View Full Version : What type of secondary school did you go to?
aido_b
10/06/2005, 12:36 PM
Went to a public school called St.Vincents in Glasnevin in Dublin. Had a great GAA tradition, at one stage 7 of the Dublin team had gone to my old school. Currently I think that 5 of the team went to Vincents. Was a grand oul place, most of the teachers were cool and looked after ya. Decent Sports facilities too, had a pool, huge gym and huge sports field so can't complain in that regard!
ciaran76
10/06/2005, 1:56 PM
One of the options should have been $hit School, that would have been the option I'd have clicked, but I settled for public (still played 'rugger' there though :D).
Hope this link that rates my french teacher works (http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/ShowRatings.php?tid=10502&type=0)
Thanks for that Troy. I ooked my old school from 10 years ago and some of the same teachers are still there !!!! Excellent. Made me laugh out loud. :)
Drumcondra Red
10/06/2005, 2:06 PM
Went to a public school called St.Vincents in Glasnevin in Dublin. Had a great GAA tradition, at one stage 7 of the Dublin team had gone to my old school. Currently I think that 5 of the team went to Vincents. Was a grand oul place, most of the teachers were cool and looked after ya. Decent Sports facilities too, had a pool, huge gym and huge sports field so can't complain in that regard!
I was in St.Vincents for 1st and 2nd class, years ago! 1987-1989 I think, could be wrong there, thats back in my Glasnevin days!
10/06/2005, 2:30 PM
What's boarding actually like? Is it like Harry Potter?! All amusing scrapes, and heroic adventures agaisnt the evil Malfoy equivalent? Or not? :confused: :p
Its nothing like that sh!te :) Its just pure messing all day every day, breaking things, ripping paint/wallpaper off walls, annoying the people in charge, staying up really late and scraping yourself outta bed the next morning, falling asleep in class the next morning, its great craic most of the time.
You must have 24 hour internet access there anyway the time you're on here!
I dont actually, so Im on da net all day at weekends and when I'm on holidays :)
10/06/2005, 2:30 PM
Yeah, do you really play that biscuit game :D
:p :D :p
no, we dont ;)
fosterdollar
10/06/2005, 2:34 PM
One thing you had to give the boarders was their ability to come up with insane games. Some of the dressing rooms used to be of 'old shed' construction in our school. One game involved two lads hanging out of a rusty metal trust going from one wall to another and knocking the living sh!t out of each other. Much better than watching the 'fights' at the gate that either never happened or were over in 15 seconds. :rolleyes:
10/06/2005, 2:37 PM
One thing you had to give the boarders was their ability to come up with insane games. Some of the dressing rooms used to be of 'old shed' construction in our school. One game involved two lads hanging out of a rusty metal trust going from one wall to another and knocking the living sh!t out of each other.
Thats class. Some of the stuff that the lads come up with is brilliant alright.
Much better than watching the 'fights' at the gate that either never happened or were over in 15 seconds. :rolleyes
State of those lads :rolleyes: :mad:
aido_b
10/06/2005, 2:59 PM
I was in St.Vincents for 1st and 2nd class, years ago! 1987-1989 I think, could be wrong there, thats back in my Glasnevin days!
Ah there ya go, and what a great two years they were!
adamcarr
10/06/2005, 4:41 PM
pres or christians :p
Christians! I dont know which one is worse but I cant fcuking stand Christians anyway!
10/06/2005, 5:21 PM
Mixed school
I love it mixed alright :)
no uniforms
Ya lucky fcuker :rolleyes:
French was the only foreign language
We have French, Spannish and German. I do French myself.
Biology the only science subject
We have all 3 AFAIK
And it was where I met my wife...awwwwwwwwwww
Fair play to ya :p
eamoss
10/06/2005, 5:47 PM
Thank god for the mixed schools!! :p
But only downside is that the girls skirts go down to there ankles. :mad:
10/06/2005, 6:30 PM
But only downside is that the girls skirts go down to there ankles. :mad:Best place for 'em.
