View Full Version : Supporters of 'other' English/Scottish clubs
The Dublin Red
26/05/2005, 1:05 PM
As the Secretary of a very vibrant and strong Nottingham Forest Supporters Club in Ireland I'm always interested to know whether other clubs such as our own have well run supporters clubs.
We have a great relationship with the Club itself and we are made to feel like it is ours and that we're not outsiders.
Anyone else involved in running a branch over here?
fosterdollar
26/05/2005, 1:28 PM
Eanna will you ever cop on and get over yourself. This is the World Football Forum where life does exist outside Irish Football.
The Dublin Red
26/05/2005, 1:32 PM
Irish football not good enough for you? :rolleyes:
Ah that old chestnut :)
I've been to most League of Ireland grounds actually and followed Bray Wanderers home and away for years. Don't get down to the Carlisle as often as I used to but still call myself a supporter.
I don't need to justify to you or anyone else why I support Nottingham Forest, it is both a passion and a hobby and the breaks away to Nottingham are a great way of making new friends and the makings of great weekends.
If we're going to go down the road of the high and mighty I should really then be supporting Vale View Shankill or RSFC as I'm from Shankill. Actually better still stick to supporting Cuala and Dublin GAA as soccer is after all the 'foreign game'
Cheap shots like that are beneath proper football supporters. Supporting an English Club and a League of Ireland club doesn't have to be mutually exclusive. A bit of maturity would be nice my friend.
Dublin12
26/05/2005, 1:46 PM
Agreed some people on here need to get real and realise English football clubs will always be more supported than the league of Ireland.
Supporting an English Club and a League of Ireland club doesn't have to be mutually exclusive.
No, of course it doesn't. But a supporters club? FFS :rolleyes:
Agreed some people on here need to get real and realise English football clubs will always be more supported than the league of Ireland.
Oh well, we'll definitely progress with an attitude like that :rolleyes:
Hibs4Ever
26/05/2005, 1:58 PM
What has this got to do with the thread??? Suppose you'll lock this one soon too. If you don't have an opinon on the thread you should keep off it.
The Dublin Red
26/05/2005, 2:00 PM
No, of course it doesn't. But a supporters club? FFS :rolleyes:
The supporters club has been in existence since 1989. It has a membership close to 100 and a mailing list in excess of that number. As a club we have access to Nottingham Forest, the board, manager, players, official supporters club the lot. We arrange trips, match tickets, meetings with players, have an end of season dinner and basically provide a vehicle for supporting Nottingham Forest.
Again I cannot understand you're attitude or the mentality you have. It's people like yourself that give League of Ireland supporters a bad name. You have a great product whats with the bigotry towards other people's clubs???
26/05/2005, 2:00 PM
Maybe you should stick to the Irish League forums on this board if you're just gonna take the **** out of people posting on the world football forums.
What has this got to do with the thread??? Suppose you'll lock this one soon too. If you don't have an opinon on the thread you should keep off it.It has everything to do with it- as you can see, I do have an opinion on the thread, quite a strong one actually. As for the childish comment about locking the thread- grow up
The supporters club has been in existence since 1989. It has a membership close to 100 and a mailing list in excess of that number. As a club we have access to Nottingham Forest, the board, manager, players, official supporters club the lot. We arrange trips, match tickets, meetings with players, have an end of season dinner and basically provide a vehicle for supporting Nottingham Forest.
I didn't ask for it's history at all
Again I cannot understand you're attitude or the mentality you have. It's people like yourself that give League of Ireland supporters a bad name. You have a great product whats with the bigotry towards other people's clubs???
Bigotry? What bigotry is this then? I am simply asking why anyone woul get so involved in a team in another country that they would set up a Supporters Club? I have no problem with people supporting teams in other countries, I'm a huge Real Madrid fan and have been for years, but any real football fan will support their own first and then have an interest in others after that. Unless of course, you are actually from Nottingham and are living in Dublin, in which case it makes perfect sense.........
