View Full Version : Supporters of 'other' English/Scottish clubs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Gerrit
28/05/2005, 4:51 PM
what gets me is its all 'england, england, england'!

why don't you see supporters clubs for, say a Norwegian lower division team?

Not a lower division team, but if there would be any other Rosenborg fans around I'd like to help to get a supportersclub started and make a trip to Trondheim now and then. The only thing is that I am one of the only foreign Rosenborg fans (though at the supporersforum there is also one Czech fan, one Canadian fan and I seem to remember a fan from the south of Europe as well - any Irish Rosenborg fan may always PM me, who knows who turns out to support RBK here as well, could be the start of a nice club :cool: )

Karlos
29/05/2005, 11:22 AM
Can you imagine how much better the game would be here, if every person in this country who supports teams overseas, stopped spending their money on jersies of foreign teams, and two or three yearly trips across the Irish Sea (just to help convince themselves that they are "real" supporters) on season tickets and jersies of teams here? But hey!!!, as long as the team from the city, that you have absolutely no connection with whatsoever, are winning trophies - it doesn't matter that the sport is struggling in your own country.... :rolleyes:

Can you imagine how much better the game would be in this country if every Eircom League fan for example went and did a FAI coaching course and went out into their local communnity, took a group of kids and taught them the basics of a beautiful game, encouraged sporting behaviour, empowered them and allowed them to experience the feelings of joy & despair that foolball can evoke.

As someone who rarely attends LOI football but spends almost ALL of my social life involved in the development of grass roots football in this country, I could only imagine what would happen if me and all the other non-LOI supporting coaches decided to give up up our friday night or mid-week caoching sessions to attend LOI games???

If spending your week working, having a few drinks and attending an eircom league game makes people feel like the saviour of Irish football then so be it but Without the development of more youth coaches in this country to a higher level, our national game will continue to suffer.

Want to do a favour for Irish Football? Take the 200 euro or whatever you spend on your LOI season ticket and donate it to your local club, go and help out coaching and try to produce a higher quality of player that can go on and one day win Ireland a world cup.

Some people are very misguided if they think buying a few LOI tickets and a club scarf suddenly makes you the biggest contributor to the future of Irish football.

The only way I can guarantee that my financial investment into Irish football works is by going and delivering it myself through coaching, buying new equipment for kids etc etc.....

We'll be waiting a very long time for the sales of club merchandise by LOI Teams to effectively enhance the development of youth football in this country.

Without junior and youth football there wouldn't be a LOI and those people who continually administrate, arrange, referree and coach in the youth leagues around this country are in my eyes the REAL supporters of Irish football.

So show your worth to Irish football and get out & do something about the state of the game.

end of rant. :)

jorge
29/05/2005, 1:07 PM
anyone want to start up a sporting cristal supportersclub

29/05/2005, 1:08 PM
anyone want to start up a sporting cristal supportersclub
No way, I'm Deportivo Wanka till I die! :mad:

jorge
29/05/2005, 1:42 PM
No way, I'm Deportivo Wanka till I die! :mad:
they got relegated how did you hear of them :confused:

29/05/2005, 3:25 PM
Ah head over by yourself; boat train goes straight to Birmingham and is a great way to start any trip. Birmingham isn't to bad a city and if you drink around Digbeth you'll hook up with some people along the way, I remember having a great night there with a couple of Villa fans even though Arsenal had just hockeyed them 4-0!

Don't know about Goth clubs in the area though!

Weirdly enough, I used to DJ at a Goth club whilst a student in Birmingham in the early 1990s ("The Cage" at Edwards no. 8, but I digress). I spent a couple of years as a Goth, but was crap at it for a number of reasons: i) I smiled too much; ii) my skin was too brown, and iii) rather than looking emaciated, I was far too fat. :o

Gerrit, if you do head to Birmingham, PM me and I'll set you on the right road for a good Goth night out! :eek: :D

:D PP

29/05/2005, 10:24 PM
Want to do a favour for Irish Football? Take the 200 euro or whatever you spend on your LOI season ticket and donate it to your local club, go and help out coaching and try to produce a higher quality of player that can go on and one day win Ireland a world cup.
And what about all the people who travel to England or Scotland every weekend to spend their money over there? If they put their money into Irish football, how much better would it be? If all the people who professto be football fans in this country put their money into the game in this country instead of abroad, there would be such a massive improvement in coaching and facilities.

