View Full Version : The Offside show-Tv3 now

Pages : 1 [2]

bluemovie
14/05/2005, 8:20 PM
Giles and Dunphy tried to turn Rovers into a real force. But they were let down by the lack of ambition at the FAI and at all the other clubs around the country.

I can understand why he is bitter about the league, but, he cant stay bitter 4ever.

Eamon Dunphy can't stay bitter forever????? :confused:

14/05/2005, 8:56 PM
You all read far too much into Dunphy. He is simply a wind up merchant, he will say whatever goes against the grain to get a reaction, that's how he keeps himself in the public eye and remains on RTE. His opinions change from one week to the next. He's clearly very good at what he does, the proof being that he's still around in the papers, the radio and the TV but that's simply all there is too the man.

el punter
14/05/2005, 10:34 PM
Tell me lads, what would you have liked Giles and Dunphy to say?

harry crumb
14/05/2005, 11:30 PM
I would have liked them to say

"Earth!, Fire!, Wind! Water!, Heart!...By your powers combined I am Captain Planet"

At the same Time.

That would have been much better.

kdjaC
15/05/2005, 11:45 AM
watched about 2 mins of it (Keith O'Neill was on at the time) and I felt like burning down TV3 studios. absolute kak

I volunteer my services and large supply or petrol.

You all read far too much into Dunphy. He is simply a wind up merchant

Correct, also the same guy who wanted Ireland to lose all their WC2002 games cos his money pony wasnt there.

kdjac

17/05/2005, 11:12 AM
Virtually no irish internationals give anything back to the game in their own country. Whens the last time you've seen any of them help an eL or junior club without getting paid? Most of those players would be nobodies if it wasn't international status.

Holding a grudge for 30 odd years is fairly pathetic of Dunphy & Giles. Theres a lot wrong with the league but also some good things.

Interestingly Dunphy was complimentary on shels & fenlon last season but would be interesting to see if he could name any players.

17/05/2005, 11:19 AM
Virtually no irish internationals give anything back to the game in their own country. Whens the last time you've seen any of them help an eL or junior club without getting paid?

A few years ago Giles and Dunphy done a Q&A session for my local club, along with Noel King. They didn't charge a cent, and the evening was a huge success. They were just supplied with a few G&Ts.

17/05/2005, 1:14 PM
Interestingly Dunphy was complimentary on shels & fenlon last season but would be interesting to see if he could name any players.

I missed that, what was he saying? That suprises me alot.

17/05/2005, 1:39 PM
I missed that, what was he saying? That suprises me alot.

Last year during CL campaign. Something along the lines of he very professional & well done. Of course Dunphy stopped short of suggesting he'd actual attend a game.

Occasionally i think of trying to embarish Giles or Dunphy to attend an eL game but radio & tv never take thre bait.

Bosco
18/05/2005, 4:51 PM
Think it was along the lines of "The league in Ireland is badly run,shels do it right"

joeraki
18/05/2005, 5:07 PM
Tell me lads, what would you have liked Giles and Dunphy to say?

Nothing to be honest. Asking someone's opinion on something that they haven't had any involvement with in over 20 years is a bit daft

bluemovie
19/05/2005, 11:44 AM
I would have liked them to say

"Earth!, Fire!, Wind! Water!, Heart!...By your powers combined I am Captain Planet"

At the same Time.

That would have been much better.

That would have been fantastic. That's what the eL needs - Captain Planet & the Planeteers. I had forgotten about them...what a crap concept for a cartoon.

Bosco
19/05/2005, 9:51 PM
On now,just did a piece on how fewer irish players are making it in england.Point was made that if it continues more young lads will stay in ireland and the el will get better.
The head of recruitment from sell-thic was interviewed,he was from dublin and an absolute **** he said"I dont see how it will make the el better,I mean when you look at all brian kerrs squads,they were all lads who had gone to england and every now and again you have a token el player included"they then showed a pic of one of kerrs squads,half of the players in the pic are now in the el.It was an obvious and stupid thing to say,of course they were all in england,the point is that times are changing.He then went on to say that most players who go over to england wont make it.
A **** is all he is :mad: :mad:

19/05/2005, 10:14 PM
The head of recruitment from sell-thic was interviewed,he was from dublin and an absolute **** he said"I dont see how it will make the el better,I mean when you look at all brian kerrs squads,they were all lads who had gone to england and every now and again you have a token el player included"
Yeah, I was gonna text in over that. The fellow should have his passport taken off him and be kicked up the hole with a sharp boot- all the way to Glasgow. Cúnt :mad:

BTW, I dare say in the last few years that Glasgow "We pay taxes to the Queen" Celtic have provided a similar number of players to Irish underage teams to eL clubs, certainly not many more. Maybe its just bitterness?

ger121
19/05/2005, 10:27 PM
Have to agree that celtic blokes comments were the typical unthought out comments you hear in this country all the time. The bottom line from that piece is that with less players going over each year and in turn less making it through to the big time it is even more important that we have a stronger domestic league in the future along the lines of Denmark, Norway, sweden, who's leagues supply a good few players to their national squads.

