View Full Version : Shelbourne V Liverpool
21/06/2005, 3:36 PM
Who would you support if your team from a foreign league is playing a League of Ireland Team that you dont support.
eg. Shelbourne V Man Utd
Liverpool V Cork City.
21/06/2005, 3:40 PM
Manchester United -v- Shelbourne for me for example would be shels tbh.
If it was competitive, e.g. UEFA or CL, then the League of Ireland team hands down.
ger121
21/06/2005, 3:43 PM
Was thinking about that recently .I go to watch Liverpool play a few times a year so if they were say drawn against Shels in the 2nd qualifying round it would be weird. However I despise people who would go to a game in Ireland to support a foreign team over an irish team. So even though I support Bohs and I'm no great fan of Shels, I'd go for the Irish team as they are one of our own and it helps our co-efficent.
I'd always support the Irish team. I don't know how anyone could do any different
DolansWaistcoat
21/06/2005, 3:49 PM
Asked the same question to a mad City/liverpool fan recently and he said not a fcukin hope would he back shels.
I'd have to say i'd prob not mind either way because if shels beat Liverpool it's good for our league and liverpool have had there day in the sun this season anyway and that will keep me going for many years. :cool:
redgav
21/06/2005, 4:02 PM
Asked the same question to a mad City/liverpool fan recently and he said not a fcukin hope would he back shels.
I'd have to say i'd prob not mind either way because if shels beat Liverpool it's good for our league and liverpool have had there day in the sun this season anyway and that will keep me going for many years. :cool:
Maad feeling of deja vu here - Was that me you were speaking to by any chance ???? For me it would be a hard choice , national league,"fopeign club" and all that , but I'd have to say Liverpool.
I've no particular feelings towards shels except for rivalry ( and hatred when we get robbed there ) and after 18 years going to Liverpool ,I personally have more of a feeling for them than some bunch of jackeens that I spend the rest of the year abusing ,besides it would seem hypocritical to be singing in your drumcondra slums on sunday ,and cheering them on the following wednesday.
For me theres no real difference to any other weekend .I want city to do well and I want Liverpool to do well , while at thesame time I want whoever are both their rivals to lose ........ just cos its made into a nationalism topic isn't going to change that ...each to their own and all that
21/06/2005, 4:08 PM
Yeah I would always go for the Irish team. I look out for spurs results in the EPL league but I would never get excited about them.
DolansWaistcoat
21/06/2005, 4:12 PM
Maad feeling of deja vu here - Was that me you were speaking to by any chance ????
Could have been!Were ya up at the galway game drinking in the bar garden of the pub(kates or something) about 1/2 an hour before kick-off.
21/06/2005, 4:16 PM
i would support the irish team definately
redgav
21/06/2005, 4:27 PM
Could have been!Were ya up at the galway game drinking in the bar garden of the pub(kates or something) about 1/2 an hour before kick-off.
nah ,caught to work at the last minute
Had the same conversation at the bray game with a few regulars on here
21/06/2005, 4:33 PM
Always* the Irish team
*Its good to see Shels crash and burn though
For me it would always be the Irish team.
Remember getting told off a few years ago for cheering for St Pats against Celtic in the European Cup, funnily enough there was no such problem shouting for Shels against Rangers in the UEFA Cup! :rolleyes:
4tothefloor
21/06/2005, 7:28 PM
Shelbourne V Liverpool?
Liverpool all the way. No way would I support Shels simply because they are LoI. I have no affinity whatsoever for Shels, whereas I have been a passionate Liverpool supporter for 19 years. I don't feel I would have to prove my Irishness or my support for the LoI by supporting Shels in this instance. I am a LoI supporter, I am a supporter of the national team, but I am also a Liverpool supporter. The likes of Ollie Byrne just do not endear me to Shels. Against any other European club I would support Shels or any other EL team, but never against Liverpool, Limerick being the exception of course.
If I don't like Shels in the EL, why on earth would I support them against a club that I love? :rolleyes:
21/06/2005, 7:37 PM
If I don't like Shels in the EL, why on earth would I support them against a club that I love? :rolleyes:
Shels beat Liverpool home and away, gain in coefficient.
Limerick get into UEFA cup, because of Shels win, they're seeded.
QED
4tothefloor
21/06/2005, 8:43 PM
Shels beat Liverpool home and away, gain in coefficient.
