View Full Version : The Offside show-Tv3 now
New soccer show on now,nick leeson is guest.Text STUDIO followed by a comment to 53100.Lots of texts about the el but ya man doesnt seem to know much.EDUCATE HIM
Horrible stuff.
Yer man seems to be taking the p!ss of eL at any chance. Leeson is the novelty guess.
Ringo
05/05/2005, 10:00 PM
all uk soccer, granada 3 :rolleyes:
Gareth
05/05/2005, 10:05 PM
Turned it on, .....waited...., turned it off.
05/05/2005, 10:29 PM
I missed it, glad I did now.
I've often said that Ireland needs another poorly produced second rate show about English football, TV3 might have found a real niche there :rolleyes:
SPXcyan
05/05/2005, 10:33 PM
Hey I thought it was funny enough....long may it last!!
I want to be on that penaltie shootout.....I would kick all your lil ass's I would :eek:
05/05/2005, 10:35 PM
They mentioned the EL more in their show than RTE News bulletins do on Saturday nights when they ignore the fecking results. They will be examining the Shamrock Rovers situation next week,when who knows there might be new owners and it may well be a good news story for a change!
Bosco
05/05/2005, 10:36 PM
Yeah but the e-mail and texts in gives us an oppurtunity to bombard it with texts about Irish football.Leeson wasn't great.The fact that he didnt even attend galways game against limerick didnt come across well.Atleast they havnt totally ignored the el.Maybe it would be worth it to send in that post from the shels website in to see if it gets a mention
05/05/2005, 10:47 PM
Didn't see the programme but if they mentioned the eL then we can build on this.
Why not get some of clubs to donate pairs of tickets as a text competition prize for the show and let the fans interest dictate the content.
carrickharp
06/05/2005, 6:51 AM
That mascot fighting bit :eek:
Rochey
06/05/2005, 10:12 AM
I taught it was good. Its not meant to be a serious show about soccer. They do mention the eircom league a fair bit which is good. There doing the something about Bohs and Harchester united next week to having a look at Rovers. Plus the had a look at that 2-0 Ireland win against England years ago which was good for a laugh. Send in texts and they cant but help talk about the eircom league.
06/05/2005, 12:35 PM
I ddin't think muck of it, but it is potentially a start - more reference to the eL than an average week of RTE. Yer man presenting it is a know-nothing poorly-scripted muppet, unfortunately, starting off by saying that now the season is nearly over :rolleyes: I reckon he hasn't seen anything more than the trailer of Shaolin Soccer, and didn't get the joke at all.
A lot of it seemed poorly thought through. While that penalty shootout is a good idea, it does not seem of have occured to them that the special guest might just win it: they should have based it on penners scored and saved. "Do I win my own book" - priceless.
I just thought was real poorly made, cheap laughs & looking down at the eL too much. Thye could have at least showed an eL goal or two - even some reference linking the "goals" at Tolka & Anfield would have been good. Sounded like was 10 people in the audience. Only think was remotely funny was the puppet.
Its TV3 so no one will be watching anyway - 60mins was way too long.
corkharps
06/05/2005, 9:19 PM
From what I saw, they were trying to do a 'hey man soccer am' type thing crossed with fanasty football!LETS BOMBARD IT WITH TEXT MESSAGES EVERY WEEK! Spread the word on every clubs forum! :cool:
06/05/2005, 10:48 PM
It's being repeated now and christ it's hopeless, worse than you all said!
GalwayFrancis
06/05/2005, 11:05 PM
It's being repeated now and christ it's hopeless, worse than you all said!
what channel?
06/05/2005, 11:12 PM
TV3, it's still on atm.
ollie
07/05/2005, 11:30 AM
yeah it was fair poor.cringe stuff at times.i'll give it another week or 2....
its only a 6 series show.not the best of starts though
GalwayFrancis
07/05/2005, 5:16 PM
great show!!! it was straight up....who cares if its not as good as soccer am or other english sports shows....its irish and it has alot of coverage of the national league :D
07/05/2005, 5:19 PM
great show!!! it was straight up....who cares if its not as good as soccer am or other english sports shows....its irish and it has alot of coverage of the national league :D
Trying to be a similar style I thought to Fantasy League what do you reckon? ;)
onenilgameover
12/05/2005, 10:46 PM
Didn't think it was that bad..I mean its bad but its definitely watchable. Great to see old footage of Ireland games which it is hard to get your hands on. Much better to have it than not....so maybe lay off the slaggin. At least they're makin an effort..its a start at least and is another avenue to promote the league.
