View Full Version : 4 days until.....

liam88
15/05/2005, 9:45 AM
...my AS exams start!!!!!

Anyone else gearing up for the exam season? :)

15/05/2005, 11:08 AM

Good Luck Liam and to any other members of this forum who are sitting. :)

Hopefully you all have done the work during the year and not by cramming in these last few days! ;) ;)

jofyisgod
15/05/2005, 12:57 PM
Me too Liam, i have my first day (AS Eng Lit and Geog) on the 27th :cool:

I'm not too worried tbh, not half a s worried as GCSEs. I feel i have worked much harder throughout the course, and also actually doing subjects you chose means you at least have some interest.

AS don't drag o for as long as GCSEs(5 Weeks!!), mine will be finished by the 9th June, with a mid-term between my 2 exams detailed above, and the other 3.

Good Luck!

15/05/2005, 1:31 PM

I'm doing my Leaving Cert. It starts the 8th of June

Cant wait! :rolleyes:

aberharp
15/05/2005, 2:28 PM
my uni exams start tomorrow, my first is macroeconomic behaviour and systems which should be great fun :rolleyes:

aido_b
15/05/2005, 2:34 PM
Not to rub it in but Im finished all my exams, all projects are handed in! woo hoo! :D

Lads all the best with the exams, don't stress out and you'll do fine!just do what i did and concentrate on getting well and truly ****ed when they're all over and done with!

15/05/2005, 2:42 PM
ya just to echo aidos and superhoops statements, if i got to college anyone can!! i assume ye boys are well prepared, if you have done a bit of cramming then dont try and know a bit of everything, concentrate on certain areas and know them inside out.

anyhow good luck and remember when its over the relief is unreal. :)

liam88
15/05/2005, 9:51 PM
Me too Liam, i have my first day (AS Eng Lit and Geog) on the 27th :cool:

I'm not too worried tbh, not half a s worried as GCSEs. I feel i have worked much harder throughout the course, and also actually doing subjects you chose means you at least have some interest.

AS don't drag o for as long as GCSEs(5 Weeks!!), mine will be finished by the 9th June, with a mid-term between my 2 exams detailed above, and the other 3.

Good Luck!

Good luck mate! Aye mines eng lit to but I have a break before my Geography ones (must be a different exam board?)
To be honest i'm more worried than my GCSE's-they seem to have come on so fast and i'm so worried about geography. Got an A in my first history mock and a D in my second so I'm dead scared! Don't know what's going on!

liam88
15/05/2005, 9:55 PM
Oh yeah and my exams starting two days before study leave doesn't help!
I'm going to go to bed and i'll feel better int he morning but right now i'm really really worried :( :confused:

15/05/2005, 10:08 PM
Fear not!! You'll be fine son! :D Don't worry, be happy, na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-naaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Mine start in June :mad:

Good luck everyone!!!

15/05/2005, 10:31 PM
na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-naaaaaaaaaaaaaa

whats that song called again?

and what is the other one again, was it by the same crowd

"they call me anserpa .....

"they call me something else that i cant remember......2

na-na na na naaaaa na na na naaaaaaa na na na na naaaaaaaaaaaa

remember it, he just kept saying, they call me ....

15/05/2005, 10:49 PM
whats that song called again?

and what is the other one again, was it by the same crowd

"they call me anserpa .....

"they call me something else that i cant remember......2

na-na na na naaaaa na na na naaaaaaa na na na na naaaaaaaaaaaa

remember it, he just kept saying, they call me ....

:confused: don't worry be happy, bob marley, u thinking of something else?

:p

15/05/2005, 10:53 PM
no i wasnt thinking of bob marley. i dont know what it is.

anyhow dont want to start hopping another thread!!! so doesnt matter.

liam dont worry, you sound like a pretty well read and educated lad for someone so young ( no offence!!!! ), so you will be more than grand. plus its not the leaving cert, thats way harder!!!! :p only messin!!!