Maybe you should stick to the Irish League forums on this board if you're just gonna take the **** out of people posting on the world football forums.
when did i take the ****?
26/05/2005, 2:04 PM
Ding ding, Round Three! :o
Hibs4Ever
26/05/2005, 2:07 PM
It has everything to do with it- as you can see, I do have an opinion on the thread, quite a strong one actually. As for the childish comment about locking the thread- grow up
It has NOTHING to do with it. Just the usual sh*te talk again. Stay in the Eircom threads if you're not interested in British football.
Then you give people grief about not supporting football in their own country. What about you not even supporting your own country?????
fosterdollar
26/05/2005, 2:08 PM
Eanna, surely this corresponds to trolling as (as said before) this is the world football forum, where you shouldn't have to defend your basic interests when trying to spark a discussion founded on them. How would you like it if i went to the CCFC forum when someone asked about your supporters' club and responded the way you did with The Dublin Red - "Longford football not good enough for you"?
Aside from having half of cork ripping the p!ss out of me it still would constitute trolling given that it's a provocative post in a forum in which you have little constructive interest.
26/05/2005, 2:12 PM
Bigotry? What bigotry is this then? I am simply asking why anyone woul get so involved in a team in another country that they would set up a Supporters Club? I have no problem with people supporting teams in other countries, I'm a huge Real Madrid fan and have been for years, but any real football fan will support their own first and then have an interest in others after that. Unless of course, you are actually from Nottingham and are living in Dublin, in which case it makes perfect sense.........
You're constantly at it. More often than not if a thread starts asking what club does a subscriber support in england/scotland/continent you throw your little piece in about Irish soccer and/or questioning why people support these clubs. It's none of your bloddy business why they do or do not do so. It's their choice. It's people like you who give the eL fans a bad name.
The Dublin Red
26/05/2005, 2:12 PM
What utter rubbish...
So now you have to support the club or team thats nearest to you :confused: In that case I'm a traitor to Dublin by supporting a team from Wicklow.
This thing of supporting 'your own' is complete tosh. I'm involved with Nottingham Forest becasue it is a passion and a very enjoyable hobby. I've made many friends both Irish and English from my support of Nottingham Forest and the trips to the City Ground do break up the long winter months. Its my choice and as far as I known freedom of choice is still here???
Your logic is warped and utterly devoid of any logic. Ireland for the Irish eh???
Why no support our own game only, avoid the 'foreign games' By the way I'm a big Dublin GAA supporter.... Does that make me more of an Irishman than you?????
26/05/2005, 2:18 PM
Gents, can we cool it down here? Éanna rather like a religious fundementalist your preaching of eL dogma could actually turn people away. We should seek to be inclusive of all types of fan (and yes I know you are not suggesting to leave people who do not put eL first out in the cold) but questioning other people's choices in club support and their order of preference and priority will turn people off the eL and make it look like a closed bunch of fanatics (please someone don't reply saying "but it is").
You're constantly at it. More often than not if a thread starts asking what club does a subscriber support in england/scotland/continent you throw your little piece in about Irish soccer and/or questioning why people support these clubs. It's none of your bloddy business why they do or do not do so. It's their choice. It's people like you who give the eL fans a bad name.I throw in my little piece about irish soccer? What's wrong with that? Any time there's a thread on who people support, I always mention the other teams I look out for- do a search, you'll find the proof.
As for asking WHY they support these clubs, its because I'm genuinely interested. I cannot understand why somebody would just "pick" a club to support and get so involved that they set up a supporters club. It seems madness to me, but maybe one of you can explain- is there a point here that I'm missing? :confused:
This thing of supporting 'your own' is complete tosh. I'm involved with Nottingham Forest becasue it is a passion and a very enjoyable hobby. I've made many friends both Irish and English from my support of Nottingham Forest and the trips to the City Ground do break up the long winter months. Its my choice and as far as I known freedom of choice is still here???Of course you have freedom of choice, I never said you didn't. I'm just asking WHY you would support a team like Forrest over a team in Irish football. It doesn't make sense to me, but if you can enlighten me, please go ahead.