Drumcondra Red
13/05/2005, 7:16 AM
Only saw bits and pieces last night, the old game footage was good, but showing Bohs vs. Dream Team, and then not even knowing any of the Bohsplayers names "And that was a pass by that Bohs player there!"
Also a puppet of a monkey??? WTF?!?
Rochey
13/05/2005, 8:00 AM
yea at least its giving some exposure to the eircom league and it showed McCourts goals from last week alongside ronaldino and the like from the Fench spainish and german leagues. The bit about rovers was also good but jasus Dunphy and Giles didnt have a clue. Dunphy spent his time giving out about the league and how anyone who invests in it is mad and its **** and poorly ran. Think Giles taught Rovers were playing there games in Tolka but he wasnt as bad as Dunphy at least he was positive.
13/05/2005, 8:02 AM
.......... Dunphy ........ didnt have a clue.
Don't tell me that came as a surprise :p :D
harps1954
13/05/2005, 9:01 AM
Watched this show for the first time last night, and have to say that it was the biggest load of sh**e I have ever set my eyes on. You would have thought they would have at least found out the Bohs players names ("bohs number 13 puts in a good pass"). And why get Dunphy and Giles to talk about Rovers?????
Turned over to UTV as soon as it was over and watched the soccer show. Talk about a difference.
mandrake
13/05/2005, 9:05 AM
I seen it last night. Crap but watchable. Bloke looking at wrong camera all the time. Hour is too long. That ex Ireland (keith oneill) player was enjoying it anyway. They are trying I suppose, do they know what there market is …..English premiership audience or just football fans who live in ireland.
dunphy...!!! well what can you say. :confused:
Why can TVMoron give this tripe a whole hour at a decent time, but stuff the eL into 40 minutes near midnight, with analysts less knowledgeable and stupider than that f*cking monkey puppet?....:rolleyes:
shelbourne1904
13/05/2005, 9:33 AM
I cannot figure how they can put this on at the time they do and leave the TV3 Eircom league show on Monday so late.Are they afraid kids will see Irish players playing and might go to an Eircom match.Was'nt McCourt magic ,reminds me of Shero,I hope not as mad though.Was it Bugsy Cunningham,living in Derry,Roddys mate ,who got him to Rovers???
I have to admit I cant figure why Your man kept getting caught looking at the wrong camera.Keith O'Neill tried hard and came across well,Is there an audience or a laughing machine??Why did he refering to Keiths well documented career demise???
The reason Giles and Dunphy were on was because they were at the forefront of trying to make Rovers the first pro team in Ireland and hoped to get success in Europe(30 years later Shels are still trying).They gave up because they felt the FAI and alot of the other clubs were plonkers(30 years later we get the Genesis report).Dunphy has since his first experience always hated the Eircom League(he used to refer to it as The Pat Grace Chicken League).The final thing that amazes me is how these Rovers people think it is ok to just wind up a company and start anew.What about the people whose business and livelyhood will go to the wall because of the money Shamrock(13 grand a week wagebill)Rovers have not paid them???
Dunphy is absolutely right though about investing money.If you treat the League clubs as businesses you would have to be off your trolly to invest in them and expect to get a reurn or a profit.
Lastly do the players ever count the number of people at a match,multiply by the entrance fee,deduct they costs and divide by the number of players in their panel .(still no profit mentioned)
This will tell them how much they are worth.Nothing more and nothing less.
For that matter do the club administrators do this???
Thats why Dunphy slags like he does!!!!
el punter
13/05/2005, 10:40 AM
Some of the most poorly made TV I have ever seen, but hats off for trying. They need to dump the studio banter, the gags are absolutely diabolical.
The piece about Rovers was excellent, just in the fact that someone actually made it and gave a bit of attention to the situation of a 1/4 built stadium in Tallaght. I thought that piece was well put together. Dunphy and Giles being the two most prominent football talking heads in Ireland were good choices to include their comments. They have both been burned by the league - and lets not forget Gilesy used to give plenty of Ireland caps to the Rovers players when he was boss.
But how can you disagree with Dunphy. The league is a sham, and no place for investment whatsoever other than that - as he suggested - of a patron.
Hows about McManus and Magnier and the hefty profits pilfered from Man Utd do something to change that? It would be nice to see. Wasnt McManus going to put £50m in to a new national stadium at one stage? Well work has already started at Tallaght - take it home JP! Or is it only Glamchester United and faux-Irish Celtic they're interested in?
