View Full Version : Matches 21st-24th February

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

dundalkfc10
23/02/2020, 8:40 PM
Only cause Dundalk happen to be decent so there's obvious competitive rivalry, when they go back to being **** they won't be given a second thought by Rovers fans.

The pitch invasions when you score against us seem to say different

RathfarnhamHoop
23/02/2020, 8:46 PM
The pitch invasions when you score against us seem to say different

Reading not your strong point is it? Maybe try get someone to explain what I said to you.

I'll help you out. There weren't any pitch invasions before you started winning stuff

23/02/2020, 9:12 PM
Reading not your strong point is it? Maybe try get someone to explain what I said to you.

I'll help you out. There weren't any pitch invasions before you started winning stuff

Dundalk success caused Rovers fans to invade the pitch? I'm glad we had such an impact!!

Kingswood Rover
24/02/2020, 7:16 AM
Grow up gentlemen, Dundalk have been the outstanding club in the country for the last 6 or so years. Rovers are now in a position to be a serious threat to their supremacy the fun is seeing what will happen and not get shirty over the ups and downs of how it all plays out.

MattB11
24/02/2020, 7:57 AM
Pitch inspection for Finn Park this morning after heavy snowfall last night

MattB11
24/02/2020, 9:33 AM
Harps, Shels is off

24/02/2020, 10:33 AM
Grow up gentlemen, Dundalk have been the outstanding club in the country for the last 6 or so years. Rovers are now in a position to be a serious threat to their supremacy the fun is seeing what will happen and not get shirty over the ups and downs of how it all plays out.

Agreed it has been a tad petty but it is also fun seeing how angry RH can get and how much name calling he can rise to! His ying to Marinobohs yang. There was plenty of it all with Cork fans too especially with their policy of never tackling and being outraged when their players were tackled and I suspect that as the season progresses and pressure comes on the more there will be heated 'discussion'. It is part and parcel of any rivalry but it is often tiresome especially for fans of other clubs. Just think how entertaining it could get though with a red card or 2 next week ;p

24/02/2020, 10:35 AM
Liam Buckley was right all along. Crap pitch can't even handle a bit of snow.

joey B
24/02/2020, 11:37 AM
Pats Derry OFF aswell.

sbgawa
24/02/2020, 11:52 AM
PAts Derry ???
I'm in Dublin am i missing something, did i sleep though a storm last night?

PartySaint
24/02/2020, 11:57 AM
PAts Derry ???
I'm in Dublin am i missing something, did i sleep though a storm last night?

I reckon if we were playing a team from Dublin it would go ahead but they probably wanted to make an early call to save Derry traveling down and potentially getting called off later if it rained heavily in the meantime.

joey B
24/02/2020, 12:03 PM
Same with Harps,snow is melting already but can't take the risk and the aggro!

Jack B
24/02/2020, 12:17 PM
Extremely surprised by that call as including today thus far it's not rained here for the better part of two days. It is what it is though I suppose.

Praying they just move it to next Monday to avoid any ridiculous congestion further down the line.

24/02/2020, 12:24 PM
Currently on the train down, and that is very annoying. There's no rain forecast in Dublin for the rest of the day or anything.

DCWA
24/02/2020, 1:01 PM
At least they made the call early if there’s any doubt would rather they do that.

El-Pietro
24/02/2020, 2:55 PM
Thought Cork actually didn't look too bad until the second goal, after that with the red card things fell apart though.
Looked a disgusting challenge from where I was for the red, lunged in two feet off the ground on a player on the ground, nasty.

Saw there was a fight in the Cork end after the Red card and one person was removed from the ground, anyone know what happened?

Burkey looking back to the form that got him a move to Preston in the first place.
There was a foul on the edge of the Rovers box - opposite side to the red, about a minute before the red, ref didn't give it. After the red some were shouting that it was ridiculous that a red was given because of the missed foul. Bit of a shouting match occurred between my brother and I and some others. I decided it was best to ignore them and turned back to see what was going on with the red card. Out of nowhere a couple of punches were thrown, not sure exactly what happened as I was looking at the pitch and it was literally behind my back. Stewards were very good and removed my brother immediately, he says he was pushed/punched and he threw a punch back. Sounds like he hit someone much younger than him. The people he was arguing with wanted blood cos he hit a teenager, but the stewards were able to calm them down and explained that he was being dealt with and they would review the CCTV.
Gardaí and stewards brought him to the control room and looked at footage. Said they wouldn't take any further action but that he wasn't going back into the stand.
He said after that the real punishment would have been to force him to watch us in the second half.

sbgawa
24/02/2020, 6:22 PM
Rovers 2 nil up and Waterford down to 10 men , not even 20 mins gone. Marshal on his debut and an own goal

D24Saint
24/02/2020, 6:40 PM
Currently on the train down, and that is very annoying. There's no rain forecast in Dublin for the rest of the day or anything.

