View Full Version : Shelbourne V Liverpool
Eanna , I had a laugh and a joke with you at the bray game , am I to be classified as a barstooler ????
Thats too easy a way out tbh .I'm forced to watch the majority of Liverpool games on the box ,and the only reason for that is financial.If I had money coming out my ears ,I'd have me private jet flying between Anfield and redgavpark in cork every weekend but I don't.
generalising people as barstoolers is wrong.Plenty of people do both
You've misinterpreted me. I wasn't classifying you as a barstooler- you go out and actually watch games. I was referring to the people who don't.
what a load of rubbish. I have followed liverpool for 15 yrs or so now,and also go to eircom league games(pats games) . I go to anfield when i can afford it and have followed them a lot longer than i have followed pats, due to the major lack of coverage when i was younger of the EL. Does that make me an idiot??? i think not, dont be so ignorant. You get attached to watching a team u have followed all your life and become passionate about them, just becaue you havent, theres no need to be so dismissive of everyone else who has.see above. Also, I was the same when I was younger- I was a massive leeds "fan." But the minute I started going to City games I was hooked and forgot all about Leeds, to the
extent that I wouldn't even look out for their results anymore.
Unfortunately in some peoples eyes, if you haven't sold your soul to the Eircom League then you are tainted.
nobody is talking about selling souls here :rolleyes: Its a case of the common good. If you don't agree fair enough.
I don't think its a hatred between sets of fans, but more of the backroom of the club in relation to Shels. I get on very well with any Cork City fans I know, but just like any rival fan, you disagree with them more often :)
Exactly. I have nothing against Shels fans tbh, there's too few of them to really hate anyway ;) Seriously though, my dislike/hatred of Shels is down to the individuals running/managing the club and a few of the players, not the fans. As for Waterford, Queenstown and Limerick? I dislike Waterford intensely, but TBH I'm not that bothered about them- we have bigger fish to fry. Cobh- usually go and see them when I can, and always like to see them do well, maybe it would be different if they were in the premier. And limerick- well I lived there, know a lot of their fans, and I have a soft spot for them- again, I guess it would be different if they were in the premier
Easy. Id support Liverpool every time without exception. I support liverpool. If they play my home team Dundalk.....which they have done, i have gone in my liverpool scarf and jersey coz they are my team i support no one else. I dont have 2 teams or a 2nd favourite team. Just liverpool. :eek: :rolleyes:
jockser
22/06/2005, 5:56 PM
No no, not baiting you, Jockser. Nor am I suggesting that you have become a fan overnight, I remember you defending Liverpool a lot of times here before. But you gotta admit that a lot more Liverpool jerseys are evident in the past few weeks. That's the way it's always going to be. The English team I like best is Leeds, I remember 4 years ago when Leeds were everyone's second favourite team. You'd be hard pressed to find a Leeds shirt around the place these days.
Aye true lad....i suppose people follow football to different degrees and there is always gonna be a team "in fashion". I pass no remarks of these people.....usually you can spot the true fans miles off. Everyone to their own i suppose which is what this thread is about really. Some people have 2 or 3 clubs they like, some support other clubs in certain situations and some have one club(usually the nutters like meself :D )
4tothefloor
22/06/2005, 6:15 PM
Regarding the 'oh but it would improve the leagues co-efficients' arguement. Don't buy into that at all. Firstly, I support clubs, not leagues. A leagues co-efficient is built up over a number of years of steady progress. That means the likes of Shelbourne, Cork City and Bohs putting in consistant performances in europe, and each winning through at least a couple of rounds every season. Basically repeating last years exploits every season. If the co-efficient is low, the blame lies at these full-time clubs for not performing, and at the likes of Longford who are a waste of a European place IMO. Someone like me supporting Liverpool in ONE game over all these years makes little or no difference to the leagues co-efficient in the bigger picture.
For the record, I do not consider Liverpool to be a 'foreign club'. A foreign club to me is Barcelona, AC Milan, Lyon etc. Whether EL followers like it or not, the English and Scottish leagues are a big part of Irish football, as all of our top internationals play in these leagues, and thus a lot of football followers in this country follow these leagues as a result. As has been said, I am one of many who support both an EL club and a premiership club. I have no problem supporting $h€l$, Bohs or Cork in europe, and have always done so in the past. I'll be supporting them again this year. BUT, if drawn against Liverpool, I will be supporting Liverpool, simply because i'm a Liverpool fan.
You're either a fan or you aren't, (and there seems to be a lot of half-arsed Liverpool fans on here by the looks of it). Could I really call myself a Liverpool fan if say, I was to support $h€l$ in that game, but when $h€l$ lose, just start re-supporting Liverpool in the competition as they advance? Be absolutely over-the-moon on wining the competition, when in the earlier rounds I was shouting against them to be knocked out! That would be called hypocrisy. No real fan of a club would do that, because put simply, it's a load of b0ll0cks!