Your logic is warped and utterly devoid of any logic.
Far from being devoid of logic, it would most likely be viewed as run of the mill, common sense anywhere except Ireland.
Ireland for the Irish eh???
No, I'd just like to see Irish/people living in Ireland people supporting Irish football. Going by your "logic" maybe we should all vote in the British General Elections because our own politicians aren't good enough? :confused:
Gents, can we cool it down here? Éanna rather like a religious fundementalist your preaching of eL dogma could actually turn people away. We should seek to be inclusive of all types of fan (and yes I know you are not suggesting to leave people who do not put eL first out in the cold) but questioning other people's choices in club support and their order of preference and priority will turn people off the eL and make it look like a closed bunch of fanatics (please someone don't reply saying "but it is").Of course I'm not saying that people aren't welcome to eL games, everyone is. Just like everyone is free to support teams from England, Azerbaijan or bloody Zambia if they feel like it- what I'm interested in is "WHY?" What's the motivation behind it?
26/05/2005, 2:25 PM
As for asking WHY they support these clubs, its because I'm genuinely interested. I cannot understand why somebody would just "pick" a club to support and get so involved that they set up a supporters club. It seems madness to me, but maybe one of you can explain- is there a point here that I'm missing? :confused:
To a certain extent it is about first love. Some kids spot a jersey and love a team or see one performance on TV. It can also be a bit self replicating, the love of whatever club will be passed down through the family then. The supreme media exposure of the EPL and the existing popularity in Ireland will expose young kids fast and far more often to English football than the eL. I am sure many of the people who support an eL and foreign club found the foreign club first as a child before they got any exposure to the eL. I think some or many of us have matured into eL fans as we got older and still retain that first love at the same time.
What about you not even supporting your own country?????
That's not true. I don't support the FAIreland team. I support ireland in everything from Rugby to cricket to athletics to bog-snorkelling, just not in football. And I've already explained my reasons (Brit rejects, Roy Keane and the FAI)
I am sure many of the people who support an eL and foreign club found the foreign club first as a child before they got any exposure to the eL. Absolutely, I was a "passionate" Leeds Utd "fan" until I was about 12, then I started going to City games and that was the end of that. What confuses me, is that this guy isn't yer average barstooler- he's committed enough that he actually involves himself in running a supporters club, that's what has me confused!
26/05/2005, 2:30 PM
Absolutely, I was a "passionate" Leeds Utd "fan" until I was about 12, then I started going to City games and that was the end of that. What confuses me, is that this guy isn't yer average barstooler- he's committed enough that he actually involves himself in running a supporters club, that's what has me confused!
Well with all due respect Éanna for many it's not "the end of that". The person clearly grew up loving Nottingham Forest, probably went over for games, met people, forged a relationship with other fans here all which has compounded his love and enjoyment with the club. It isn't all about proximity. Richmond Park is probably closer to me but I prefer UCD. I don't know why exactly but I just do and couldn't explain.
The Dublin Red
26/05/2005, 2:34 PM
Of course you have freedom of choice, I never said you didn't. I'm just asking WHY you would support a team like Forrest over a team in Irish football. It doesn't make sense to me, but if you can enlighten me, please go ahead.
Far from being devoid of logic, it would most likely be viewed as run of the mill, common sense anywhere except Ireland.
No, I'd just like to see Irish/people living in Ireland people supporting Irish football. Going by your "logic" maybe we should all vote in the British General Elections because our own politicians aren't good enough? :confused:
It is spelt Forest :)
I began supporting Nottingham Forest in 1988 when I was 12 years old. Like nearly every youngster in this country I began following an English team. THere are many reasons for Forest. The first one was an admiration for Brian Clough and what he stood for in the game. I was also a huge follower of Robin Hood as a kid and the fact he was from Nottingham was also a pull. Another memory is my grandfather telling me he had won a load of cash on Forest when they won the European cup. Finally I needed a new school bag that year and lo and behold I ended up with a Forest one!!!
