View Full Version : Matches 21st-24th February

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 6:51 AM
Thankfully no one was injured.

Nothing new about Pico being involved in disgraceful, horrific lunges

You ever actually going to grow the **** up?

ThirdManRun
22/02/2020, 7:48 AM
Took in Shels v Dundalk this evening for my first game in 2 years having been out of the country. Really entertaining game in an effort and blood + guts sense. Great to see Tolka “sold out”, even if most of the stadium was out of action, helped make a great atmosphere. Hopefully the crowds keep coming as it would make for a healthy addition to the league!

Shels : Bravely went with a 4-4-2 with the aim of playing direct to Kilduff and having runners off him (Kabia / Sheppard / Dobbsjoining in) Worked well in patches, mainly down to the momentum gathered from winning second balls. Shane Farrell was a lot more effective than Dobbs due to his pace. Deegan / Poyton were exposed as a 2 man midfield at times due to their mobility and amount of space they had to plug in. Sean Quinn / Ryan Brennan made a big improvement when them came on ( Brennan/Quinn/Deegan as a trio could be the best blend) Luke Byrne + Danny OReilly at CB could cause issues due to their size, conceding two from set pieces is an early warning! Alex O’Hanlon showed glimpses of why he was so highly rated as a kid.

Dundalk : Fairly disappointed in what I seen from Dundalk. Very industrial performance with 3 defensive midfielders playing. Sloggett is a good player but definitely should be playing deeper. More of a wrecking ball number 10 then a deft creative one (kinda like Jeff Hendrick) Perth finished the game with 6 defenders which could be seen as clever as they got away with 3 points, but it showed they were far closer to Shels than they should have been. Dundalk barely created a chance from open play and relied on set pieces again to make anything! Boyle and Gannon were excellent on a night that lent itself to bread and butter defending!

Conditions definitely played a role in the quality of the game so I expect both teams to improve as the season opens up and they get into more of a groove. Dundalk will need to improve for the Rovers game next week but Perth will rightly point to 6 points out of 6 as the measure. That logic is fine until they’re picked off in Europe.

Ezeikial
22/02/2020, 8:40 AM

Eloquently put as always!

If you disagree with the comment about Lopes feel free to say so.......

PartySaint
22/02/2020, 9:23 AM
Pats probably going to have the league wrapped up by mid July

placid casual
22/02/2020, 9:31 AM
Eloquently put as always!

If you disagree with the comment about Lopes feel free to say so.......
You don't actually deserve any better, you've shown with your posts that your a pointless WUM.

placid casual
22/02/2020, 9:34 AM
Easy victory for Rovers in poor weather conditions against a hapless cork side. Not much if a workout to be fair, and would expect a different game against Waterford in Monday.

D24Saint
22/02/2020, 10:10 AM
Feckin pitch......

On that point fair play to Sligo for getting the game on in those conditions.

22/02/2020, 10:58 AM

Looking at the tackle again above it was certainly a red card because it was 2 footed mainly. But it wasnt as 'horrific' imo as you seem to see it. Dalling was a fraction off it being 50-50 in terms of competing for the ball even if that competition was not well controlled. I dont think he lined up the player and took him out which is when 'more than a red' is deserved. It was a tackle out of its era and punsihed accordingly - even 10 years ago we'd be debating whether it was a straight red.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 11:18 AM
Looking at the tackle again above it was certainly a red card because it was 2 footed mainly. But it wasnt as 'horrific' imo as you seem to see it. Dalling was a fraction off it being 50-50 in terms of competing for the ball even if that competition was not well controlled. I dont think he lined up the player and took him out which is when 'more than a red' is deserved. It was a tackle out of its era and punsihed accordingly - even 10 years ago we'd be debating whether it was a straight red.

I called it disgusting, which it was, not horrific, I never said "more than a red". Timing is irrelevant once you jump in studs up, two feet together, off the ground, that's disgusting to do.

Now if you could stop putting words in people's mouths and defending stuff purely because it's against Rovers that'd be great thanks.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/02/2020, 11:37 AM
Calcio Jack said that. It's not all about you.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 12:05 PM

Should reply to Calcio Jack then shouldn't he?

