View Full Version : Irish acts of the 80's/90's- where are they now ?
15/01/2010, 9:00 AM
I'm actually not a fan of that album, I think the later stuff with Ian on guitar has much more presence. I'm not sure if he or the original guitar player is with them for the reunion, if he isn't I wouldn't bother going.
Partial agreement. Ian (didn't know they had anyone else play guitar with them -Craig Walker himself aside) certainly completed the jigsaw for the live sound and the second record probably sounds better than I,E &I for his involvement. But the songs, like Slowdown, to my ear aren't as strong as those on the first album.
Age old problem ...a couple of decades to write your first album and a couple of months to write your second.
For the purposes of further informing the thread -Ian also plays (bass) with The Sultans of Ping these days I believe.
petecole
15/01/2010, 9:37 AM
Hi all,
Sorry to have spammed! I am helping out Power of Dreams, so I did a Google search on 'Irish bands 90s'' and I found this thread...
The fantastic Ian Olney IS playing with the band on the reunion tour.
Cheers,
Pete
endabob1
15/01/2010, 10:15 AM
Partial agreement. Ian (didn't know they had anyone else play guitar with them -Craig Walker himself aside) certainly completed the jigsaw for the live sound and the second record probably sounds better than I,E &I for his involvement. But the songs, like Slowdown, to my ear aren't as strong as those on the first album.
Age old problem ...a couple of decades to write your first album and a couple of months to write your second.
For the purposes of further informing the thread -Ian also plays (bass) with The Sultans of Ping these days I believe.
Having never seen them live I can't comment on the live sound but I agree that the songs on the first album were much stronger. I felt that they became much harder and the poppy edge went which was a shame, I think Ash went down a similar road, they started getting grungier and lost the catchy power pop side which was what I liked about them.
15/01/2010, 12:24 PM
Partial agreement. Ian (didn't know they had anyone else play guitar with them -Craig Walker himself aside) certainly completed the jigsaw for the live sound and the second record probably sounds better than I,E &I for his involvement. But the songs, like Slowdown, to my ear aren't as strong as those on the first album.You're probably right, I'm not a big lyrics or musical style person, just one of those annoying "I know what I like" people. So while 2 Hell might fall down on lyrics or form, I love the power of it, whereas Immigrants comes off very wishy-washy.
For the purposes of further informing the thread -Ian also plays (bass) with The Sultans of Ping these days I believe.That's right! I was too young to appreciate them in the raw first time round but I went to one of their gigs in Cork a while back and I'd great craic altogether. I totally wasn't expecting everyone to fall over. :)
Sorry to have spammed! I am helping out Power of Dreams, so I did a Google search on 'Irish bands 90s'' and I found this thread...Apology accepted. It's not the best way to promote things, it just annoys forum admins and users. It's generally a good idea to ask a forum admin or moderator first if you're coming to a forum just to post something commercial.
The fantastic Ian Olney IS playing with the band on the reunion tour.I'm not sure how he'd react to "fantastic", but that's great to hear.
Having never seen them live I can't comment on the live soundI'd strongly recommend seeing them live, they're corking on stage.
As I was saying. Pure bloody genius. Still listen to these guys all the time.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBw3kuLWtmw
stann
10/02/2010, 11:51 PM
As we're now YT-ing...
To illustrate the previous point...
PtiyS123taQ
HaSi2Z74Ou8
Oh and also what TonyD said, though this is far and away my favourite...
YGcfNWEtaHo
stann
11/02/2010, 12:05 AM
Also, would definitely be interested to know whatever happened to these lads!
YNZXoEvikd0
15/02/2010, 6:50 PM
Anyone Remember/Ever hear of Scary Eire. a Hip Hop outfit from the Mid-Lands (kildare I think)
seen some of there stuff on youtube recently, A real walk down memory lane, Dole Queue is as relevent today as it was in the early 90's
15/02/2010, 8:39 PM
Jaysus, I haven't heard the name in ages. I think I may have had one of their singles on cassette single :eek:
16/02/2010, 10:00 AM
Anyone Remember/Ever hear of Scary Eire. a Hip Hop outfit from the Mid-Lands (kildare I think)
seen some of there stuff on youtube recently, A real walk down memory lane, Dole Queue is as relevent today as it was in the early 90's
Was one not from "Tulla" - tullamore, and one from Dublin?
In fact i never heard of them when they were around but have since then thanks to the wonders of YouTube - how did they not make it? And surely The Dole Q song would make it if re released?
The Good Son
16/02/2010, 12:44 PM
Also, would definitely be interested to know whatever happened to these lads!
YNZXoEvikd0
Singer Mick Lynch still performs as Don For Chickens around Cork. More on Stump here-
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/kevin.hopper1/Stump.html
corkharps
16/02/2010, 10:33 PM
Singer Mick Lynch still performs as Don For Chickens around Cork. More on Stump here-
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/kevin.hopper1/Stump.html
Thanks for that,great band.BTW Whipping boy are back in contact according to facebook!