Has to be down to red tape of some degree, no serious rainfall the past two days.

D24Saint
24/02/2020, 8:38 PM
What do Cork fans reckon so far. The start to the season must be concerning , from the outside it looks like a relegation battle ?

The Donie Forde
24/02/2020, 8:49 PM
A relegation battle is exactly what it is.

patrickccfc
24/02/2020, 8:51 PM
What do Cork fans reckon so far. The start to the season must be concerning , from the outside it looks like a relegation battle ?
The games against Rovers and Dundalk were expected defeats, not so much the manner of the Rovers game. The amount of goals being conceded and the lack of any attacking threat is worrying also. Friday against Harps is a hugely important game to hopefully kick start our season.

White Horse
24/02/2020, 9:25 PM
Cork are one of the worst LOI sides I've seen. They just can't defend. Perhaps not a bad as Dundalk in 2012, but close. Dundalk were in first gear all night, much to the irritation of the home fans who wanted them to up the tempo. However, the players appeared to be firmly focused on Tallaght this Friday and just saw the game out.

Fair play to the a half a dozen Cork fans who travelled. They are in for a tough season.

ToberonaTornado
24/02/2020, 9:32 PM
Cork are one of the worst LOI sides I've seen. They just can't defend. Perhaps not a bad as Dundalk in 2012, but close. Dundalk were in first gear all night, much to the irritation of the home fans who wanted them to up the tempo. However, the players appeared to be firmly focused on Tallaght this Friday and just saw the game out.

Fair play to the a half a dozen Cork fans who travelled. They are in for a tough season.

It's a boo(t) in the arse some Dundalk fans need! Cleary was still wrong to have a go imo.

Ezeikial
24/02/2020, 9:44 PM

If tonight's performance is true indication it is hard to see anything other than a relegation battle for Cork City.

Obviously I haven't seen Finn Harps, Waterford or Sligo Rovers, but I can't see any of those finishing behind Cork.

Lethargic performance from Dundalk, although the victory was never in any doubt - it was like a low tempo training spin.

sbgawa
24/02/2020, 9:51 PM
Cork Sligo and Waterford all look very very average.
Mid table for harps, what will Ollie have to say ??

joey B
24/02/2020, 10:00 PM
Cork Sligo and Waterford all look very very average.
Mid table for harps, what will Ollie have to say ??

Ollies already looking at players for the first division next year!!!

24/02/2020, 10:10 PM
It's a boo(t) in the arse some Dundalk fans need! Cleary was still wrong to have a go imo.

What happened with Cleary?

Ezeikial
24/02/2020, 10:25 PM
What happened with Cleary?

A number of fans in the stand showed their displeasure with Daniel Cleary passing back to the keeper from the half way line. Cleary reacted with a wave of the hand.

The frustrations of the home support were vocalised when Cleary kicked the ball back to Rogers from half way on 55 minutes but things got a bit calmer when Dundalk were awarded a penalty after Kelly, who had been played in by Hoban, was fouled by Hurley.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0224/1117395-dundalk-keep-pace-at-the-top-after-cruising-past-cork/

ToberonaTornado
24/02/2020, 11:01 PM
A number of fans in the stand showed their displeasure with Daniel Cleary passing back to the keeper from the half way line. Cleary reacted with a wave of the hand.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0224/1117395-dundalk-keep-pace-at-the-top-after-cruising-past-cork/

More of a dismissive hand than a wave from Cleary but he shouldn't have reacted at all to that crap from the buzzards in the stand.:o(a very,very small % has to be said) Vinny will have a word in the guys ear i'm sure,set him straight.

The Lilywhites
24/02/2020, 11:06 PM
Dundalk were horrendous tonight against a pub team. Rovers will win on Friday.