22/02/2020, 12:24 PM
Well the season has started in earnest now that RH has had an angry fit...

Apologies though as yes I was replying to CJ and quoted the wrong post.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 12:54 PM
Well the season has started in earnest now that RH has had an angry fit...

Apologies though as yes I was replying to CJ and quoted the wrong post.

Season has started in earnest with Nesta making a bull**** incorrect statement then trying to deflect when called out on it.

22/02/2020, 1:21 PM
There can't have been too many that scored 5 in a League match before?

Did Jonathan Speake I wonder?

22/02/2020, 1:27 PM
He's always at that, loves standing outside the post so he can pull off dramatic saves

Yeah he was at this last season too as I remember mistakes he made in goal for the same reasons!

trevy
22/02/2020, 1:29 PM
The weather made a farce of the Waterford v Bohemians game last night with the ball blowing all over the place and driving rain. It was impossible to play decent football there. 2 goals before half time an own goal and a penalty which I thought was soft decided the game. Paul McLoughlin annoyed Waterford fans with his refereeing as seemed to use different rules for both teams and he was booed off at half and full time.

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 1:30 PM
If i was Fenn I'd give him a severe kick in the hole. Completely unnessacery, pico was just clearing the ball , zero danger ,nothing happening. Brainless

22/02/2020, 1:31 PM
Our pitch passed a pitch inspection earlier and no flooding on the pitch. Weather nice and dry here. Am very surprised as was resigned to game being called off as weather was cat the last week.

22/02/2020, 1:37 PM
Season has started in earnest with Nesta making a bull**** incorrect statement then trying to deflect when called out on it.

Touché!

patrickccfc
22/02/2020, 1:41 PM
If i was Fenn I'd give him a severe kick in the hole. Completely unnessacery, pico was just clearing the ball , zero danger ,nothing happening. Brainless

Totally unnecessary. I half looked away as i thought nothing was going to happen only to hear the commotion. So I only seen it afterwards. I would like to think he would've been talked to about it.

Not long before that, it seemed we might've had a penalty. One of our lads, not sure who, had his legs taken from under him. Did you have a better view of that?

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 1:53 PM
Totally unnecessary. I half looked away as i thought nothing was going to happen only to hear the commotion. So I only seen it afterwards. I would like to think he would've been talked to about it.

Not long before that, it seemed we might've had a penalty. One of our lads, not sure who, had his legs taken from under him. Did you have a better view of that?

Yeah he wasn't touched, it was Byrne that slid in, and it was outside the box anyway.

You know what the fight in the Cork end was about after the red?

patrickccfc
22/02/2020, 2:01 PM
Yeah he wasn't touched, it was Byrne that slid in, and it was outside the box anyway.

You know what the fight in the Cork end was about after the red?

Ah thanks for clearing that up. Some were convinced.

Couldn't see from where I was what it was about. Seems like a scuffle between fellas from different factions of our support.

22/02/2020, 2:05 PM
Did Jonathan Speake I wonder?

Good shout

He joined Derry City in August 1987. He was the 1987–88 League of Ireland Premier Division top scorer with 24 goals.[1][2] Six of these goals came in one game in a 7–2 win over Sligo in April 1988.[3]

D24Saint
22/02/2020, 2:07 PM
Id fear for Bucko this season with that side. They started the game well but went out of it soon after. I was surprised by the changes SOD made but most of them worked apart from James Doona. In particular Rory Feely surprised me last night and Hale played very well. The best signing we have made had been Billy King a very exciting winger.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 2:31 PM
Ah thanks for clearing that up. Some were convinced.

Couldn't see from where I was what it was about. Seems like a scuffle between fellas from different factions of our support.

