

trevy
21/11/2021, 6:35 AM
2612 at the RSC.

redarmyfaction
21/11/2021, 8:29 AM
Stayed over in Sligo Park last night. First visit in Showgrounds since 2016. Sligo done a great job with the murals of their famous players,history and the €100 brick in the wall where you put in a message either someone whos passed away or a big Sligo rovers fan. Brilliant!
Loved the fancy dress from a few Bohs fans plus fireworks at the end. Bohs friend of mine stayed in Great Southern Hotel and a lot of bohs fans stayed over. I stayed in Sligo Park and bumped into few Bohs fans that were in bar in hotel after the game!

What time did ye get served to Marty?

oriel
21/11/2021, 12:04 PM
Didn't see a figure from Dundalk v Derry, but can usually tell if its over 3k with a good few rows taken up behind the town goal, plus maybe 300 down from Derry, so I`d estimate 3,200 - 3,330 something like that.

Not too bad for a side finishing 6th but a good vibe with the new owners first game.

ger121
21/11/2021, 12:55 PM
Obviously getting a bump in numbers due to stadiums being back to full capacity after a long gap and also the end of season factor but I have to say the attendances have been more than decent around the grounds and maybe this could be a sign of further increases to overall/averages for next season.

21/11/2021, 2:06 PM
Worth pointing out that the 7,765 attendance in Tallaght on Friday is the biggest League attendance in 20 years plus.

EatYerGreens
21/11/2021, 2:23 PM
Worth pointing out that the 7,765 attendance in Tallaght on Friday is the biggest League attendance in 20 years plus.

What was the last one ? Did the Cork-Derry end of seaosn title decider in 2005 (?) not have a crowd similar or bigger than that ?

21/11/2021, 2:53 PM
Thread here says Cork v Derry was listed as ‘around 7,000’ so not higher. Open to correction though obviously.

https://twitter.com/tormey_history/status/1462128611360714753?s=21

D24Saint
21/11/2021, 3:53 PM
Still think Rovers v Pats in the RDS has the last big attendance.

EatYerGreens
21/11/2021, 4:04 PM
For my money, the size of biggest crowds in recent years has been largely determined by stadia limitations. Rovers could presumably have sold more tickets if they'd a bigger capacity (?). Likewise the Cork-Derry game in 2005 was a sell-out. Not sure about the Rovers-Pats RDS game - as I don't recall that myself, and the RDS had quite a big capacity then. But I think we're at the stage where the only think stopping the occasional LOI game beating numbers like 7,796 is the fact that our stadia are all so crap. It wouldn't be hard to envisage a Bohs-Rovs derby game in a keenly contested season getting a big crowd like that.

21/11/2021, 4:28 PM
Work on the North Stand in Tallaght is imminent which will bring us up to 10k capacity. Enough for our needs for the foreseeable IMO.

Trick is to make the 7k+ crowds a regular occurrence which I think is more than doable for Rovers with a winning team.

10 Tallaghts around the country and we’d be sorted. That’s a pipe dream though.

D24Saint
21/11/2021, 5:08 PM
For my money, the size of biggest crowds in recent years has been largely determined by stadia limitations. Rovers could presumably have sold more tickets if they'd a bigger capacity (?). Likewise the Cork-Derry game in 2005 was a sell-out. Not sure about the Rovers-Pats RDS game - as I don't recall that myself, and the RDS had quite a big capacity then. But I think we're at the stage where the only think stopping the occasional LOI game beating numbers like 7,796 is the fact that our stadia are all so crap. It wouldn't be hard to envisage a Bohs-Rovs derby game in a keenly contested season getting a big crowd like that.

It was my first Pats game the estimates range from 20-25k. It was a awful game by all accounts but I can’t remember much about it I was only a kid.

21/11/2021, 5:45 PM
What time did ye get served to Marty?

Midnight!

D24Saint
21/11/2021, 7:06 PM
Midnight!

Covid gets dangerous at 12:01am especially when drink is involved.

El-Pietro
22/11/2021, 12:05 PM
Thread here says Cork v Derry was listed as ‘around 7,000’ so not higher. Open to correction though obviously.

https://twitter.com/tormey_history/status/1462128611360714753?s=21

It was definitely higher than 7k. Hard to know what the exact capacity was in the Shed back then. It was completely packed to the gills. Not the biggest crowd I've ever seen at the Cross though. There was a game against Pats around Christmas in 1998 where I believe there were in excess of 9k. There were strange attendances back then. We'd get 7 or 8 k for one game and then sub 2k for a few games in a row.

sbgawa
22/11/2021, 1:24 PM
3053 announced for the Woman's cup final, not a chance in hell there was many more then 2k there.
I'm probably just old and grumpy but it does annoy me listening to commentators constantly telling you how "great" it is when the standard was pretty poor if we are being honest.
I'm all for Womans soccer and delighted Rovers are getting a team going but listening to the commentators its just spin and political correctness.

patsdad
22/11/2021, 5:21 PM
It was my first Pats game the estimates range from 20-25k. It was a awful game by all accounts but I can’t remember much about it I was only a kid.

It was hugely hyped and drew 25,000 and turned out to be a desperately poor 0-0.

22/11/2021, 5:56 PM
7,522 at Shamrock Rovers second home game in 2020. They had a 7,021 attendance in 2019 too, as well as their 7,030 attendance vs Harps to clinch the title this year.

Cork v Dundalk in Sept 2017 had 6,983 officially. 6,900 sellout the given figure for the same fixture in April 2015.

Those are the closest I have since 2013 anyway.

ger121
24/11/2021, 2:32 PM
I heard Con say on his Podcast that he was in the shop 2 hours prior to KO and lads were still coming in looking for tickets. Based on the size of Tallaght when the 4th stand is complete and the assumption they will continue to be successful for the foreseeable future, I would not be surprised to see a 10000 attendance some day.

EatYerGreens
24/11/2021, 2:43 PM
I heard Con say on his Podcast that he was in the shop 2 hours prior to KO and lads were still coming in looking for tickets. Based on the size of Tallaght when the 4th stand is complete and the assumption they will continue to be successful for the foreseeable future, I would not be surprised to see a 10000 attendance some day.

If Bohs and Rovers were both doing well, there's no reason why we couldn't see a 12-15,000 derby game at some point.

Except, of course, for the fact that there isn't a single stadium in the league capable of hosting that sort of crowd :(

24/11/2021, 3:09 PM
It was my first Pats game the estimates range from 20-25k. It was a awful game by all accounts but I can’t remember much about it I was only a kid.I was there. Huge crowd. Game was easily one of the worst I was ever at. I'd say that reinforced negative LOI opinions in many attendees for a generation.