Anybody see Paul McGrath on Prime Time discussing (or slurring) his way through 'expert analysis' of the Man Utd takeover? Pure apalling, he embarrassed himself because he seemed to have a few jars on him, knocking the mic and rambling without making points. But the biggest sinner here was whatever clown in RTE put him in that situation.
PS McCourt's goals were two of the finest I have ever seen in the sport and should be given worldwide coverage. Even if el Punter did blow a major hole in his punting reserves by backing Bray! HOW DID KEITH O'NEILL NOT CHOOSE THEM AS MOMENT OF THE WEEK!!!????? A meaningless end of season tonking in the Premiership was better???
monkey magic
13/05/2005, 10:40 AM
And why get Dunphy and Giles to talk about Rovers?????
hmmm, eh, maby cos dey have both in the past been coach/manager of rovers and are both irish born irish internationals from dublin, which hapens to be the home turf of .....rovers!! :rolleyes:
yiz r totally missin the point of this show. its supposed to be light hearted and informal and in my view its not half as bad as its bein made out to be. at least tv3 appear to be making an effort to at least give the el SOME coverage, unlike our 'national' broadcaster. granted the production wasnt the best, but its a start.
oh, an if ur gonna flick over to utv to watch some one elses league, why not go the whole way an check out sky sports, they've got plenty of quality programs on the premiership, which is probably a better than the irish league :mad: :rolleyes:
Eire06
13/05/2005, 10:44 AM
Has potental to be a good show but you have to get rid of the presenter.. He's a mess..
Doesn't not clued up with soccer at all - Do you homework please...
And he's always stuttering and hummin and hawing, very un-professional
13/05/2005, 10:49 AM
I think they should stick to the serious stuff, which has been good. Like the piece last week with the old footage of Irish internationals. However, they should leave the comedy to the comedians because their attempts so far are simply not funny. The programme has potential especially now with the premiership shutting up shop for the summer, they can concentrate on the Eircom League. There are plenty of good stories out there, lets hope they dig them up.
deadman
13/05/2005, 11:10 AM
I thought last night's was big improvement on the nick gleeson one last week. an improvement from dire to watchable. but it helped that Keith O'Neill was better suited to the nature of it. stick to the old footage
has potential and it's a start
13/05/2005, 11:13 AM
Missed it last night - when is the repeat does anyone know?
PaulB
13/05/2005, 11:35 AM
Anybody see Paul McGrath on Prime Time discussing (or slurring) his way through 'expert analysis' of the Man Utd takeover? Pure apalling, he embarrassed himself because he seemed to have a few jars on him, knocking the mic and rambling without making points. But the biggest sinner here was whatever clown in RTE put him in that situation.
You're right, saw McGrath last night, it was embarissing. I was cringing for the poor man. Obviously had a couple of jars beforehand to relax, couldn't get the words out..
13/05/2005, 12:17 PM
Why can TVMoron give this tripe a whole hour at a decent time, but stuff the eL into 40 minutes near midnight, with analysts less knowledgeable and stupider than that f*cking monkey puppet?....:rolleyes:
I can't believe more people aren't asking this, it's a ****ing disgrace. The Eircom League, our own domestic league, gets shoved into all hours of the night and then a repeat at 5am for 40 minutes where they don't even cover every bloody game and this tripe gets an hour, a top slot and a repeat on friday at a similar time to EL weekly, but being friday that's much better.
How in the name of god can TV3 get away with wasteing their budget on crap like that when they continue to neglect the league? Do they think a poorly produced rubbish version of Soccer AM is something the public will watch iun their droves but a show about the top level of football in this country which continues to pull in decent viewing figures despite it's time slot isn't worth the money and effort?
joey B
13/05/2005, 12:18 PM
The really sad thing is that this bullsh*t will probably get more viewers :( :mad:
13/05/2005, 12:32 PM
On the Paul McGrath thing, there was a very long and interesting interview with him some months ago with Tom Humphries in the IT. In it, he spoke at length about his ill-fated trip to Japan with the BBC and how Johnny Giles helped him a few times on RTE. What is boils down to is that he is terrified of studio situations and simply feels he cannot get through it without a drink.
It's really sad, but RTE could help him by getting him on the radio first and gradually getting him over his fear. He would be a great addition to football coverage in this country, the man just needs a little help from those in a position to help him.....:(
Eire06
13/05/2005, 12:43 PM
You're right, saw McGrath last night, it was embarissing. I was cringing for the poor man. Obviously had a couple of jars beforehand to relax, couldn't get the words out..
