View Full Version : Intertoto - Bohs
Gareth
14/06/2005, 9:07 AM
I see Bohs are playing in the Intertoto on Saturday. I for one will be going and cheering on Bohemians and hope they progress. Anyone else going along (apart from Bohs supporters)
14/06/2005, 9:23 AM
Yeah, I'll be there
Drumcondra Red
14/06/2005, 9:29 AM
I'll probably go, well thats the plan at the moment anyway!
They are in a decent run of form at the moment so Bohs should perform well.
I hope they can progress at least one or two rounds of this competiton.
Any TV covering it/ showing highlights or will this competition be ignored again?
Gareth
14/06/2005, 10:02 AM
Well in relation to tv, Bohs game is at 7:00 according to Errortel, and RTE Two are showing Australia -v- Argentina at 7:45. Not only are they not showing the game but they are competing for the audience too. Lovely. I hope their game is a 0-0 borefest. Come on the Bohs (in Europe) hehe
14/06/2005, 10:35 AM
Ill be there :)
Looking forward to seeing kelly as i havent seen him yet
I'll be there, local team 'n all :eek:
Nice Inter Toto run will mess up Bohs league ambitions ;)
14/06/2005, 10:59 AM
RTE pretty much ignored Cork's run last year. Did they even show the Nantes games? :confused:
14/06/2005, 11:04 AM
RTE pretty much ignored Cork's run last year. Did they even show the Nantes games? :confused:
No they didnt :rolleyes:
14/06/2005, 11:07 AM
Terrible. Especially as Shels' CL run had yet to take place this was as good as an Irish club had ever done. Technically it is as far to a final as an Irish club has made it in Europe.
Gerrit
14/06/2005, 11:10 AM
I will be there, as well all my fellow Belgian colleagues. They're all supporting on AA Gent. Except for this fella. They still feel very proud Belgians despite living in Ireland, while I never had any national pride and I rather see an Irish side progress then - good for the EL so also good for Shels. Plus, Gent is my native city and there are two sides in the town, AA Gent and RC Gent. I am much more a RCG sympathisant than an AAG sympathisant so I rather see Bohs proceed.
14/06/2005, 11:12 AM
Gerrit as the person who would know most about Belgian football and a native of Gent can you give us an estimation on Bohs chances?
Gerrit
14/06/2005, 11:22 AM
As they were playing in the start of the season I would have said 10% but as Bohs are on their way back I'd say 30-40 %. Gent are IN THEORY a better theme but
- Bohs is in the winning mood
- Gent is just returning from a short summer break
Last year Gent had all difficulties in beating Icelandic side Fylkir (I was there cheering on Fylkir --> Nordic passion, remember). I'd say if Bohs get a good result in Dalymount their chances are at least 50%, but a home win will be necessary.
14/06/2005, 11:39 AM
This has come at the best possible time for Bohs. Aren't Gent the side Pats came very very close to knocking out a few seasons back in the inter toto? Now we're playing summer football so that's another advantage for Bohs, also afaik they have no injuries. They need a good result without conceding a goal on saturday though.
kdjaC
14/06/2005, 11:41 AM
This has come at the best possible time for Bohs. Aren't Gent the side Pats came very very close to knocking out a few seasons back in the inter toto? Now we're playing summer football so that's another advantage for Bohs, also afaik they have no injuries. They need a good result without conceding a goal on saturday though.
Lost on away goals.
kdjac
14/06/2005, 11:43 AM
Lost on away goals.
kdjac
Yeah I knew i thought that was Gent, Bohs should be a lot fitter than Pats were then because of summer soccer so they should do well.
14/06/2005, 11:47 AM
Gerrit - Is this the start of Gent's season already? Will they play the full team?
Gerrit
14/06/2005, 11:51 AM
Gent players have to return early from holidays for this game, not sure if the whole selection will be present but in theory they should be obliged by the club.
Belgian season starts early August so for them it's a really early start !
Belgian season only ended 3 weeks ago so seems those guys had almost no holidays.
14/06/2005, 1:52 PM
Any idea how Gent did in the league last season?
GalwayFrancis
14/06/2005, 2:00 PM
Any idea how Gent did in the league last season?
they came 6th in the Jupiler Lge, 20pts between winners Club Brugge
check out :: http://www.soccerbot.com/belgium/tables/bel2005.htm
14/06/2005, 2:07 PM
Cheers. ;)
Gerrit
14/06/2005, 3:58 PM
Misleading though... As for the TV images my family sent me and as for the press articles they gave me, no team had more luck than Gent last season. Played crap football very often but still got the three points. So last season it was: crap but very efficient. At least, if the few images and articles don't give a wrong idea - but my pals at my favourite club Ostend told the exactly same thing on our forum when we had to play Gent (and lost 1-2 despite being by far the better team :( )
14/06/2005, 4:17 PM
I'll be there cheering on the Bohs,C'mon and show these choclate eating,john-claude van dam lovers how to play ball.
Drumcondra Red
14/06/2005, 4:21 PM
I'll be there cheering on the Bohs,C'mon and show these choclate eating,john-claude van dam lovers how to play ball.
Well said D2, no doubt they'll return the favour again this summer!!!
Gerrit
14/06/2005, 4:21 PM
I don't like Jean-Claude Van Damme
Are many Bohs fans making the away trip?
Could be good odds at bookies on this game...
Carlin
14/06/2005, 4:35 PM
Are many Bohs fans making the away trip?
Could be good odds at bookies on this game...
From reading on the message board, it seems we'll have a decent travelling support. I'd conservatively estimate around 400+ goin over.