29/05/2005, 10:50 PM
By the way Éanna I do not see this as exclusively Irish. As someone who has spent a great deal of time in Slovenia their league in some ways is as pathetically supported as ours. They can get much higher crowds for derby games and when teams are doing well but if a team is not crowds are in their low hundreds. For a couple of years Slovenian national television brought you a Premiership game every Saturday at 3 while the national league got even less live games than the eL (though they have a better highlights programme than eL weekly). In Slovenia too all national prospects go to another national league and most footballing fans support foreign clubs. Often English.

In Slovenia if I am not mistaken , Soccer is the 3rd most popular sport after Skiing and basketball .

29/05/2005, 10:52 PM
Probably below olympic handball and ice hockey too maybe even athletics. Almost like Ireland in a way. You will see all these sports and the EPL on national TV but rarely the domestic league.

29/05/2005, 10:54 PM
In fact when Maribor were in the Champions League like Shel's run last year suddenly their stadium filled up and there was massive hype. The same with the national team from 98-2002. No one could be arsed to go to games and no one has been arsed since.

29/05/2005, 10:55 PM
they got relegated how did you hear of them :confused:

The Name Deportivo Wanka is hilarious Jorge :D

29/05/2005, 10:56 PM
In fact when Maribor were in the Champions League like Shel's run last year suddenly their stadium filled up and there was massive hype. The same with the national team from 98-2002. No one could be arsed to go to games and no one has been arsed since.

yes when Katanec who was the coach was decked by Zahovic and he was sent home from the World Cup. Some say Katanec got the bottle to send him home from McCarthy's alleged handling of the Langer in Saipan situation :D

29/05/2005, 11:00 PM
yes when Katanec who was the coach was decked by Zahovic and he was sent home from the World Cup. Some say Katanec got the bottle to send him home from McCarthy's alleged handling of the Langer in Saipan situation :D

A clash of egos there really. He seemed to resent Zahovic's big influence and name and Zahovic was sick of him picking his same useless cronies. Once they got rid of Katenec Zaho was brought back and was pretty ineffective. He left Benfica by mutual consent in December and to the best of my knowledge has not found a club. Magnificent goal tally for a midfielder for a minnow international team.

Karlos
30/05/2005, 8:26 AM
And what about all the people who travel to England or Scotland every weekend to spend their money over there? If they put their money into Irish football, how much better would it be? If all the people who professto be football fans in this country put their money into the game in this country instead of abroad, there would be such a massive improvement in coaching and facilities.

I think the key point here is 'into the game', not into the Eircom League necessarily. I think it's wrong for anyone to label the thousands of coahes, referrees, mentors, administrators etc who spend so much time organising and developing the game in this country and who maybe just don't support an E.L. team as ruining the game or being non-supportive in this country. But yes i must agree with you, people who can and do not contribute to Irish Football in some way should hang their heads

I make my point. however in relation to people like me who don't attend LOI games regulary but am a sincere supporter of the grass roots development of football in this country. I don't believe you have to be an eircom league season ticket holder to be a heavy or worthy supporter of football in this country. Given the track record of many of the LOI clubs and the FAI which I have witnessed first hand of re-distributing the wealth down to grass roots level - I would rather pump my hard earned cash into upgrading my coaching skills and buying new equipment. I spent most of my free time coaching kids and adults in this country - and then get accused of not being a supporter of Irish Football because I follow a family tradition and support an english football club.

It appears that some people here (not directing this at you btw), seem to think you can only be a contributor to Irish Football by supporting an Eircom league team. I believe the money and time I put into football in this country goes as far if not further into the development of the game than a season ticket or a spending spree at the club shop. I see the reward of my financial input instantly.

I'm certainly not saying don't support an Eircom League team and if that's your passion great - but people really should think about how the game in this country needs to progress. Larger attendences will not change the problems of developing football overnight - people need to get hands on and do something about it imo. I've friends who coach at E.L junior clubs and have yet to see any re-distribution of the money they must have made from their recent european adventures. Much like the FAI, at times you wonder where the money is really going?