On a lighter note, much funnier show tonite, less corny gags and that monkey at croker was very funny, some more EL coverage and it will be even better.

bluemovie
20/05/2005, 9:31 AM
That guy's point made no sense. It was like saying there's no point in having a second terminal at Dublin Airport because everyone goes to the present terminal. :rolleyes:

TV3 must have been reading this site because they took on board a lot of what we've said.
"An hour is too much" - cut to 45 mins
"That mascot fighting bit is dreadful" - what was meant to be an ongoing sketch for six weeks was hurriedly cut short (praise the Lord)
"The guests shouldn't be left sitting there cringeing at the jokes" - they were only on for one section (pity because they were good guests to have, fair play to Gary Cooke for telling Moan U fans not to expect any sympathy).

I thought the show was much better last night, snappier & better-written. The Monkey bit in Croker was genuinely funny for once. It's definitely improved so now TV3 will probably move it to their favourite midnight on Monday slot to accomodate showing ITV's entire prime-time schedule (they'll have Sian Lloyd doing the English weather instead of Martin King soon).

20/05/2005, 9:46 AM
(they'll have Sian Lloyd doing the English weather instead of Martin King soon).
That might not be all that bad, all things considered...

Ringo
20/05/2005, 10:24 AM
thought the monkey @ croker was one of the best bits!!

20/05/2005, 12:08 PM
Ireland largest club…..p*ss off you boys think you own the league, you shouldve been deducted points or relegated years ago.
We (drogheda utd) had to put up a bond and had an embargo on transfers for 3 months a few years ago. You lads go crying to the fai and everyone on the fact you are the oldest team blah blah blah. :mad:

Now I have to say its great when rovers come to town and great atmosphere. I have many rovers friends and have gone to see your lot in inchecore a few times. :confused:
But I think you should be held accountable. Stop signing players and build the tallaght ground you might actually be a better club for it.

Another ignoramus. We didnt go "crying to the FAI". The 400 club informed them that the accounts Branvard sent in were wrong months ago. Check your history pal, we're not the oldest team.

Stick closer to home and see how long you can sustain your full time status. Why should we have been relegated years ago? Could you be any more bitter? You have many Rovers friends? Why not repeat these inaccuracies to thier FACES next time?

ireland353
24/05/2005, 4:25 PM
Ok the show rocks espically this past week and not just becasue its shorter (but its only 45mins because of love island ... it will be like that next week and then thats it)!

Dermot Whelan finally looks settled as the presenter, and marvin the monkey did a great jon in taking the **** out of rule 42!

Most my friends are watching it now... love the show (P.S i have cable so i'm not stuck watching it)!

24/05/2005, 4:32 PM
The monkey was funny, and that was it, the rest of it was as bad as always. That the bleedin monkey is the star of the show sums the whole operation up.

09/06/2005, 8:59 AM
They're starting to show a bit more Eircom league football by the week from what I've seen of it. Here's a post from boards.ie about tomorrow's show:

Hey all, final show this week, we will be showing clips from the soccer match in kilkenny, our main VT Is about the international players which play for sligo rovers. Marvin is interviewing The League of Gentlemen about soccer - is it a league of gents or thugs and the guest is richard sadlier. We also have footage of irelands games from the past week! Thanks to everyone who has watched the show, and heres hoping for a second season!
Its the last show of the series but they're hoping for a second. Some fella (father_ted9t9) answers people's questions here:
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=2787902

They seem to be really open to suggestion and have changed the show around because of what people have been saying on that thread.

09/06/2005, 1:12 PM
Its the last show of the series but they're hoping for a second.

Please god no.

kevincronin2000
09/06/2005, 10:29 PM
the series did not last too long ffs around six weeks, however it was better than nothing.

09/06/2005, 11:01 PM
the series did not last too long ffs around six weeks, however it was better than nothing.
Seems to be common with Irish TV. Naked Camera was also only 6 shows.

stevieontour
10/06/2005, 12:03 AM
Why do we as Irish people take the **** out of our own league so much. It's so annoying. I'm in Oz at the moment, and you wouldn't believe the way they talk up every sport. We must be the only country in the world that gets off on knocking our own :mad:

10/06/2005, 8:47 AM
It's definitely improved so now TV3 will probably move it to their favourite midnight on Monday slot to accomodate showing ITV's entire prime-time schedule (they'll have Sian Lloyd doing the English weather instead of Martin King soon).
But all the ITV regions have their own Football show on a Thursday night - e.g. Granada have Scouse Soccer Night - this would be a positive development from the ITV schedules?

10/06/2005, 10:20 AM
Some fella (father_ted9t9) answers people's questions

He's a member of foot.ie too!

Sliogán Dóite
10/06/2005, 3:23 PM
Karl Spain was the guest last night, not Richard Sadlier (maybe he was injured or something!)

onenilgameover
13/06/2005, 1:54 AM
So what does everybody think I know its crap and all that but hey somebody's doin it....So will it get back on Next year or wha? :)

13/06/2005, 1:56 AM
With some luck, no :)