View Full Version : What type of secondary school did you go to?

eamoss
09/06/2005, 6:59 PM
What type of secondary school did you go to public or private?

Can this be made a poll?
What type of secondary school did you go?
1) Public
2) Private

As for me im in 5th year(did T.Y) at the mo and im at a private school!

adamcarr
09/06/2005, 7:04 PM
Im at a private school! Fcuking hate it!

shedite
09/06/2005, 7:08 PM
public - always hated rugby!

09/06/2005, 7:09 PM
Public Gaelscoil. I have two years left. :mad:

adamcarr
09/06/2005, 7:13 PM
public - always hated rugby!
Dont fcuking tell me about it! It is so fcuking bent!

09/06/2005, 7:14 PM
My school has NO sports facilities at all!

09/06/2005, 7:15 PM
Public school and it really was the best years of my life(never wanted to leave) and i only finished about 3 years ago. I went in when i wanted,left when i wanted and done what i wanted(usually read the newspapers)

Thank you C.B.S. Westland Row,what a place :D

09/06/2005, 7:21 PM
Your wish, etc etc.

09/06/2005, 7:31 PM
same here. Im boarding though so some of the craic is brilliant.

Im going into 3rd year next September.

09/06/2005, 7:31 PM
Ya poor fcuker :D

09/06/2005, 7:40 PM
some of the craic is brilliant.

You youngsters and your drugs,you don't know your born all we had when we were in school was alcohol and porn. :rolleyes:

09/06/2005, 7:40 PM
One of the options should have been $hit School, that would have been the option I'd have clicked, but I settled for public (still played 'rugger' there though :D).

Hope this link that rates my french teacher works (http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/ShowRatings.php?tid=10502&type=0)

09/06/2005, 7:41 PM
You youngsters and your drugs,you don't know your born all we had when we were in school was alcohol and porn. :rolleyes:
:D :D :D
We have plenty of that aswell ;)

09/06/2005, 7:42 PM
Hope this link that rates my french teacher works (http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/ShowRatings.php?tid=10502&type=0)
seems nice :o

09/06/2005, 7:51 PM
Public school for me. But I finished about two weeks ago, just doing my leaving cert now :(

eamoss
09/06/2005, 8:01 PM
My school has an Astroturf pitch, gravel pitch & a big field behind Oriel Park but yet there is NO Soccer, Rugby or Gaelic teams from 5th year up and there is No Gaelic teams in the school what so ever!

One of the options should have been $hit School, that would have been the option I'd have clicked, but I settled for public (still played 'rugger' there though :D).

Ahh think its bad when a teacher who had 13 pupils and went down to 3(I am one of the 3) and the fact that they offer the language to 1st years any more and the year below me is the last year to do German!
http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/ShowRatings.php?tid=1028&type=0

09/06/2005, 8:01 PM
For me, I just went through school because it was something I had to do before going on to the time-of-my-life 4 (in my 5th now :D) year party. I just kept my head down and scraped through with a very average leaving cert and just got in to college. Huge relief as I thought that a year in Bruce was on the cards! :o

09/06/2005, 8:11 PM
this (http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/ShowRatings.php?tid=4047&type=0) teacher is a sound man but goes for a fag in the middle of a class :D

09/06/2005, 8:24 PM
this (http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/ShowRatings.php?tid=4047&type=0) teacher is a sound man but goes for a fag in the middle of a class :D

Thats very unprofesional... teacher/student relatiopnships! Tut tut! :p

09/06/2005, 8:24 PM
Nice to see ye all use that site. I am a moderator for my school :cool: , :D .

09/06/2005, 8:30 PM
So you're the one they're going to sue! :eek: :p

09/06/2005, 8:32 PM
So you're the one they're going to sue! :eek: :p

:D :D

hamish
09/06/2005, 9:05 PM
Didn't like the school I went to, wasn't allowed to play football at first but resisted and won.

Strangest time was when members of my class burned the Principal's car to a shell 'cos he was a total b...ix. It even made the national papers and RTE. Not advocating this to other students - it was a kind of act of the times - Paris students were on the streets, Mount Sion pupils did a public sit down outside the school 'cos they would not be allowed to play football etc etc. There was craziness in the air those days. One pr!ck in particular tried to take the leather to me for not playing eggball,situation got heated, had to be held back by me mates from whacking the not so little cnut - he hadn't the bottle to report me and I boycotted the school for three months. Got a pretty good leaving despite all this.