Plus not that it matters, isn't Liverpool traditionally the "protestant" team in Liverpool and Everton the "Catholic" one? I am just curious if I am right on that.
No you are not right on that. Both Liverpool and Everton originated from Protestant founders. Everton are not, and never have been a Catholic club. But only people who know nothing about Liverpool (the city and it's people that is) would bring that up, because religion doesn't come into it over there. You're either red or blue, that's it. Regarding Liverpool's Irish heritage, well over half the local population is second or third generation Irish, both from Protestant and Catholic backgrounds (why do you think the likes of John Aldridge, Jason McAteer, Darran Potter etc have qualified for us?). The scouse culture comes from it's Irish background, they even have their own form of Ceili music etc. I could go on and on etc. Liverpool is as much an 'Irish' city as say Boston is - not really Irish, but Irish influenced all the same. Just go there, talk with the locals and you'll see. As for the Orange parades - so what? Protestants are allowed to celebrate their culture, are they not? The same way that scousers also celebrate Paddy's Day? :rolleyes: You see that's the problem, ignorant people think that it must be like Celtic - Rangers, but it's nothing like that crap.
FarBeag
22/06/2005, 10:57 PM
League of Ireland team without question.I don't actually have a favorite team although i am from Galway but these guy's won't set the world on fire i mean Galway Utd. On the other hand if they were playing any club from any country of course i would want them to win, they are 100% Irish like all the other EL teams.I live in UK now ,support Celtic ,go to the odd game and adore football in general but an Irish team all the way.
Gerrit
22/06/2005, 11:10 PM
I supported Bohs vs Ghent last Saturday. Am I being wrong then as well ? :rolleyes:
A colleague of mine who's also a Belgian expat didn't understand why I supported for the non-Belgian club. I reversed the question: why should I support a club just for the sake of it being situated within the same imaginary lines (borders) as where I was born. Just doesn't work like that. I support the side that my heart choses, and don't search or need a reason for that.
As having much sympathy for the underdogs and a sort of natural antipathy for big mighty clubs, I'd support an EL side over an English side all the way.
However, if Rosenborg plays an EL side... If it's Shels, that'd be heartbreak and a choice I refuse to make. If it's another irish side, just try and stop me from going to the stadium with my Rosenborg fanwear.
I have no problems supporting foreign teams. I support Norway over Belgium, why would I have a problem with supporting any side that gets my sympathy over a Belgian side ? I don't think countrywise when it comes to sports, I just chose the side that I intuitionally prefer without even asking why. Life's a lot easier if everyone would just support whoever he wants, regardless of where they're from or what their backgrounds are. You should not even justify emotions and preferences, these things are feelings and don't always have a logical reason. It's a game for god's sake, it's not a war where the pride and future of a nation are at stake.
23/06/2005, 12:03 AM
Irish Club everytime,without question especially if playing them shams sh*tpool
23/06/2005, 4:01 AM
isn't Liverpool traditionally the "protestant" team in Liverpool and Everton the "Catholic" one?
Horse manure!! :mad: :mad:
There's no religious connection to either club. Liverpool is a welcoming place to all religions and nationalities. That bile is made up by people who hate LFC. There is only one place in Britain, where there are sectarian hatreds between the two major clubs, and it's a city in Scotland that begins with G.
jockser
23/06/2005, 9:29 AM
Lads as i said before there is only one religion in the city of liverpool and that religion is football......Amen :) anyway that has NOTHING to do with the topic of this thread.......yiz shouldnt be so quick to bite the bait put down for ya by other eejits :D
Bald Student
23/06/2005, 10:26 AM
why should I support a club just for the sake of it being situated within the same imaginary lines (borders) as where I was born.Be carefull there Gerrit. You don't want to give people the impression that Belgium is just a made up country.
stickyjoe
23/06/2005, 10:42 AM
[QUOTE=4tothefloor]But only people who know nothing about Liverpool (the city and it's people that is) would bring that up, because religion doesn't come into it over there. You're either red or blue, that's it.QUOTE]
that is what i always thought about football in liverpool. but strangely enough i was over there for paddys day this year and during the course of conversations with 3 different people, they all brought up the topic of religion and how everton were the "catholic" club of liverpool. The 2 Everton fans i was talking to seemed to be trying to impress me with this :mad: and I`m not quite sure why the Liverpool fan was going on about it :confused:
this kind of rubbish i expect if i`m in glasgow but was surprised at it in liverpool
23/06/2005, 12:37 PM
Be carefull there Gerrit. You don't want to give people the impression that Belgium is just a made up country.
Wonder how up on their history people here are?!
23/06/2005, 1:56 PM
Wonder how up on their history people here are?!
Didn't the Belgian King remark he is the only actual Belgian? :p
4tothefloor
23/06/2005, 9:49 PM
especially if playing them shams sh*tpool
You mean, 'especially if playing the five time and current European Champions Liverpool'? :D
Gerrit
23/06/2005, 10:45 PM
Horse manure!! :mad: :mad:
There's no religious connection to either club. Liverpool is a welcoming place to all religions and nationalities. That bile is made up by people who hate LFC. There is only one place in Britain, where there are sectarian hatreds between the two major clubs, and it's a city in Scotland that begins with G.