Limerick get into UEFA cup, because of Shels win, they're seeded.
QED
Still wouldn't support Shels\the Irish club. Basically, I will never support a team against Liverpool, regardless of the hypothetical scenarios like the one above that could arise, even if it was to Limerick's advantage. Liverpool fan, 100%, end of story.
Limerick V Liverpool, I would support my home team Limerick of course. It would actually be a dream fixture for me, to see my two favourite clubs go head to head. A dream is all it will ever be though.
Still wouldn't support Shels\the Irish club. Basically, I will never support a team against Liverpool, regardless of the hypothetical scenarios like the one above that could arise, even if it was to Limerick's advantage. Liverpool fan, 100%, end of story.
Limerick V Liverpool, I would support my home team Limerick of course. It would actually be a dream fixture for me, to see my two favourite clubs go head to head. A dream is all it will ever be though. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: Can't even begin to understand this
redgav
21/06/2005, 9:47 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: Can't even begin to understand this
but there is always a flip side .I would feel like the biggest Hypocrite in the world ,goin to tolka on a saturday in my city shirt singin anti jackeen songs and then 4 days later i'm supposed to forget all that "for the good of the league"...I don't buy into that at all. just cos they're irish ,they are not Irish they're jackeens ,and they are our Rivals .Why should I support them over a club I've spent most of my life supporting
For the rest of the year they think we're w@nker$,yet cos they are Irish I should jump on board ......in my mind thats sh!te.They are my teams rivals .I don't want shels getting stronger than city by winning a tie like that .Why should I .
I don't understand your logic about that just as much as you don't understand mine ....
I think i'd have a lot of difficulty supporting $hel$.
I don't think anyone should have to support their rivals automatically. That mentality is the same thing that assumes Bohs fans should be glad for Crowe, Hawkins & Ryan moving to Shel$ to better themselves.
21/06/2005, 10:12 PM
I think i'd have a lot of difficulty supporting $hel$.So do I. I'm not so much suggesting that people go along and cheer for Shels or anything, but I can't understand how anyone would support the other team- by all means don't support shels, but don't support the opposition either. As for the reason why- co-efficient!
redgav
21/06/2005, 10:16 PM
I think i'd have a lot of difficulty supporting $hel$.
I don't think anyone should have to support their rivals automatically. That mentality is the same thing that assumes Bohs fans should be glad for Crowe, Hawkins & Ryan moving to Shel$ to better themselves.
exactly - I've no opinion on people who do drop their regular hated rivals for a day ,just don't see why yet again it seems to be a dump on people that have genuine support for a English club
I hate shels,I hate oilie,I hate so many of their players ,why should i support them ????
My best mate in cork is french,he goes to city games , should he have gone to the cross last season and supported Nantes ????
onenilgameover
21/06/2005, 10:16 PM
Good thread...hard one to answer...I support Bohs and Liverpool...and if they were to play each other I'd support bohs of course....Any other el team playing Liverpool...to be honest I'm not sure...I'd wouldn't be disappointed to see any el team do well against very strong opposition...
Gareth
21/06/2005, 10:55 PM
I would support any team in Ireland without question over a team from another country. The benefits to our league and country are unquestionable when we win in Europe. I was out supporting Bohs, I will travel to Longford to support them and I will cheer Cork from afar, but cheer them on none the less in europe. I obviously will be cheering Shels on, in that really quiet silent chant that comes from the main stand in tolka each week :) So loud its not audible with the human ear :)
But seriously, we are too small a league european wise not to want our teams to do well. I hope Cork have an incredible run in Europe.
M@ttitude
21/06/2005, 11:05 PM
Liverpool are an irish team, some of irelands finest players have played with them.. The city was built by the Irish, and we are all welcomed there with open arms.. not only great irish players but some of the best players from throughout the world who we enjoy watching have played for them past and present. Why shouldnt Irish people support there team over Shelbourne??... "go shelbourne"(even though i can only name three players..mychoice, they should say Even though i would support everything irish because even though i support liverpool im not a staunch fan... but u cant say that people never should.
21/06/2005, 11:12 PM
Liverpool are an irish team, some of irelands finest players have played with them.. The city was built by the Irish, and we are all welcomed there with open arms.
No matter how many Irish people live there and "built it", Liverpool is an English city and Liverpool F.C. are an English team.
