For a few quite pints The Headline, SCR. After a match The Portobello. Solas is a good spot for a late one. If in town area Bruxells or Stags Head, tend to go home to Donegal most weekends as drink too bloody expensive in Dublin![]()
Just thought i'd post this up to get an idea of where people like to socialise in Dublin these days. Unfortunately my own mates tend to find a new spot and latch on to it until it has been well and truely run dry. Grown up places only. No student haunts allowed - I've got that well out of my system (plus the Tramco thread was one of the worst ever created on this site). Well, any suggestions?
Pubs or Clubs or Bars or whatever....
"I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.
For a few quite pints The Headline, SCR. After a match The Portobello. Solas is a good spot for a late one. If in town area Bruxells or Stags Head, tend to go home to Donegal most weekends as drink too bloody expensive in Dublin![]()
“Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
www.donegaldarts.com
lot of my mates tend to be the same with going the same place for about a month, but;
Whelan's
Market Bar (gets v.crowded and no music)
D2 (great beer garden with bbq!!!)
The Odeon (Its alright)
AKA (ok, lot of posers though)
The bar in Tolka(Cheap pint
)
That's a student joint though? Actually Magoo, ask your bro whether he remembers Chomp?Originally Posted by dublinharp
Getting rarer and rarer I'm out in Dublin anymore, so not sure I can really recommend anywhere (as when I am out I mainly just give out about the prices!).
I like the beer garden in D2 alright.
Odeon is good on a Friday night, except the bar is grossly understaffed and inefficient.
Ri-Ra has been good of late - as has the whole south william street/george's street area.
Havent been to Solas yet but i hear good reports.
I've never liked Whelan's - an awful lot of pretentious knobs in there.
If you get the Metropolitan on a good night, some really good dj's play in there.
Boomerang used to be good for a night of losing the plot but i haven't been in a good while.
4 Dame Lane has its moments but i think it's more to do with the crowd you're with
"I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.
What was Chomp Macy? That's probably going back to the Camden Street in Dublin and the HQ in Longford days. Few of which are remembered by many including yourself and me bro
It's who was chomp.... Defo more of those nights forgotten than remembered - great daysOriginally Posted by Magoo
Ive heard very good things about Solas, have not been in myself yet thou.
AKA is full of toss pots, the Odeon is an ok spot, Down Under is great for pickn up aussie chicksJudge Roy Beans is ok to start a night off but gets fairly full.
Doyle's and McGowans in Phibsboro for me - not a big fan of going into the city
O' Donoghues Suffock street after work.
Any good nightclubs in the city these days cos it went through a bit of a s**t buzz for a good while?
Always liked whelans
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
True enough - it was disaster around a year ago with places like Reds being the pick of the bunch. Think there's been a general improvement. Prices have stalled in many places (even though they are still quite high).Originally Posted by Cosmo
Really???? The one that used to be sosume? the wife or the "wife"?????Originally Posted by Conor74
a lads suprised there has been no mention of coppers![]()
bar mizu is a good spot, as is the sugar club depends on who is playing there i suppose , searsons or legs if your felling snobby and want a trophy girlfriend![]()
save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford
forgot hogans is also a firm favourite
Sshshshshshhhhh!Originally Posted by exile
been meaning to go to the Sugar Club alright. Its supposed to be decent. What size is it roughly? The building itself is big but i assume its only the downstairs or whatever.Originally Posted by exile
Trophy girlfriends in Leggs? Really? My one and only time in there was a couple of weekends ago. I don't even remember it but i'm told i 'relieved' a table of a bottle of wine and stood in the smoking section swigging out of it hissing at anyone who invaded my space. Good lord, if thats the type of guy trophy girlfriends want to hang out with ...
That's the lads fav at the moment. It's grand every now and again - but every weekend is a bit much. Hate staying there for the nightOriginally Posted by exile
Originally Posted by Magoo
sugar club is a good spot its a theatre set up basicaly
legs is good spot for late night drinks after falling out of coppers and trying to impress nuala from mayo who is up in the big shmoke for weekend![]()
Did you not spot the ginormous rainbow flag outside? It's there for that very reason - to stop gobshoites walking in by mistake. Or so somebody told me....Originally Posted by Conor74
BTW I'm not listing any of my favourite haunts on here, in case they're invaded by hordes of replica shirt-wearing culchies.![]()
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
ya very hard to pull in there unless your an artiste of some kindOriginally Posted by Magoo
Originally Posted by Conor74
Which is why I asked if it was your wife or your "wife"
In Dublin :
Whelans is my primary location for nightclub.
Apart from that, Thomas Reads downstairs plays great music. I go to the International, The Foggy Dew, Fibbers (if I am waiting to go to a gig in the Ambassador), The Neptune, and then any of the small pubs along the way from Reads to Whelans, like the Swan, Ryans, JJ'sfor the quick scoop to kill the walk