I've supported then through thick and thin and shall remain loyal. I love the city, I've made lasting friendships and the atmosphere at the City Ground is second to none. I can do a day trip for under €100 so match day is basically the same price as a Saturday night out.
Unfortunately an Irish team cannot offer me that, however I still make it down the carlisle and love seeing The seagulls doing well.
What has voting got to do with anything??? Stupid analogy :rolleyes:
Unfortunately an Irish team cannot offer me that,
Why not? "I've supported then through thick and thin and shall remain loyal. I love the city, I've made lasting friendships and the atmosphere at the City Ground is second to none" Sounds pretty much exactly what I'd say about being a Cork City fan. Irish clubs can offer this, and without having to get on a plane or a boat!
What has voting got to do with anything??? Stupid analogy :rolleyes:
It's not a stupid analogy. People seem to think that club football is "different" in this regard. "It's ok to support an English team, because irish teams aren't as good" What's stopping you supporting Brazil in the World Cup over Ireland? What's stopping you voting Conservative at the next election because you think they're better than any Irish party? It's all the same- supporting something from abroad cos you don't like what's here.
26/05/2005, 2:39 PM
By the way Éanna I do not see this as exclusively Irish. As someone who has spent a great deal of time in Slovenia their league in some ways is as pathetically supported as ours. They can get much higher crowds for derby games and when teams are doing well but if a team is not crowds are in their low hundreds. For a couple of years Slovenian national television brought you a Premiership game every Saturday at 3 while the national league got even less live games than the eL (though they have a better highlights programme than eL weekly). In Slovenia too all national prospects go to another national league and most footballing fans support foreign clubs. Often English.
26/05/2005, 2:40 PM
I like Eanna find it puzzling peoples passion for foreign teams. Affinity yes but passion, it seems strange to me.
The Dublin Red
26/05/2005, 2:44 PM
Why not? "I've supported then through thick and thin and shall remain loyal. I love the city, I've made lasting friendships and the atmosphere at the City Ground is second to none" Sounds pretty much exactly what I'd say about being a Cork City fan. Irish clubs can offer this, and without having to get on a plane or a boat!
It's not a stupid analogy. People seem to think that club football is "different" in this regard. "It's ok to support an English team, because irish teams aren't as good" What's stopping you supporting Brazil in the World Cup over Ireland? What's stopping you voting Conservative at the next election because you think they're better than any Irish party? It's all the same- supporting something from abroad cos you don't like what's here.
And here's where we agree but also differ. I think its great that Cork gives you that and yes they are a great club however it comes back to freedom of choice and what your passion is. Mine is Nottingham Forest. Look I cannot say to you that the standard of football served up by Forest this season is better than the League of Ireland. How could I keep a straight face!!!! :D However nothing will ever make me switch allegiance. They are my time for keeps. Throw away 17 years of support??? Never.....
Access to Forest is far cheaper than its ever been and the craic I have over there is brilliant.
Are you a GAA supporter as well, by the way?
The Dublin Red
26/05/2005, 2:45 PM
I like Eanna find it puzzling peoples passion for foreign teams. Affinity yes but passion, it seems strange to me.
Neil, If everyone was the same sure wouldn't life be awfully boring ;)
26/05/2005, 2:46 PM
Neil, If everyone was the same sure wouldn't life be awfully boring ;)
Very True.
And here's where we agree but also differ. I think its great that Cork gives you that and yes they are a great club however it comes back to freedom of choice and what your passion is. Mine is Nottingham Forest. Look I cannot say to you that the standard of football served up by Forest this season is better than the League of Ireland. How could I keep a straight face!!!! :D However nothing will ever make me switch allegiance. They are my time for keeps. Throw away 17 years of support??? Never.....