Made my best friends there and got my nickname there so the students were aok.

Far too many teachers were out and out wnakers, especially if you liked football, there but the good ones were very good, decent people.

The whole school so-called ethos was a fraud.

Stopping now - feeling a rant coming on!! :eek:

exile
09/06/2005, 9:07 PM

pres or christians :p

09/06/2005, 9:25 PM
Didn't like the school I went to, wasn't allowed to play football at first but resisted and won.

Strangest time was when members of my class burned the Principal's car to a shell 'cos he was a total b...ix. It even made the national papers and RTE. Not advocating this to other students - it was a kind of act of the times - Paris students were on the streets, Mount Sion pupils did a public sit down outside the school 'cos they would not be allowed to play football etc etc. There was craziness in the air those days. One pr!ck in particular tried to take the leather to me for not playing eggball,situation got heated, had to be held back by me mates from whacking the not so little cnut - he hadn't the bottle to report me and I boycotted the school for three months. Got a pretty good leaving despite all this.

Made my best friends there and got my nickname there so the students were aok.

Far too many teachers were out and out wnakers, especially if you liked football, there but the good ones were very good, decent people.

The whole school so-called ethos was a fraud.

Stopping now - feeling a rant coming on!! :eek:

You mean to tell me that the above wasn't a rant,Holy sh*t lads,don't get him going. :D

hamish
09/06/2005, 9:34 PM
You mean to tell me that the above wasn't a rant,Holy sh*t lads,don't get him going. :D

Will ya listen who's talking???? :eek:

It was a mini rant. Won't inflict the whole one on you D2 Red. Know how sensitive you are!!!!! :D

09/06/2005, 9:37 PM

No facilities, what about that patch of grass we have :D , perfect for a game of world cup (as long as there are'nt more than a dozen playing :o ).
And shar the class-rooms are grand for a game of dodgeball, what is it now-
4 years in the school and 10 lights broken and maybe a window or 2 :confused:

09/06/2005, 9:51 PM
I don't think its as black & white as public & private. There are many different types of public schools.

09/06/2005, 10:13 PM
No facilities, what about that patch of grass we have, perfect for a game of world cup (as long as there are'nt more than a dozen playing)
4 years in the school and 10 lights broken and maybe a window or 2
The place I go its a mainly rugby school :rolleyes: Theres 2 rugby pitches :mad: 2 soccer pitches :) a hockey pitch :o and 2 cricket creses :mad:

09/06/2005, 10:32 PM
and 2 cricket creses :mad:

<snigger> :p I cant talk though, Im in Trinity now though :o

09/06/2005, 10:37 PM
<snigger> :p
Ah I can understand your sniggering :mad: Private school is sh1t

09/06/2005, 10:47 PM
Went to a public school, it was basically a sh*t hole facilities wise but both the teachers and students were some of the best people you could meet, with the odd exception (The principal being an odd exception). No rugby to be seen at all, thankfully, and I enjoyed me time there.

09/06/2005, 10:53 PM
2 cricket creses :mad:
:eek: I did'nt imagine that any school had such cricket facilities.

:eek: :eek: ....(Sound of fainting body hitting floor).
I dont mind a biito Rugby but I dont think I'd be able to stick a Rugby school.

09/06/2005, 10:55 PM
<snigger> :p I cant talk though, Im in Trinity now though :o

And you're location says UCD, you didn't cross the unholy divide and switch from one to the other did you? :eek:

09/06/2005, 10:56 PM
I did'nt imagine that any school had such cricket facilities.
Theres loads of schools that go mad for it in the summer :rolleyes: esp. in Dublin.

:eek: ....(Sound of fainting body hitting floor).

I dont mind a biito Rugby but I dont think I'd be able to stick a Rugby school
Same with myself, I like Rugby but in a rugby mad school...argh :mad: and if ya dont play they make ya feel guilty :rolleyes:

eamoss
09/06/2005, 11:14 PM
I like being in a private school, ALL of my m8s went to public school and was & am the only one who went to private school. I like that fact that there are no scumbags in the school and that I get on with everyone in my year par one or two.