The Dublin Red
30/05/2005, 8:48 AM
And if I came on here and said I supported Negeri Sembilan, a club team in Malaysia, 90% of you supporters of Brit teams on here would rip the p!ss out of me. Why? Because it is a highly rediculous notion that an Irishman would support a team in fookin' Malaysia. Hence I don't understand Irish people supporting foreign teams while being so dismissive of the game being played down the street. Can you imagine how much better the game would be here, if every person in this country who supports teams overseas, stopped spending their money on jersies of foreign teams, and two or three yearly trips across the Irish Sea (just to help convince themselves that they are "real" supporters) on season tickets and jersies of teams here? But hey!!!, as long as the team from the city, that you have absolutely no connection with whatsoever, are winning trophies - it doesn't matter that the sport is struggling in your own country.... :rolleyes:

You bare not comparing like with like. We have not been exposed to Malaysian football and we have no cultural links to Malaysia. Its a bit like asking why haven't Real Madrid supporters clubs popped up???

Again it comes back to choice and if you like the free market. Everyone has the right to do as they please and no amount of moaning from yourself will change that. I might not have much in common with a Liverpool supporter who just watches his team on the television but I respect their right to do that. You'll find alot of such supporterts have really an 'interest' as opposed to a passion for the game. Nothing wrong with that either.

I may not have a birth connection with Nottingham but it is my club and I'll continue to support them regardless of what division they are in and regardless of peoples bigoted opinions.

As I have siad before if we're really going to be patriotic lets just stick to the GAA and leave the 'foreign games' all together.

ColinR
30/05/2005, 10:23 AM
One weekend in Nottingham's Nightclubs will make anyone a Forest fan for life...:D

just back from a footy tournie in nottingham - big let down i have to stay. couldn't find an off-licence for about an hour walking around the city (too stock up for 'afters' drinking. went to a bar in a converted church cant remember the name, good pub (bar itself was poorly laid out) and then to a nightclub called media - total let down there - absolute dump.

as for the topic being discussed (which appears to be different from the original topic) - i dont see any need to force people into suporting eL clubs. it is the club's responsibility to attract fans. everyone has free choice, and if someone would rather sit in a pub and have a few pints and watch football being played by players he has never seen in the flesh or ever will - then eL clubs should ask why is this more pleasureable than going and watching live football being played at their grounds?

as for people in supporters clubs for non-fashionable british/foreign clubs - fair play to them. it costs a hell of a lot more to support these teams than to support an eL team, so their support and passion must be genuine, and good luck to them

The Dublin Red
30/05/2005, 10:51 AM
just back from a footy tournie in nottingham - big let down i have to stay. couldn't find an off-licence for about an hour walking around the city (too stock up for 'afters' drinking. went to a bar in a converted church cant remember the name, good pub (bar itself was poorly laid out) and then to a nightclub called media - total let down there - absolute dump.

as for the topic being discussed (which appears to be different from the original topic) - i dont see any need to force people into suporting eL clubs. it is the club's responsibility to attract fans. everyone has free choice, and if someone would rather sit in a pub and have a few pints and watch football being played by players he has never seen in the flesh or ever will - then eL clubs should ask why is this more pleasureable than going and watching live football being played at their grounds?

as for people in supporters clubs for non-fashionable british/foreign clubs - fair play to them. it costs a hell of a lot more to support these teams than to support an eL team, so their support and passion must be genuine, and good luck to them

The church is called the 'Pitcher and Piano' to be honest its grand for a once off novelty visit but is over priced with no atmosphere. You're right media is rubbish although during the university year is a good spot.

Surprised you couldn't get booze as most newsagents sell booze!

Best bars are around market square and down by the waterfront. The Walkabout is a cracking spot on a Saturday night.

ColinR
30/05/2005, 11:13 AM
The church is called the 'Pitcher and Piano' to be honest its grand for a once off novelty visit but is over priced with no atmosphere. You're right media is rubbish although during the university year is a good spot.

Surprised you couldn't get booze as most newsagents sell booze!

Best bars are around market square and down by the waterfront. The Walkabout is a cracking spot on a Saturday night.

eventually got our beer from a newsagents - at a good price too!

passed by walkabout, but one of the lads down with us has a deep-rooted hatred for the edinburgh walkabout, so we didn't even try to convince him to go in. market square area seemed like it was good alright plenty of people about anyway. a few of the other offices down fo the tournie said they had great nights in other clubs - we just seemed to be the eejits who choose to go to media!