Access to Forest is far cheaper than its ever been and the craic I have over there is brilliant.
Are you a GAA supporter as well, by the way?
Fair enough, I was just trying to understand where you were coming from. I have a better idea now, even if I can't fully understand it. As for the GAA- no I'm not. No interest whatsoever
26/05/2005, 2:53 PM
It's an interest which develops into a passion, like train watching, pigeon fancying, jigsaw puzzles. Sheffield Wednesday are an English team but to me they're just a football team which I follow and have got tremendous enjoyment and heartache doing so. However, I have met fellow Irish Wednesdayites who would put their loyalty to the blue and white stripes above the green jersey. Now that I can't understand.
There is also nothing wrong with being in a supporters club. When you have an interest, what's wrong with going the whole hog. Sometimes you just can't control it. Afterall, 95% of the national team players play in the English leagues and a lot of the interest is generated by that.
Each to their own but as I say I'll always put Ireland first, unlike some Man U fans in the Keane/Ireland debacle but that's another story. :eek:
26/05/2005, 2:55 PM
It's an interest which develops into a passion, like train watching, pigeon fancying, jigsaw puzzles. Sheffield Wednesday are an English team but to me they're just a football team which I follow and have got tremendous enjoyment and heartache doing so. However, I have met fellow Irish Wednesdayites who would put their loyalty to the blue and white stripes above the green jersey. Now that I can't understand.
There is also nothing wrong with being in a supporters club. When you have an interest, what's wrong with going the whole hog. Sometimes you just can't control it. Afterall, 95% of the national team players play in the English leagues and a lot of the interest is generated by that.
Each to their own but as I say I'll always put Ireland first, unlike some Man U fans in the Keane/Ireland debacle but that's another story. :eek:
And unlike some of the Wendnesday supporters you mentioned also
26/05/2005, 2:57 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :o
Luckily not all people that go to eL games have a chip on their shoulder the size of Éanna's, otherwise everybody would be driven away...
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :o
Luckily not all people that go to eL games have a chip on their shoulder the size of Éanna's, otherwise everybody would be driven away...
I was asking a question and it's been (somewhat) answered
Karlos
26/05/2005, 3:02 PM
I originally posted this below on the Steve Finnan thread but it's relevant here. Liked the history on the forest fan club, interesting stuff. I was in the Dublin Arsenal supporters club years ago but left. Won't go into exact reasons but it turned out I could get to games considerably cheaper on my own if you know what I mean! :eek:
Was over at the Arsenal - Birmingham game in St. Andrews 2 weeks ago and was pleasantly surpprised to share a flight with the Dublin Birmingam Supporters club and a couple of West Brom lads. Needless the say we got the **** took out of us all the way home after being beaten by Brum. Supporters clubs are good ideas when run effectively but I personally prefer to voice my opinions to the club through my individual memberships and fanzine articles.
******Posted earlier********
Can't speak about Liverpool fans but I can tell you why I have a fanatical support for Arsenal. My Auntie emigrated to London in the 60's and lived in Islington,which contained a strong Irish Community. My first vist to Highbury was in the summer of 1979 - i didn't know it at the time though, i wasn't born until December 1979!
As a family we made regular trips to London to visit my Auntie and always incorporated a trip to Arsenal or the buying of a club banner into the visit. I never attended Eircom League soccer, or gaelic or Rugby. I played them all but never went. I went to Ireland matches thanks to my uncle who used to do the catering at Lansdowne back in the day. The only time other than that i got to see a football ground was seeing the outside of Highbury on trips to London. I've been passionate about them since that age and my brother for even more years. We have a stronger family tie to Arsenal than any of the existing eircom clubs and now being members of the club along with my brother and newly joined niece and nephew, that family tie continues.
It all started with my aunt, was strengthend by O'Leary, Brady and Stapleton with my Brother and has continued long past my aunt's death....