Probably sound weird after a 6-0 loss but I actually think cork should be okay this year, they're definitely not a containment team like they tried to be last night but going forward they looked quite dangerous at times in the first half and they weren't awful defensively. Played a front 3 with no real striker though which didn't work at all. The right back that went down actually seemed decent and a few others looked decent enough too.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/02/2020, 2:58 PM
Id fear for Bucko this season with that side. They started the game well but went out of it soon after. I was surprised by the changes SOD made but most of them worked apart from James Doona. In particular Rory Feely surprised me last night and Hale played very well. The best signing we have made had been Billy King a very exciting winger.

Yeah awful start to the season from us again

Ezeikial
22/02/2020, 4:28 PM
Dalling was a disgrace , horrific lunge at Lopez that deserves more than a red card - thought it was shameful how then he and many of the other Cork players remonstrated with the ref - as for Fenn then shaking Dalling’s hand when he finally left the pitch , uncalled for and classless.

Looked a disgusting challenge from where I was for the red, lunged in two feet off the ground on a player on the ground, nasty.

Disgusting, disgraceful, horrific lunge involving Lopes?

Look no further than this one involving Jamie McGrath

https://twitter.com/eirsport/status/1002641177223393281?lang=en (https://twitter.com/eirsport/status/1002641177223393281?lang=en)

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 4:40 PM
Disgusting, disgraceful, horrific lunge involving Lopes?

Look no further than this one involving Jamie McGrath

https://twitter.com/eirsport/status/1002641177223393281?lang=en (https://twitter.com/eirsport/status/1002641177223393281?lang=en)

Get a ****ing life you sad soul

Calcio Jack
22/02/2020, 5:02 PM

I used the word ‘disgrace’ not disgusting

Ezeikial
22/02/2020, 6:17 PM

You seem to be able to recognise a poor challenge on Lopes, but lapse into apoplectic rage and a string of invective when reminded that Pico is no stranger to horrific lunges on others.

Relax

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 6:25 PM
You seem to be able to recognise a poor challenge on Lopes, but lapse into apoplectic rage and a string of invective when reminded that Pico is no stranger to horrific lunges on others.

Relax

You do realise that your club you claim to support played yesterday yeah? Might be an idea to post about that as opposed to trying to make some sort of weird point about a Rovers player as if it's somehow relevant. Should we just not mention any bad challenge on any player? Because let's be honest every player in the league has or will put in a bad challenge in their career so by your logic that cancels them all out.

Now try go put half the energy you put into caring about Rovers into Dundalk instead, might actually help the club and spare us all your weird obsession.

Calcio Jack
22/02/2020, 6:34 PM
You do realise that your club you claim to support played yesterday yeah? Might be an idea to post about that as opposed to trying to make some sort of weird point about a Rovers player as if it's somehow relevant. Should we just not mention any bad challenge on any player? Because let's be honest every player in the league has or will put in a bad challenge in their career so by your logic that cancels them all out.

Now try go put half the energy you put into caring about Rovers into Dundalk instead, might actually help the club and spare us all your weird obsession.

EZ as I’ve said before clearly demonstrates a range of concerning behaviours associated with obsessional idolatry - best thing is to ignore his posts as responding to them only fans the obsession and prompts even more boring commentary from him- in one way I’m loath to make this post as most likely it will prompt the type of outburst no one here wants to be bored by him but I’m allowing myself one attempt in the hope that we’ll see an end to his ‘tripe’ and the rest of us can enjoy the new season and having some reasonably adult debate

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 6:37 PM
Wasting your time, imagine being so sad that u would trawl the internet for a clip of a player making a bad tackle because it proves what........that he wasn't fouled badly this time??
Some things never change.

Ezeikial
22/02/2020, 6:50 PM

EZ as I’ve said before clearly demonstrates a range of concerning behaviours associated with obsessional idolatry - best thing is to ignore his posts as responding to them only fans the obsession and prompts even more boring commentary from him- in one way I’m loath to make this post as most likely it will prompt the type of outburst no one here wants to be bored by him but I’m allowing myself one attempt in the hope that we’ll see an end to his ‘tripe’ and the rest of us can enjoy the new season and having some reasonably adult debate

Wasting your time, imagine being so sad that u would trawl the internet for a clip of a player making a bad tackle because it proves what........that he wasn't fouled badly this time??
Some things never change.

Some chaps are well able to give it, but just can't take it.

Bad foul on Lopes who is well able to give it as well as take it.

Get over yourselves

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 7:20 PM
Lol who says lopes can't take it.
Nobody even said that
Good attempt at deflection go back to trawling the net for clips of rovers playing..
Did your own team play?

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 7:22 PM
Or did u mean us responding to your usual guff.

Johnnie C
22/02/2020, 7:27 PM
That was absolutely horrific. Worst I've ever seen from us. Dalling should've put is one up early on but that's as good as it got. Could've been double figures. Very long journey home now.
A team packed with inexperienced foreign loanees who lost at home to a limited enough Shels against one of the top teams in the country was always going to be a home banker. Did they show any bit of fight in the second half or did a lot of them just chuck the towel in?

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 7:34 PM
Def didn't throw the towel in. As RH said above , cork even though it was 6 nil did show some potential, decent football , st nil nil after 20 mins I thought they had weathered the storm.

Kingswood Rover
22/02/2020, 7:39 PM
Ah thanks for clearing that up. Some were convinced. <br>
<br>
Couldn't see from where I was what it was about. Seems like a scuffle between fellas from different factions of our support.<br>Saw somewhere that they were scuffling at the Shels game in TC week. Whats the deal with the Cork City fans , and they seem to be casual type fans that you always see from the away end in left hand side at corner flag. Are they ex shed fans and or a distinct set within the general fanbase.

Calcio Jack
22/02/2020, 8:12 PM
Some chaps are well able to give it, but just can't take it.

Bad foul on Lopes who is well able to give it as well as take it.

Get over yourselves

As predicted QED.... I’ll leave it there

joey B
22/02/2020, 8:25 PM
Cobh Ramblers 0- 2 Drogheda United
Longford Town 2 - 0 Shamrock Rovers ll

D24Saint
22/02/2020, 9:18 PM

I liked the looks of Drogheda in the friendly we played against them. I’m not sure how Longford are looking in general but I’d say it’s between the two of them.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 10:48 PM

Making a mockery of the league our second team are, a disgrace how we allowed minnows like Lexlip Town to pick up the 3 points there which could prove vital in the promotion race while we'll probably go and play Jack Byrne against Galway next week just to deny them 3 points, absolutely disgrace we are.

22/02/2020, 10:54 PM

You see no similarity between the respective tackles?

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 11:31 PM
You see no similarity between the respective tackles?

I've replied already to that, if you want to know what I think about the comparison of the two challenges go back and read what I said

YendorsMOT
23/02/2020, 10:51 AM
Are Rovers pulling their U19 or U 17 team

23/02/2020, 1:47 PM
Making a mockery of the league our second team are, a disgrace how we allowed minnows like Lexlip Town to pick up the 3 points there which could prove vital in the promotion race while we'll probably go and play Jack Byrne against Galway next week just to deny them 3 points, absolutely disgrace we are.

Actually we arent training in Leixlip btw we are training out in Donaghmede now just to keep you informed.

23/02/2020, 1:50 PM
Jaysus this rivalry between Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk is turning into a Rangers v Celtic warfest.

I think this originates from the time Neale Fenn walked out on Dundalk to go to Shamrock Rovers.

Fenn walked out of us to go to Cork. Its us that should be bearing the scars of Fenns habit of walking out of clubs.

Just get a grip of it lads!

White Horse
23/02/2020, 2:27 PM
I think this originates from the time Neale Fenn walked out on Dundalk to go to Shamrock Rovers.

It goes back way longer than that. My father has been going to games since the 1940's and he tells me that Rovers were always the bitter rivals.

RathfarnhamHoop
23/02/2020, 4:41 PM
Jaysus this rivalry between Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk is turning into a Rangers v Celtic warfest.

Fenn walked out of us to go to Cork. Its us that should be bearing the scars of Fenns habit of walking out of clubs.

Just get a grip of it lads!

Only cause Dundalk happen to be decent so there's obvious competitive rivalry, when they go back to being **** they won't be given a second thought by Rovers fans.