M@ttitude
21/06/2005, 11:26 PM
No matter how many Irish people live there and "built it", Liverpool is an English city and Liverpool F.C. are an English team.
Thanks for that fact. But Tell me why you think the majority of irish people tend to support english teams?
21/06/2005, 11:31 PM
Thanks for that fact.
Your most welcome ;)
But Tell me why you think the majority of irish people tend to support english teams?
Because the premiership is one of the top leagues in the world and there are a lot of Irish players in it ;). Still dont agree with the Irish fans who do put the English league before the Eircom league
21/06/2005, 11:33 PM
Thanks for that fact. But Tell me why you think the majority of irish people tend to support english teams?
Because they're idiots who are too lazy to get up off their asses and actually support a team properly. Its much easy to sit on a barstool and gripe. Oh yeah, "Liverpool are an Irish team" come off it :rolleyes:
redgav
21/06/2005, 11:40 PM
Liverpool are an irish team, some of irelands finest players have played with them.. The city was built by the Irish, and we are all welcomed there with open arms.. not only great irish players but some of the best players from throughout the world who we enjoy watching have played for them past and present. Why shouldnt Irish people support there team over Shelbourne??... "go shelbourne"(even though i can only name three players..mychoice, they should say Even though i would support everything irish because even though i support liverpool im not a staunch fan... but u cant say that people never should.
as soon as you said the magic words "Liverpool are an irish team" is where you made the mistake because thats all the ammo people who disagree with you needed , to bring up the geographical thing....pity life isn't always as black and white ...............I don't get this EL superiorty complex thing .I support my local club to the best of my ability , likewise with my national team , but because I support a english team I'm somehow tainted.
I went and watched shels last season in the early CL games ,cos I love watching live football, went there and sat witha shels mate,and a carlow mate ,none of us gave two tuppenny sh!ts about shels ,just wanted to watch a el game,likewise i went to the Bohs euro games ,but as far as i am concerned ,I've loved liverpool since a very young age and just cos some bunch of thug jackeens play them for one game isn't gonna make me suddenly see the (EL) light
redgav
21/06/2005, 11:41 PM
Because they're idiots who are too lazy to get up off their asses and actually support a team properly. Its much easy to sit on a barstool and gripe. Oh yeah, "Liverpool are an Irish team" come off it :rolleyes:
Eanna , I had a laugh and a joke with you at the bray game , am I to be classified as a barstooler ????
Thats too easy a way out tbh .I'm forced to watch the majority of Liverpool games on the box ,and the only reason for that is financial.If I had money coming out my ears ,I'd have me private jet flying between Anfield and redgavpark in cork every weekend but I don't.
generalising people as barstoolers is wrong.Plenty of people do both
21/06/2005, 11:55 PM
Liverpool are the team i like to see doing well and i have been to Anfield but if any irish team were playing any foreign team id support the eircom league side,i think it's only right.I don't see how irish people could cheer for a foreign side against a team from there own country.And yet these people will go support the national side without ever going to an eircom league game. :rolleyes: :mad:
Id support Shelbourne.
jimbob117
22/06/2005, 12:06 AM
what a load of rubbish. I have followed liverpool for 15 yrs or so now,and also go to eircom league games(pats games) . I go to anfield when i can afford it and have followed them a lot longer than i have followed pats, due to the major lack of coverage when i was younger of the EL. Does that make me an idiot??? i think not, dont be so ignorant. You get attached to watching a team u have followed all your life and become passionate about them, just becaue you havent, theres no need to be so dismissive of everyone else who has.
harry crumb
22/06/2005, 12:26 AM
Shels of course. I used to support Liverpool. Even back then I would have gone for Shels. Liverpool are English. I remember a National League selection played Liverpool before. I cheered for the Irish team then.
Liverpool is a kip of a city and a big anti-climax.
M@ttitude
22/06/2005, 12:35 AM
just becaue you havent, theres no need to be so dismissive of everyone else who has.
Exactly.. its not a young lads fault if he falls in love with a great team full of great irish and world elite players, i dont know, maybe the el will evolve and the coverage will become more vast, the media more present and the finance more attractive, until then accept the bigger picture being more appealing.. No?
Liverpool is a kip of a city and a big anti-climax.
Your opinion.... Definately not mine..
harry crumb
22/06/2005, 1:10 AM
"You'll Never Walk Alone" was embarrassing at Anfield.