Drumcondra Red
16/05/2005, 8:20 AM
I started mine last Monday, 3 to go, finished this coming Friday!!!

Jon'o
16/05/2005, 5:23 PM
good luck to you lot.

ive got my final financial advisor exam in a couple of weeks so i'll be in the same boat. payrise will come in handy though :D

17/05/2005, 11:21 AM

I hope this thread isn't here as a reminder.

Babysis
17/05/2005, 11:32 AM
Best of luck Liam. its scary how quick time flies. FA cup final day last year I sat my finals - It really flies by :D You know you have prepared, so you can only try your best. Fingers crossed for you :)

liam88
23/05/2005, 1:31 PM
Cheers!
Going well so far (Well first one!) revising for the second now;
How about the rest of ye?

joey B
23/05/2005, 1:34 PM
Finished exams today :D Big **** up tonight :cool:

aberharp
23/05/2005, 3:22 PM
the exams have being a bit mixed so far but on the good side i only have two left :D :D

hamish
23/05/2005, 6:17 PM
Oh yeah and my exams starting two days before study leave doesn't help!
I'm going to go to bed and i'll feel better int he morning but right now i'm really really worried :( :confused:
The very best of luck, liam88, after the worry you had with your grandad I hope you get A + all the way. Good luck to all the rest of you lot in your exams too.

adamcarr
23/05/2005, 8:55 PM
I have my junior cert! What a fcuking pointless waste of my fcuking time! :rolleyes:

Ill do grand in them though! My parents will give me a fair bit if I do wel too! :)

jofyisgod
24/05/2005, 8:18 AM
The very best of luck, liam88, after the worry you had with your grandad I hope you get A + all the way. Good luck to all the rest of you lot in your exams too.

Can't get A+ in AS exams :p ;) (Why is that?Anyone know?)
I have Geography and Eng Lit on Friday, but my revision has been wrecked by finishing my Business Studes Coursework-about 40,000 words :eek:

All the best to takers of AS, A Level, Junior and Leaving Cert, Uni exams, etc

harpskid
24/05/2005, 11:07 AM
I started mine yesterday, finish next Monday.

Have Quantitative Techniques this evening....which reminds me :eek:

ollie
24/05/2005, 12:23 PM
excuse my ignorance and stupidity but what do AS and GCSE stand for?? :confused: :o

btw finished my exams last thursday.all went ok bar 1 which was fair dodgy but what harm

24/05/2005, 12:39 PM
Queens obviously didn't take summer football into account when scheduling exams

Exam last Saturday monring(missed Pats game), though Friday night was spent in the library listening to the Radio 1 stream and ringing people at the match.

Exam this Friday afternoon (1.30-6) which means I can't go to Cork. Have thought about getting the evening flight down from Belfast but if all went well I would still only get there at half time.

Exams on Saturday 4th(9.30-11.30, 2.30-5.30). Means I miss the Derry Drogs game on the Friday the 3rd, and then also miss the Ireland Israel game on the Saturday. Giving the amount of hassle I have gone to regarding the eL allocation I am pure ripping at that.

Only consolation is that I get the train to Dublin and met up with the others after the game, then fly out the Faroes the next day.

And it's me birthday on the 2nd as well :mad:

The QUBDCFCSC will be making a complaint about the scheduling of exams :D

jofyisgod
24/05/2005, 1:30 PM
excuse my ignorance and stupidity but what do AS and GCSE stand for?? :confused: :o

GCSE-General Certificate of Secondary Education
AS-Advanced Subsidiary GCE

Revision is a nightmare today, i just can't focus on "Water on the Land" or "Population Dynamics" :( Give it a break for an hour or so and i hope it'll be okay. Anyone else find it hard to revise at certain times of day/night?

ollie
24/05/2005, 1:42 PM

Revision is a nightmare today, i just can't focus on "Water on the Land" or "Population Dynamics" :( Give it a break for an hour or so and i hope it'll be okay. Anyone else find it hard to revise at certain times of day/night?