24/02/2020, 11:46 PM

3rd game of the season, win 3-0 to take 9 from 9 points. Cruised through the match tonight as there was no need to go full pelt, hardly horrendous!

joey B
24/02/2020, 11:47 PM
What is Gerry Malone about lads? Is he a serious journalist/commentator or taking the ****? Those periscope things he puts up are a bit mad,he was saying Waterford were 2 up on 2 of them this evening and the other one he was saying Rovers were 2 up!!!!

24/02/2020, 11:59 PM
Gerry is a bit madcap. Well intentoned but often blinkered. A character is probably how he'd be described. The PA tonight got a laugh with a 'Any time soon' comment for a sub coming on.

The Lilywhites
24/02/2020, 11:59 PM
3rd game of the season, win 3-0 to take 9 from 9 points. Cruised through the match tonight as there was no need to go full pelt, hardly horrendous!

Seriously hard viewing once again tonight, as it has been since Perth took charge.

2 Year Contract
25/02/2020, 12:21 AM
Seriously hard viewing once again tonight, as it has been since Perth took charge.

I think I can speak on behalf of fans of every other club in the league in saying...

Keep the head up, these tough times won't last. Sorry to hear you had to sit though 90 minutes of that disgraceful 3-0 win to keep the embarrassing 100% record up in retaining the league title which you’ve only won 5 out of the last 6 of :rolleyes:

ToberonaTornado
25/02/2020, 12:26 AM
What is Gerry Malone about lads? Is he a serious journalist/commentator or taking the ****? Those periscope things he puts up are a bit mad,he was saying Waterford were 2 up on 2 of them this evening and the other one he was saying Rovers were 2 up!!!!

**shrugs shoulders**

He's got 95% of Dundalk supporters barred from his twitter account.
How would you sum that up?Eccentric or just someone who cant take criticism?(he cant)

I dunno?

Gerry is a nice guy and if you asked him(esp as an away supporter) he'd show you around Dundalk town tomorrow and then bring you up to OP for a tour-but he hasn't a clue when it comes to transferring the nice social skills he possess's to social media.

Enigma.

25/02/2020, 1:15 AM
I think I can speak on behalf of fans of every other club in the league in saying...

Keep the head up, these tough times won't last. Sorry to hear you had to sit though 90 minutes of that disgraceful 3-0 win to keep the embarrassing 100% record up in retaining the league title which you’ve only won 5 out of the last 6 of :rolleyes:

Dundalk fans have always been notoriously difficult to please! I saw a lot more tonight than early last season and we are only 3 games in - the final ball that was missing far too often tonight will start to click. Opposition is a factor as Dundalk didnt need to stretch themselves. It was encouraging that a whole lot of chances were created though not converted; as the season goes on I think we will be more clinical.

Cork havent offered much against the leagues top sides but I think they will avoid relegation and certainly put it up to sides outside the top 3 or 4. Now more than ever Cork need 4k turning up!

Kingswood Rover
25/02/2020, 7:18 AM
So its over to Talla on Friday 9 pts each, we played well in the same game last year but just lacked that bit of guile that comes from having done it all before. Have Rovers now got that guile. The cup win and another season under their belts with that core group of players will have certainly helped. Nice evening could see a record crowd for this fixture at this venue, should be a classic.

seand
25/02/2020, 8:21 AM

Jeezus H Christ, I hope we're this horrendous all season.

seand
25/02/2020, 8:23 AM
Gerry is a bit madcap. Well intentoned but often blinkered. A character is probably how he'd be described. The PA tonight got a laugh with a 'Any time soon' comment for a sub coming on.

Showing his class once again by taking the **** out on an injured player.

25/02/2020, 8:43 AM
**shrugs shoulders**

How would you sum that up?Eccentric or just someone who cant take criticism?(he cant)

I dunno?

Gerry is a nice guy and if you asked him(esp as an away supporter) he'd show you around Dundalk town tomorrow and then bring you up to OP for a tour-but he hasn't a clue when it comes to transferring the nice social skills he possess's to social media.

Enigma.