I belive it when people say you can't choose your club, it chooses you. So many things conspired for me to become an Arsenal fan. Maybe it's not the same for others but that's how it was for us. I'm proud to be Irish and proud to follow Arsenal.
26/05/2005, 3:05 PM
And unlike some of the Wendnesday supporters you mentioned also
Exactly.
As a kid I followed Ireland, the Owls 1st Div, Preston 2nd, Reading 3rd and Wrexham 4th, Shamrock Rovers Ireland, Ards in Norn Iron and Raith Rovers in Scotland. Great enjoyment
Only Ireland, Owls and Shamrock Rovers stuck and surprisingly Ireland has been the more successful of late. Good year: Ireland qualify, Owls back in Championship and Rovers get a ground.
BTW, just re. this post can I just say that I was a bit too abrupt about it and could have phrased it a bit better. Sorry :)
Gerrit
26/05/2005, 8:57 PM
A nice thread is treatened to be ruined with this discussion that is off-topic... We've had all those politics-infiltrated Rangers and Celtic topics, we've discussed Man Utd and Chelsea several times, ... Now there's actually a very interesting topic on people who support British football without gloryhunting, and then we turn it into an EL vs PL thread ? :confused:
On-topic: I'm at Tolka every week, but show interest in foreign leagues as well. Rosenborg's my favourite team in Europe since 11 years now, which doesn't stop me from being a loyal EL attendant.
In England, I'm Aston Villa all the way. From a distance though, as I will not be kept from sleeping when Villa plays, which is a different thing with Rosenborg or Shelbourne or Ostend. But let's say that I have very very strong sympathies for Villa. Would love to go to Villa Park for a game, unfortunately I haven't found any Irish based Villan yet to carpool with (I see Man U jerseys every day... where are the claret and blue ones ??) and so I emailed the Irish Villans (contact address at www.avfc.co.uk) but they don't reply... Maybe I should try emailing the Cork Villans if the Dublin based fanclub doesn't reply very soon.
So yeah I do support few foreign clubs. Mainly Norwegian football interests me, but have a favourite team in almost every country, even the likes of Luxembourg and Greenland. Doesn't stop me from being a loyal EL fan as well, and this goes for most people on the boards it seem. So I don't get what the fuss is about Eanna. I also don't like people that don't care about Irish football and just sit in pubs wearing Man Utd or Arsenal jerseys. I have no problems with the ones combining love for the Eircom League with love for a foreign club. It's not like in marriage where you're only entitled to love one woman !
Pat O' Banton
27/05/2005, 3:33 PM
In England, I'm Aston Villa all the way. From a distance though, as I will not be kept from sleeping when Villa plays, which is a different thing with Rosenborg or Shelbourne or Ostend. But let's say that I have very very strong sympathies for Villa. Would love to go to Villa Park for a game, unfortunately I haven't found any Irish based Villan yet to carpool with (I see Man U jerseys every day... where are the claret and blue ones ??) and so I emailed the Irish Villans (contact address at www.avfc.co.uk) but they don't reply... Maybe I should try emailing the Cork Villans if the Dublin based fanclub doesn't reply very soon.
Ah head over by yourself; boat train goes straight to Birmingham and is a great way to start any trip. Birmingham isn't to bad a city and if you drink around Digbth (sp :confused: ) you'll hook up with some people along the way, I remember having a great night there with a couple of Villa fans even though Arsenal had just hockeyed them 4-0!
Don't know about Goth clubs in the area though!
adamd164
27/05/2005, 5:41 PM
what gets me is its all 'england, england, england'!
why don't you see supporters clubs for, say a Norwegian lower division team?
27/05/2005, 5:42 PM
You get millions of Irish people saying they support Celtic, now they're hardly an English team.
Bolnoy Bratchny
27/05/2005, 5:46 PM
I cant understand why people like Eanna get so annoyed by supporters of "foreign" teams. I myself support Celtic but also regularly attend el games.