Roadend
30/05/2005, 2:48 PM
if every person in this country who supports teams overseas, stopped spending their money on jersies of foreign teams, and two or three yearly trips across the Irish Sea (just to help convince themselves that they are "real" supporters) on season tickets and jersies of teams here? But hey!!!, as long as the team from the city, that you have absolutely no connection with whatsoever, are winning trophies - it doesn't matter that the sport is struggling in your own country.... :rolleyes:

Would this argument also apply to players then? Every Irish player that ever went to England to play, they went for money, making them sell-outs effectively. Why would they care about team from a city that they have no connection with whatsoever. Why bother supporting the national sell-out 11 following on from that, and so forth.
Eircom football suffers when they leave yet not a word is mentioned, but when a fan does it he's castigated. Some of you need to get over yourselves and your double standards.

30/05/2005, 8:20 PM
Would this argument also apply to players then? Every Irish player that ever went to England to play, they went for money, making them sell-outs effectively. Why would they care about team from a city that they have no connection with whatsoever. Why bother supporting the national sell-out 11 following on from that, and so forth.
Eircom football suffers when they leave yet not a word is mentioned, but when a fan does it he's castigated. Some of you need to get over yourselves and your double standards.

No my argument doesn't apply to players if it did I would have written "supports/plays". Players play to earn a living - of course they'll go to England or elsewhere if they can get 5 figure sum per week - thats commonsense. A point worth making though, if there was increased support at Eircom League games teams would be better placed financially to prevent the exodus of players.

As for your "national sell-out eleven" point - half of them weren't even born here.

jofyisgod
30/05/2005, 8:28 PM
half of them weren't even born here.

I agree with the restof your arguments firmly, however, this is just a lazy, inconsiderate statement.

I wasn't born in Ireland, but i sure as fúck know who I'd choose to play for between England and Ireland, just as Kevin Kilbane was, and Jason Mcateer and many other users of these forums would be if asked.

The national side would be a hell of a lot weaker minus the 2Gs in it, and the sooner people can comfortably accept this the better.

30/05/2005, 8:34 PM
I agree with the restof your arguments firmly, however, this is just a lazy, inconsiderate statement.

I wasn't born in Ireland, but i sure as fúck know who I'd choose to play for between England and Ireland, just as Kevin Kilbane was, and Jason Mcateer and many other users of these forums would be if asked.

The national side would be a hell of a lot weaker minus the 2Gs in it, and the sooner people can comfortably accept this the better.

Jofy, you will notice that I didn't say "half of them aren't even Irish", hence I said "half of them weren't even born here" (which does not raise questions of nationality) which inturn means they can't be "sell-outs" to the EL. Indeed I shouldn't have even said "born here" considering it should have been "there". Also considering my son was born here in the states...well lets just say, I know where yer coming from.

31/05/2005, 7:10 AM
Can't be arsed reading the whole thread, but just wondering did many of these forest fans start supporting them around the late 70's early 80's? ffs Forest were a relatively good team to the early 90's.

Great you support a team that is now shít, doesn't mean they were when you chose them...

Roadend
31/05/2005, 8:25 AM
Players play to earn a living - of course they'll go to England or elsewhere if they can get 5 figure sum per week - thats commonsense. A point worth making though, if there was increased support at Eircom League games teams would be better placed financially to prevent the exodus of players

Top players in the eircom league earn 2 grand a week upwards, and as with all top sporting types would have cushy jobs waiting for them once they finished playing so to be honest they are obviously money grabbing sell outs. If a any man argues that he cannot live on that, he's talking through his hole. If those players did stay, the eircom league would be a better product and attract more support, and they'd increase yet further their earning potential. Do not be so quick to hark on about supporters when the players themselves are are doing the exact same thing.

The Dublin Red
31/05/2005, 8:47 AM
Can't be arsed reading the whole thread, but just wondering did many of these forest fans start supporting them around the late 70's early 80's? ffs Forest were a relatively good team to the early 90's.

Great you support a team that is now shít, doesn't mean they were when you chose them...

Began supporting them in 1988 when I was 12 and yes they were successful and yes that was a consideration. Kids tend to pick successful teams!!! There are other reasons namely Brian Clough and the whole Robin Hood thing as well.

31/05/2005, 9:24 AM

Forest were good right up to the mid 1990s. I think they finished 3rd in 1995 or 1996 when they had Collymore.