At least at Celtic Park they sing it with a bit of passion.
The Kop is dead. People kept on telling us to "SIT DOWN". Just wasnt what I thought it would be. :o
22/06/2005, 3:39 AM
Shelbourne V Liverpool?
Liverpool all the way. No way would I support Shels simply because they are LoI. I have no affinity whatsoever for Shels, I don't feel I would have to prove my Irishness or my support for the LoI by supporting Shels in this instance. I am a LoI supporter, I am a supporter of the national team, but I am also a Liverpool supporter. Against any other European club I would support Shels or any other EL team, but never against Liverpool.
Agreed 100%.
Moving away from the topic slightly, as an outsider, I don't understand why Shels and Cork fans "hate" each other. I understand why Rovers and Bohs fans hate each other, why Drogheda and Dundalk fans hate each other, why Galway and Sligo fans hate each other, and why Longford and Athlone fans hate each other. You can correct me, but I think the Shels-Cork fans "hatred" of each other is artificial, only down to jealousy. It also seems to be hatred more from the Cork side. I simply cannot understand why fans could "hate" another club 250 kilometres away. Wouldn't it be more logical for Cork fans to hate Cobh, Waterford, or Limerick, people who they meet regularly, than fans of a club that they only meet 3 times a year? :confused:
because I support a english team I'm somehow tainted.
Bull. You're not tainted for supporting an English club. Alot of people here seem to follow clubs abroad, its your statement saying you'd take an English club over an Irish club. Hell, I've been following Shels, and Aston Villa, since I was about 6, 15 or so years, and been to Villa Park on several occassions, but not once would I even dream of cheering for them over an EL side, (Because the EL as a whole means so much more to me than the EPL) even Bohs/Rovers/Cork. We need our league to improve, and we as a league do that by winning in Europe, regardless of who it's against. But if everyone took the same approach you seem to have taken, it'd be like the Pats-Celtic tie, which tbh, was embarassing.
ciaran76
22/06/2005, 7:12 AM
It would have to be the LOI team for me. :)
22/06/2005, 7:55 AM
Eanna , I had a laugh and a joke with you at the bray game , am I to be classified as a barstooler ????
Thats too easy a way out tbh .I'm forced to watch the majority of Liverpool games on the box ,and the only reason for that is financial.If I had money coming out my ears ,I'd have me private jet flying between Anfield and redgavpark in cork every weekend but I don't.
generalising people as barstoolers is wrong.Plenty of people do both
Unfortunately in some peoples eyes, if you haven't sold your soul to the Eircom League then you are tainted.
This argument is sooo fcuking boring now. You can support whoever the feck you like. Supporting your local team doesn't give you any right to look down your nose on someone who supports a team 100 miles away.
And I don't buy this "it's for the good of the league" argument. Does it matter really if someone like 4tothefloor goes along to see Shels v Liverpool and shouts for Liverpool because he has supported them all his life?? It's a free world is it not??
Do you think a Man Utd fan will shout for Liverpool when they are playing Juventus for the "good of the league"?
Karlos
22/06/2005, 8:04 AM
If it was against Arsenal then no.
I don't need to explain why but I will. My family have a deep bond with that club from when my Aunt married and moved to London in the 50s/60s, 2 minutes from Highbury. My father used to accompany his brother in law to games every time they were fortunate to visit my Aunt.
The first ground I ever was in was Highbury (6 months before my birth too.....have the photo to prove it! :) ). A special bond developed between visting my well-loved aunt and visting Highbury. With my auntie no longer around, my trips to London are all the more special as we are proud to keep with the family tradition that my IRISH auntie introduced to us. No Eircom LEague club provides me with these type of memories and hence I could not support them over Arsenal. :)
Anyone else though, c'mon the Eircom League!!! :)
Sure Liverpool is an Irish city - I mean look at the orange lodges, the 12th July marches.....
Gareth
22/06/2005, 8:24 AM
Agreed 100%.