My mates who support the el (most of whom dont like/support british teams&i attend el games with) dont slag me off for being a plastic paddy etc., instead they talk of the positives of supporting the local team and encourage me to come out with them. This is surely a better and more effective way of advertising the league and attracting new fans?
Pepole that do annoy me are those who call themselves fans of Man u/Liverpool/Celtic but have never or rarley attended games. Had to watch my mate cry with joy when liverpool won the cl yet he never bothered his arse taking half hour flight to see a game in his life!
Lastly, supporting teams outside their own domestic league is not just an Irish thing, every small country in Europe is the same. Look at numbers of Bayern Munich fans from Austria, premiership fans from Scandanavia and even Barca fans from South of France.
27/05/2005, 5:47 PM
.....Now there's actually a very interesting topic on people who support British football without gloryhunting, and then we turn it into an EL vs PL thread ? :confused:
Just for the record I began following Chelsea BEFORE they were a succesful, in any sense of the word, team. It was back in the days just after Glenn Hoddle had left but months before they won the FA cup and Cup Winner's Cup the year after so.......it was just good timing on my part. :D
When I was even younger I also liked Aston Villa. But that was at least a decade ago.....
27/05/2005, 6:31 PM
And if I came on here and said I supported Negeri Sembilan, a club team in Malaysia, 90% of you supporters of Brit teams on here would rip the p!ss out of me. Why? Because it is a highly rediculous notion that an Irishman would support a team in fookin' Malaysia. Hence I don't understand Irish people supporting foreign teams while being so dismissive of the game being played down the street. Can you imagine how much better the game would be here, if every person in this country who supports teams overseas, stopped spending their money on jersies of foreign teams, and two or three yearly trips across the Irish Sea (just to help convince themselves that they are "real" supporters) on season tickets and jersies of teams here? But hey!!!, as long as the team from the city, that you have absolutely no connection with whatsoever, are winning trophies - it doesn't matter that the sport is struggling in your own country.... :rolleyes:
jofyisgod
27/05/2005, 6:55 PM
And if I came on here and said I supported Negeri Sembilan, a club team in Malaysia, 90% of you supporters of Brit teams on here would rip the p!ss out of me. Why? Because it is a highly rediculous notion that an Irishman would support a team in fookin' Malaysia. Hence I don't understand Irish people supporting foreign teams while being so dismissive of the game being played down the street. Can you imagine how much better the game would be here, if every person in this country who supports teams overseas, stopped spending their money on jersies of foreign teams, and two or three yearly trips across the Irish Sea (just to help convince themselves that they are "real" supporters) on season tickets and jersies of teams here? But hey!!!, as long as the team from the city, that you have absolutely no connection with whatsoever, are winning trophies - it doesn't matter that the sport is struggling in your own country.... :rolleyes:
Hear hear! Great, great post.
I cant understand why people like Eanna get so annoyed by supporters of "foreign" teams. I myself support Celtic but also regularly attend el games.
I can. Why? The fact that you attend el matches doesn't exempt you from being questioned.
People are saying this happens in other countries too. Yes, it does, but not to the ridiculous extent it does in Ireland. This thread is meant to explore why, so if Bolnoy Bratchny can answer the above i'd be delighted.
EDIT: My last sentence is not entirely true, i got this thread confused with one in the eL section which was developing along similar lines. Still, would appreciate an answer.
27/05/2005, 8:21 PM
The only football matches I have ever attended have been in the Republic of Ireland, I own a season ticket for Bray Wanderes and I am a fan of the eircom League because it's our league.
However if I were to migrate then I would have little or no access to eircom League football and as a fan of the game I would go in search of a source for football which would doubtless lead me to a non-Irish league and therefore if I were to support any team in that league I would be an Irishman supporting a foreign team.
I know this isn't a clear point but what I'm trying to say is by keeping an open mind on football in other countries it's highly likely that you're going to develop an alliegeance to a certain team.
Thunderblaster
28/05/2005, 1:09 PM
Being a scouser, I support the mighty reds.