Drumcondra Red
14/06/2005, 4:40 PM
Rumour has it that all flights are booked out!
Carlin
14/06/2005, 4:44 PM
Rumour has it that all flights are booked out!
Both returning Ryanair flights on the Sunday are sold out anyway. Dont know about the rest.
Munchie
14/06/2005, 5:15 PM
theres goin to be a big crowd in belgium!! i think an estimated of 500 or more!! should be good atmosphere out there! id love to be goin. COME ON THE BOHS!!!!!!!! :D :D
Gerrit
14/06/2005, 5:48 PM
Go to Patrick Foley's Irish Pub then in the heart of the city (beautiful city full of medieval buildings and channels). Used to go there after school every day when I was still a student.
ThatGuy
14/06/2005, 9:23 PM
I think RTE should use their sporting budget to cover the Champions League games as a priority, then the UEFA, and then the Intertoto Cup. I doubt that they have too much to spend on EL sides in Europe, the Intertoto should be the lowest priority in that case.
As a Bohs fan I would like to see us on TV every week, but Irish sides in the Intertoto isn't going to capture the public's imagination, even if Bohs ended up winning it people would probably dismiss it. Wrong but true.
Rebal Boy
14/06/2005, 9:31 PM
Best of luck to Bohs on Saturday ;) I really hope ye get past atleast 1 round. Hopfully ye should get a great crowd.
Hibs4Ever
15/06/2005, 6:53 AM
Good luck on Saturday Bohs
Great to see RTE have their priorities in place again!!!
MUPPETS :mad:
I'd be surprised if Setanta don't show eL sides in Europe this season depending onm the draw.
RTE will get sh!te figures for most of the Confederation Cup games so Tot is hardly going to do any worse.
Jaime
15/06/2005, 10:53 AM
theres goin to be a big crowd in belgium!! i think an estimated of 500 or more!! should be good atmosphere out there! id love to be goin. COME ON THE BOHS!!!!!!!! :D :D
400 would be doing well, 500 might be a little optimistic.
CuanaD
15/06/2005, 11:35 AM
I'll be there - shouting for the eL team as usual :p Don't expect much of a crowd tho', not only is that Rugby game on TV, but Dublin Hurlers are playing in Parnell Park at the same time - I know a few people who would be at the Bohs match with me who will be in Parnell Pk instead :( - better excuse than sitting on a bar-stool
Gareth
15/06/2005, 11:35 AM
I am really looking forward to this game. Is it bad to wear my shels jersey to the game. Just so you know that we do support ye in europe. One of the best things about the league is the fact we have not yet all gone the way english fans have and love to see other english teams lose. I think its important on that front to unite. There is not one team in Ireland I wouldn;t support in Europe. Unfortunately I support the one team that breaks everyones exception to that rule :rolleyes:
CuanaD
15/06/2005, 11:40 AM
I am really looking forward to this game. Is it bad to wear my shels jersey to the game. Just so you know that we do support ye in europe. One of the best things about the league is the fact we have not yet all gone the way english fans have and love to see other english teams lose. I think its important on that front to unite. There is not one team in Ireland I wouldn;t support in Europe. Unfortunately I support the one team that breaks everyones exception to that rule :rolleyes:
Love your attitude Gareth
& i'll be there suppourting Shels also in europe - i go to all the euro ties that are in the Dublin area - actually got as far as Longford for their tie last year - ended up sitting in front of their 'section O' lads - it was great craic. :ball:
15/06/2005, 11:41 AM
Unfortunately I support the one team that breaks everyones exception to that rule :rolleyes:
in fairness i was supporting ye last season, even if some people werent.
15/06/2005, 11:42 AM
actually got as far as Longford for their tie last year - ended up sitting in front of their 'section O' lads - it was great craic. :ball:
pity we couldnt give you a result to celebrate :o
bigmac
15/06/2005, 11:43 AM
There is not one team in Ireland I wouldn;t support in Europe. Unfortunately I support the one team that breaks everyones exception to that rule :rolleyes:
I think that most football fans feel that way about Shels too so less of the conspiracy theories, makes you sound like you're from Cork :D
I for one hope that all the Irish teams do well in Europe, any success will be passed along to other teams that qualify in the next few years. Last few Cork and Shels games have started to get some confidence going that the EL standard is getting a bit more competitive anyway.
Roverstillidie
15/06/2005, 11:44 AM
500 or more in the same way you were, ahem, chartering a plane to trondheim? :D
this is the most accessible away tie in europe in years, the gypos have no excuses for low numbers this time.
15/06/2005, 11:47 AM
Is it bad to wear my shels jersey to the game.
I wouldn't say so, there's always a few Shels shirts at Bohs european games and there's no trouble, same as Bohs shirts at Shels matches.
Philo
15/06/2005, 12:05 PM
this is the most accessible away tie in europe in years, the gypos have no excuses for low numbers this time.
Well my hooped, violence endorsing friend, we took 300+ to Trondheim. A plane was chartered and filled and many more made their own way to Norway. Rosenborg fans over there told us we were the biggest away support they'd seen bar Celtic. Still, never let an ageing argument stand in the way of truth eh?
Bohs have requested 800 tickets from KAA Gent but I'd say 400 is a more realistic figure. If we do well in the home leg I think up to another 100 would make last minute bookings.
15/06/2005, 12:05 PM
i never thought I would say this but I'll be supporting Bohs in Europe. I hope they get a great run !!
15/06/2005, 12:11 PM
And you are chartering a plane to where?
Jaime
15/06/2005, 12:48 PM
And you are chartering a plane to where?
Bray. :D
Shelsman
15/06/2005, 1:08 PM
Come On De Bohs!!!