Don't forget the one beginning with a B ;)
Gerrit
23/06/2005, 10:48 PM
Be carefull there Gerrit. You don't want to give people the impression that Belgium is just a made up country.
Well ehm, my Belgian friends here (few other expats at the company) will kill me for this, but honestly: it is. Two regions that wanted to break up with the Netherlands, formed their own country, imported a German lad and named him King, and then moved on to see the two regions fight with each other instead of the Dutch :D
Sorry for a bit of irony here, but yes, Belgium is quite artificial. And that I admit as a unionist. (unionist as in Belgian unionism, not related in any way to Northern Ireland)
24/06/2005, 3:37 AM
Don't forget the one beginning with a B
If the B stands for Belfast, I will forget it. Belfast is not in Britain, it's only in the United Kingdom. :o
The only team I don't want Liverpool to face in the CL qualifiers, is the long trek to Kazachstan to face Kairat Almaty. Travel nightmare if we draw them, together with a 6 HOUR time difference between here and there, not what you want in pre-season. Let Dinamo Tbilisi play them instead. ;)
TNS, Torshavn, or Sliema Wanderers will do.
24/06/2005, 4:10 AM
I have nothing against Shels fans tbh, there's too few of them to really hate anyway ;) Seriously though, my dislike/hatred of Shels is down to the individuals running/managing the club and a few of the players, not the fans. As for Waterford, Queenstown and Limerick? I dislike Waterford intensely, but TBH I'm not that bothered about them- we have bigger fish to fry. Cobh- usually go and see them when I can, and always like to see them do well, maybe it would be different if they were in the premier. And limerick- well I lived there, know a lot of their fans, and I have a soft spot for them- again, I guess it would be different if they were in the premier.
Hating a club based purely on how they run themselves, is not enough to hate a club. I don't like the way several clubs are run, but that doesn't mean I hate them. If you "hate" a club, it's because they are a)local, b)successful, or c)a club that you hold a grudge against, e.g. over a game or trophy you lost to them. It appears that some of your fans base their hatred of Shels on how their club is run, whereas others hate them because they are successful, and are jealous of that success, which is wrong. If Shels are successful in Europe, and are rewarded financially as a result, that is to the detriment of ALL other NL clubs, not just Cork. Despite this, fans of other NL clubs will continue to wish Shels well in Europe, for the sake of the league.
Gareth
24/06/2005, 7:58 AM
Exactly. I have nothing against Shels fans tbh, there's too few of them to really hate anyway ;) Seriously though, my dislike/hatred of Shels is down to the individuals running/managing the club
I hope you dont mind the webmaster.....:)
24/06/2005, 1:07 PM
Well ehm, my Belgian friends here (few other expats at the company) will kill me for this, but honestly: it is. Two regions that wanted to break up with the Netherlands, formed their own country, imported a German lad and named him King, and then moved on to see the two regions fight with each other instead of the Dutch :D
You mustn't have sarcasm in Belgium! ;)
Hating a club based purely on how they run themselves, is not enough to hate a club. I don't like the way several clubs are run, but that doesn't mean I hate them. If you "hate" a club, it's because they are a)local, b)successful, or c)a club that you hold a grudge against, e.g. over a game or trophy you lost to them. It appears that some of your fans base their hatred of Shels on how their club is run, whereas others hate them because they are successful, and are jealous of that success, which is wrong. If Shels are successful in Europe, and are rewarded financially as a result, that is to the detriment of ALL other NL clubs, not just Cork. Despite this, fans of other NL clubs will continue to wish Shels well in Europe, for the sake of the league.
Why do I hate them?
1. Ollie Byrne
2. The manager- first Keely, now Fenlon.
3. They robbed us in the setanta.
4. Their players pushing a ref around in the cross a few years ago.
etc etc
I'm not jealous of them, sure I'd like their succes, but I'd like Chelsea's money too, and I don't hate them
24/06/2005, 4:55 PM
4. Their players pushing a ref around in the cross a few years ago.
In most cases I'd consider that a plus point. :D
Gerrit
25/06/2005, 3:22 AM
Hating a club based purely on how they run themselves, is not enough to hate a club. I don't like the way several clubs are run, but that doesn't mean I hate them. If you "hate" a club, it's because they are a)local, b)successful, or c)a club that you hold a grudge against, e.g. over a game or trophy you lost to them.
Hating or loving a club is based on emotions, emotions are feelings, feelings know no ratio and should not even be tried to explain.
If he hates Shels, fair enough. (though I'd have prefered to see it otherwise obviously)
Does he actually need a reason for it ? The feeling he has is reason enough, should not even try to analyse why he feels like that. When you have a crush on a woman, are you analysing why you like her ?! (if yes, explain, this could get interesting :D )