I still get the biggest sagging because I went to a private school and played Hockey!(one good thing tho is that all of the hockey teams r in Dublin so more time off school!)

And I all ways get!!
Qus: What school r u in?
Ans: Grammar.
Reply: Ohhh posh boy!

hamish
09/06/2005, 11:22 PM
Theres loads of schools that go mad for it in the summer :rolleyes: esp. in Dublin.

Same with myself, I like Rugby but in a rugby mad school...argh :mad: and if ya dont play they make ya feel guilty :rolleyes:

Why should you feel guilty?? Tell them to fcuk off when they try that $h!t and tell them that you support/play the only REAL WORLD game.

09/06/2005, 11:29 PM
And you're location says UCD, you didn't cross the unholy divide and switch from one to the other did you? :eek:

Yes, I am a Judas (and a lazy one who doesnt bother to update his profile either!)

Im actually in RCSI now :p 3rd college in 1 year :cool:

10/06/2005, 7:49 AM
Nice to see ye all use that site. I am a moderator for my school :cool: , :D .
is that summerhill sligoman??

10/06/2005, 10:27 AM
is that summerhill sligoman??

No, not Summerhill

10/06/2005, 10:29 AM
And I all ways get!!
Qus: What school r u in?
Ans: Grammar.
Reply: Ohhh posh boy!
Ah, i get that too but I put boarding in instead of Grammer but its basically the same thing. Was up in Dundalk grammer last year for a hockey match btw :)

10/06/2005, 10:30 AM
Why should you feel guilty?? Tell them to fcuk off when they try that $h!t and tell them that you support/play the only REAL WORLD game.
I dont feel guilty, they try and make me feel guilty. (I worded the other post wrongly)

I just tell them where to go. ******* :mad:

10/06/2005, 10:35 AM
Yeah, I was at a private school too- not a big fan

10/06/2005, 10:54 AM
Went to Independent CBS school, but the council paid as they don't have a Catholic Grammar. Got outta there first chance I got, to the local authority grammar - non-denominational, co-educational.

If I have kids, and am able to afford it, they'll be going a co-ed, non-denomination school. I'd pay for the lack of religious doctrine and religious zealots.

fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 10:59 AM
Catholic Diocesan College. Public but boarders paid. Have to say the religious had damn all impact there. Or at least i never felt like i was being preached to. Even looking back it seemed to be pretty unbiased anyway. As regards the priests, some of them were total knobs but so too were some of the lay teachers. From what i gather every school has 'em. Don't see much point in using their vocation as a means to slate them. It was intriguing to see how supposed holy men were dishing out slaps on a regular basis. Some of them were right hotheads.

10/06/2005, 11:00 AM
CBS Sexton Street in Limerick

10/06/2005, 11:27 AM
As regards the priests, some of them were total knobs but so too were some of the lay teachers. From what i gather every school has 'em. Don't see much point in using their vocation as a means to slate them. It was intriguing to see how supposed holy men were dishing out slaps on a regular basis. Some of them were right hotheads.
Talking about my families experiences with these people of God. If that's their fookin religion, they can fookin stick it. Won't be sending a child of mine into that environment if I can possibly help it. btw It wasn't abuse - just their attitude and what they value as important in the general scheme of things.

jofyisgod
10/06/2005, 12:10 PM
Ah, i get that too but I put boarding in instead of Grammer but its basically the same thing. Was up in Dundalk grammer last year for a hockey match btw :)

What's boarding actually like? Is it like Harry Potter?! All amusing scrapes, and heroic adventures agaisnt the evil Malfoy equivalent? Or not? :confused: :p

You must have 24 hour internet access there anyway the time you're on here!

adamcarr-do you got to Pres or Christians? Or other?

10/06/2005, 12:22 PM
What's boarding actually like? Is it like Harry Potter?! All amusing scrapes, and heroic adventures agaisnt the evil Malfoy equivalent? Or not?
Yeah, do you really play that biscuit game :D

10/06/2005, 12:23 PM
No facilities, what about that patch of grass we have :D , perfect for a game of world cup (as long as there are'nt more than a dozen playing :o ).
4 years in the school and 10 lights broken and maybe a window or 2 :confused:
Not sure, my personal tally is one of those long flourescent lights. And of course the hole in the wall :D , but that was non-sport related.

Can't believe they never caught me for that? :rolleyes: