View Full Version : Socialising in Dublin

fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 2:31 PM
Just thought i'd post this up to get an idea of where people like to socialise in Dublin these days. Unfortunately my own mates tend to find a new spot and latch on to it until it has been well and truely run dry. Grown up places only. No student haunts allowed - I've got that well out of my system (plus the Tramco thread was one of the worst ever created on this site). Well, any suggestions?

Pubs or Clubs or Bars or whatever....

carrickharp
10/06/2005, 2:50 PM
For a few quite pints The Headline, SCR. After a match The Portobello. Solas is a good spot for a late one. If in town area Bruxells or Stags Head, tend to go home to Donegal most weekends as drink too bloody expensive in Dublin :mad:

Drumcondra Red
10/06/2005, 2:52 PM
lot of my mates tend to be the same with going the same place for about a month, but;

Whelan's
Market Bar (gets v.crowded and no music)
D2 (great beer garden with bbq!!!)
The Odeon (Its alright)
AKA (ok, lot of posers though)
The bar in Tolka :D (Cheap pint :p )

10/06/2005, 2:55 PM
After a match The Portobello.
That's a student joint though? Actually Magoo, ask your bro whether he remembers Chomp? :D

Getting rarer and rarer I'm out in Dublin anymore, so not sure I can really recommend anywhere (as when I am out I mainly just give out about the prices!).

fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 2:59 PM
I like the beer garden in D2 alright.
Odeon is good on a Friday night, except the bar is grossly understaffed and inefficient.
Ri-Ra has been good of late - as has the whole south william street/george's street area.
Havent been to Solas yet but i hear good reports.
I've never liked Whelan's - an awful lot of pretentious knobs in there.
If you get the Metropolitan on a good night, some really good dj's play in there.
Boomerang used to be good for a night of losing the plot but i haven't been in a good while.
4 Dame Lane has its moments but i think it's more to do with the crowd you're with

fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 3:02 PM
What was Chomp Macy? That's probably going back to the Camden Street in Dublin and the HQ in Longford days. Few of which are remembered by many including yourself and me bro

10/06/2005, 3:04 PM
What was Chomp Macy? That's probably going back to the Camden Street in Dublin and the HQ in Longford days. Few of which are remembered by many including yourself and me bro
It's who was chomp.... Defo more of those nights forgotten than remembered - great days :D

10/06/2005, 3:08 PM
Ive heard very good things about Solas, have not been in myself yet thou.
AKA is full of toss pots, the Odeon is an ok spot, Down Under is great for pickn up aussie chicks :D Judge Roy Beans is ok to start a night off but gets fairly full.

10/06/2005, 3:19 PM
Doyle's and McGowans in Phibsboro for me - not a big fan of going into the city

O' Donoghues Suffock street after work.

Any good nightclubs in the city these days cos it went through a bit of a s**t buzz for a good while?

Always liked whelans

fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 3:22 PM
Any good nightclubs in the city these days cos it went through a bit of a s**t buzz for a good while?
True enough - it was disaster around a year ago with places like Reds being the pick of the bunch. Think there's been a general improvement. Prices have stalled in many places (even though they are still quite high).

Drumcondra Red
10/06/2005, 3:35 PM
Myself and the wife and another couple went to the Dragon for a drink last Saturday.

It seemed like a great idea at the time, we were all a bit tipsy. Great music though...

Really???? The one that used to be sosume? the wife or the "wife"????? :D

exile
10/06/2005, 3:38 PM
a lads suprised there has been no mention of coppers :eek: :D

bar mizu is a good spot, as is the sugar club depends on who is playing there i suppose , searsons or legs if your felling snobby and want a trophy girlfriend :D

exile
10/06/2005, 3:39 PM
forgot hogans is also a firm favourite

fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 3:43 PM
a lads suprised there has been no mention of coppers :eek: :D

Sshshshshshhhhh!

bar mizu is a good spot, as is the sugar club depends on who is playing there i suppose , searsons or legs if your felling snobby and want a trophy girlfriend :D
been meaning to go to the Sugar Club alright. Its supposed to be decent. What size is it roughly? The building itself is big but i assume its only the downstairs or whatever.