cheers and yeah i found the month off we had a nightmare to study couldn't get any thing done but the night before an exam i used to study til about 2 or 3.30.then got up at 6 or 6.30 go for a shower and then study til the exam.it worked for me anyway.
the afternoon in particular is a bad time for me,but the mornings and nights are ok.
best of luck btw.

jofyisgod
24/05/2005, 1:49 PM
cheers and yeah i found the month off we had a nightmare to study couldn't get any thing done but the night before an exam i used to study til about 2 or 3.30.then got up at 6 or 6.30 go for a shower and then study til the exam.it worked for me anyway.
the afternoon in particular is a bad time for me,but the mornings and nights are ok.
best of luck btw.

I won't go to that extreme I'd say :D , but i really cannot do anything in the afternoons?! I'll wait until after dinner maybe, can have evening TV on in the background then. Problem with Geography is just the huge amount of work there actually is to know off by heart. An amount of stuff. I couldn't take it as a Uni course, just too much knowledge needed.

Babysis
24/05/2005, 1:58 PM

I found I had to be really disciplined. Its a case of getting a routine and sticking to it no matter what. I used to get up normal time 8am - Get up have breakfast, watch TV for 30 mins or so. 9am, i would sit down and revise. Every 2 hours i would have a 15 minute break. I would stop for lunch to watch neighbours and daignosis murder :D and then back to it.
then I would stop for dinner, allow myself to watch eastenders or corrie or something and then do 30mins more and then have a few hours off in the evening. Best tip i was given was to read over everything i had just done when I came back off break. Reinforces it in your mind.

Good luck :)

liam88
24/05/2005, 2:08 PM

Geography on Friday? Same here!
Good luck!
Water on the land is alright for me now....it's some o' thehuman stuff I can't seem to get right-dodgy amrk scheme if you ask me!

jofyisgod
24/05/2005, 3:21 PM
Geography on Friday? Same here!
Good luck!
Water on the land is alright for me now....it's some o' thehuman stuff I can't seem to get right-dodgy amrk scheme if you ask me!

I don't like Soils either. I mean in all fairness what kind of topic is it anyway?!
Population is my favourite, we already did the Skills paper in January, so i've got only 2 hours of exams to do on Friday afternoon.

Good Luck

adamcarr
24/05/2005, 4:21 PM
I don't like Soils either. I mean in all fairness what kind of topic is it anyway?!
Population is my favourite, we already did the Skills paper in January, so i've got only 2 hours of exams to do on Friday afternoon.

Good Luck
Are the GCSE's and the AS state exams??

jofyisgod
24/05/2005, 5:46 PM
Yeah, although to do AS/A Level exams, you must stay in post-16 education.

Roughly-GCSEs=Junior Cert
AS/A Level= Leaving

hamish
24/05/2005, 6:42 PM
I started mine yesterday, finish next Monday.

Have Quantitative Techniques this evening....which reminds me :eek:

Quantitative Techniques???? What the fcuk is that when it's at home??? :eek:
Sounds like something out of Star Trek!!!
Good luck in it anyway, man.

harpskid
26/05/2005, 10:17 AM
Quantitative Techniques???? What the fcuk is that when it's at home??? :eek:
Sounds like something out of Star Trek!!!
Good luck in it anyway, man.

:) It's the biggest pile of pish ever man. It's basically just maths.

Now, have an exam on Company Law at 2. Collective rosary to be said for me :eek:

26/05/2005, 10:22 AM
i found if you were smart enough, you didnt need to do much revision.

no need for lectures either just get the notes off the lads at the end of the semesters and 2 weeks revision you will be grand.

none of this routine muck.

Babysis
26/05/2005, 10:32 AM
i found if you were smart enough, you didnt need to do much revision.

no need for lectures either just get the notes off the lads at the end of the semesters and 2 weeks revision you will be grand.