31/05/2005, 9:30 AM
Top players in the eircom league earn 2 grand a week upwards, and as with all top sporting types would have cushy jobs waiting for them once they finished playing so to be honest they are obviously money grabbing sell outs. If a any man argues that he cannot live on that, he's talking through his hole. If those players did stay, the eircom league would be a better product and attract more support, and they'd increase yet further their earning potential. Do not be so quick to hark on about supporters when the players themselves are are doing the exact same thing.

There is a big difference between a supporter and a player. A footballer is doing a job and like anybody he will look around for the best wages etc. he also must take into account improving as a player and if he wants to represent his country playing at a higher level is important. Supporters are different. We dont get paid to go to games and we dont improve as supporters by been more successful etc. To draw a link between the two and to call it double standards is rubbish. Dancinpants is right, if fans spent their money on EL rather than EPL, the domestic game in Ireland would be a lot better off. But then again it is easier to watch a game from your sitting room rather then go to a game every week. There is nothing wrong with taking an interest in other leagues and watching football on the tv as nobody here is calling for a Chinese cultural revolution type situation. Freedom is very important and people have the right to support whoever they like. But I suppose it comes down to this basic scenario,

If Man Utd/Liverpool/Celtic/Spurs/Arsenal etc etc. were playing against

Cork City/Shels/Bohs/Shamrock Rovers etc, who would people cheer for.

I lookout for spurs results in the EPL mainly due to Chris Hughton and the Irish players at teh club etc. However I would always go for the Eircom league side ahead of the English team.

31/05/2005, 9:42 AM
Forest were good right up to the mid 1990s. I think they finished 3rd in 1995 or 1996 when they had Collymore.
No arguement, but I've heard people who follow clubs like Forest or Wednesday or City taking the moral high ground and saying they're not glory hunters like United/Arse/Scouse fans are - most of them started following them when they were actually relatively good teams not when they were crap.

The Dublin Red
31/05/2005, 10:32 AM
No arguement, but I've heard people who follow clubs like Forest or Wednesday or City taking the moral high ground and saying they're not glory hunters like United/Arse/Scouse fans are - most of them started following them when they were actually relatively good teams not when they were crap.

So what??? What the problem with that???

Would never take the high ground and support everyone's right to chose who they support no matter what.

It's some of the sanctimonious preaching from EL Zealots that gets me going!!! Some of you are as bad as any GAA Bigot.

31/05/2005, 10:46 AM

Just noticed this, I was also born in the UK. People like McAteer, Aldridge, Houghton made a career choice to play for Ireland, and devalue the national team. They're very different from the likes of Kilbane, Alan Kelly, and (yes even if he's not a personal favourite) McCarthy who always considered themselves irish - pretty much like you and me. I really don't see how people can't grasp the difference....

02/06/2005, 12:00 AM
I don't believe you have to be an eircom league season ticket holder to be a heavy or worthy supporter of football in this country. Neither do I. I do however believe that supporting the eircom League is good for football in this country. I take your point though- what I was getting at is the people who spend hundreds on trips to england every few weeks- if that money was going into Irish football at any level it would improve things massively- plus if it all went to eircom League clubs, then maybe there'd be more youth academies etc

The Dublin Red
02/06/2005, 8:11 AM
Neither do I. I do however believe that supporting the eircom League is good for football in this country. I take your point though- what I was getting at is the people who spend hundreds on trips to england every few weeks- if that money was going into Irish football at any level it would improve things massively- plus if it all went to eircom League clubs, then maybe there'd be more youth academies etc

But again it comes back to people's freedom to chose. You cannot force anything on people. Its like saying that if we all stayed and took our holidays in Ireland tourism would be great!!!!

Way too simplistic.

02/06/2005, 8:53 AM
Er,Houghton :rolleyes: always wanted to play for Ireland(How the F*ck did He ever :confused: 'devalue'the national team;He scored 2 of Ireland's most important-ever goals!) ......no-one made a 'career-choice';It was purely because they were eligible,FFS! :p Though I admit not all of them knew this,initially.
You should watch the Green and Red TV series, where he says that he still looks for Scotlands results first, and how he was píssed off at not getting called up for Scotland so when Charlton asked him to play for Ireland he thought sod it, might as well. Sure sounds like a committed Irishman to me. :rolleyes:

davey
02/06/2005, 9:14 AM
You should watch the Green and Red TV series, where he says that he still looks for Scotlands results first, and how he was píssed off at not getting called up for Scotland so when Charlton asked him to play for Ireland he thought sod it, might as well. Sure sounds like a committed Irishman to me. :rolleyes:

I'm sort of with you here Macy although I find it hard to criticise Houghton because of those 2 goals :) . You are right though, theres a massive difference between say Kilbane and Breen against the likes of Aldridge and McAteer.

When they put on the Green shirt though I'm behind them all.

02/06/2005, 9:25 AM

that is fair enough but I doubt he regrets for a second choosing Ireland. Also I remember when he was at palace, morrrison saying how houghton was always onto him to declare for Ireland. There has being a few plastic paddies whose irishness has being very questionable but overall their impact has being positive and as such a small nation we need them.

Even mighty France need a regular helping hand from the likes of senegalese born players etc

02/06/2005, 10:36 AM
Think Rayo's only 'supporting'Scotland out of sympathy;my pal's brother was in the same class & was always a Tim/proud of his Donegal roots! ;)
Why does he keep on saying it? Especially to an RTE production. Someone's lying....

02/06/2005, 10:46 AM
But again it comes back to people's freedom to chose. You cannot force anything on people. Its like saying that if we all stayed and took our holidays in Ireland tourism would be great!!!!

Way too simplistic.
I'm well aware that people have the right to do what they want, I was just making the point about what a difference it could make. Also, I have no problem whatsoever with people who like to go aborad and take in a game- I've done it myself- its the people who ONLY watch games abroad and wouldn't go near a game in this country (Landsdowne being the possible exception) that **** me off

The Dublin Red
02/06/2005, 11:32 AM
I'm well aware that people have the right to do what they want, I was just making the point about what a difference it could make. Also, I have no problem whatsoever with people who like to go aborad and take in a game- I've done it myself- its the people who ONLY watch games abroad and wouldn't go near a game in this country (Landsdowne being the possible exception) that **** me off

I cannot for the life of me see any problem in people chosing to support whatever clubs they wish to support. I have nothing in common with someone who follows a team like Man Utd from a bar stool but I respect their right to. Nor do I think any EL supporter is anyway better than us who happen to support a club in a different country.

There is a big difference between people who go abroad and take in a game to those of us who actively support a club in a different country. I make no apologies for my support for Nottingham Forest. I have the greatest respect for the EL and the people who travel the country with their clubs. I think people like yourself should respect diversity and people's right to support other teams in different countries.

For the record I am involved in grass roots football in this country, I set up and founded a club 5 years ago and we're still going strong. Just because I have done that does not make my superior to any football fan or supporter, its just I'm more into it.

By the way Eana, if you so wish, send me a pm and i'll email you a copy of our last newsletter. At least then you'll see what kind of stuff we do in the Ireland Branch of the Nottinghma Forest Supporters Club.

Jim Smith
02/06/2005, 11:35 AM
Think Rayo's only 'supporting'Scotland out of sympathy;my pal's brother was in the same class & was always a Tim/proud of his Donegal roots! ;)
Must be a different Ray Houghton then.
The Ray Houghton I'm thinking of has always maintained that he wanted to play for Scotland but never thought he would, so jumped at the chance of international football when approached by Jack Charlton.
Why would he state this time and time again? Out of sympathy? I doubt it.... I know the state the Scottish football is in, believe me but if Ray Houghton started to patronise Scottish football fans like you suggest, I suspect that he knows the reaction he would get...

02/06/2005, 11:37 AM
For the record I am involved in grass roots football in this country, I set up and founded a club 5 years ago and we're still going strong. Just because I have done that does not make my superior to any football fan or supporter, its just I'm more into it.
What I'm getting at is the people who support clubs from a bar stool, but DON'T involve themselves at any level in this country- they are the ones I have no time for. I know of many dedicated football people who don't support the eL because it's very difficult to combine that with their involvement at other levels, that I can understand. People sitting on a barstool and doing absolutely nothing- thats what I hate

Karlos
02/06/2005, 1:02 PM
What I'm getting at is the people who support clubs from a bar stool, but DON'T involve themselves at any level in this country- they are the ones I have no time for. I know of many dedicated football people who don't support the eL because it's very difficult to combine that with their involvement at other levels, that I can understand. People sitting on a barstool and doing absolutely nothing- thats what I hate

I agree wholeheartedly on your point here! :)

02/06/2005, 4:07 PM
The EL would still be the same as it is today even if no fans went across to the UK to support their teams. I doubt if they'd go to EL games because they're played in poor stadia for the most part and the product is poor and always will be because gaelic football and hurling, based upon county loyalties, is the national and predominant sport here. Local soccer cannot compete and never could. The best we could hope for is two Dublin, 1 Cork, 1 Derry and maybe 1 team from the west competing in the Scottish leagues if Celtic and Rangers bugg*r off to the PL.

Sorry but that's the truth of it - the EL will never be anything of substance.

02/06/2005, 6:28 PM
The best we could hope for is two Dublin, 1 Cork, 1 Derry and maybe 1 team from the west competing in the Scottish leagues if Celtic and Rangers bugg*r off to the PL.

Sorry but that's the truth of it - the EL will never be anything of substance.

Sorry there chief, but besides maybe 12 decent stadia, the Scottish Leagues aren't exactly the most glamorous place to ply your trade...its a bullsh*t argument anyway, coz its a crap idea!!!

Gerrit
02/06/2005, 8:45 PM
that is fair enough but I doubt he regrets for a second choosing Ireland. Also I remember when he was at palace, morrrison saying how houghton was always onto him to declare for Ireland. There has being a few plastic paddies whose irishness has being very questionable but overall their impact has being positive and as such a small nation we need them.

Even mighty France need a regular helping hand from the likes of senegalese born players etc

Yes, but most of them grew up in France and feel French (a few exceptions though).

Morrisson refused the Irish jersey at first as he was hoping for an English call. No insult to him (why should I blame him for loving England, if that's the way he feels...) but if I were Kerr the door was locked now. It makes the national team look like England's waste bin.

Belgium also had a few players naturalised to call them for the national team. Some criticised it, some didn't care. But the truth is they blocked the road for a few Belgian talented ones and apart from Luis Oliveira the "new Belgians" didn't bring that much to the national team. No one wanted Steev Malbranque to play for Belgium even though he was allowed to and though he was playing in the Premiership ; but no one (or hardly anyone) accepted him as being Belgian.

02/06/2005, 11:12 PM
Morrisson refused the Irish jersey at first as he was hoping for an English call. No insult to him (why should I blame him for loving England, if that's the way he feels...) but if I were Kerr the door was locked now. It makes the national team look like England's waste bin.
thank you. nice to see someone agrees with me on that

Gerrit
02/06/2005, 11:25 PM
There are many. I've talked to someone who even stopped supporting the national team because of the few players in it who just chose Ireland for the sake of their careers, and it seems the guy was mainly pointing towards Morrisson.

Now let's not blacklist the guy, from his point of view it may be understandable. I just think Brian Kerr should not just let him in when he comes crawling back because England doesn't call him.

02/06/2005, 11:30 PM
There are many. I've talked to someone who even stopped supporting the national team because of the few players in it who just chose Ireland for the sake of their careers, and it seems the guy was mainly pointing towards Morrisson.

Now let's not blacklist the guy, from his point of view it may be understandable. I just think Brian Kerr should not just let him in when he comes crawling back because England doesn't call him.It's one of the reasons I stopped going to Landsdowne to support the FAIreland team, and one of the main reasons I don't really support that team much now

03/06/2005, 7:13 AM

Way too simplistic.

Ah now head EL football is way better than Irish weather ! :D

03/06/2005, 8:10 AM
thank you. nice to see someone agrees with me on that
Come off it Eanna, lots of us agree with that. :)

Players should be asked once and once only - anything other than a straight yes, fook em off for ever.

Frank Blue
03/06/2005, 9:21 AM

Now let's not blacklist the guy, from his point of view it may be understandable. I just think Brian Kerr should not just let him in when he comes crawling back because England doesn't call him.

Something definitely nees to be done to stomp this sort of thing out of the game. Can't these people just simply make their minds up where a sense of loyalty stands.
Over here in Germany, Ailton - a Brazilian playing for Schalke and before that Werder Bremen - caused a load of problems. He had been here long enough to play for Germany and had never played for Brazil - not a chance if that happeneing, but a good striker. Not too many were happy about that over here, as it was just because he wanted to play in the World Cup. So he get's all narky and sounds out the possibility of signing up for an Arab nation (can't think who right now), until FIFA blocked it. What a joker.
No way would I want such a character representing my team. And should such a person do so, and be even successful, there will still be problems from supporters.