Boom boom.
10/06/2005, 7:41 PM
Best place for 'em.
Boom boom.
:D :D :D
10/06/2005, 7:41 PM
But only downside is that the girls skirts go down to there ankles. :mad:
are ya serious???
I have seen that in loads of schools but in our place they can have them anywhere they want them ;) :D
hamish
10/06/2005, 7:49 PM
I dont feel guilty, they try and make me feel guilty. (I worded the other post wrongly)
I just tell them where to go. ******* :mad:
Fair play to you de Town. Any sport that needs brainwashing to promote itself displays a lack of conviction in the sport itself.
10/06/2005, 7:50 PM
christian butchers.........................horrendous....... .......... :(
eamoss
10/06/2005, 9:43 PM
Oh yeah forgot to say that my school got a €7.m grant to build a new building so next year there is going to be lots of noise when I will be TRYING to study for my Leaving Cert.
ollie
10/06/2005, 11:12 PM
One thing you had to give the boarders was their ability to come up with insane games. Some of the dressing rooms used to be of 'old shed' construction in our school. One game involved two lads hanging out of a rusty metal trust going from one wall to another and knocking the living sh!t out of each other. Much better than watching the 'fights' at the gate that either never happened or were over in 15 seconds. :rolleyes:
a stop the lights.some(actually about all) of the games was just an excuse to play kick sh!it with 1st and 2nd years.harmless enough but it toughened them up.things are after tightning up a lot since.smallies run to to their mams at the slightest thing.(we wouldn't dream of doing that in our time.took it well)and the worst thing is the cheek they would give you and knowing there is sweet FA you can do.the only time where you can exact some bit of vengence was at the games of soccer when the supervisors weren't watching too carefully.
11/06/2005, 9:43 AM
a stop the lights.some(actually about all) of the games was just an excuse to play kick sh!it with 1st and 2nd years.harmless enough but it toughened them up.things are after tightning up a lot since.smallies run to to their mams at the slightest thing.(we wouldn't dream of doing that in our time.took it well)and the worst thing is the cheek they would give you and knowing there is sweet FA you can do.the only time where you can exact some bit of vengence was at the games of soccer when the supervisors weren't watching too carefully.
Yeah, I hate the younger 1's, esp. the first years. You cant do anything to them and they would be reporting you :mad: Little cnuts :mad:
11/06/2005, 10:18 AM
I went to a rugger bugger all boys private school.
11/06/2005, 10:24 AM
Don't think I'd ever send my kids to private boarding school. Always thought that Sunday evening in some lonely boarding school in the ****ing rain in October must be one of the most depressing times...
At times it can be but other times its OK. I would way prefer to be at home during the week but it doesnt really bother me either way....
11/06/2005, 10:25 AM
poor you :(
adamcarr
11/06/2005, 10:34 AM
Same here but Im still in one! :(
adamcarr
11/06/2005, 10:36 AM
At times it can be but other times its OK. I would way prefer to be at home during the week but it doesnt really bother me either way....
I doubt I could stand a boarding school, what time do ye have to get up at and how long do they make ya do work for???
11/06/2005, 10:39 AM
I doubt I could stand a boarding school, what time do ye have to get up at and how long do they make ya do work for???
7.30 get up
9.00 class
11.00 break
11.15 class
1.15 lunch
2.00 class
4.00 end of day
4.00-5.30 sport
6.45 homework
8.45 homework over
12.00 bed ;)
We get off at 1.15 every Wednesday.
adamcarr
11/06/2005, 10:44 AM
We get off at 1.15 every Wednesday.
Yeah, my school is probably one of the only schools in Ireland not to get a half day on Wednesday! :rolleyes:
11/06/2005, 10:46 AM
Yeah, my school is probably one of the only schools in Ireland not to get a half day on Wednesday! :rolleyes:
:D :D :D
Its great in the summer term because ya just go out and mess around for about 4 or 5 hours.
eamoss
11/06/2005, 11:41 AM
Would not like to be a boarder in my school they have to sleep in an old hospital, But they do go home at the weekends.