Trophy girlfriends in Leggs? Really? My one and only time in there was a couple of weekends ago. I don't even remember it but i'm told i 'relieved' a table of a bottle of wine and stood in the smoking section swigging out of it hissing at anyone who invaded my space. Good lord, if thats the type of guy trophy girlfriends want to hang out with ...

fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 3:45 PM
forgot hogans is also a firm favourite
That's the lads fav at the moment. It's grand every now and again - but every weekend is a bit much. Hate staying there for the night

exile
10/06/2005, 3:49 PM
Sshshshshshhhhh!

been meaning to go to the Sugar Club alright. Its supposed to be decent. What size is it roughly? The building itself is big but i assume its only the downstairs or whatever.

Trophy girlfriends in Leggs? Really? My one and only time in there was a couple of weekends ago. I don't even remember it but i'm told i 'relieved' a table of a bottle of wine and stood in the smoking section swigging out of it hissing at anyone who invaded my space. Good lord, if thats the type of guy trophy girlfriends want to hang out with ... :D :D :D

sugar club is a good spot its a theatre set up basicaly
legs is good spot for late night drinks after falling out of coppers and trying to impress nuala from mayo who is up in the big shmoke for weekend :D

10/06/2005, 3:49 PM
Dunno, but let's put it like this, it's very close to the George...and I don't just mean in address...

Did you not spot the ginormous rainbow flag outside? It's there for that very reason - to stop gobshoites walking in by mistake. Or so somebody told me....

BTW I'm not listing any of my favourite haunts on here, in case they're invaded by hordes of replica shirt-wearing culchies. ;)

exile
10/06/2005, 3:50 PM
That's the lads fav at the moment. It's grand every now and again - but every weekend is a bit much. Hate staying there for the night

ya very hard to pull in there unless your an artiste of some kind :D

Drumcondra Red
10/06/2005, 4:58 PM
Dunno, but let's put it like this, it's very close to the George...and I don't just mean in address...

Which is why I asked if it was your wife or your "wife"

Gareth
10/06/2005, 5:03 PM
In Dublin :

Whelans is my primary location for nightclub.

Apart from that, Thomas Reads downstairs plays great music. I go to the International, The Foggy Dew, Fibbers (if I am waiting to go to a gig in the Ambassador), The Neptune, and then any of the small pubs along the way from Reads to Whelans, like the Swan, Ryans, JJ's :) for the quick scoop to kill the walk :)

10/06/2005, 5:03 PM
open minded Kerry people

Ladies and gentlemen we have a winner in foot.ie's oxymoron of the year competition. ;)

Desireless - Voyage, Voyage? Of course they only play it in gay clubs. :rolleyes:

On a related note I'd highly recommend the 12"/80s box set. 3 CDs of top class 80's 12" remixes for a measly €23. You'd love it.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0006OR0TO/ref=pd_sxp_f/104-1801728-9522362?v=glance&s=music

Drumcondra Red
10/06/2005, 5:32 PM
In Dublin :

Whelans is my primary location for nightclub.

Apart from that, Thomas Reads downstairs plays great music. I go to the International, The Foggy Dew, Fibbers (if I am waiting to go to a gig in the Ambassador), The Neptune, and then any of the small pubs along the way from Reads to Whelans, like the Swan, Ryans, JJ's :) for the quick scoop to kill the walk :)

Shocked!!! :eek: Gar says Whelans!!!

All these pints you have en route, you must be on an all day bender (Gareth is a very slow drinker)

What are you doing online, you not meant to be on the way to Galway???

Gerrit
11/06/2005, 12:24 AM
Why don't you all go gothic and join me to the goth club on Saturdays ? You can borrow my eyeliner while waiting for time to go shopping at Boots...

Drumcondra Red
11/06/2005, 11:17 AM
Eh, no!

12/06/2005, 8:31 PM
bank holiday weekend, match day sunday, quinns a la flannerys then onto slappers, cant be beaten, really and truly out of anywhere i have been in the world, this ( as long as its the good aul crew with ye) cannot and will not be beaten.

great aul sing song with all fans, just getting tanked when reaching flannerys.

quality. :)

Gareth
13/06/2005, 8:44 AM
bank holiday weekend, match day sunday, quinns a la flannerys then onto slappers, cant be beaten, really and truly out of anywhere i have been in the world, this ( as long as its the good aul crew with ye) cannot and will not be beaten.

great aul sing song with all fans, just getting tanked when reaching flannerys.

quality. :)

100% Culchie then yeah? Are you a guard or nurse to complete the stereotype. The "crawl" you describe ranks probably as my living hell!!

Gareth
13/06/2005, 8:45 AM
Why don't you all go gothic and join me to the goth club on Saturdays ? You can borrow my eyeliner while waiting for time to go shopping at Boots...

Which Goth club?

carrickharp
13/06/2005, 10:41 AM
Did you not spot the ginormous rainbow flag outside?

And I thought that flag was up because Carlow were playing in Croke Park :p

Gerrit
13/06/2005, 11:14 AM
Which Goth club?

Dominion ! http://dominion.gothic.ie

And when I'm in Belfast I tend to combine it with a visit to local goth club Cornucopia : http://cornucopia.gothic.ie

Gareth
13/06/2005, 11:47 AM
Looks like Fibbers but more space on the dance floor. Actually ha, one of my mates are in one of the photos on the site :) Small world

13/06/2005, 1:33 PM
100% Culchie then yeah? Are you a guard or nurse to complete the stereotype. The "crawl" you describe ranks probably as my living hell!!

i can assure you, i have a better job than you. im a cultured culchie :p

Gareth
13/06/2005, 1:36 PM
i can assure you, i have a better job than you. im a cultured culchie :p

You don't know where I work to make that judgement? :) and cultured culchie sir is an oxymoron :)

13/06/2005, 1:48 PM
no i dont but i am going to make a stupid stereotype and say because you are a shels fan you must have an inner city job. i dont know what you do, i dont care either, you dont have to be a culchie to enjoy that night, just the kinda person who doesnt take themselves too seriouslly and is able to let their hair down. not standing at the side saying, "jees do ye see them there, fooken eejits dancing and singing to that", thats the point i was making. :cool:

13/06/2005, 9:15 PM
Go Paul! :D Paul's a fine singer anyway...... :D

13/06/2005, 9:29 PM
Did you not spot the ginormous rainbow flag outside? It's there for that very reason - to stop gobshoites walking in by mistake. Or so somebody told me....

Seen that walking past today...Tis big flag alright. I'd say the owners saw more profit in the pink euro than half empty Sosume.

Gareth
13/06/2005, 10:06 PM
no i dont but i am going to make a stupid stereotype and say because you are a shels fan you must have an inner city job. i dont know what you do, i dont care either, you dont have to be a culchie to enjoy that night, just the kinda person who doesnt take themselves too seriouslly and is able to let their hair down. not standing at the side saying, "jees do ye see them there, fooken eejits dancing and singing to that", thats the point i was making. :cool:

Awh but dont you know paul that it is widely known for many years now that the very trio of pubs you mentioned are the shrines to country visitors to the city. Quinns for the pre and post GAA with a quick taxi past the inner city danger zones and off to the south side to Flannerys were it is well known to house the post-Copper's warm up and then when the time comes to maul up your lady friend you met in Quinns and nodded at in Flannerys, you scoot off to Coppers :)

As for your south side accent and suggesting I dont dance like a fool and that I take it all a little too seriously, I just like to dance like a spa to good music :) I just happen to dislike your venue of choice :)

And yes you were right, that is a stupid stereotype.

Gerrit
13/06/2005, 10:16 PM
Looks like Fibbers but more space on the dance floor. Actually ha, one of my mates are in one of the photos on the site :) Small world

You got gothic friends ? Interesting, maybe -if he's often visiting Dominion- I've already talked to him :)

There's more than enough people on the dancefloor, though most just come in after midnight. Suits gothic folks now, doesn't it ? ;) I'm not much of a dancer, I just socialise and listen to the music. Probably won't be on the pics therefor...

14/06/2005, 7:39 AM
Seen that walking past today...Tis big flag alright. I'd say the owners saw more profit in the pink euro than half empty Sosume.
God I hated Sosume. How pretentious could one bar be....

14/06/2005, 6:00 PM
Awh but dont you know paul that it is widely known for many years now that the very trio of pubs you mentioned are the shrines to country visitors to the city. Quinns for the pre and post GAA with a quick taxi past the inner city danger zones and off to the south side to Flannerys were it is well known to house the post-Copper's warm up and then when the time comes to maul up your lady friend you met in Quinns and nodded at in Flannerys, you scoot off to Coppers

you seem to know that sorta night better than me :) that has never happened me. maybe you.

btw i never mentioned anything about southside accents. :o :confused:

ya it might well be a country persons treck, but i mix it with the best of them :)

Partizan
19/06/2005, 11:39 PM
when I was in Dublin I drank in the following places:

McGowans in Phibsboro, full of out of town randy nurses... good scoring rate :p

Flames: right auld spot.

Fame: 80s disco every Friday & Saturday night.

Boomerang: useful if you want to get shacked up with a typical Dublin skank.

Fitzsimons in Temple Bar: full of dumb yanks