No Way he was not drunk last night.. just looked like nerves IMO..
If it was anyone else would people be jumping to the conclusion that he was drinking??? :mad:
13/05/2005, 12:44 PM
The final thing that amazes me is how these Rovers people think it is ok to just wind up a company and start anew.What about the people whose business and livelyhood will go to the wall because of the money Shamrock(13 grand a week wagebill)Rovers have not paid them???
Dunphy is absolutely right though about investing money.If you treat the League clubs as businesses you would have to be off your trolly to invest in them and expect to get a reurn or a profit.
Lastly do the players ever count the number of people at a match,multiply by the entrance fee,deduct they costs and divide by the number of players in their panel .(still no profit mentioned)
This will tell them how much they are worth.Nothing more and nothing less.
For that matter do the club administrators do this???
Thats why Dunphy slags like he does!!!![/QUOTE]
Obviously you havent a clue. Firstly the "Rovers people" you refer to were not Rovers people. They are Branvard. THEY got us into this mess. It is US, the fans, who are now in a position to, maybe, take over the club. The creditors will get paid but not the whole amount.
Secondly dummy has never been right about anything. He defended kilcoyne to the hilt, wanted wimbledon to play here, etc. Need I go on?
Off your trolley to invest in a club? McManus and Magnier did alright and fair play to them. We are investing in our club. Why? Cos we love it and have passion for it. I guarantee you if shels were in our position you would be lucky to raise a grand.........
13/05/2005, 1:05 PM
I guarantee you if shels were in our position you would be lucky to raise a grand.........
Learn your history, we've been in worse positions before. At least you still have your premier division status atm.
mandrake
13/05/2005, 1:21 PM
Ireland largest club…..p*ss off you boys think you own the league, you shouldve been deducted points or relegated years ago.
We (drogheda utd) had to put up a bond and had an embargo on transfers for 3 months a few years ago. You lads go crying to the fai and everyone on the fact you are the oldest team blah blah blah. :mad:
Now I have to say its great when rovers come to town and great atmosphere. I have many rovers friends and have gone to see your lot in inchecore a few times. :confused:
But I think you should be held accountable. Stop signing players and build the tallaght ground you might actually be a better club for it.
LFC in Exile
13/05/2005, 1:22 PM
Watcing Dunphy was very annoying last night. Throughout his time on the Last Word he refused to mention or cover the eL. Now all of a sudden he is an expert because he was involved with Rovers in the 70s. Give me a break. How does he (or John Giles - who at least lives in the UK) become experts on the eL? I wonder when was the last time either one of them even attended a game.
harry crumb
14/05/2005, 12:35 AM
Yeah that ****es me off about Dunphy. He right that the league has been a mess for years but the last few years have shown huge improvements all over the country. There is definately progress being made.
yeah dunphy was very condasending i thought.very little positives being mentioned by him in fairness he was talking reality.
overall i thought the show was a huge improvement on last week.i enjoyed this weeks show as opposed to enduring last weeks.lean leis.
watched about 2 mins of it (Keith O'Neill was on at the time) and I felt like burning down TV3 studios. absolute kak
14/05/2005, 7:32 PM
Watcing Dunphy was very annoying last night.
Ahh .... lads ..... what has Dunphy (or Giles for that matter) given back to Irish football ever !! Seriously ....... barr being a pundit for the premiershi* .... what has he done to ever help Irish football
The silence is deafening !!
Pakie Bonner, Eoin Hand and Don Given aka díckhead and another few heads all did well from Irish football have at least given something back.
Dumpy has never given anything back ..... he is self serving and makes it very clear. He represents everything that is bad about Irish football !!
harry crumb
14/05/2005, 8:04 PM
Giles and Dunphy tried to turn Rovers into a real force. But they were let down by the lack of ambition at the FAI and at all the other clubs around the country.
I can understand why he is bitter about the league, but, he cant stay bitter 4ever.
14/05/2005, 8:07 PM
Giles and Dunphy tried to turn Rovers into a real force. But they were let down by the lack of ambition at the FAI and at all the other clubs around the country.
I can understand why he is bitter about the league, but, he cant stay bitter 4ever.
Yes he can just look at Ian Paisley for example :D
harry crumb
14/05/2005, 8:20 PM
Oul Big Ian is an old softy underneath all his guff.