Thank god I am a day pupil. :D
11/06/2005, 12:10 PM
Would not like to be a boarder in my school they have to sleep in an old hospital
Thats weird
But they do go home at the weekends.
same here. 4 oclock on Friday evenings
11/06/2005, 1:52 PM
poor you :(
It's the rugger bugger thing that is/was the really bad part.
11/06/2005, 2:06 PM
Basically a prison :D = Girls convent school with real nuns :eek: Boys school next door ;)
eamoss
11/06/2005, 2:33 PM
Basically a prison :D = Girls convent school with real nuns :eek: Boys school next door ;)
Yeah that is the same in a school in Dundalk there is a Girls Convent and there is a Boys school run by Brothers(Up until last year) right beside it there is only a small and very old stone wall between them.
By any chance did you go to St.Louis secondary school in Dundalk? :confused:
11/06/2005, 2:46 PM
Yeah that is the same in a school in Dundalk there is a Girls Convent and there is a Boys school run by Brothers(Up until last year) right beside it there is only a small and very old stone wall between them.
By any chance did you go to St.Louis secondary school in Dundalk? :confused:
Nope, Enniskillen, I was joking about school next door, cos it was about 2 miles away! :eek: :rolleyes:
ollie
12/06/2005, 10:46 AM
you get used to it.only did it for 3 years.i'd prob get sh!t sick of if i was there from 1st year.
7.45 get up
8.30 breakfast
9.05 class
11.00 break
11.15 class
1.05 lunch
1.35 class
3.35 end of day
4.00-4.30 sport
4.30-5.30 study
5.30dinner
6.15 study
8.15 study over(if you want you can study till 9.30)
8.15-9.30 watch tv/sport (up to dorms after that)
10.30to11 lights out
hamish
12/06/2005, 12:46 PM
Boarding schools pah.!
Went as a day student to the one just at back of my house.
When I was a student there used to let boarders sneak through my place to shop across the road since the school tuck shop was $h!t. One day a few of them made a smart remark to my mum and I chased the fcukers across the fields with a bayonet. (Brother was in the FCA at the time and it was in his room)
They all ganged up on me the next day but the day boys rallied and we sorted them out.
12/06/2005, 10:51 PM
7.45 get up
That would make me sick! Havent gotten up any earlier than 8am in years, usually 8:45 at the moment though as I dont have to be in til 9:30ish and breckie can be skipped IMO (just as long as you make up for it at coffee break;))
12/06/2005, 10:55 PM
That would make me sick! Havent gotten up any earlier than 8am in years, usually 8:45 at the moment though as I dont have to be in til 9:30ish and breckie can be skipped IMO (just as long as you make up for it at coffee break;))
Oh Jesus no! I couldn't skip breakfast, it is essential for me, I'd be like a witch all day if i didn't get my fuel in the morning.... :eek: :o :D
liam88
13/06/2005, 10:59 AM
Crikey this is a thread!!!!
5 pages in a few days!
ollie
13/06/2005, 10:23 PM
yea you'd be wrecked when you first get up but we had showers every day at that time so that woke us up properly.
14/06/2005, 9:52 AM
Bet they were cold too :D :eek:
14/06/2005, 10:37 AM
yea you'd be wrecked when you first get up but we had showers every day at that time so that woke us up properly.
Exactly the same with me. a shower does the world of good in the morning if your wrecked. Not if they are cold though :eek:
14/06/2005, 6:49 PM
Some of you lot need cold showers after what superfrank posted on 'Totty Watch' :rolleyes: :D
Partizan
19/06/2005, 11:47 PM
went to DLS Waterford meself and even got the honour of representing my school in the Munster Senior College Hurling Championship all the way back in 1995..............
****** of a headmaster though, as gay as a white xmas.
onenilgameover
21/06/2005, 6:34 PM
All boys...........Wouldn't haver me kids go to the same....Girls been some sense to most proceedings...especially ones that are overly male... :)