View Full Version : Shels statement

Pages : 1 [2] 3

23/05/2005, 11:57 PM
No he doesn't say it, but knowing the way the guy operates, I doubt any journo would dare put that kind of headline on it unless Ollie okayed it!!!!

BTW, I love his little "insurance" quote at the start
We all lose our heads in a moment of passion in sport, I presume that can be translated as Ollie saying "Me lose head ok, Rovers bad" :rolleyes: :D

23/05/2005, 11:58 PM
Tbh that headline is a bit sensationalist he doesn't say they should be kicked out just the made up on the spot 8 point deduction was half arsed, which it was. It's none of his business though and he shouldn't be getting involved but he doesn't say that the headline says he says imo.

True. It's a bit badly put together but there does seem to be a correlation in his point about the violence of the shirted thugs and his annoyance over their punishment for the licencing.

But also, given that the other statement is not Byrne, I am surprised. Shouldn't the Supporters' Club know better than to go tarnishing other eL fans to the press instead of just protesting their own innocence? The media, Herald especially just loves to print this, it would fit in nicely with their reports on the demise of Rovers.

23/05/2005, 11:59 PM
The SSC was simply distancing the Shels fans from the typically woeful sensationalist media crap saying we were involved in 'riots' with the Linfield fans.
If it was only that, I'd have no problem with it. Its the fact that they are shifting the blame onto Rovers and their fans that I think is objectionable- Ollie pretty much accuses SRFC of allowing the violence to have taken place. That's a very serious allegation and one that does nobody in this league any good

24/05/2005, 12:00 AM
True. It's a bit badly put together but there does seem to be a correlation in his point about the violence of the shirted thugs and his annoyance over their punishment.

But also, given that the other statement is not Byrne, I am surprised. Shouldn't the Supporters' Club know better than to go tarnishing other eL fans to the press instead of just protesting their own innocence? The media, Herald especially just loves to print this, it would fit in nicely with their reports on the demise of Rovers.

Yeah they shouldn't be giving the media the ammo that they will use. The statement was, as I've said, poorly worded. They needed to make one but they could have done alot better. They did at least say it was only thugs wearing Rovers gear instead of saying they were hardcore Rovers fans.

24/05/2005, 12:01 AM
If it was only that, I'd have no problem with it. Its the fact that they are shifting the blame onto Rovers and their fans that I think is objectionable- Ollie pretty much accuses SRFC of allowing the violence to have taken place. That's a very serious allegation and one that does nobody in this league any good

Pretty much what I've been trying to say Éanna. Also given the fact that to non-eL fans Rovers are a big name and to some still the only name they know well, to see them tarnished again in the press reflects poorly on our league and is off putting to poetnetial fans.

24/05/2005, 12:02 AM

There's nothing Rovers can do about it, you're right there. If it happened isnide Dalymount that'd be different but what does he expect them to do? Like I said he shouldn't be getting involved in their business but as with all things Shelbourne and even remotely Olly related it's getting blown way out of proportion by people on here..

24/05/2005, 12:03 AM
Yeah they shouldn't be giving the media the ammo that they will use. The statement was, as I've said, poorly worded. They needed to make one but they could have done alot better. They did at least say it was only thugs wearing Rovers gear instead of saying they were hardcore Rovers fans.

True they did word it a bit carefully but said more than needed to be said. Fair play to you for saying Slash.

24/05/2005, 12:04 AM
This
The clubs know the individuals involved and it’s about time it was stopped is the bit I object to. He's effectively saying that SRFC are allowing pre-meditated violence to take place. A comment like that is indefensible IMO

24/05/2005, 12:05 AM
This is the bit I object to. He's effectively saying that SRFC are allowing pre-meditated violence to take place. A comment like that is indefensible IMO

That's the bit I disagree with too. It happened outside Dalymount, there's nothing Rovers could have done about it.

24/05/2005, 12:06 AM
This is the bit I object to. He's effectively saying that SRFC are allowing pre-meditated violence to take place. A comment like that is indefensible IMO

I wouldn't quite say that Éanna. I thought the comment was also stupid but from the perspective I think that he was saying they should be banned from Rovers games which in effect would not be enough to stop this. I don't think he tought that comment out too well but not meaning to be nasty he isn't too articulate.

24/05/2005, 12:07 AM
I think that's what he meant, and if he indentified them to Rovers they should be banned from Dalymount park but he's worded it poorly if that is what he meant.

24/05/2005, 12:10 AM
Does anyone actually know who these were? Were they Rovers Ultras? Or random scumbags in green and white hoops raising a red rag to the bull? With all due respect how would he know that Rovers know what they are? And what is he saying Rovers know? Does he know them? How? Is he saying that they are the same lads who were involved in a scrape with Bohs last year? It is a highly ambiguous statement which could look bad to the untrained listener/viewer.

24/05/2005, 12:14 AM
That's the bit I disagree with too. It happened outside Dalymount, there's nothing Rovers could have done about it.
Stop being so ****ing reasonable. It means I can't disagree with you :mad: :D

24/05/2005, 12:16 AM
I wouldn't quite say that Éanna. I thought the comment was also stupid but from the perspective I think that he was saying they should be banned from Rovers games which in effect would not be enough to stop this. I don't think he tought that comment out too well but not meaning to be nasty he isn't too articulate.
But the full quote is:

We all lose our heads in a moment of passion in sport, but you don’t come with a pre-meditated attitude to do some damage to people and that’s what happened. The clubs know the individuals involved and it’s about time it was stopped
If you take those two sentences together as one quote (as it is on the site) he's effectively saying that these people go along LOOKING for hassle, Rovers know about it and do NOTHING to prevent. Looks fairly clear to me. If that's not what he meant to say, he did a damn good job of ballsing it up :rolleyes:

24/05/2005, 12:17 AM
Stop being so ****ing reasonable. It means I can't disagree with you :mad: :D

On occassion you've been accused of being the voice of reason amongst Cork fans (not sure if that means anything though :D ) I guess that makes Slash the Éanna of Shels. :eek:

24/05/2005, 12:18 AM
Does anyone actually know who these were? Were they Rovers Ultras? Or random scumbags in green and white hoops raising a red rag to the bull? With all due respect how would he know that Rovers know what they are? And what is he saying Rovers know? Does he know them? How? Is he saying that they are the same lads who were involved in a scrape with Bohs last year? It is a highly ambiguous statement which could look bad to the untrained listener/viewer.I doubt they were Ultras. the Ultras tend not to get involved in that kind of shíte, and judging by the furious reaction on their message board (http://www.aimoo.com/forum/login/login.cfm?id=606830), they're not taking too kindly to this. Hard to blame them

24/05/2005, 12:18 AM
On occassion you've been accused of being the voice of reason amongst Cork fans (not sure if that means anything though :D ) I guess that makes Slash the Éanna of Shels. :eek:good one, you've probably managed to píss us both off with that comment :D :p

24/05/2005, 12:20 AM
On occassion you've been accused of being the voice of reason amongst Cork fans (not sure if that means anything though :D ) I guess that makes Slash the Éanna of Shels. :eek:

That's either the most complimentary insult or most insulting compliment I've ever gotten :D

If you take those two sentences together as one quote (as it is on the site) he's effectively saying that these people go along LOOKING for hassle, Rovers know about it and do NOTHING to prevent. Looks fairly clear to me. If that's not what he meant to say, he did a damn good job of ballsing it up

I honestly don't think that's what he meant, there's no way Rovers could have known and/or prevented it, but it's worded in a way that looks like that and it doesn't do anyone any good.

24/05/2005, 12:23 AM
good one, you've probably managed to píss us both off with that comment :D :p

Satan, the missing link, Éanna and Slash. I am on a roll tonight. :D

About what you said on the quote Éanna, playing devil's advocate I don't see him as a man who is good at articulating what he is saying. The whole thing is a bit incoherent. People do like to jump the gun and put his words in the worst possible light and maybe indeed he was insinuating that. However short of sitting the man down and asking him the litany of questions I posed up above we can only guess what he was at. Some people are going the full whack linking it to him stealing Tallaght stadium, I'd hope it's nothing so sinister. I'd be surprised if he could mastermind such a dastardly scheme.

24/05/2005, 12:25 AM
I'd be surprised if he could mastermind such a dastardly scheme.
True, last time he "masterminded" a scheme.................. Ah never mind, where are my cigarrettes................ :D

24/05/2005, 12:26 AM
Ah come on Éanna, he single handedly got Cork knocked out of the Setanta cup, give him some credit ;)

24/05/2005, 12:29 AM
Ah come on Éanna, he single handedly got Cork knocked out of the Setanta cup, give him some credit ;)Yeah, I'd forgotten that. Now, enough of the pleasantry. You get back to conspiring, and I'll get back to hating you :mad: :p

btw, I've got a new sig, just for you Slash :)

24/05/2005, 3:15 AM
On behalf of all Shelbourne supporters the Official Shelbourne Supporters Club wishes to make clear that absolutely none of our members or other supporters of our club were involved in any clashes with any Linfield supporters, before during or after last Saturday's Setanta Cup Final inTolka Park. We have received numerous reports from many of our supporters who witnessed these attacks thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC.

Are these alleged "incidents" newsworthy? :confused:

There were people seen apparantly, wearing the colours of Shamrock Rovers. Since when was that a crime? Most, if not all Rovers fans, were nowhere near Tolka Park on the day of the Setanta Cup Final. It was not our business. There is a distinct difference between Rovers shirts, and Celtic shirts, and if any NL fan couldn't recognize the difference when reporting this "story", then they're not football fans, but simply people looking for attention.

It appears to some people, to be fashionable to kick our club for the sake of it these days. OB may not have endorsed the above statement, but he hasn't kept quiet about the issue either. Methinks Mr Shels is trying to cover up the fact that his team were outplayed and outfought by Linfield in the Cup Final, and is desperate for any publicity, even resorting to making allegations against the fans of another NL club which are both unfounded and inaccurate, based on rumour and hearsay. Leave us alone!! :mad:

24/05/2005, 7:52 AM
'Are these alleged "incidents" newsworthy?'

no but seen as they've been brought up - I spoke to a group pf lads (maybe about 10 of them) at the river outside Fagans after they looked like they go into a scrap (about 20 minutes afte Fagans shut up shop) and I asked them what happened. They said further down the river there were Linfield fans with loyalists flags and hopped them for no reason. Don't know who started on who but I can tell you that most of them were wearing no colours, a couple were wearing celtic tops and 2 of them were wearing shels tops!!!!

btw before anyone asks me - i cant remember what they looked like because i was talking to them only for 20 seconds and had a good few drinks on me (but 2 of them were defo wearing shels tops)

Edit : for what its worth the guys i was talking to were boasting that they won the row - doubt it because they looked well rattled.

Again apologies for bringing such a minor incident up but just hate seeing one club being picked on by the media (jaysus you'd see more incidents walking for 30 seconds down west st in drogheda on a weekend night :rolleyes: )

Shedendinvisibl
24/05/2005, 8:53 AM
Just a small observation here...

Eanna it seems has posted up a good half of the "posts" here.

All of his posts vent spleen at Ollie Byrne, none deal with the incident that happened.

All over internet forums, he is infamous for his Ollie Byrne attacks.

When you are finished your self righteous rantings and personal vendetta baiting, can you revert to discussing the statement at hand?

PS Cork used to wear green shirts with white... maybe it was them as well? :)

higgins
24/05/2005, 9:02 AM
Whats this crap about rovers could do nothing about it? .. They are fans of shamrock rovers who Ollie knows from going to Shelbourne games. Did you not listen to him on the radio last night. You want FACTS for this? and are saying that if it was in a courtroom the judge would believe this guy Dave Carpenter? Well I would think Dave Carpenter would be F**KED out of court after making some conspiracy theory up about Ollie and saying he was only doing it to tarnish Rovers name as they look for a buyer or some other such bullsh!t. If he was involved in rovers for the past few years he would know better then anyone Ollie has been all for rovers in the past and tried to help them out as best he can.

The MEDIA started this by claiming Shels fans clashed with Linfield fans. This was Not the case. They were clearly Rovers and Celtic fans judging by the jerseys on show. Add to this the that these people are known to the Gardai and also that Ollie knows them from attending Rovers games. Don't forget that Rovers played in Tolka for years and have drank in ours bars many times. I myself would be able to spot many rovers fans with or without a Jersey and Id imagine Ollie knows who he seen.

We all know Rovers have a problem with some fans and we all know very little has been done about it over the years. The reason why I think Ollie is pointing the finger here is that they have crossed the line this time and came along to a shels game to start trouble. Its no longer a Rovers issue and if they wont sort it out for themselves then what are other to do?? It could have easily been any EL club and your club these idiots came along to for trouble. Rovers refusal to deal with them is the reason this started.

Roverstillidie
24/05/2005, 10:56 AM
bull**** higgins

fact: there was a small amount of trouble outside a shels home game.

fact: shelbourne fc issue a statement blaming shamrock rovers fans for the violence. this has been proven untrue. ask supt murray from santry station, he was happy to go on record and confirm that NO ROVERS FANS WERE INVOLVED.
and as for questioning dave carpenters integrety and honesty, ask yourself a question. which one of himself or olly has done time for their involvement in theft?

legal advice is being sought on the matter, so i sugeest people tread carefully with accusations

24/05/2005, 11:08 AM
All of his posts vent spleen at Ollie Byrne, none deal with the incident that happened.
If you notice the title of the thread, it's "Shels statement"- it's about the statement, not the incident that happened. I am "venting" about Ollie Byrne because his behaviour (as usual) is indefensible.

All over internet forums, he is infamous for his Ollie Byrne attacks.Why thank you :o :rolleyes:

When you are finished your self righteous rantings and personal vendetta baiting, can you revert to discussing the statement at hand?
I thought you wantd me to discuss the incident and not the statement :confused: :rolleyes:

PS Cork used to wear green shirts with white... maybe it was them as well? :)
We still do. What planet are you on?

24/05/2005, 11:54 AM
Whats this crap about rovers could do nothing about it? .. They are fans of shamrock rovers who Ollie knows from going to Shelbourne games. Did you not listen to him on the radio last night. You want FACTS for this? and are saying that if it was in a courtroom the judge would believe this guy Dave Carpenter? Well I would think Dave Carpenter would be F**KED out of court after making some conspiracy theory up about Ollie and saying he was only doing it to tarnish Rovers name as they look for a buyer or some other such bullsh!t.

Higgins - Dave Carpenter spoke to the Superindent in charge on the night as well as the Head of Secierity inside the ground, both reported no trouble and both confirmed that there were no Rovers fans involved in anything untoward.

Ollie, on the other hand, spoke to no one and just made stuff up, then he parroted it on the radio and got his lapdog Cassidy to issue a statement full of lies.

Which one is telling the truth? I'd ask you to look at the evidence before answering.

Also on the subject of lapdogs, Shels fans are a disgrace - the Supporters Club, the message board and even the Brigoaid Dearg, all funded by Ollie and controlled by Ollie. Get some independence and then the rest of us might take you seriously.

Shedendinvisibl
24/05/2005, 12:25 PM
Eanna,

So who did get involved in this fight then? Was it Shels fans, or other identified sets of fans?

24/05/2005, 12:34 PM
Eanna,

So who did get involved in this fight then? Was it Shels fans, or other identified sets of fans?
I wasn't there, I have no evidence to blame any one particular group. The thing is, Ollie Byrne has no evidence either, so he shouldn't be blaming anyone either

24/05/2005, 1:04 PM
Surprised no-one has commented on Ollies other outburst regarding throwing Rovers out of the league in relation to the licence issue. Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the incidents at Tolka on Saturday, and whether it was Rovers fans or not, this other stuff is far more insidious in my opinion, and totally out of order. Calling for other clubs to be thrown out of the league is a disgrace.

I saw that quote in yesterday's Examiner and thought it was an April fools joke.

To call for a club to be thrown out of the league because a small number of its people wearing its jersey may have been involved in a relatively minor incident (nobody charged as far as I can make out) is a joke.

What is the point of these comments from Ollie?

24/05/2005, 1:06 PM
I saw that quote in yesterday's Examiner and thought it was an April fools joke.

To call for a club to be thrown out of the league because a small number of its people wearing its jersey may have been involved in a relatively minor incident (nobody charged as far as I can make out) is a joke.

Post up the quote there where he says he wants Rovers out of the league because of people in Rovers jersies were involved in a minor incident.

24/05/2005, 1:06 PM
A chance he might get his hands on a ground in Tallaght?....;)

Roverstillidie
24/05/2005, 1:29 PM
[QUOTE=paudie]

[QUOTE]

NO ROVERS SHIRTS INVOLVED. END OF DISCUSSION!!!

this friday the examiner annnounces who, if anyone, takes over rovers. oily getting a bit worried that an english insurance millionaire will pump silly amounts of cash in and challenge shels?

answer, have them thrown out on a pack of lies.

no chance. we will sue

Shedendinvisibl
24/05/2005, 2:38 PM
I wasn't there, I have no evidence to blame any one particular group. The thing is, Ollie Byrne has no evidence either, so he shouldn't be blaming anyone either

And you know that Ollie Byrne has no information for sure? You can say that for a 100% fact? And if so, how?

24/05/2005, 2:40 PM
And you know that Ollie Byrne has no information for sure? You can say that for a 100% fact? And if so, how?
I await publication with interest.... :rolleyes:

24/05/2005, 2:47 PM
When he was asked for it on Newstalk last night he clammed up by all accounts. If he has the proof, out with it

24/05/2005, 2:52 PM
When he was asked for it on Newstalk last night he clammed up by all accounts. If he has the proof, out with it

I'll repeat for the hard of hearing in the Drumcondra area - Ollie had ZERO proof, just his usual bluster and bullshít. Dave Carpenter from the 400 Club took time out to actually talk to the relevant parties - the Gardai and the security firm in charge of security in the ground.

No contest on the evidence front and unless Ollie comes up with something more than hearsay he can expect to hear from our solicitors very soon.

Any chance that our imminent announcement of a multi-millionaire owner has Ollie's knickers in a twist? That and the fact that his rubbish team blew €150,000 on Saturday night?

24/05/2005, 3:05 PM
All the dublin clubs are ultimately chasing the same supporters & player pool with goal of making CL first so no surprise Ollie or any other cluib official would feel threatened by other success or potential.

Roverstillidie
24/05/2005, 3:56 PM

we arent the ones making the allegations. burden of proof is on him.

and as it happens the gardai and security firm agree with us that the trouble was not caused by rovers fans. but thats not the point

Shedendinvisibl
24/05/2005, 4:00 PM

So your proof that it's untrue is as follows

1) A radio show that you didn't hear talking about it.

2) An incident prior to a match that you were not at to comment as to if it did or didn't happen in any way, shape or form.

3) A man who you hate said what you don't want to hear.

4) A few posts of support off the internet.

5) Ollies Byrne's past, which has scant connection to what went down.

6) Some post on this forum to say that it didn't happen (Funny you didn't ask said members to identify themselves).

Eanna, if you really want to know Ollie's side of it, pick up the phone, ring (01) 8375536 and ask for Ollie Byrne himself. Contrary to popular belief, he is very approachable to people and within reason, he will deal with queries regards to Shels. As you said yourself, "Out with it" :)

24/05/2005, 4:04 PM
NO ROVERS SHIRTS INVOLVED. END OF DISCUSSION!!!

I couldn't care less what Olly, you or anyone here has said, that statement there is plain untrue.

Roverstillidie
24/05/2005, 4:29 PM

2) An incident prior to a match that you were not at to comment as to if it did or didn't happen in any way, shape or form.

6) Some post on this forum to say that it didn't happen (Funny you didn't ask said members to identify themselves).

Eanna, if you really want to know Ollie's side of it, pick up the phone, ring (01) 8375536 and ask for Ollie Byrne himself. Contrary to popular belief, he is very approachable to people and within reason, he will deal with queries regards to Shels. As you said yourself, "Out with it" :)

its not up to eanna to prove oily is telling the truth or not, its up to oily to back up his allegations. he hasnt so far, presumably because he cant. he clammed up very lively on newstalk when asked to back up the statement made.

we arent taking the blame for something we didnt do, especially when olly has threatened our existance as a result of the incident. the timing of this stinks to high heaven.

as for the rovers shirts, there was a pile of press photos taken, see the rovers ultras forum for a selection. not one rovers shirt there. unless you were a witness slash/ed, id let it go.

as i said earlier, i believe legal advice is being sought about this whole pathetic saga.

24/05/2005, 4:31 PM
its not up to eanna to prove oily is telling the truth or not, its up to oily to back up his allegations. he hasnt so far, presumably because he cant. he clammed up very lively on newstalk when asked to back up the statement made.

we arent taking the blame for something we didnt do, especially when olly has threatened our existance as a result of the incident. the timing of this stinks to high heaven.

as for the rovers shirts, there was a pile of press photos taken, see the rovers ultras forum for a selection. not one rovers shirt there. unless you were a witness slash/ed, id let it go.

as i said earlier, i believe legal advice is being sought about this whole pathetic saga.

I wasn't a witness to the attacks but was a witness to the eejits who Olly ejected out of the ground and it was obvious from that alone they were there only to cause trouble.

harpskid
24/05/2005, 6:02 PM
I'd be interested to hear Fintan Cassidy's comments on this after he's read the thread!

Personally I think it is a disgrace for the supporter's club of an eircom league team to be firing out statements accusing people of something that they haven't conclusive proof of.

Then people wonder why so many people in the eircom League feel a certain degree of contempt for Oily and co!

Roverstillidie
24/05/2005, 7:17 PM
I wasn't a witness to the attacks but was a witness to the eejits who Olly ejected out of the ground and it was obvious from that alone they were there only to cause trouble.

so you didn't witness the non existant rovers shirts either?

i'll give shels fans one thing, they are loyal to the party line!!!

im bored of this topic now, everyone who has posted here except the shels fans has seen through this for what it was, a cynical attempt by representitives of sfc to kick rovers when they were down. will not be forgotten

24/05/2005, 7:25 PM
Dig your head in the sand if you want and pretend you don't have a problem and hope it'll just go away.

joeraki
24/05/2005, 8:26 PM
Higgins - Dave Carpenter spoke to the Superindent in charge on the night as well as the Head of Secierity inside the ground, both reported no trouble and both confirmed that there were no Rovers fans involved in anything untoward.

This thread summed in the words of a Shels fan

Carpenter, sounds like a lier
Superindent, well known spoofer
Head of Security, sure their always lying

We love you Ollie and the Shels Lapdog SC, you could never be wrong... Ever. FACT ! :rolleyes:

Reminds me of that episode of the Simpsons where they get brainwashed by the Leader..... Anyone got any hover bikes ?? Seemed to work on one set of kids :cool:

Supersaint3
24/05/2005, 8:28 PM

I can't find when Eanna said he didn't hear the interview (open to correction).. And funny enough, I couldn't get thru to oily earlier....