Moving away from the topic slightly, as an outsider, I don't understand why Shels and Cork fans "hate" each other. I understand why Rovers and Bohs fans hate each other, why Drogheda and Dundalk fans hate each other, why Galway and Sligo fans hate each other, and why Longford and Athlone fans hate each other. You can correct me, but I think the Shels-Cork fans "hatred" of each other is artificial, only down to jealousy. It also seems to be hatred more from the Cork side. I simply cannot understand why fans could "hate" another club 250 kilometres away. Wouldn't it be more logical for Cork fans to hate Cobh, Waterford, or Limerick, people who they meet regularly, than fans of a club that they only meet 3 times a year? :confused:
I don't think its a hatred between sets of fans, but more of the backroom of the club in relation to Shels. I get on very well with any Cork City fans I know, but just like any rival fan, you disagree with them more often :)
By the way, that Liverpool is an Irish City is a bit of a foolish statement from an over zealous fan. Support Liverpool all you want but don't start telling us they are Irish. Plus not that it matters, isn't Liverpool traditionally the "protestant" team in Liverpool and Everton the "Catholic" one? I am just curious if I am right on that.
22/06/2005, 10:07 AM
I would never look down on people for supporting a team. I watch football from many countries and go to games both in Ireland and in England and around Europe. But I could never cheer for a British team against an Irish team. When a club goes into Europe they represent the league they are from and the country they are from, not just the club. Celtic, Hibernians Liverpool and Man Utd are all British teams despite their Irish influences. It is pretty similar to going for England V ireland. I dont know how anybody could do it. But each to their own and I think its interesting to hear all the different views.
22/06/2005, 10:07 AM
I support my local club to the best of my ability , likewise with my national team , but because I support a english team I'm somehow tainted.
Come on now Gav, don't go reaching for the tissues to dry the eyes, you're not tainted. ;) :D :D
I'm a Manchester United Fan, have been longer than I've been a City fan. In a friendly game, I wouldn't really care, but in competitive European competition, it's all about UEFA co-efficients IMO. We're actually only a few successful years away from grabbing another UEFA spot (and at the same time we're not that far from disappearing off the map entirely)
A competitive victory by an EL side over any EPL side would be a huge boost for the league, and a badly needed one. IMO (and it's all only opinion) the EL needs the win more than MUFC, I don't think that makes me a Shelbourne fan, or even less of a MUFC fan tbh, it's just how the priorities breakdown for me.
jockser
22/06/2005, 1:02 PM
Easy. Id support Liverpool every time without exception. I support liverpool. If they play my home team Dundalk.....which they have done, i have gone in my liverpool scarf and jersey coz they are my team i support no one else. I dont have 2 teams or a 2nd favourite team. Just liverpool.
22/06/2005, 1:46 PM
They are like squirrels after hibernation
jockser
22/06/2005, 1:47 PM
I think you'll find plenty of people support them. They just kept it well hidden up to a few weeks ago... ;)
LOL change the bait the fish arent biting today ;)
jockser
22/06/2005, 1:52 PM
They are like squirrels after hibernation
I have never gathered nuts in me life or slept for the whole of autumn and winter.
22/06/2005, 2:19 PM
We're actually only a few successful years away from grabbing another UEFA spot
We're a long long way from getting another UEFA Cup spot. Per the UEFA rankings (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2005.html), Bulgaria were the lowest league to get a fourth team in Europe...with a coefficient of 18.540 over five years (Denmark's and Armenia's fourth was from the Fair Play). That's 3.708 points per year. Last year, the eL got 1.333. We're nowhere near, I'm afraid...
22/06/2005, 2:31 PM
We're a long long way from getting another UEFA Cup spot. Per the UEFA rankings (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2005.html), Bulgaria were the lowest league to get a fourth team in Europe...with a coefficient of 18.540 over five years (Denmark's and Armenia's fourth was from the Fair Play). That's 3.708 points per year. Last year, the eL got 1.333. We're nowhere near, I'm afraid...
Another thing to note is, if you're not ready for it getting an extra place can be damaging. You are dividing the national coefficient by an extra number and if the extra team were to win no points you'd be losing out and fall backwards in rankings.
anto eile
22/06/2005, 2:40 PM
i wont support shels or boez in europe,regardless of whether theyre playing mank utd liverpool rangers or linfield (again:D) .
i would not begrudge a non-rival team like drogheda or derry doin well,for a round or two,but wouldnt support them as such.some teams arent important enough to hate and therefore want them to lose,like cork.i wouldnt care if cork beat an english top-flight team because cork just arent important,after all they have won sfa (1 league and 1 cup) compared to Rovers
liverpuke v shels/manure v gypos etc.... i would ignore it.i dont like either teams and wouldnt want either of them winning.id simply refuse to aknowledge there is a game taking place :D