Met him out at the AIL media day recently his first question was are you from the Dublin media. Lovely fella to chat to but he wouldn't let anyone else get a question or a word in as he went on repeated rants about the troubles

ArFella
25/02/2020, 9:43 AM

A nice enough fella if you go along with his incoherent ramblings, but he'll get incredible defensive and gruff if you call him out on his BS, he was our career guidance/general Councillor at secondary school and was widely hated because he hadn't clue outside of being able to read the CAO points required for course off a pre-printed sheet. I'm sure some people in town will have a different opinion of him but I personally don't like him and think he's utterly clueless when it comes to any sort of tactical analysis, for example many Dundalk fans consider Chris Shields performance Friday against Shels as one of his poorest for Dundalk, Gerry interviews Vinny post-match: "Chris Shields was immense tonight" best to ignore him or take him with a massive pinch of salt.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 9:51 AM
Agreed it has been a tad petty but it is also fun seeing how angry RH can get and how much name calling he can rise to! His ying to Marinobohs yang. There was plenty of it all with Cork fans too especially with their policy of never tackling and being outraged when their players were tackled and I suspect that as the season progresses and pressure comes on the more there will be heated 'discussion'. It is part and parcel of any rivalry but it is often tiresome especially for fans of other clubs. Just think how entertaining it could get though with a red card or 2 next week ;p

You seem to be confusing anger with dismay that people can get to adulthood and not be able to grasp such simple concepts.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 9:53 AM
There was a foul on the edge of the Rovers box - opposite side to the red, about a minute before the red, ref didn't give it. After the red some were shouting that it was ridiculous that a red was given because of the missed foul. Bit of a shouting match occurred between my brother and I and some others. I decided it was best to ignore them and turned back to see what was going on with the red card. Out of nowhere a couple of punches were thrown, not sure exactly what happened as I was looking at the pitch and it was literally behind my back. Stewards were very good and removed my brother immediately, he says he was pushed/punched and he threw a punch back. Sounds like he hit someone much younger than him. The people he was arguing with wanted blood cos he hit a teenager, but the stewards were able to calm them down and explained that he was being dealt with and they would review the CCTV.
Gardaí and stewards brought him to the control room and looked at footage. Said they wouldn't take any further action but that he wasn't going back into the stand.
He said after that the real punishment would have been to force him to watch us in the second half.

Ah okay so something out of nothing really, saw someone being led away alright. Just for the record though it wasn't a foul, right back went down expecting contact but Byrne never actually touched him, happened right in front of me.

25/02/2020, 12:15 PM
Showing his class once again by taking the **** out on an injured player.

What was that? I tend to try and block out the PA but just caught the 'any time soon' quip when the substitution got delayed.

25/02/2020, 2:16 PM
Was listening to one of the podcasts think it was RTE game on but they clarified the last time that five goals were scored by a player in each division.
In the top flight Jonathan Speake got six goals for Derry City v Sligo Rovers in the 88/89 season.

In the first division Danny Furlong got five goals for Wexford Youths in 15 season unsure what game he got it in though?

oriel
25/02/2020, 4:14 PM

Amazing statement to make, its 9/9 points, +5 GD, defending champions having won 5 of the last 6 league titles. Plus probably one of the best players still not ready (McEleney), a new signing not yet in the country, and 2 changes to the back four last night. Also disrespectful to Cork, they are in a transition phase, mind you it will be a challenge for them to avoid the play off I'd think.

As for the comment on 'Horrendous' As Brian Clough once famously said to a reporter who argued as Euro Champions, the fans weren't getting value for money, 'If you want guaranteed entertainment, go to the West End and see a play, I think Cats is still showing'

Ezeikial
25/02/2020, 5:20 PM
**shrugs shoulders**

I dunno?

Enigma.

Gerry has nice social skills?

He is certainly a passionate and committed supporter.

There are lots of ways you could describe him - a character, eccentric or enigmatic are probably of the mild end

sidewayspasser
25/02/2020, 5:40 PM
Was listening to one of the podcasts think it was RTE game on but they clarified the last time that five goals were scored by a player in each division.
In the top flight Jonathan Speake got six goals for Derry City v Sligo Rovers in the 88/89 season.

In the first division Danny Furlong got five goals for Wexford Youths in 15 season unsure what game he got it in though?
Must be this one:
https://www.extratime.ie/matches/detail/27506/2/

26/02/2020, 1:09 AM
Gerry has nice social skills?

He is certainly a passionate and committed supporter.

There are lots of ways you could describe him - a character, eccentric or enigmatic are probably of the mild end

Considering he was a career guidance teacher previously....