Each to their own, but I would rather be prepared and know i had worked hard and covered all my bases. Horses for courses I guess.

ollie
26/05/2005, 4:03 PM
I found I had to be really disciplined. Its a case of getting a routine and sticking to it no matter what. I used to get up normal time 8am - Get up have breakfast, watch TV for 30 mins or so. 9am, i would sit down and revise. Every 2 hours i would have a 15 minute break. I would stop for lunch to watch neighbours and daignosis murder :D and then back to it.
then I would stop for dinner, allow myself to watch eastenders or corrie or something and then do 30mins more and then have a few hours off in the evening. Best tip i was given was to read over everything i had just done when I came back off break. Reinforces it in your mind.

Good luck :)

the amount of times i was told to make a timetable was unreal and i still didn't make one.i'd always plan to have a routine like the one above but failed badly to put it into practice.i'm a disaster.but when the pressure is on like as in the the day or 2 days before the exam i could do loads.i suppose all this just means that i'm a lazy fcuk.

btw what is post 16 education?
and do AS/A level carry the same/more/less points as the leaving cert or whats the craic?

Yeah, although to do AS/A Level exams, you must stay in post-16 education.

Roughly-GCSEs=Junior Cert
AS/A Level= Leaving

ollie
26/05/2005, 4:06 PM

:D :eek: your probably joking but..depends on what your doing.some of my subjects you could get away with that but not with others.

Babysis
26/05/2005, 4:14 PM
the amount of times i was told to make a timetable was unreal and i still didn't make one.i'd always plan to have a routine like the one above but failed badly to put it into practice.i'm a disaster.but when the pressure is on like as in the the day or 2 days before the exam i could do loads.i suppose all this just means that i'm a lazy fcuk.

and do AS/A level carry the same/more/less points as the leaving cert or whats the craic?

I did my A levels in 2000. It was then that an A=10 B=8 C=6 D=4 E=2 F=0 N and then U .

Then they changed it so they are worth hundreds of points now. I dont understand it cos i cant be arsd too tbh :o

Think the one piece of advice worth remebering is that your exams are important, but they are not the be all and end all. I failed one of mine, yet still got to my 1st choice uni and just scrapped the degree I wanted. You cant let everything rest on your exam results :)

26/05/2005, 4:15 PM
i assume when they say post 16, they mean age i.e. what they call "college" over here which is generally from 16 - 18.

from what i gather the AS is like the applied leaving cert. I assume you know the applied leaving cert.

AS/A level carry the same/more/less points as the leaving cert or whats the craic?

A levels are alot easier ( its also a lot easier get to university over here ). Its based around 3 major subjects, however they do those 3 in great detail. no such thing as points just certain courses require certain grades in certain subhects: e.g to get into a science subject you might need 2 a's and one b. so obviouslly at most you need 300 points compared with 600 points. its the simplest way of explaining it, but the english education system is a joke, its getting too much like the american system, whereby its based around the "overall" approach.

most people in ireland do the 7 subjects, some do 8 and do applied maths or whatever.

jofyisgod
26/05/2005, 4:18 PM

In the UK, you can leave school straight after GCSEs(ie/at 16)
Post 16 is when you stay on at either a 6th Form (as I did) or a College.
You then follow on to University after 2 years of this.

AS is half an A-Level course. I think it was made so that people leaving after only a year of post-16 would at least have some sort of qualification. It also takes the onus off of one major set of exams after two years. All good, IMO.

I think, from reading Uni Prospectuses and other leaflets, that an A-Level is worth more than a Leaving Cert Pass, hence the fact that Irish students take more Leaving Subjects. Traditionally, AS/A-Level students do 3/4 subjects.I'm doing 5 to AS then dropping one for A2(which is the 2nd year of A-Level!) although i think Uni's only ever look at your top 3 if you get me.

26/05/2005, 4:24 PM
, that an A-Level is worth more than a Leaving Cert Pass, hence the fact that Irish students take more Leaving Subjects

the leaving cert pass is worth very little ( no offence meant ), its about 40 points out of a possible 100. so you cant compare.

in ireland its based around, irish, english,maths and a foreign language to get into most universities, also a lot will require that you have at least one science subject, THEN you have the points on top of that. so say for example if i were poor at languages and wanted to do all science subjects and not do any languages, i might not get into certain unis without the language, therefore i pick a language, already limiting the amount of points i can acheive.

jofyisgod
26/05/2005, 4:24 PM
A levels are alot easier ( its also a lot easier get to university over here ). the "overall" approach.

I beg to differ. A-Levels are a fair bit harder I'd say due to the immense detail. A 'joke' is hardly the word either. I feel that specialisation prepares students better for University, rather than heaping an unnecessary amount of work on older students. For example, my cousin (In Cork) wants to do medicine at UCC. He's very handy at schoolwork, yet he has his time wasted on stuff like English Lit. rather than being able to focus on his chosen subjects. Most people at this stage should be able to select their favourite subjects, and should have the oppurtunity to study them in more detail.

To say it's 'easier' is a lazy argument. There are more University's due to historical and Geographical factors. This is good, but it should be noted that many of these are a bit shíte. The top 50 or so are still very hard to get into. eg/ Birmingham wuld not look at Medical students who did not get 6A* at GCSE!That's being overly selective if you ask me.

jofyisgod
26/05/2005, 4:26 PM
the leaving cert pass is worth very little

I didn't mean literally a Pass ( I didnt realise that was an official mark :) ) i meant like an A at leaving is worth less than an A in an A-Level subject, for example.

26/05/2005, 4:28 PM
ya but do you have a higher and an ordinary paper?

i havent seen the papers over here, but having spoken to some who sat exams in teh last few years, the maths curriculum seem the exact same.

Babysis
26/05/2005, 4:33 PM
ya but do you have a higher and an ordinary paper?

i havent seen the papers over here, but having spoken to some who sat exams in teh last few years, the maths curriculum seem the exact same.

you do at GCSE. Foundation and higher. Higher - you can only get A-C then fail Foundaton, Fail - D (or maybe C) (bit bleeding pointless, but there you go)
Im feeling really old, and it was only 5 years ago i was doing My A levels :eek:

26/05/2005, 4:48 PM
He's very handy at schoolwork, yet he has his time wasted on stuff like English Lit. rather than being able to focus on his chosen subjects. Most people at this stage should be able to select their favourite subjects, and should have the oppurtunity to study them in more detail.

i have to say, if i were to go to teh doctor in the morning i would be happier knowing that doctor had become a doctor from the current situation i.e. if you are good enough you can do it.

i do beleive however for other courses such as the course i did needing (honour in all mandatory subjects) a language and a science subject is ridiculous as i never used either of the latter two in my course. so i think an approach where you could focus yourself on what you want to do in college would be a better idea for the mid to higher scale courses if ya know what i mean.

26/05/2005, 8:09 PM
I did my A levels in 2000. It was then that an A=10 B=8 C=6 D=4 E=2 F=0 N and then U .

Then they changed it so they are worth hundreds of points now. I dont understand it cos i cant be arsd too tbh :o

Think the one piece of advice worth remebering is that your exams are important, but they are not the be all and end all. I failed one of mine, yet still got to my 1st choice uni and just scrapped the degree I wanted. You cant let everything rest on your exam results :)

Old skool!

I did a load of modules for my A-levels in 2000. Given that I was heading to Euro2000 the day the exams finised I predictably did woefully, then did the same in the "repeats" of February, leaving myself with 16 module papers to sit in May/June of 2001. That was some few weeks! Pulled it out of the bag though :D

Chris,

Quantitative Techniques? I have "Advanced Methods in Quantitative Economics" tomorrow- four hour exam :mad: